Dimension Films | Release Date: July 4, 2001
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 158 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
70
Mixed:
43
Negative:
45
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
ArkonBladeSep 2, 2010
a movie you could tell was rushed and just tossed out there to capitalise quikly off the first one. there was some funny moments but alot of it just wasnt very good . you should probubly pass on it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
"Scary movie 2" might have some few funny, comedic laughs to laugh on. But for me, nothing was funny. The whole thing was a pain in the ass.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
8
ClaudioM.Feb 17, 2006
Not as good as the first one but still made me laugh like never before.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
MovieLonely94Oct 24, 2010
it was this close of becoming good, but the parodies of pop culture movies from the past few years were used and they're in no doubt hilarious! Scary Movie 2 is perfect!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanJul 17, 2012
With far better jokes than the original film, and with far more competent spoofing, Scary Movie 2 is worthy of a cursory glance at least. The excellent opening sequence which parodies The Excorcist, and the Charlie's Angels-style fight sceneWith far better jokes than the original film, and with far more competent spoofing, Scary Movie 2 is worthy of a cursory glance at least. The excellent opening sequence which parodies The Excorcist, and the Charlie's Angels-style fight scene later in the film in particular are worth seeing. Anna Farris returns and makes you smile once more, but the addition of some formidable comedy muscle in the form of the always brilliant Tim Curry as a purvey college professor and Chris Elliot playing the deformed caretaker every haunted house has to have helps to elevate the sequel far above the other films in this often disappointing series. Yes, it's still very crude and often trashy, with obscene amounts of simulated bodily fluids and over-sized rubber rude bits making an appearance, and far too many jokes miss the mark or come across as crass or insulting to some group in society. At least the Wayans look like they've put some effort into making a decent comedy film this time round, though they reportedly felt that this sequel was rushed and lacking in quality. It may not have the wit of Mel Brooks in his heyday, or indeed much evidence of a brain at all, but Scary Movie 2 does have a little Brooks-style anarchic energy, and thankfully this one actually makes you laugh on a pretty regular basis, unlike its predecessor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
HadrianusOct 23, 2012
I don't like Anna Faris because she is bad at acting.The direction and the jokes are terrible.The screenplay is terrible and it's bad doing jokes too.I only laughed a little.Why do you think it's funny?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GavinCJul 27, 2009
Not as funny as the first film, but it still has some spark left, most of which is kept alive by the foul-mouthed parrot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
randomcriticMay 21, 2009
I think that people are way too hard on these movies. It seems to me that the filmakers had a few good jokes they wanted to make and knew they were going to have to fill the time with something other than pure comedy. The jokes that you know I think that people are way too hard on these movies. It seems to me that the filmakers had a few good jokes they wanted to make and knew they were going to have to fill the time with something other than pure comedy. The jokes that you know they wanted to make were hilarious, and in the end that was all that mattered to me. The thing that surprised me was that certain parts were a bit clever (the weed scene was pretty witty) and the movie actually isn't very horney. I was expecting a sex romp, but there really is no genuinely arousing material to speak of (which is good in my opinion). I also enjoyed the choice of actors in the film, Anna Farris did a GREAT job (I'm still giggling at the mad cow joke), same for the Wayans brothers, Chris Materson and the black girl (though Kathleen Robertson has to be one of the worst actresses I have ever seen). The chemistry worked well for the characters, its just too bad the plot and dialogue weren't all around better. I would have enjoyed the film much more if the background noise had been changed from crudeness to wit and the writers had gotten their plot straight. You can still piece together what they were trying to get at, but I've never seen a movie actually made while the script was still in the drafting stages. One thing that bothered me about the movie was the beginning. I was actually very offended by it and almost turned off the film. It wasn't funny, it was clever, and it was very insulting (the rest of the movie I didn't think was nearly as much so). I feel the film makers simply threw it in to extend the length of the film, bad move on their part. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobApr 5, 2013
This movie makes the Hangover 2 look hilarious. While the movie seems to have some ambition nothing in this movie was funny. The jokes all fall flat on their face. All the laughter was forced. Maybe the first one was hilarious but this one isThis movie makes the Hangover 2 look hilarious. While the movie seems to have some ambition nothing in this movie was funny. The jokes all fall flat on their face. All the laughter was forced. Maybe the first one was hilarious but this one is complete sh*t. One of the worst comedies/films I've ever seen. Didn't finish it but I'm going to assume the rest was sh*t. Do not watch this movie unless you like bad movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerDec 21, 2012
A funny movie that spoofs horror and not horror movies. It did get me laughing, but in the end I have to take off points for the sheer vulgarity and grossness of the movie and it's humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
2shoogMay 2, 2013
Well, I was high when I watched it and I totally lost it to Chris Elliots "arm"...laughed until my face and stomach hurt every time he used it...Perfect movie. I also saw it when I wasn't high and wondered what was so funny. I'm going toWell, I was high when I watched it and I totally lost it to Chris Elliots "arm"...laughed until my face and stomach hurt every time he used it...Perfect movie. I also saw it when I wasn't high and wondered what was so funny. I'm going to get high again and watch it to see if it was the movie or my bud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
