User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    9
    now when i first heard of this film i thought it was about some blind guy finding love . so the films title is very misleading which is a very good thing cause the first one woulda bored the hell outa me . no what this film is about is a ex army colonel frank slade played by al pachino who is a cranky , mean , nasty son of a **** . who plays this role to perfection . as well as a college kid played by chris o donnel who have a adventure in new york . the film is best seen to be understood. i dont know what film the critics saw to give this such low reviews . its a excellent film that has a great story and is very well acted. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Finally! Something really emotional! The acting is just so amazing that it's hard to believe that it's a movie! I love it and i highly recommend it to people with heart! 9/10
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    Beautiful film. Pacino's magnum opus. His cantankerous, wise, and somewhat sadistic character surprisingly is a likable one. He plays it to a whole new standard. The performance is a masterpiece of cinema. Loved it the whole time.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Al Pacino did a really great job, good movie, it's worth your time indeed. There are lots of contents and humor in different locations, the film is also serious
  5. May 17, 2014
    8
    Charming, funny, and powerful, Scent of a Woman is a good film anchored by a legendary performance from Al Pacino. Without him, this film would be nothing extraordinary. But, with him, it is elevated significantly. Overall, the story is ok and is somewhat compelling, but every line spoken by Pacino are a mixture of emotions. On the surface, many undeniably funny, but it is also hard-hittingly powerful or inspirational, while many of them are simply depressing, as he is a man who thinks he has no further purpose in life. On top of Pacino, Chris O'Donnell does a great job (as does Philip Seymour Hoffman in a small role RIP), making this even more of an acting showcase, rather than a superb film. However, regardless, the film is incredibly enjoyable and endearing as we learn to love Slade (much like Charlie) and all of his little quirks. Plus, his monologue at the end is absolutely phemomenal and really stands as one of the best monologues in film.

    On the negative side of things, it is a tad long. I love getting to see this much of their lives, but if it could be cut down to at least 2:10 rather than almost 2:40, it would be really beneficial. There is really no reason for this one to be so long. Otherwise, Scent of a Woman is a solid film that is lifted to new heights by a bravora performance from a living legend in Al Pacino who continously wows you throughout the film.
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    The excessive run-time can be forgiven due to Al Pacino's masterful performance. Unfortunately, the drama is lacking and the schmaltzy ending is weak.
  7. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    Hoo-ah! Scent of a Woman is an interesting movie. It s a showcase for Al Pacino, and a reason to give him an Oscar. It throws in some life messages and themes to seem important, and gives Al some good quips to make about prep school life. The character development is on point, an it is entertaining to watch. It doesn't have much substance, but it makes up for it in comedy and themes; and the soundtrack is beautiful. Expand
  8. May 12, 2014
    3
    There is no plot whatsoever in this film. It's poorly structured, lacks consistency and the ending is very weak. Unlike most people here, I'm going to have to criticize Pacino as well for wildly overacting this time around. He is nowhere close to his best and you expect better from an actor of such calibre.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. There's no denying that Pacino's performance is superb. The rest of the movie plays like a bunch of inconsequentially strung together sequences.
  2. 75
    By the end of Scent of a Woman, we have arrived at the usual conclusion of the coming-of-age movie, and the usual conclusion of the prep school movie. But rarely have we been taken there with so much intelligence and skill.
  3. 75
    If there's anything special about the film, it's that on this occasion, the emotional realism of the characters, especially Slade, is heartwrenchingly believable.