User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 158

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    This is a really funny movie.Scary movie is always really funny and the actors are not really good so the movie is even more funny because of that.He's definitely one of my favourite scary movie by far.
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    I love the wayans brothers and there not so hilarious film like white chicks , little man . but still there films are great . and this one is 89 % worth watching and it is (8 % not worth it . some of parody was kinda distrubing and some i do not get . but hey its a Wayans brothers movie
    Grade A- .
  3. Mar 22, 2014
    4
    Spoofs and satires can be hilarious if made right, but nowadays the genre consists of cheaply made, unfunny movies like this one. This genre needs to be turned in the right direction for once!
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    4
    Pretty stupid, but does have its LOL moments. Cheap, sometimes effective. It did push the grossness envelope back in its day, but today the gags don't hold up as well. Fun for what it is.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    Scary Movie (2000) is the first film in the "Scary Movie" parody series that revolves around making fun of what was originally just horror movies, but eventually by the time of the 3rd part, features other movies that were not horror. Scary Movie is a very memorable film to me, and really showed what a true spoof is. To me, this film is up there with Airplane! and Spaceballs. The film has non stop humor much like Naked Gun, while having characters that you actually care about and have some development. Directed and written by the Wayans brothers, who also act as main characters in the movie, this film received an R rating, as did the second film. However, 3-5 were directed by different people and received the PG-13 rating, giving them less freedom. Scary Movie was actually a box office hit, making a few hundred million dollars. Acting isn't too bad in this film, and you are constantly entertained. As a bonus, the main antagonist, Ghostface, taken from the popular 90's horror franchise Scream, has some very funny scenes where he interacts with other minor characters. All in all, this is a great spoof movie with an actual story, that is entertaining with decent cinematography and puns. Overall, I give thus film a 8/10. Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    This is The. Best. Movie. Ever. It is absolutely hilarious, and the cast is amazing. But, this movie is not appropriate at all. Three instances of full male nudity, female upper nudity, and back nudity of all genders.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    Most of the jokes are stupid and much like the movies of Aaron Seltzer and Jason Friedberg But the jokes which work are very funny especially the one's with the masked killer who is hilarious. Scary Movie may not have a huge fan club and a cult following but it is in places hysterical. Shame about the sequels eh.
  8. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Completely hilarious, and the perfect example of spoofing done right. It not only pokes fun at the movies "Scream" and "I Know What You Did Last Summer", but it pokes fun at just about all the teen-slasher horror movie tropes we've come to expect from the genre. It's vulgar, crude, and rude and makes no apologies for it. It's gross-out humor is endlessly entertaining and keeps the laughs coming. Make no mistake "Scary Movie" is a hilarious comedy and it might just be the best spoof out there. Expand
  9. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    As far as parodies go, this is among the best. Insanely funny. You are just a wicked old cruel ass if you think this movie is bad. Short and silly. One of the best of the series.
  10. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Esta pelicula esta muy, pero muy buena, una de las mejores entregas de la saga de Scary Movie, es una pelicula divertida y sensacional, me gusto mucho.
  11. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    I'm a big fan of this Parody series and after watching the first four many times I can easily say this one is my favourite. 3 & 4 put up tough competition but at the end of the day this is where it all began and where we were introduced to the likes of Cindy & Brenda along with the rest of the gang. It's full of classic parodies and gags with Scream and IKWYDLS being the main ones, but overall it's a very funny parody that anyone can have a really good laugh with, and I highly recommend it! Expand
  12. Jun 1, 2013
    6
    Scary Movie has caught my guilty pleasure, its crude and raunchy but I admit that I laughed when I didn't want to. The funny as hell spoofs were eye catching and fun to cam. While the critics don't take the tamest of the series's pleasure, Scary Movie is a average blockbuster. When Anna Faris gave up her role in the worst of the Scary Movies- SC5, I was surpirsed how this excellent actor saved herself. Scary Movie might be a extreme- porn theatre film, it won my funny bone. Expand
  13. May 29, 2013
    3
    I made have said that I thought Scream made scary movies better to watch again while also ruining it at the same time, I meant to say that about this film. I still have the same thought about it in Scream, but it's more clear here than ever. I mean my God this is so pathetic. It is the antithesis of what I look for in any film: likeable characters, a point, being interesting overall, and visually pleasing. Not only are the actors bad in this, but they're so annoying. There's no settle moments; sure I'll laugh maybe once in a while, but I feel like shot afterwards. The point of this film is to only cash in, there's no other fricking reason for this to exist. I think this could be done well; the idea of parodying a parody is somewhat interesting, but this is the completely wrong way of doing it. Expand
  14. May 24, 2013
    1
    In the ten years since this movies release we have been subjected to endless sequels and spin offs of this original movie. The fact that the franchise managed to go downhill from here is quite frankly staggering.
    It is all very well spoofing another movie (The Hot Shots movies were largely successful at doing this) but it needs to be done with some level of intelligence. Simply copying
    scenes from well known movies, in this case mainly Scream and adding in a few rude jokes is not clever or funny. In fact the writers of Scary Movie seem to have completely missed the point of Scream, which was itself already a send up of horror movie conventions.

    Avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2013
    5
    Scary Movie does indeed provide dumb fun and is entertaining at times, but it's humour is often uneven and it gets confused between smart humour and low collar blue-humour.
  16. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    Funny film with hilarious pranks and falls.
  17. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    A very entertaining movie where you will laugh to death.
  18. Dec 18, 2012
    7
    The most respectable pro of this film is the jokes and gags almost never cease throughout, and even though most are crude and the plot is slim, it is genuinely hilarious.
  19. Jul 25, 2012
    1
    Funnier than getting sick through your eye sockets, but only slightly.
  20. Jul 12, 2012
    2
    Even spoof movies deserve a few good jokes. For the most part the humour in Scary Movie is obvious, inept and crude. We get it Wayans Brothers and co. you've seen Scream, I Know What You Did Last Summer, The Blair Witch Project and scores of other films - so why do you fail so completely in writing clever gags referencing them? There are a couple of moments I must admit that I laughed at, and the Usual Suspects homage and some of the Scream nods raise the odd smile, and Anna Farris works rather well as a goofy comedy performer. Beyond providing some mild amusement, however, Scary Movie is pretty awful. Clumsy direction, lazy performances, uneven story pacing, in addition to a quite grating overall feel of buffoonery drive the film into the ground. A Zucker/Abrahams/Zucker parody film this is not - it's simply not smart enough. It's merely a poor imitation, both of the aforementioned comedy trio's landmark spoof films, but of the films that Scary Movie itself chooses to spoof. Expand
  21. Jul 2, 2012
    7
    Probably one of the best comedies along with Airplane! and Liar Liar. It's gross, silly and satirical, and therein lies its charm. The thing about reviewing Comedy is its so subjective - either you find it funny or you don't. In this case, I'm in the camp of the former. One of my favourite comedy movies of all time, and definitely a benchmark against which other parodies should be measured.
  22. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Scary Movie is a very funny parady of the scary films. Stupid yes but one of the funniest films of the year. Couldn't stop laughing throughout the film. Very crude film and thats good.
  23. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    In my opinion, this movie is so stupid and so flawed that it's a damned near perfect spoof comedy, cause aren't spoof movies supposed to be those things? Yes, yes they are. Shorty makes this movie 10 times funnier.
  24. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Its humor is way too stupid to recommend, but Anna Faris leads the movie to almost victory with her sharp and hilarious performance. I give this movie 51% of a good movie.
  25. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    I admit that the gross out fusion comedy "Scary Movie" is terrible. However, giving its worst as its best was a bold, appropriate choice for the movie to present itself and earn credit.
  26. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    I don't see why people don't like this movie. its totally hilarious!
  27. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    a pretty funny movie by the waynes brothers. its commedy is in the style of Airplane . its very goofy and off the wall but pretty damn funny. the humor is pretty crude pretty often so if sexual humor turns your head then you should pass. i thought the funniest part of the movie was the charicter Doofy . he just had me laughin on the floor.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. It's easy to be offensive in a movie; it's much harder to be funny. Which is why Scary Movie emerges as such a waste; when you're so good at the latter, why keep falling back on the former?
  2. 0
    I'd rather have a testicular nail-gun mishap than sit through this migraine-inducing train wreck of a film one more time.
  3. Its grossness knows no bounds, and you'd have to be dead not to laugh.