pauljohnsonJul 2, 2012
Stick a few people in a set and tell them to go "AARAUIHUIHIDNUIASINIU" for a few hours. That's exactly what you get with this film. Gags that are reused from the first film are nowhere near as funny the second time round, and rather thanStick a few people in a set and tell them to go "AARAUIHUIHIDNUIASINIU" for a few hours. That's exactly what you get with this film. Gags that are reused from the first film are nowhere near as funny the second time round, and rather than finding myself laughing at this film, I instead found myself wondering what I was going to have for tea that night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
heyitsmegrif4Jan 5, 2012
Anna Faris still has her charm but this sequel is too stupid, immature, offensive to even recommend. I give this just awful movie 12% of a good movie. Yeah it is that bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Scary Movie 2 has an opening that will make you cry it is so funny but then it falls right of the cliff. The movie offers nothing else to add to its hilarious begginning. Not as good as its prequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Jun 24, 2013
The opening scene is hilarious, and while the rest of the movie is filled with funny moments, it is mainly just filled with a clueless script of random scenes. Still, it brings the laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
axelkochSep 1, 2012
'Scary Movie' was already too dense and had too many fecal jokes but the sequel tops it. Some parodies are really funny (like Titanic, Hannibal or MacGyver) and I laughed at the characters of Henson, Ray Wilkins, Professor Oldman and of'Scary Movie' was already too dense and had too many fecal jokes but the sequel tops it. Some parodies are really funny (like Titanic, Hannibal or MacGyver) and I laughed at the characters of Henson, Ray Wilkins, Professor Oldman and of course Shorty! It's really funny sometimes but it got way too many scatological jokes and stuff. It's a fun night to have with your bros but as a actual movie it's just not good. Bothersome teenage girls (except the hot Kathleen Robertson!) and a stupid story. But what do you expect of that? As a comedy it's acceptable but compared with all other films that are out there it's not better than a 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 3, 2013
Is the worst of the series along with a quarter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheGeographer52Jan 6, 2013
Best Film Made By These Writers and Directors Yet. This film rocks hard and has non-stop laughter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
survivorfan989Jun 9, 2013
Unlike the first film this one took quite a slip thanks to a very bad storyline & messy parodies merged into one. There were reasons behind the slip-up's but at the end of the day it still got chuckles out of me more thanks to the charactersUnlike the first film this one took quite a slip thanks to a very bad storyline & messy parodies merged into one. There were reasons behind the slip-up's but at the end of the day it still got chuckles out of me more thanks to the characters and actors in the film rather than the content. This was also the last of the series that the Wayans Brothers worked on, perhaps a good thing as the next two were better than this one, but you can't skip this one when watching the others! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
python2000Aug 16, 2013
The first Scary Movie wasn't exactly brilliant but this is a really bad film. They replaced the (in places) hilarious antics of the first movie and put feces humour in it's place. Out of the 4 Scary Movies I have seen this is the worst. I doThe first Scary Movie wasn't exactly brilliant but this is a really bad film. They replaced the (in places) hilarious antics of the first movie and put feces humour in it's place. Out of the 4 Scary Movies I have seen this is the worst. I do not recommend this to anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonJun 1, 2013
While Scary Movie was eye catching, Scary Movie 2 sucks. Progeny spoofs, bloody bad comedy and Anna Faris who saved the day by 4 minutes so the audience won't buzz off. SM2 is a really bad gumbo jumbo movie that is not worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lukechristianscApr 6, 2014
Scary movie 2 was enjoyable . but i enjoy the first one . this one did not bring me enough laughs . but the wayans brothers are good film makers . Grade A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeApr 20, 2014
Like always in the scary movies the acting is really bad and the jokes are really funny.This one is my favourite of the serie because of Chris Elliot's character.He's by far my favourite and i recommend it to the world he's so funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
iCronicJul 12, 2014
way funnier when i rewatched it this year on prime. the **** up Hands guy vs the weelchair guy is hilarious
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MarickJan 27, 2015
Scary Movie 2 is a 2001 American parody film and the second film of the Scary Movie franchise. Though part of the first Scary Movie '​s tagline read "...No sequel", this film's tagline compensated by adding "We lied"
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
REALLY BAD
The first and the third one in the series are two of my all time guilty pleasures.
This one.............yeah.....don't. While the first one was funny, this one is just most times disgusting. Although I still like some parts of
REALLY BAD
The first and the third one in the series are two of my all time guilty pleasures.
This one.............yeah.....don't.
While the first one was funny, this one is just most times disgusting.
Although I still like some parts of it. My favorite part of the film is the beginning making fun of The Exorcist.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamecubeLoverOct 8, 2016
Super funny. But sometimes re-watching it, it does get a little old but near the end it just gets funny and doesn't get old. The jokes in the beginning kinda get old though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews