American Broadcasting Company (ABC) | Release Date: December 23, 1992
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 170 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
155
Mixed:
11
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SEROJSep 12, 2013
Finally! Something really emotional! The acting is just so amazing that it's hard to believe that it's a movie! I love it and i highly recommend it to people with heart! 9/10
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
ArkonBladeAug 28, 2010
now when i first heard of this film i thought it was about some blind guy finding love . so the films title is very misleading which is a very good thing cause the first one woulda bored the hell outa me . no what this film is about is a exnow when i first heard of this film i thought it was about some blind guy finding love . so the films title is very misleading which is a very good thing cause the first one woulda bored the hell outa me . no what this film is about is a ex army colonel frank slade played by al pachino who is a cranky , mean , nasty son of a **** . who plays this role to perfection . as well as a college kid played by chris o donnel who have a adventure in new york . the film is best seen to be understood. i dont know what film the critics saw to give this such low reviews . its a excellent film that has a great story and is very well acted. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 28, 2013
Beautiful film. Pacino's magnum opus. His cantankerous, wise, and somewhat sadistic character surprisingly is a likable one. He plays it to a whole new standard. The performance is a masterpiece of cinema. Loved it the whole time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MarkG.Aug 31, 2008
A fine film, if overly drawn out. Its central drawing point is the great acting masterclass given by Mr. Pacino. He really brings a life and charisma to the Lt. Col. that i find hard to imagine other actors capable of replicating. Chris O A fine film, if overly drawn out. Its central drawing point is the great acting masterclass given by Mr. Pacino. He really brings a life and charisma to the Lt. Col. that i find hard to imagine other actors capable of replicating. Chris O Donnell for once appears not to be made out of mahogony, and give a restrained, yet powerful performance as the young student who acts as Pacino's carer. The set pieces are fabulous fun to watch, and include such memorable episodes as the blind Pacino driving a ferrari through the traffic filled streets. Overall, a very enjoyable, and well directed movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ParkerG.Jan 23, 2008
An unexpected treasure found on the shelf of my own DVD collection. I had purchased the movie many months ago based on the Academy Award to best actor. I had no idea what to expect and was completely enraptured with the journey the movie An unexpected treasure found on the shelf of my own DVD collection. I had purchased the movie many months ago based on the Academy Award to best actor. I had no idea what to expect and was completely enraptured with the journey the movie took me on. A wonderful movie. Don't analyze, just enjoy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DJ_KaasJan 3, 2014
Al Pacino did a really great job, good movie, it's worth your time indeed. There are lots of contents and humor in different locations, the film is also serious
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 17, 2014
Charming, funny, and powerful, Scent of a Woman is a good film anchored by a legendary performance from Al Pacino. Without him, this film would be nothing extraordinary. But, with him, it is elevated significantly. Overall, the story is okCharming, funny, and powerful, Scent of a Woman is a good film anchored by a legendary performance from Al Pacino. Without him, this film would be nothing extraordinary. But, with him, it is elevated significantly. Overall, the story is ok and is somewhat compelling, but every line spoken by Pacino are a mixture of emotions. On the surface, many undeniably funny, but it is also hard-hittingly powerful or inspirational, while many of them are simply depressing, as he is a man who thinks he has no further purpose in life. On top of Pacino, Chris O'Donnell does a great job (as does Philip Seymour Hoffman in a small role RIP), making this even more of an acting showcase, rather than a superb film. However, regardless, the film is incredibly enjoyable and endearing as we learn to love Slade (much like Charlie) and all of his little quirks. Plus, his monologue at the end is absolutely phemomenal and really stands as one of the best monologues in film.

On the negative side of things, it is a tad long. I love getting to see this much of their lives, but if it could be cut down to at least 2:10 rather than almost 2:40, it would be really beneficial. There is really no reason for this one to be so long. Otherwise, Scent of a Woman is a solid film that is lifted to new heights by a bravora performance from a living legend in Al Pacino who continously wows you throughout the film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
The excessive run-time can be forgiven due to Al Pacino's masterful performance. Unfortunately, the drama is lacking and the schmaltzy ending is weak.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysAug 11, 2014
Hoo-ah! Scent of a Woman is an interesting movie. It s a showcase for Al Pacino, and a reason to give him an Oscar. It throws in some life messages and themes to seem important, and gives Al some good quips to make about prep school life. TheHoo-ah! Scent of a Woman is an interesting movie. It s a showcase for Al Pacino, and a reason to give him an Oscar. It throws in some life messages and themes to seem important, and gives Al some good quips to make about prep school life. The character development is on point, an it is entertaining to watch. It doesn't have much substance, but it makes up for it in comedy and themes; and the soundtrack is beautiful. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
3
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
The plot is pathetic, Al Pacino overacts beyond description and they might as well have cast a wooden pinnate to play Charlie Simms. One of the worst films to ever be nominated for best picture.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Sep 7, 2015
One of those movies that makes you wish it wasn't a movie and that - somewhere, somehow, in some weird parallel movie universe - Chris O'Donnell and Al Pacino are really still cruising around and having fun in New York City. "Scent Of AOne of those movies that makes you wish it wasn't a movie and that - somewhere, somehow, in some weird parallel movie universe - Chris O'Donnell and Al Pacino are really still cruising around and having fun in New York City. "Scent Of A Woman" is Martin Brest's masterpiece; a crowd-pleaser with a big heart and an absolutely legendary performance from Al Pacino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
calhouniteJan 13, 2016
these arsholes who keep shouting keep your mouth shut in the face of crimes, no matter how trivial, need the same treatment as this movie - get plugged.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Jul 17, 2015
Scent of a Woman is a movie that is just as potent now as it ever was. The plot is promising and it delivers based on an excellent performance by one of the best actors to ever walk this Earth in Al Pacino. I think Pacino does a near perfectScent of a Woman is a movie that is just as potent now as it ever was. The plot is promising and it delivers based on an excellent performance by one of the best actors to ever walk this Earth in Al Pacino. I think Pacino does a near perfect portrayal of his character (although it is not as perfect as Denzel Washington's performance in Malcolm X which lost to Pacino in the 1993 Oscars). Occasionally but appropriately over the top is the best way to describe the performance. Chris O'Donnell is great as well in one of his only notable performances sadly. Scent of a Woman is a heart warming film that is a great watch for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews