Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 1993
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 826 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
711
Mixed:
63
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
Steven Spielberg's greatest film. Powerful, emotional, thought provoking and a perfect film all around. Liam Neeson's acting is one of the best I've seen around and its directorial work is masterful. Essential.
20 of 24 users found this helpful204
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzJan 24, 2012
Outstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching argument; yet not overly emotional. Beautiful phography, and it is mostly historically accurate- I guess some changes were made- and well, the movies is much, much more! IfOutstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching argument; yet not overly emotional. Beautiful phography, and it is mostly historically accurate- I guess some changes were made- and well, the movies is much, much more! If you haven't seen it, just go and do it...no comments here will be good enough. So experience it yourself for watching this movie, independently of how you feel when you finish doing it, is 'A MUST' for all those who, as myself, love the performing arts. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EsaiSouzaNov 26, 2012
Honestly one of the greatest motion pictures of all time. Steven Spielberg really out did himself here with this film. It is sheer genius and a perfect picture. He couldn't have painted a better picture.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 27, 2013
It's a masterpiece, in general, an accurate and amazingly written screenplay about a man who realized that these suffering people were no different than him and his party. Liam Neeson's acting is superb, but Ralph Fiennes is something else,It's a masterpiece, in general, an accurate and amazingly written screenplay about a man who realized that these suffering people were no different than him and his party. Liam Neeson's acting is superb, but Ralph Fiennes is something else, something that is complicated, sadistic, and overall, pure evil. My ancestors perished in a concentration camp. This story gives the Jews what they deserved; some sympathy. It's realistic and compassionate and one of the greatest films ever made. Spielberg will go down in history one of the top film directors (right below Stanley Kubrick). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
unless you are a skin head , nazi , or a racist you can not hate this film . this is some of the best film making ever to be done . this is easily spielburgs best film . we all learn in school about what happend to the jews in WWII and mostunless you are a skin head , nazi , or a racist you can not hate this film . this is some of the best film making ever to be done . this is easily spielburgs best film . we all learn in school about what happend to the jews in WWII and most of us just think that sucked and dont think about it much more . well this movie gives a visual view and performances that really make you think about it alot more . it shows the monsters of humanity in there most vicous form and makes you think . which is very rare in film making . the acting in this film is some of the best ive ever seen raph fines who does amon goth the head of the jewish camp does him so well he comes off more scary then any hollywood monster ive seen . liam neison gives a outstanding perfromance as well as oscar shcindler as we wach a man start off only caring about the jews to make money off of start to see he's working for monsters and has to do something to help. the black and white look was a great idea for this film . it almost makes you feel you are waching a WWII documentory and theese events are really happening . even when you relise you are waching a hollywood film still doesnt change that this is based on actaul events . its a film every one should see atleast once . it is bloody and gory and extremely violent but to do it less then it was woulda been a shame to water down the horrors that happend back then and not tell the story of what the jews really went through in that peroid of time. it is some thing every one should know about so they truely under stand why the nazie's where the scum of the earth. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
1966ZodiacAug 16, 2010
Just an all around Amazing movie. I highly recommend it. This movie just was sooo emotionally satisfying. I can't recommend it enough. It had great acting,directing,cinematography, and everything. It is a bit long though but it's definatelyJust an all around Amazing movie. I highly recommend it. This movie just was sooo emotionally satisfying. I can't recommend it enough. It had great acting,directing,cinematography, and everything. It is a bit long though but it's definately worth it if you pay attention to the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SolveigDec 31, 2011
Must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Holanda000Sep 16, 2011
Certainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when ICertainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when I found out, at the end of the movie, that Spielberg was the director, since this is not the type of movie he usually makes. My respect for him improved because of this movie. Some scenes are simply masterpieces, like those in which you can see some colors. Soundtrack is also great, making it an even more touching movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JavisOct 4, 2011
A very beautiful, epic and dark story about courage and the desire of living, a masterpiece made by Steven Spielberg this is one of those films which if you didn't like it, you have got no heart.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 30, 2014
A gut wrenchingly beautiful masterpiece about the horrors of the holocaust, Schindler's List is Steven Spielberg at his finest and most emotional (rightfully so).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiOct 23, 2013
I have watched this so many times I don't even remember. Has to be one of my top five favourite movies of all time. There are no words for it. Every scene rips through your soul and makes you shudder, but not in a sappy kind of way. But inI have watched this so many times I don't even remember. Has to be one of my top five favourite movies of all time. There are no words for it. Every scene rips through your soul and makes you shudder, but not in a sappy kind of way. But in the sense that you wonder if mankind is even capable of such barbarity. There is no effort to make you cry and feel sorry for the devastation of living breathing human beings, but on the contrary, the narration is objective and kind of lists the series of events without pretence. That's why it is so raw, and you draw your own meanings from it. Whole scenes pass without any background music to tell you how you should feel about it. Makes you experience war in a disturbingly intimate manner, like you are a spectator, watching silently as murder is committed before your very eyes, and you don't have the spine to make it stop. It is only later, when it's all done, and it's time for reflection, that the score sets in. And I couldn't find it in me to resist the tears. The scenes about the little girl in the red coat were especially unbearable. The score is so haunting and chilling that it picks you up and sets you in a whole different environment. The running time runs extremely fast. I'm aware that some of us may not have the level of concentration to sit through a three hour epic, but whoever prides himself in being able to appreciate art will have no problems. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jazz_MDec 1, 2012
The movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. ThisThe movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. This movie is for someone who is INTELLECTUAL and can pick up on the hidden meanings. It's not meant to be viewed by someone who doesn't have the mental capacity to see PAST the movie and into the meaning. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Schindler's List is an epic masterpiece that reaches down into the soul of human nature and plays with the strings of our hearts and minds by sending us to one of the worst places imaginable. This film is not only one of cinema's greatestSchindler's List is an epic masterpiece that reaches down into the soul of human nature and plays with the strings of our hearts and minds by sending us to one of the worst places imaginable. This film is not only one of cinema's greatest treasures, it is also my favorite film ever made. This work of art takes us into Steven Spielberg's vision of the Holocaust, and serves us a deep and thrilling story about a hero who saved hundreds of people due to his bravery and courageousness. Steven Spielberg is a true genius; in his career he has created classics such as Raiders of the Lost Ark or E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial, but no film he has ever crafted will ever live up to this one epic masterpiece of a film that changed the world of cinema forever as we know it. When this film released in 1993, Steven Spielberg proved that he was not just a great filmmaker, he was an artist. He gives the film so much power and depth to the characters and story, and no drama film will ever be able to touch the soul as this film did for me. A masterpiece like this is hardly ever released, and it's not only about the Holocaust itself, it's also about a hero and how he stood up to the walls that surrounded him. Oskar Schindler is one of the greatest heroes the world has ever known in my opinion, a member of the Nazi party who saw the corruption of what was going in this terrible time and did all that he could to save as many Jews as possible. In the film he witnesses a girl in a red dress walking through the streets of Poland as Nazi's are grabbing Jews, and later he sees the girl in that same dress dead along with the other Jews about to be burned. This revelation changes Schindler from a businessman into a man who sees the true evil of The Holocaust. Oskar really is a flawed man as well, he has his problems like any normal human but his intentions still make me see him as a great man. Liam Neeson's performance in this film is almost too good to be true, and he deserved an Academy Award. This is acting at its absolute best and his final scene where he cries over the fact that he could've saved more people always brings me to tears. Ralph Fiennes plays a truly sinister man as Amon Goeth, one of the worst men I have ever witnessed in a film. He is ruthless and insane, but we see in some scenes that he is in love with a Jewish woman named Helen. This is a very important part of his character, as it shows he has humanity inside him and that proves that he truly is a horrible man if he can feel love and compassion and still be that ruthless. Fiennes plays this role brilliantly, and his darkness and depth he gives the character amazes me to this day. Ben Kingsley plays Itzhak Stern who is Schindler's accountant and business partner during the events of the film, and he really is a symbol of Schindler's bravery. He has a Jewish man working for him and they soon become very close, and that proves that Schindler truly grows a love for the Jewish people that begin working for him. Ben Kinglsey is flawless as always and was truly the only man who could've pulled off the character with such passion and sympathy. Steven Spielberg has always taken us into films where we wish we could've joined the adventure, but this was his first movie where I wanted nothing to do where he had taken us. While other Holocaust masterpieces like The Pianist or Life is Beautiful are incredible for showing the survival of the Hlocaust, this one is a masterpiece for showing the brutality of it. This was like nothing he had done before, and I am overwhelmed with happiness that other people love this film as much as I do. This flawless masterpiece has been criticized by many ignorant people that have different issues with the film, and I think that' they have issues with the fact they couldn't think of a better film themselves. Spielberg is truly, in my opinion, the greatest director of all time, mainly because he has been able to bring us both dramatic masterpieces like this and entertaining masterpieces like Indiana Jones or Jaws. Schindler's List is my all-time favorite film, and for me, no other drama will ever be able to live up to the visionary genius that Spielberg has given us, and no other film will ever effect me like this movie has done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
asy8492Feb 22, 2014
Honestly, this movie touched my heart so much. It was as if I could feel the sufferings at that time. Truly this is a masterpiece that should be remembered for coming ages.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Strykr316Mar 28, 2012
The black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to haveThe black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to have glamour. The film shows a unique telling of one of the darkest chapters in human history; from the enemy's point of view: in that, it shows that everyone has a limit, including Nazi Profiteer Oskar Schindler. The only color in the film is the red coat that the protagonist sees for only two brief moments in the film, and so appropriate was the one color choice to be blood red; a coat on an innocent girl, whom everyone is ignoring, just like a blood stain ignored (or insufficiently acknowledged) on human history. Brilliant work overall, and one of my favorite pieces of art. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
davenbettridgeFeb 5, 2012
Perhaps the most powerful movie I have ever seen. Every person on the planet should watch this movie at least once in their life. A Masterpiece that I will never forget.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
KingerSaysSep 8, 2011
One of the best films ever made.......................................................................................................................
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RaymondMendez19Mar 31, 2013
Una historia asombrosa, que te encoge el corazón, de ver capaz de lo que es el hombre, pero que por otra parte arroja un rayo de esperanza, al ver como puede redimirse un pragmático hedonista como Schindler, y convertirse en un ejemplo deUna historia asombrosa, que te encoge el corazón, de ver capaz de lo que es el hombre, pero que por otra parte arroja un rayo de esperanza, al ver como puede redimirse un pragmático hedonista como Schindler, y convertirse en un ejemplo de altruismo y salvación. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
Although the story's a little biased towards the Jews, The sad, realistic WW2 masterpiece "Schindler's list" succeeds seducing the audience with sensational performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and marvelous directing from StevenAlthough the story's a little biased towards the Jews, The sad, realistic WW2 masterpiece "Schindler's list" succeeds seducing the audience with sensational performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and marvelous directing from Steven Spielberg. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieD.Jun 15, 2006
A perfect 10 for this disturbing, touching and vital piece of film. evryone must watch this movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ZawMineMay 12, 2015
I will say this. Schindler's List is one of the most haunting war movies that I've ever seen. So hurtful. So disturbing. It is kind of disturbing that you will probably not going to see it again. Because it is so good. Schindler's List is aI will say this. Schindler's List is one of the most haunting war movies that I've ever seen. So hurtful. So disturbing. It is kind of disturbing that you will probably not going to see it again. Because it is so good. Schindler's List is a masterpiece. Overall, it is one of the best war movies in cinema history so far. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMay 4, 2011
My girlfriend and I were watching this together, she dozed off, I switched channels to watch a football match. One of the most boring movies ever made. Totally lifeless. The black and white doesn't help, and neither does the cinematography.My girlfriend and I were watching this together, she dozed off, I switched channels to watch a football match. One of the most boring movies ever made. Totally lifeless. The black and white doesn't help, and neither does the cinematography. The character were so totally flat, please, who would really care if they live or die ? Just goes to show you that even big names like Spielberg can throw interceptions... Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
10
ShaneS.Feb 1, 2006
This film is contrastable to certain brutality epics that challenge the viewer with pain and death, and greusome bloodshed that the eye can't remain toward the screen until it is finished. This, though, is a film that demands the eye This film is contrastable to certain brutality epics that challenge the viewer with pain and death, and greusome bloodshed that the eye can't remain toward the screen until it is finished. This, though, is a film that demands the eye remain magnetized to the screen, because truth can be that way; honest, emotional truth. To address the commenter who claimed this was a propaganda film to boast about the Jewish faith, it seems more an objective account of something that happened, more or less, to a group of people bearing the brunt of a clashing of virtues. They received the blunt end of the stick, and the director himself captured with lyrical symbology the essence of those events. People will have their opinions, but I hold that it is one of the greatest films ever made. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
matroycemApr 26, 2013
Probably one of the most emotionally engaging films ever made. The direction of the action and the performances all ehance what is a deeply moving film. The film content is one of both horror and compassion of the war time scenes that youProbably one of the most emotionally engaging films ever made. The direction of the action and the performances all ehance what is a deeply moving film. The film content is one of both horror and compassion of the war time scenes that you know really happened. It is difficult to explain the WOW factor of the film without explaining scenes but even then seeing is better than a thousand words. I got to the end of the film with a tear in my eye and actually had to say wow over what a terrific display had brought over me. Liam 'I can never remove my accent completely' Neeson was superb and even thought in most films I get annoyed hearing Liam rather than the accent of the character he is meant to be on screen, I could look past the Scottish German accent he was putting on the screen.
