Scarface

Scarface Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 485 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 100
    Scarface is one of those special movies, like "The Godfather," that is willing to take a flawed, evil man and allow him to be human.
  2. A beautiful, at times poetic exercise in excess from Brian De Palma.
  3. Reviewed by: Andy Gill
    100
    Perfomances are excellent, and despite its moralistic conclusion, the film has since become de rigueur viewing for crack barons, who know a good shoot-em-up when they see one.
  4. 80
    Scarface is a grandiose modern morality play, excessive, broad and operatic at times.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    It is a serious, often hilarious peek under the rock where nightmares strut in $800 suits and Armageddon lies around the next twist of treason.
  6. The Globe and Mail (Toronto)
    Reviewed by: Jay Scott
    63
    Scarface is a B- movie with singularly silly psychological pretensions: its neo-primitivism is to the complex moral cosmos of Francis Coppola's "Godfather" saga as Disney is to Dickens. [09 Dec 1983]
  7. 20
    Brian De Palma dedicates this 1983 feature to Howard Hawks and Ben Hecht, authors of the 1932 original, though I doubt they would find much honor in his gory inflation of their crisp, 90-minute comic nightmare into a klumbering, self-important, arrhythmic downer of nearly three hours.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 6 out of 70
  1. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    I'm insanely in love withe this movie. I will say no more.. watch it.

    Whether you are shocked or dismayed and digusted.... well, it's awesome
    I'm insanely in love withe this movie. I will say no more.. watch it.

    Whether you are shocked or dismayed and digusted.... well, it's awesome either way.

    I'm an adult, and was one at 18 when I first saw and loved it. We each have our own opinions.

    GAWD I LUV THIS MOVIE!
    Expand
  2. gaber
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    How can somebody give this movie less than an 8? this movie is one of the greatest I have ever seen. It may be a little hard to follow at How can somebody give this movie less than an 8? this movie is one of the greatest I have ever seen. It may be a little hard to follow at times and the end sucks, but Everything else in the movie makes that forgivable. Pure Genius Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    One of the best criminal movies i ever saw
    Al Pacino is doing great his job as Tony Montana
    He and his quote Say hello to my little friend
    One of the best criminal movies i ever saw
    Al Pacino is doing great his job as Tony Montana
    He and his quote Say hello to my little friend will stay into people who watched the movie minds
    Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    A cinematic masterpiece, outstanding story and quality acting. This film is easily in the top 10 films i have watched. It also does a greatA cinematic masterpiece, outstanding story and quality acting. This film is easily in the top 10 films i have watched. It also does a great job on engaging viewers and building some tension. This film is worth every second you spend watching it. Scarface certainly deserves a place along with films like 'the godfather'. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    a fantastic movie about a man who as a dream of been rich and having power he gains it all becoming a fearless man his name was Tony Montanaa fantastic movie about a man who as a dream of been rich and having power he gains it all becoming a fearless man his name was Tony Montana but the world will know him as scarface. Al Pachino just fits the part a part that not many good do his joined with a brilliant cast but to be honest al pachino just makes the movie what it is.Defiantly in my top 5 movies Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2010
    8
    This movie was great and i think this was al pacinos best performence he ever did (beating the godfather) its great but the only thing i didThis movie was great and i think this was al pacinos best performence he ever did (beating the godfather) its great but the only thing i did not like about this film is that well to me when movies made me cry it means its great this made me cry also but in a differnt way it is a very very sad movie and to people who dont have brains shouldnt see this movie because the tony montana charecter isnt violent to me but he was just to dark Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    I didn't realize that this is a movie til minute 40 of movie. CAN THIS BE MORE BORING? Is this a good gangster movie? Im sorry but the bestI didn't realize that this is a movie til minute 40 of movie. CAN THIS BE MORE BORING? Is this a good gangster movie? Im sorry but the best gangster movie is There will be blood. The performance of Daniel day Lewis in that movie its simply incredible. Good for you Daniel.

    Al Pacino you can die in hell
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.