Scary Movie 5

Scary Movie 5 Image
Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A couple begin to experience paranormal activity after bringing their newborn son home from the hospital. With the help of surveillance cameras and various experts, they learn they're being stalked by a nefarious demon, but in a funny way. This is the Scary Movie franchise after all.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 12, 2013
    30
    Marlon Wayans’s satire “A Haunted House” got to “Paranormal” first, and for a much smaller budget delivered bigger laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Apr 12, 2013
    25
    Somehow, it actually looks cheaper than "Paranormal Activity." It's less funny, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 15, 2013
    25
    Not that there’s all manner of comedy craftsmanship demanding study here, but the movie does seem to be a funny jumble of contradictory impulses.
  4. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 13, 2013
    20
    Lacking a single honest laugh, this is shoddy by comparison with the other Scary Movie sequels… which throws it in a pit with Transylmania, Breaking Wind and Stan Helsing.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 14, 2013
    10
    If you think three months is an impossible amount of time to write and produce a feature film, well, it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Scary Movie 5 is so massively un-enjoyable, a hate crime against cinema, a ringing indictment of the depths commercialism will go to in search of the lowest common denominator.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 13, 2013
    0
    Lazy, boring, vile and tragically unfunny attempt at a horror-film spoof.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 105
  2. Negative: 71 out of 105
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Where's bear grylls?
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    7
    I thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughsI thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughs and with it being a short movie it did not have time to get on my nerves its worth a watch but don't expect to much and you will be ok. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is okay, but not as funny as the previous installments I always liked the first, because of how it separated itself from traditional comedies, but this movie goes in the ranks of 'Vampires Suck' and 'Movie 43'...just clones of what was funny. In my opinion, go see 'A haunted house', they beat 'Scary Movie' to the punch with the 'Paranormal Activity' theme and it has that Marlon Waynes charm. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    2
    It saddens me how people still pay to see movies like this. None of the 'Scary Movie' films are good, but this one is just terrible, andIt saddens me how people still pay to see movies like this. None of the 'Scary Movie' films are good, but this one is just terrible, and compete directly to 'Movie 43' for worst movie of the year. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    1
    Gets one, for the One good seen it had with snoop. Otherwise Worst movie ever!!! It's like they didn't even put any effort into it, didn'tGets one, for the One good seen it had with snoop. Otherwise Worst movie ever!!! It's like they didn't even put any effort into it, didn't laugh a single time Expand
  6. May 17, 2013
    0
    The movie is the worst that I've seen .
    It can't be like that. The franchise "Scary Movie" should end. This is one of those films that you
    The movie is the worst that I've seen .
    It can't be like that. The franchise "Scary Movie" should end. This is one of those films that you have want to get out of the cinema during the session. It's HORRIBLE.
    Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This is the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life and the fun part was that I actually paid for this crap. I went to the theater toThis is the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life and the fun part was that I actually paid for this crap. I went to the theater to spend some time with my friends and we all got depressed by the extremely childish, stupid, humour of this trash.
    I don't believe how people can give this nonsense more than 6/10 they're 9 years old or they don't know nothing about (good) movies.
    Save your money, trust me.
    Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.