Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: April 12, 2013
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 365 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
45
Negative:
259
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
rancorApr 21, 2013
The movie is absolutely unwatchable. I hope they never make another one of these horrible movies again. Please save your cash and watch something that's worth your time like 42.
20 of 23 users found this helpful203
All this user's reviews
0
billrullerMay 15, 2013
This is the last time I will ever see a parody in theaters. I really like the Scary Movie films, but after 2 it kinda gets a few step backwards. But this one KILLED everything. Both Scary Movie and parodies in theaters all together. AnywayThis is the last time I will ever see a parody in theaters. I really like the Scary Movie films, but after 2 it kinda gets a few step backwards. But this one KILLED everything. Both Scary Movie and parodies in theaters all together. Anyway you look at it, it is horrendously awful. The jokes were more painful than funny, I wish I left the theater before it ended. If you like these type of films, trust me, you don't want to watch this. Also, for those who defend this film and say "You people are too stupid to be entertained by good humor." So if we're stupid for hating this movie, then you are RETARDED for loving it. I've seen parodies that are so much better like Spaceballs, Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Young Frankenstein, Airplane, Naked Gun, even the first Scary Movie is better than this piece of sh*t. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMay 31, 2014
Just like the rest of the series, the humor here is juvenile, crass, and low-brow. However if you're willing to turn off the part of your brain that must take everything seriously you'll find plenty of stupid humor to laugh at. Admittedly IJust like the rest of the series, the humor here is juvenile, crass, and low-brow. However if you're willing to turn off the part of your brain that must take everything seriously you'll find plenty of stupid humor to laugh at. Admittedly I am pretty easily amused, but this movie provided plenty of moments where I was rolling on the floor. It may not be the best or the smartest entry in the series, but I still found it to be pretty hilarious. My total score is a 9.2/10=Amazing. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
vahnMay 14, 2013
Personally, this movie was enjoyable and I really had a lot of fun while watching, and while I can "understand" many people saying that it's horrible, I want to start saying that this "movie" isn't like the "OTHERS movie" (aka, disasterPersonally, this movie was enjoyable and I really had a lot of fun while watching, and while I can "understand" many people saying that it's horrible, I want to start saying that this "movie" isn't like the "OTHERS movie" (aka, disaster movie, epic movie, horror movie, etc), and people should know that at least, because while THOSE were horrible and not even funny, this one had at least a minimal amount of thought behind the scenes and it was actually fun to watch. And really, is this the worst movie ever? Remember that, if you're giving this movie a zero, you're actually saying that the Twilight movies are BETTER! Think about that. But rants aside, I don't think this movie is that awful, and if I had to pick a position, this is probably the third best of the franchise. Although, yes, it has flaws. For instance I didn't like that they removed Anna Faris, which was sooo funny...but oh well I liked the new actress enough and I liked the others too (I missed Brenda though). I didn't like also how the story wasn't focused on just one main scenario, but across two or three all together instead, making a lot confusion to follow the story: sometimes it's Paranormal Activity, sometimes Evil Dead, sometimes another. It's just not focused enough on certain aspects, unlike other Scary Movies (for example, SC3 was focused on The Ring, and SC4 was focused on The War of the Worlds). The jokes also weren't exactly stellar in comparison to the previous movies...but really liked how stupid they were, because while they weren't exactly genius, they were just freaking funny. Immature? Yes. Silly? Yes. Idiotic at best? YES at least it wasn't filled with really bad puns, stupid pop culture references that usually made no sense...and singing jokes? But yes, these jokes aren't as good as the previous Scary Movies, but they are FAR superior than the ones present in the "OTHER" Movies. At least they made me laugh. Honestly, I will never understand how this movie was bashed so hard, and probably never will: it's not horrible, but it's not even great, but it's not worth all that bashing in my opinion because at least it took some planning and some effort. I'm not gonna defend it anyway, mainly because, like I said, it has flaws and maybe it should have more focus on some parts, more funny jokes, and the old actors back, but as it is it's NOT horrible, but still a bit of a disappointment. But is it worth the zero? My answer is no. If you're a fan of the old Scary Movies, you probably won't really like it as much, cause of the stupidity of the jokes and the lack of focus on the parodies; If you hated the "OTHER" movie series, you might like this a bit more, since it has better jokes. Best advice, however, is to see for yourself, and hate/enjoy it for what it is: a parody flick. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
Maxxie1129Apr 21, 2013
Even by Scary Movie standard, this one is horrible. I have quite a low standard when it come to comedy, especially spoof/parody movies. This is one is just god-awful. I think the movie just has no clear direction whatsoever. The jokes are allEven by Scary Movie standard, this one is horrible. I have quite a low standard when it come to comedy, especially spoof/parody movies. This is one is just god-awful. I think the movie just has no clear direction whatsoever. The jokes are all over the place. No zinger in any ways. I'm very very disappointed. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