The Black and White of the film is the perfect choice as it sets the right tone and also ages the film to feel more like recording of the actual events than a film adaptation. It is a film I would watch again and again and it would still take my breathe away.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergSep 26, 2011
A historical drama detailing the life of Oskar Schindler, who used his money to save over a thousand Jews during the Second World War. Seen as a sort of companion piece to Spielberg's other war epic Saving Private Ryan (1998) , this film isA historical drama detailing the life of Oskar Schindler, who used his money to save over a thousand Jews during the Second World War. Seen as a sort of companion piece to Spielberg's other war epic Saving Private Ryan (1998) , this film is more factual and contains less action so that when you do see it, it is all the more horrifying. I was blown away by Liam Neeson's performance and I now consider it his best role, next only to Michael Collins. Another notable performance is Ralph Fiennes as the evil, cold blooded and militant psycho Amon Goeth, who was hung after Germany surrended for crimes against humanity. My only complaints would be that the accents are sometimes difficult to make out and that it is heavily depressing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Considered to be one of the most powerful films since the beginning of film. Steven Spielberg's devastating look at the Holocaust is both personal and sorrowful. Spielberg's decision to film in black-and-white creates a vivid nightmare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
A near perfect movie. Although sometimes a bit slow, Schindler's List a thoughtful and brutal portrait of the tragedy that was the Holocaust. Spielberg's directing is wonderful, but what really makes the movie are the performances from LiamA near perfect movie. Although sometimes a bit slow, Schindler's List a thoughtful and brutal portrait of the tragedy that was the Holocaust. Spielberg's directing is wonderful, but what really makes the movie are the performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes, which are perfect in every way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingApr 26, 2013
this movie is a gem there is a good movie and there is a great movie and there is a gem which is something you get to see few times in a life time Steven Spielberg is a spectacular director with this amazing ideas and amazing talent and youthis movie is a gem there is a good movie and there is a great movie and there is a gem which is something you get to see few times in a life time Steven Spielberg is a spectacular director with this amazing ideas and amazing talent and you get to see all that in this movie from start to finish i can't really think of anything negative about this one this movie simply change your views about humanity waw. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
WalkingDead5640Jul 4, 2013
It's more than a film. It's an unforgettable, stylistic experience. The film is 3 hours long and you have to take in superb acting, imagery and storytelling, capturing the emotional and realism of the Holocaust. I realized I had watched aIt's more than a film. It's an unforgettable, stylistic experience. The film is 3 hours long and you have to take in superb acting, imagery and storytelling, capturing the emotional and realism of the Holocaust. I realized I had watched a masterpiece once it had finished. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RockCriticJun 18, 2013
Simply beautiful, sad, and a masterpiece. Definitely one of Steven Spielberg's best along with E.T., Raiders, Jaws, and Saving Private Ryan. One of the most realistic movies ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
This is an extremely harrowing and toutching film. Well written, beuatifully directed and supebly acted. The cinematography is materful, never seen anything else like it. Liam Neeson and ralph finnes act so natrually together, and theirThis is an extremely harrowing and toutching film. Well written, beuatifully directed and supebly acted. The cinematography is materful, never seen anything else like it. Liam Neeson and ralph finnes act so natrually together, and their performances are believable and moving. Though provoking and highly recomended film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ardania22Sep 1, 2015
Epic historical dramas don't get much better than this. Probably the most visceral recount of the Holocaust ever brought to cinema; the sporadic violence is brutal yet purposeful, shocking without feeling exploitive. The cast is allEpic historical dramas don't get much better than this. Probably the most visceral recount of the Holocaust ever brought to cinema; the sporadic violence is brutal yet purposeful, shocking without feeling exploitive. The cast is all excellent. It's three hours long, yet you hardly feel the length. Like Lord of the Rings, it's so massive and engrossing that time stops mattering.
What really makes this movie special, though, is its treatment of Schindler himself. The character isn't a particularly nice man. He's adulterous. He's erratic. He loses his temper. He's also kind of a pedophile, at least in one scene. Most "great man" epics would try to gloss over these imperfections and have him redeem himself in the end through his valiant actions. But Spielberg's too smart for that. He doesn't try to scrub Schindler clean of his sins. He presents the Nazi renegade warts and all, and as a result, Schindler feels achingly real (and Liam Neeson's outstanding performance certainly helps). You want to see him succeed, to overcome his personal demons for the greater good, and every little moment of light in his darkness feels profound. In the end, though, his triumph isn't particularly heroic. I won't spoil how it ends, in case you haven't seen the movie, but there's a scene near the end where Schindler tries to come to terms with the massive good he's done and what it means for him. It's heartbreaking, and one of the best-earned crying scenes in movie history.
Seriously, see this movie. It's epic, unflinching, riveting, and utterly beautiful.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JackMar 27, 2008
A stunning film with great use of film techniques. This shocked me and showed me a part of the holocaust from the eyes of both the jews and the upper-class germans. People who think that the film is boring obviously do not have any sense of A stunning film with great use of film techniques. This shocked me and showed me a part of the holocaust from the eyes of both the jews and the upper-class germans. People who think that the film is boring obviously do not have any sense of humanity and perhaps have been brainwashed by the current modern action films, where the only lift is seeing people killing others in different ways. Fantastic film Steven! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianP.May 2, 2008
Schindler's List is a masterpiece of filmaking that modern cinema has not and will not ever see again. Plain and simple, this movie touches us in a place that a super-hero flick just cannot. Spielberg shows us just how low and just how Schindler's List is a masterpiece of filmaking that modern cinema has not and will not ever see again. Plain and simple, this movie touches us in a place that a super-hero flick just cannot. Spielberg shows us just how low and just how high the human spirit can go, all while showing the world his magnificent brilliance and mastery of filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GenaroN.Sep 10, 2003
One of the best representation of the holocaust horror. A movie that will touch your soul it is depressive and reflective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Harrowing account of the Holocaust, the film is most effective when rubbing our faces in the daily insanity of Nazi brutality. Though the performances are impeccable and the writing top-notch, the film finally succumbs to formulaic Harrowing account of the Holocaust, the film is most effective when rubbing our faces in the daily insanity of Nazi brutality. Though the performances are impeccable and the writing top-notch, the film finally succumbs to formulaic contrivances and an unforgivably sappy ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeN.Feb 9, 2004
Spielberg just does not quite get the "art" thing, does he? The story here lacks some sort of authorial viewpoint or overarching sensibility that might save it from being sententious. Spielberg tries hard to tell the story simply------ so Spielberg just does not quite get the "art" thing, does he? The story here lacks some sort of authorial viewpoint or overarching sensibility that might save it from being sententious. Spielberg tries hard to tell the story simply------ so hard that he drains the movie of any emotions except a certain dreariness combined with an elegantly understated preachiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColtonM.Apr 21, 2005
It made me cry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinBeattieJan 9, 2007
First off I would like to say that this is an excellent movie and it portrays the brutality of the Nazis treatment of Jewish prisoners. Second, to people who say this "doesnt tell the full story". That statement is absolutley moronic. Yes First off I would like to say that this is an excellent movie and it portrays the brutality of the Nazis treatment of Jewish prisoners. Second, to people who say this "doesnt tell the full story". That statement is absolutley moronic. Yes there are two sides to this story. The jews who were murdered, and the Nazis who murdered them. Thats the story. Did all of the germans who were Nazi soldiers want to be? No some of them were forced to do what they did. But to somehow place the Germans in a position that what they did was a good thing is insane. The Nazis murdered those people. End of story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Jan 6, 2009
Exceptional!! Schindler's list is perhaps the best and most heartbreaking depiction of the Holocaust ever, It's a dark and heart breaking tale of one man's journey to become a hero to the Jew's of today, Liam Neeson plays Exceptional!! Schindler's list is perhaps the best and most heartbreaking depiction of the Holocaust ever, It's a dark and heart breaking tale of one man's journey to become a hero to the Jew's of today, Liam Neeson plays Oskar Schindler a greedy factory owner who hires Jew's to minimum wage work for him. Soon enough he has all the money in the world and is happy as can be. Or so it appears, as the film progress you see the demeanor and attitude of Schindler change dramatically when he watches the Jewish people get slaughtered like animals by the Nazi's, after that he sets his heart on the sole task if getting them out of the camps and into his country. Schindler's List is the proven example of human kindness and compassion, It's a movie that will make your heart break and make the spirit soar at his heroic feet. Schindler's List is one of the greatest films ever made and will continue to shock and amaze people for all time. I very highly recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KonradR.May 9, 2002
An absolute masterpiece. Perfect in every way from cinematography to acting to music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PattyD.Sep 21, 2002
This movie is a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheFallAndRiseOfGilbertMulroneycakesJan 7, 2003
You see, Emily V, 60 years ago much of the world was engulfed in a reasonably cataclysmic confilct that came to be known as World War II. Honestly, overrated...overrated my arse. I hate that word. It implies that the speaker is definitive in You see, Emily V, 60 years ago much of the world was engulfed in a reasonably cataclysmic confilct that came to be known as World War II. Honestly, overrated...overrated my arse. I hate that word. It implies that the speaker is definitive in some way. Which you aren't, any more than I am. Whatever I think about it, Schindler's List - probably the greatest of a myriad of Steven Mastepieces - is one of the greatest, most beautiful, most tragic movies ever made. Coincidentally, I actually believe that it is one of the greatest, most beautiful, most tragic movies ever made, but that's second fiddle to how good it IS. Stay around for the coda as well - if it doesn't break your heart, you don't have one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielG.Sep 14, 2003
Spielberg's definite masterpiece. The story may be somewhat simplified although this is easily overlooked when you consider the other elements in the movie. From the acting to the cinematics, this movie not only touches you hart; it breaks it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AkhilK.Mar 8, 2004
What a powerful film. One of limitless possibilties that leaves to your imagination to what these people really felt. Amazing, even the intentional humour is appropriate. One of the best movies ever made. Then why the 9? Well, let me ask you What a powerful film. One of limitless possibilties that leaves to your imagination to what these people really felt. Amazing, even the intentional humour is appropriate. One of the best movies ever made. Then why the 9? Well, let me ask you this question - Was the nudity really necessary? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.May 4, 2004
I don't give many movies 10/10. There is usually some small reason to say it's not perfect. Much like why you don't see too many gymnasts given 10.0. This is one of those rare occasions where there are no faults. If I don't give many movies 10/10. There is usually some small reason to say it's not perfect. Much like why you don't see too many gymnasts given 10.0. This is one of those rare occasions where there are no faults. If you're not moved, inspired and/or educated by this film, you're not human. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DazAug 14, 2004
I can only echo many of the comments already posted about this film. I was SO moved by it when i first saw it at the cinema. I think all 14 year olds should be forced to watch this movie to show them how evil man can be. Without a doubt, one I can only echo many of the comments already posted about this film. I was SO moved by it when i first saw it at the cinema. I think all 14 year olds should be forced to watch this movie to show them how evil man can be. Without a doubt, one of the greatest films i have ever see, or WILL ever see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaysonB.Apr 8, 2005
Perspective changing and a masterpiece of filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
??May 21, 2005
This is a film which touches me most.The little girl in red makes me feel the cure of the war. It is the most unforgetable picture I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElenaMay 22, 2005
This film was very good to document what happened in the concentration camps and how the jews where treated. Only that sometimes it became a little boring and the all white and black was strange nowdays we are onlyused to look color tv so This film was very good to document what happened in the concentration camps and how the jews where treated. Only that sometimes it became a little boring and the all white and black was strange nowdays we are onlyused to look color tv so looking it in black and white was strange. Furthermore sometimes you couldn't really understand what was said or it was said in german ... for the rest this is a great movie that made me learn who schindler was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanF.May 6, 2005
A story that captures many aspects of the Holocaust. Fanatastic Movie. Steven Spielberg made a lot of money out of his successful film, and yes, he also finally received an Oscar (Although I think some of his earlier work should receive one A story that captures many aspects of the Holocaust. Fanatastic Movie. Steven Spielberg made a lot of money out of his successful film, and yes, he also finally received an Oscar (Although I think some of his earlier work should receive one too). There are many interesting stories about the holocaust and WWII, and I wonder what attracted Spielberg to Schindler's story so much. Well, if you saw the film you can see that what Spielberg and Schindler have in common is money and ambition. Spielberg in my point of view is a great producer/business man. He knows how to make money (even for the Holocaust). I believe that is why Spielberg's so attracted to Schindler's character. Don't get me wrong, Spielberg has also values as well, and it is said that most of what the film has earned Spielberg donated to the Holocaust foundation. Spielberg is a franchise but I get the feeling that he cares. So in parallel to Schindler's character that evolves through the film, Spielberg uses the money he earns to make some good. Schindler is presented as a business man, who is interested in making money - actually a war profiteer. But something changes in his plan, Schindler learns slowly that the Nazi ideology is stupid and evil, and he goes on a process through the film of purging himself out of this ideology. He starts to care for "his Jewish workers", and by the end of the film he even cries, not for the loss of money, but for the life he could have saved. There are many scenes in this film, created in detail, through the help of survivor's testimonies. Some of them are extremely violent or contain nudity. Those scenes, which are shot brilliantly, are required for realism and I really like them, as I believe that such appalling violence is reserved only in film and not in our life. I find Schindler's List as a visual experience one should not miss, as it helps you grasp the horror and violence of the Nazis. Since Hollywood is controls the world market of cinema, this movie is a breakthrough, bringing the story of the holocaust to the whole world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverT>Jul 14, 2005
Simplemente, es la mejor pelicula de todos los tiempos, ya que hace ver a la perfeccion la crueldad y todo lo mejor que se pueda dar en una persona, en lo que ha sido el peor episodio de la historia humana.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuciusSep 1, 2005
A real masterpiece, best movie ever made. A person who doesn't like it, is a monstrous entity with neither a heart nor a soul, period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HikaruK.Mar 15, 2007
Honestly, I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, Honestly, I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through the actions of Amon Goeth, who is played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes. It is ultimately the story of Oskar Schindler, a man who worked within the Nazi party system to save over one thousand Jewish individuals from almost certain death. It doesn't portray him as a god as he clearly had faults, but it shows that hope is possible and that people can work together to save others. But it is still very clearly about the violence of the Holocaust, almost in a numbing emotional sense. The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous in this film. Black and white was the way to go. In some senses, I think it helps to keep the picture from overwhelming us and as authenticity of some newsreel from the time. The touch at the end in "present" day of the survivors and their families coming to Schindler's grave is at once touching and haunting without necessarily spelling it out for us. Haunting and moving, it is one of the most weighty and ponderous films but it never harkens from its intensity even being more than three hours. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BaytotheAGetHyphyMay 5, 2007
This was a fantastically directed. Steven Spielberg knows how to convey any message beautifully through film. It is sad to see how brutally the Nazis treated Jews and their utter disrespect for human life. Bring some Kleenex with you when This was a fantastically directed. Steven Spielberg knows how to convey any message beautifully through film. It is sad to see how brutally the Nazis treated Jews and their utter disrespect for human life. Bring some Kleenex with you when watching this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimTwoJun 30, 2007
You have got to be kidding me...Return of the King and an animated feature get higher scores than Schindler's List?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayH.Mar 7, 2008
One of the truly greatest films of all time. It is unforgettable and haunting. Steven Spielberg's expert direction, the tremendous acting and outstanding writing make it a brilliant film in all respects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BerkeO.Apr 2, 2008
This is the most beutiful film that I've ever senn!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcinCFeb 23, 2009
A flawless masterpiece...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bryonyJul 31, 2009
Such a clever film, I noticed the use of the well known sad song gloomy Sunday - immediately showing the depression and suffering of the Jews that this film perfectly portrays. Amazingly directed scenes that show the sheer horror and leave Such a clever film, I noticed the use of the well known sad song gloomy Sunday - immediately showing the depression and suffering of the Jews that this film perfectly portrays. Amazingly directed scenes that show the sheer horror and leave you gasping afterwards. Casted with perfection, every actor convincing you with their realistic portrayals of heroes/victims/villains of this awful time. I was left devastated, just as the makers intended their audience to feel. Loved how the realism was actually THERE at the end. This film really chilled my bones, made me think like an adult for once about the serious history people have experienced. Excellence! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Aug 10, 2009
Forget Brando as Vito Corleone or Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter, Ralph Fiennes delivers THE greatest performance as Amon Goth in this film. Incredibly complex, chilling but somehow addictive. Spielberg's directing is sensational Forget Brando as Vito Corleone or Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter, Ralph Fiennes delivers THE greatest performance as Amon Goth in this film. Incredibly complex, chilling but somehow addictive. Spielberg's directing is sensational and although I didn't care that much for Liam Neeson as Schindler, this film still certainly deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikerAug 2, 2009
Great piece of film making, and a great man. For Gary l. to give it a 0 is actually rather frightening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoH.R.Dec 16, 2003
A nearly flawless materpiece, Schindler's List is the best film I've ever seen. Powerful, beautiful, haunting. Spielberg's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffG.Jan 3, 2003
One of the greatest movies of ALL time. It's depressing, but it's supposed to be. Everyone should see it at some point in their life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
H.K.Mar 18, 2003
Cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackA.Apr 20, 2003
Words cannot describe this movie. It simply touches the soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackA.Apr 20, 2003
Words cannot describe this movie. It simply touches the soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianaB.Aug 8, 2003
Very sad, but brilliant movie! Everyone should be made to watch this movie in schools.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
G.M.D.KDec 3, 2004
Unforgettable. One of the best film of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertL.Feb 16, 2004
Not only is this masterpiece the greatest film ever made, it can be considered one of mankind's greatest artistic achievements, to be compared with the best of Mozart, Shakespeare and Michelangelo. Using the subtle but startling Not only is this masterpiece the greatest film ever made, it can be considered one of mankind's greatest artistic achievements, to be compared with the best of Mozart, Shakespeare and Michelangelo. Using the subtle but startling shadings only black and white cinema can produce Steven Speilberg has created a protean achievement both thought-provoking and shattering in content and scope. Ralph Fiennes frightening portrayal of the concentration camp commandant shows the horrifying side of a human both sad and twisted. Liam Neeson and Ben Kingsley give performances equally compelling. John Williams musical score is flawless, evoking an emotional response without overcoming this disturbing story about a German industrialist who slowly learns about the Holocaust and tries to save the few Jews he can from certain death. This miraculous piece of cinema should be required viewing for anyone interested in the human condition and the depths and heights to which we all can reach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DawnB.Apr 8, 2004
It taught me a lot about my history. It also helped me out wit my history project. Schindler's List changed me and how i look and treat people today!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinL.Aug 28, 2004
Incredibly devestating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyM.Jun 5, 2005
It was awsome. truly memorable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyN.Jan 11, 2006
This video opened my eyes to see that people can be good. You dont have to give your life for others, but saving one person is changing your life. They can have children, and those children will be there because of you. This is a wonderful This video opened my eyes to see that people can be good. You dont have to give your life for others, but saving one person is changing your life. They can have children, and those children will be there because of you. This is a wonderful movie and I recommend it to anyone willing to watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatrinaS.Jan 12, 2006
I really think that this was a really good movie because of all the details and how they put it all together it was a true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SnezanaM.Feb 6, 2006
Simply thriling and heart capturing! a motionless epic to be applauded!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenS.May 1, 2006
There are no words that can even begin to tell how incredible this movie is. It is perfect, it is just so horrible that it is a true story. A perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
Extremely entertaining. Heartbreaking to say the least. The 3 hours literally fly by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachQ.Jun 7, 2006
This movie is fair to all sides, and it portrays history accurately enough for teachers to show it in their classes. I feel as though this movie captures the essence of what makes a movie great. Criticism of this movie highlights the This movie is fair to all sides, and it portrays history accurately enough for teachers to show it in their classes. I feel as though this movie captures the essence of what makes a movie great. Criticism of this movie highlights the person's ignorance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethM.Jul 10, 2006
Ralph Fiennes is what makes this movie, pure and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jan 16, 2007
I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through the actions of Amon Goeth, who is played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes. It is ultimately the story of Oskar Schindler, a man who worked within the Nazi party system to save over one thousand Jewish individuals from almost certain death. It doesn't portray him as a god as he clearly had faults, but it shows that hope is possible and that people can work together to save others. But it is still very clearly about the violence of the Holocaust, almost in a numbing emotional sense. The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous in this film. Black and white was the way to go. In some senses, I think it helps to keep the picture from overwhelming us and as authenticity of some newsreel from the time. The touch at the end in "present" day of the survivors and their families coming to Schindler's grave is at once touching and haunting without necessarily spelling it out for us. Haunting and moving, it is one of the most weighty and ponderous films but it never harkens from its intensity even being more than three hours. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BryanH.Feb 4, 2007