XanifurSep 27, 2013
Shut this overly stupid unfunny piece of garbage off after 15 minutes. Fall flat jokes, stupid dialogue, worn ideas. Pure trash. Unwatchable. I fell sorry for you if you enjoy movies of this standard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicApr 12, 2013
You know what, I had it with this Scary Movie V crap. All 4 movies were very entertaining, but where's Anna Farris? Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan are two of the biggest douchebags of Hollywood and as you can see, the Scary Movie franchiseYou know what, I had it with this Scary Movie V crap. All 4 movies were very entertaining, but where's Anna Farris? Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan are two of the biggest douchebags of Hollywood and as you can see, the Scary Movie franchise needs to die. I mean, DEAD as in zombies eating people. Razzies, take another note for "Worst Picture, Actor, and Actress." Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
2
BrandonBonaseraMar 8, 2016
Despite being slightly more watchable than Scary Movie 2 and having a few nice references here and there, Scary Movie 5 is mostly an unfunny bore that cannot reach the low(ish) par of the other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
arnyftwJun 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I actually liked the Scary Movie franchise, but after seeing this one I hope they just end it. The only redeeming qualities of this movie were that it had some funny parts, such as the Black Swan parody. I felt that there was not much focus on actually parodying scary movies, and too much on movies like Inception and Stuart Little. Other than the Black Swan bit, which seemed to be well thought out, the rest of the movie was filled with pathetic attempts at humor. I think it's time to just end the franchise, and the parody cow has been milked enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GlooneApr 12, 2013
Blatantly rips off jokes from elsewhere (and can't even do that right). For instance, mixing up the bum probe with the mouth probe? That's a complete copy and paste of a scene from "Idiocracy". It's not homage, it's not parody, it'sBlatantly rips off jokes from elsewhere (and can't even do that right). For instance, mixing up the bum probe with the mouth probe? That's a complete copy and paste of a scene from "Idiocracy". It's not homage, it's not parody, it's shamelessly trying to make money by stealing somebody else's joke. And they couldn't even make the joke funny. Absolute bottom-of-the-barrel worthless garbage. Do not go anywhere near this. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
shuyApr 12, 2013
First of all I thought the movie was going to be lame but i really enjoyed it. It's better than scary movie 2 but not as good as scary movie 3 or 1.
1 of 25 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
1
Jefrock766May 13, 2013
Beating a dead horse...with half a loaf of Wonder Bread..that's all that I picked up while watching this poor excuse for a movie. I, I-I don't even know what to say here, it's just gotten pathetic and needs to stop. If you want a good laughBeating a dead horse...with half a loaf of Wonder Bread..that's all that I picked up while watching this poor excuse for a movie. I, I-I don't even know what to say here, it's just gotten pathetic and needs to stop. If you want a good laugh with the classic Wayan's Brothers, go out, rent A Haunted House and you will get something three times better than this trash. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
OnAnarchyApr 21, 2013
I don't ever rate movies this low. Usually I can find some sort of positive in any movie; this is clearly the exception. It's not funny, all it is is 90 minutes of 'oh my god why did they put that in, did they think it was funny?'
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
scoleyApr 13, 2013
I thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughs and with it being a short movie it did not have time to get on my nerves its worth a watch but don'tI thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughs and with it being a short movie it did not have time to get on my nerves its worth a watch but don't expect to much and you will be ok. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
csw12Nov 26, 2015
It would be hard pressed to produce a worst film than Scary Movie 5. It is a horrible abomination on almost every level and just flat out embarrassing to even look at. You will feel like you died inside every second the movie passes by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Jun 27, 2013
A sad excuse for a movie. As far as I am concerned, the series is dead. Except for a couple of ridiculous scenes that actually managed to make me laugh, this is an embarrassment to cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
VorchApr 17, 2013
Got stuck watching this movie because another theater was leaking.

Walked out 30 minutes in.

You wanna know what's funny? This series has made over 800 MILLION DOLLARS worldwide and is on track to make 1 billion.

We're the punchline.
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
0
jinkuroApr 24, 2013
This is the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life and the fun part was that I actually paid for this crap. I went to the theater to spend some time with my friends and we all got depressed by the extremely childish, stupid, humour ofThis is the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life and the fun part was that I actually paid for this crap. I went to the theater to spend some time with my friends and we all got depressed by the extremely childish, stupid, humour of this trash.
I don't believe how people can give this nonsense more than 6/10 they're 9 years old or they don't know nothing about (good) movies.
Save your money, trust me.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
krishnaMay 5, 2013
Once you accept this is mostly slapstick comedy, it turns out to be really funny. I found myself laughing hard many times, cause the jokes where ridiculously funny and beyond the usual border of taste. I liked "haunted house" too, but thereOnce you accept this is mostly slapstick comedy, it turns out to be really funny. I found myself laughing hard many times, cause the jokes where ridiculously funny and beyond the usual border of taste. I liked "haunted house" too, but there were too few jokes. Scary Movie is trying to be funny every 10 seconds and i think it delivers every second or third joke... and many of them are really badass. It´s not the best out of the franchise, but i´ll rate it a 7.
i understand why most people don´t like it. your humor must be far advanced to get this one.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
5
MattydigsMay 19, 2013
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Still a better love story than twilight.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ClayMerrittApr 19, 2013
So many "comedy geniuses" have gotten to "Paranormal" way before this film. Scary Movie stopped being entertaining when they decided to make a 3rd one, then a 4th one. And now with this 5th one, I'm sitting here literally saying Eff this. ISo many "comedy geniuses" have gotten to "Paranormal" way before this film. Scary Movie stopped being entertaining when they decided to make a 3rd one, then a 4th one. And now with this 5th one, I'm sitting here literally saying Eff this. I can't believe I wasted money on this. Anybody who thought this was even remotely entertaining, have terrible taste in movies. Only C-List and below were in this movie. And fan boys, sorry to break it to you, Lindsey Lohan and Charlie Sheen don't even approach the B-List. Sucks. That's all I have to say. It sucks terribly. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
A mesma piadinhas em graça que acompanharam a série nos últimos filmes porém esse filme bate o cúmulo do ridículo nas alturas se tornando desagradável.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
joef123Apr 13, 2013
I originally had low hopes. But it turned out it is the best one yet on the franchise. To get some of the jokes you have had to see some of the paranormal activities and black swan. I would recommend seeing evil dead and mama before you seeI originally had low hopes. But it turned out it is the best one yet on the franchise. To get some of the jokes you have had to see some of the paranormal activities and black swan. I would recommend seeing evil dead and mama before you see it but you don't have too. Expand
4 of 36 users found this helpful432
All this user's reviews
3
SilentINUJun 19, 2013
I expected so much from this movies, even more after watching the previous 4 movies that where so good and i laughed like crazy, but this one blown everything, i really expected this movie to be so good! But ended up being a big disgrace andI expected so much from this movies, even more after watching the previous 4 movies that where so good and i laughed like crazy, but this one blown everything, i really expected this movie to be so good! But ended up being a big disgrace and left me so sad about thee loss of quality from the previous movies, not even half of the previous movies Scary Movie 5 has. Shame on the people who ruined this series! But i recommend you to see all the other 4 before watching this piece of crap that is almost un-watchable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheWalrus2000Apr 12, 2013
I've had about enough with this stupid series. It's not funnny at all and Charlie Sheen is one of the worst actors ever. Scary Movie was good and it should have just been its own film. The series needs to END!!
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
6
survivorfan989Apr 17, 2013
It's the worst of the five, so I'll get that out of the way, but it's still an entertaining film and it's definitely not the worst of the spoof films that are out there. Some of the actors are back from the past films but all playingIt's the worst of the five, so I'll get that out of the way, but it's still an entertaining film and it's definitely not the worst of the spoof films that are out there. Some of the actors are back from the past films but all playing different characters. They blended a number of films together quite well and while it had its funny moments it also really missed the mark on a lot of jokes. It's going to get bagged out regardless and only fans of the series will probably enjoy it like I did. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
2
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
If it was actually meant to be a scary movie, then it was meant to be a horrible film. All you see is crude stuff and a VERY horrible end to a stupid movie. Parody for Paranormal Activity is not funny, and I thought Scary Movie 4 was bad...
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
LeZeeApr 10, 2014
Scary movie series were famous for spoofing other great movies. It all began with a decent first, then sequel after sequel declined its originality as well the fun parts. This fifth movie was below average, had some of the good guys in guestScary movie series were famous for spoofing other great movies. It all began with a decent first, then sequel after sequel declined its originality as well the fun parts. This fifth movie was below average, had some of the good guys in guest roles and that did not bring the movie upwards. I don't know what's with the Snoop Dogg and Mike Tyson's cameo, anyway the movie was almost crap.

During the watch I almost sat idle throughout the movie without having a laugh. I believe that was not intended to give the viewers by this filmmaker, but that is what really happened to me. I know they won't stop here with this, so I say better luck with the next movie of this series.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SimpleMethodJul 6, 2013
What a bullsh*t year for comedy this has been. I hope This is The End can, ironically, save us. Utter garbage. Why the f**k is Mac Miller in this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Khen01Apr 13, 2013
It's a stupidly-funny movie, these parody movies are so lame, so sick of it already well i am not. They did a justice doing a parody of Paranormal Activity, especially Black Swan. Ashley Tisdale's poor performance made it a more laughable andIt's a stupidly-funny movie, these parody movies are so lame, so sick of it already well i am not. They did a justice doing a parody of Paranormal Activity, especially Black Swan. Ashley Tisdale's poor performance made it a more laughable and formulated at its finest. Scary Movie 1 is definitely the best & Scary Movie 2 is the lamest. 1 THUMBS UP! Expand
2 of 18 users found this helpful216
All this user's reviews