Definitely a great film but severely flawed by the overacting at the end as Schindler dramatically proclaims, while holding up a ring, (apparently enough to save another from his list) "I could have saved one more Jew! Just one more oversell Definitely a great film but severely flawed by the overacting at the end as Schindler dramatically proclaims, while holding up a ring, (apparently enough to save another from his list) "I could have saved one more Jew! Just one more oversell from Spielberg that keeps him off the best director list. He has skill, but "beat me over the head" is not poingant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenP.Mar 4, 2007
Honestly, I'm glad someone out there made time to make a movie like this, and Im glad it was Spielberg (because he's a great director). The actors were pretty good, great cinematography,match cuts, and I love how he added the Honestly, I'm glad someone out there made time to make a movie like this, and Im glad it was Spielberg (because he's a great director). The actors were pretty good, great cinematography,match cuts, and I love how he added the little girl in the red dress. Although, I honestly feel that it wasn't as touching and meaninful as I thought it would have been. It didn't 'touch our hearts' and make us cry. I think it would have been an amazing movie if it would have been a movie with 3 points of views. That way, we would understand how people felt when they lost their parent, brothers, and sisters. Or when they would watch them get beat. Schindler didn't go through any of that, therefore, we still don't know what a Jew went through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LozzaKateAug 20, 2007
SL was an absolutely amazing & touching movie, it went for a bit too long. I can't concentrate for that amount of time. & secondly, I felt it was a bit too confronting. In some scenes it made me feel somewhat uncomfortable, such as the SL was an absolutely amazing & touching movie, it went for a bit too long. I can't concentrate for that amount of time. & secondly, I felt it was a bit too confronting. In some scenes it made me feel somewhat uncomfortable, such as the nudie scenes. Yet, overall, it was very well made. Well done Speilberg! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FiS.Sep 3, 2007
I love the cinematography- the sharp lighting hues, the layers and shadows- but the girl in red doesn't do it for me. she seems too forced and at odds with the surprisingly constrained hand of Speilberg's direction. i went to a I love the cinematography- the sharp lighting hues, the layers and shadows- but the girl in red doesn't do it for me. she seems too forced and at odds with the surprisingly constrained hand of Speilberg's direction. i went to a museum for the holocaust and a speaker there had lived under the real forced labor camp commandant Goeth. after listening to the horribly real version of events, i can only praise Fiennes' acting in the role of Goeth. Spielberg really could have shown more restraint in the ending, where Schindler breaks down. such a sudden jump out of character feels unconvincing, but thankfully, the epilogue, in its understated bittersweet joy, redeems its showiness. all in all a good satisfying skillfully constructed film. the three hours are worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiM.Apr 23, 2008
It is my favorite film!! I like the story, the music, and the moving performance. Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelBabyNov 27, 2002
This movie rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeriZ.Dec 11, 2002
Spectacular!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Dec 1, 2003
This movie needed to be made. It was. It's a 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyO.Jun 18, 2003
This movie is first rate. I've never seen anything like it and probably never will. Absolutely incredible. When is it going to be available on DVD???????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DildoB.Jul 25, 2003
LOL.. stupid kids... kind of like The Pianist review people saying they are tired of holocaust movies... it's not like it's a big surprise that Schindler's List was going to be sad and depressing, and boring if you don'tLOL.. stupid kids... kind of like The Pianist review people saying they are tired of holocaust movies... it's not like it's a big surprise that Schindler's List was going to be sad and depressing, and boring if you don't appreciate this kind of movie. It's like going to see a hockey game and complaining that you hate hockey.. anyway.. The movie was brilliant. I was blown away by it. I'm not a big history buff, but I really liked this movie. Very sad as well, obviously. I loved the ending... Brilliant movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Aug 18, 2003
Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KoranM.Nov 8, 2004
Surpassed only by 'The Pianist' as a beautiful, touching, heatbreaking holocaust movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Very well done,one of the best ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SazMay 14, 2005
A VERY moving film. It deserves every good word it recieves. Liam Neeson is a dramatic genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelA.Mar 23, 2006
A fine movie that expresses the horror of what happened between 1940 and 1950. This movie made me cry for what happened to these people and that's why I give this movie a high rating of 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaR.Mar 25, 2006
Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the meaning of the word gratitude", "don't forget who you work for", "the list is an absolute good" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbieL.Jul 18, 2006
breathtaking. i think people who gave it a low score or called it boring, they obviously weren't watching the same movie as me. It was indeed a story that was meant to be told. bravo steven, bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NatalieL.Sep 26, 2006
An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what was going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 11, 2007
This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has proven himself to be a master when it comes to films just by this movie alone. The character of Oskar Schindler could not have been played better, and as the movie progresses you begin to love him as not only just another actor in just another movie, but also as a person. Schindler is a real-life hero, and this movie does his life justice. Your emotions will be tied into this film, and you will never forget it. Excellent, excellent movie. Thank-you. Please watch, no matter who you are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful