Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 1993
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 822 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
713
Mixed:
64
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
Steven Spielberg's greatest film. Powerful, emotional, thought provoking and a perfect film all around. Liam Neeson's acting is one of the best I've seen around and its directorial work is masterful. Essential.
21 of 25 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzJan 24, 2012
Outstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching argument; yet not overly emotional. Beautiful phography, and it is mostly historically accurate- I guess some changes were made- and well, the movies is much, much more! IfOutstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching argument; yet not overly emotional. Beautiful phography, and it is mostly historically accurate- I guess some changes were made- and well, the movies is much, much more! If you haven't seen it, just go and do it...no comments here will be good enough. So experience it yourself for watching this movie, independently of how you feel when you finish doing it, is 'A MUST' for all those who, as myself, love the performing arts. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EsaiSouzaNov 26, 2012
Honestly one of the greatest motion pictures of all time. Steven Spielberg really out did himself here with this film. It is sheer genius and a perfect picture. He couldn't have painted a better picture.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 27, 2013
It's a masterpiece, in general, an accurate and amazingly written screenplay about a man who realized that these suffering people were no different than him and his party. Liam Neeson's acting is superb, but Ralph Fiennes is something else,It's a masterpiece, in general, an accurate and amazingly written screenplay about a man who realized that these suffering people were no different than him and his party. Liam Neeson's acting is superb, but Ralph Fiennes is something else, something that is complicated, sadistic, and overall, pure evil. My ancestors perished in a concentration camp. This story gives the Jews what they deserved; some sympathy. It's realistic and compassionate and one of the greatest films ever made. Spielberg will go down in history one of the top film directors (right below Stanley Kubrick). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
unless you are a skin head , nazi , or a racist you can not hate this film . this is some of the best film making ever to be done . this is easily spielburgs best film . we all learn in school about what happend to the jews in WWII and mostunless you are a skin head , nazi , or a racist you can not hate this film . this is some of the best film making ever to be done . this is easily spielburgs best film . we all learn in school about what happend to the jews in WWII and most of us just think that sucked and dont think about it much more . well this movie gives a visual view and performances that really make you think about it alot more . it shows the monsters of humanity in there most vicous form and makes you think . which is very rare in film making . the acting in this film is some of the best ive ever seen raph fines who does amon goth the head of the jewish camp does him so well he comes off more scary then any hollywood monster ive seen . liam neison gives a outstanding perfromance as well as oscar shcindler as we wach a man start off only caring about the jews to make money off of start to see he's working for monsters and has to do something to help. the black and white look was a great idea for this film . it almost makes you feel you are waching a WWII documentory and theese events are really happening . even when you relise you are waching a hollywood film still doesnt change that this is based on actaul events . its a film every one should see atleast once . it is bloody and gory and extremely violent but to do it less then it was woulda been a shame to water down the horrors that happend back then and not tell the story of what the jews really went through in that peroid of time. it is some thing every one should know about so they truely under stand why the nazie's where the scum of the earth. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
1966ZodiacAug 16, 2010
Just an all around Amazing movie. I highly recommend it. This movie just was sooo emotionally satisfying. I can't recommend it enough. It had great acting,directing,cinematography, and everything. It is a bit long though but it's definatelyJust an all around Amazing movie. I highly recommend it. This movie just was sooo emotionally satisfying. I can't recommend it enough. It had great acting,directing,cinematography, and everything. It is a bit long though but it's definately worth it if you pay attention to the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SolveigDec 31, 2011
Must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Holanda000Sep 16, 2011
Certainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when ICertainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when I found out, at the end of the movie, that Spielberg was the director, since this is not the type of movie he usually makes. My respect for him improved because of this movie. Some scenes are simply masterpieces, like those in which you can see some colors. Soundtrack is also great, making it an even more touching movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JavisOct 4, 2011
A very beautiful, epic and dark story about courage and the desire of living, a masterpiece made by Steven Spielberg this is one of those films which if you didn't like it, you have got no heart.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 30, 2014
A gut wrenchingly beautiful masterpiece about the horrors of the holocaust, Schindler's List is Steven Spielberg at his finest and most emotional (rightfully so).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiOct 23, 2013
I have watched this so many times I don't even remember. Has to be one of my top five favourite movies of all time. There are no words for it. Every scene rips through your soul and makes you shudder, but not in a sappy kind of way. But inI have watched this so many times I don't even remember. Has to be one of my top five favourite movies of all time. There are no words for it. Every scene rips through your soul and makes you shudder, but not in a sappy kind of way. But in the sense that you wonder if mankind is even capable of such barbarity. There is no effort to make you cry and feel sorry for the devastation of living breathing human beings, but on the contrary, the narration is objective and kind of lists the series of events without pretence. That's why it is so raw, and you draw your own meanings from it. Whole scenes pass without any background music to tell you how you should feel about it. Makes you experience war in a disturbingly intimate manner, like you are a spectator, watching silently as murder is committed before your very eyes, and you don't have the spine to make it stop. It is only later, when it's all done, and it's time for reflection, that the score sets in. And I couldn't find it in me to resist the tears. The scenes about the little girl in the red coat were especially unbearable. The score is so haunting and chilling that it picks you up and sets you in a whole different environment. The running time runs extremely fast. I'm aware that some of us may not have the level of concentration to sit through a three hour epic, but whoever prides himself in being able to appreciate art will have no problems. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jazz_MDec 1, 2012
The movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. ThisThe movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. This movie is for someone who is INTELLECTUAL and can pick up on the hidden meanings. It's not meant to be viewed by someone who doesn't have the mental capacity to see PAST the movie and into the meaning. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Schindler's List is an epic masterpiece that reaches down into the soul of human nature and plays with the strings of our hearts and minds by sending us to one of the worst places imaginable. This film is not only one of cinema's greatestSchindler's List is an epic masterpiece that reaches down into the soul of human nature and plays with the strings of our hearts and minds by sending us to one of the worst places imaginable. This film is not only one of cinema's greatest treasures, it is also my favorite film ever made. This work of art takes us into Steven Spielberg's vision of the Holocaust, and serves us a deep and thrilling story about a hero who saved hundreds of people due to his bravery and courageousness. Steven Spielberg is a true genius; in his career he has created classics such as Raiders of the Lost Ark or E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial, but no film he has ever crafted will ever live up to this one epic masterpiece of a film that changed the world of cinema forever as we know it. When this film released in 1993, Steven Spielberg proved that he was not just a great filmmaker, he was an artist. He gives the film so much power and depth to the characters and story, and no drama film will ever be able to touch the soul as this film did for me. A masterpiece like this is hardly ever released, and it's not only about the Holocaust itself, it's also about a hero and how he stood up to the walls that surrounded him. Oskar Schindler is one of the greatest heroes the world has ever known in my opinion, a member of the Nazi party who saw the corruption of what was going in this terrible time and did all that he could to save as many Jews as possible. In the film he witnesses a girl in a red dress walking through the streets of Poland as Nazi's are grabbing Jews, and later he sees the girl in that same dress dead along with the other Jews about to be burned. This revelation changes Schindler from a businessman into a man who sees the true evil of The Holocaust. Oskar really is a flawed man as well, he has his problems like any normal human but his intentions still make me see him as a great man. Liam Neeson's performance in this film is almost too good to be true, and he deserved an Academy Award. This is acting at its absolute best and his final scene where he cries over the fact that he could've saved more people always brings me to tears. Ralph Fiennes plays a truly sinister man as Amon Goeth, one of the worst men I have ever witnessed in a film. He is ruthless and insane, but we see in some scenes that he is in love with a Jewish woman named Helen. This is a very important part of his character, as it shows he has humanity inside him and that proves that he truly is a horrible man if he can feel love and compassion and still be that ruthless. Fiennes plays this role brilliantly, and his darkness and depth he gives the character amazes me to this day. Ben Kingsley plays Itzhak Stern who is Schindler's accountant and business partner during the events of the film, and he really is a symbol of Schindler's bravery. He has a Jewish man working for him and they soon become very close, and that proves that Schindler truly grows a love for the Jewish people that begin working for him. Ben Kinglsey is flawless as always and was truly the only man who could've pulled off the character with such passion and sympathy. Steven Spielberg has always taken us into films where we wish we could've joined the adventure, but this was his first movie where I wanted nothing to do where he had taken us. While other Holocaust masterpieces like The Pianist or Life is Beautiful are incredible for showing the survival of the Hlocaust, this one is a masterpiece for showing the brutality of it. This was like nothing he had done before, and I am overwhelmed with happiness that other people love this film as much as I do. This flawless masterpiece has been criticized by many ignorant people that have different issues with the film, and I think that' they have issues with the fact they couldn't think of a better film themselves. Spielberg is truly, in my opinion, the greatest director of all time, mainly because he has been able to bring us both dramatic masterpieces like this and entertaining masterpieces like Indiana Jones or Jaws. Schindler's List is my all-time favorite film, and for me, no other drama will ever be able to live up to the visionary genius that Spielberg has given us, and no other film will ever effect me like this movie has done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
asy8492Feb 22, 2014
Honestly, this movie touched my heart so much. It was as if I could feel the sufferings at that time. Truly this is a masterpiece that should be remembered for coming ages.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Strykr316Mar 28, 2012
The black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to haveThe black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to have glamour. The film shows a unique telling of one of the darkest chapters in human history; from the enemy's point of view: in that, it shows that everyone has a limit, including Nazi Profiteer Oskar Schindler. The only color in the film is the red coat that the protagonist sees for only two brief moments in the film, and so appropriate was the one color choice to be blood red; a coat on an innocent girl, whom everyone is ignoring, just like a blood stain ignored (or insufficiently acknowledged) on human history. Brilliant work overall, and one of my favorite pieces of art. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
davenbettridgeFeb 5, 2012
Perhaps the most powerful movie I have ever seen. Every person on the planet should watch this movie at least once in their life. A Masterpiece that I will never forget.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
KingerSaysSep 8, 2011
One of the best films ever made.......................................................................................................................
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
RaymondMendez19Mar 31, 2013
Una historia asombrosa, que te encoge el corazón, de ver capaz de lo que es el hombre, pero que por otra parte arroja un rayo de esperanza, al ver como puede redimirse un pragmático hedonista como Schindler, y convertirse en un ejemplo deUna historia asombrosa, que te encoge el corazón, de ver capaz de lo que es el hombre, pero que por otra parte arroja un rayo de esperanza, al ver como puede redimirse un pragmático hedonista como Schindler, y convertirse en un ejemplo de altruismo y salvación. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
Although the story's a little biased towards the Jews, The sad, realistic WW2 masterpiece "Schindler's list" succeeds seducing the audience with sensational performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and marvelous directing from StevenAlthough the story's a little biased towards the Jews, The sad, realistic WW2 masterpiece "Schindler's list" succeeds seducing the audience with sensational performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and marvelous directing from Steven Spielberg. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieD.Jun 15, 2006
A perfect 10 for this disturbing, touching and vital piece of film. evryone must watch this movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ZawMineMay 12, 2015
I will say this. Schindler's List is one of the most haunting war movies that I've ever seen. So hurtful. So disturbing. It is kind of disturbing that you will probably not going to see it again. Because it is so good. Schindler's List is aI will say this. Schindler's List is one of the most haunting war movies that I've ever seen. So hurtful. So disturbing. It is kind of disturbing that you will probably not going to see it again. Because it is so good. Schindler's List is a masterpiece. Overall, it is one of the best war movies in cinema history so far. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMay 4, 2011
My girlfriend and I were watching this together, she dozed off, I switched channels to watch a football match. One of the most boring movies ever made. Totally lifeless. The black and white doesn't help, and neither does the cinematography.My girlfriend and I were watching this together, she dozed off, I switched channels to watch a football match. One of the most boring movies ever made. Totally lifeless. The black and white doesn't help, and neither does the cinematography. The character were so totally flat, please, who would really care if they live or die ? Just goes to show you that even big names like Spielberg can throw interceptions... Expand
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
10
ShaneS.Feb 1, 2006
This film is contrastable to certain brutality epics that challenge the viewer with pain and death, and greusome bloodshed that the eye can't remain toward the screen until it is finished. This, though, is a film that demands the eye This film is contrastable to certain brutality epics that challenge the viewer with pain and death, and greusome bloodshed that the eye can't remain toward the screen until it is finished. This, though, is a film that demands the eye remain magnetized to the screen, because truth can be that way; honest, emotional truth. To address the commenter who claimed this was a propaganda film to boast about the Jewish faith, it seems more an objective account of something that happened, more or less, to a group of people bearing the brunt of a clashing of virtues. They received the blunt end of the stick, and the director himself captured with lyrical symbology the essence of those events. People will have their opinions, but I hold that it is one of the greatest films ever made. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
matroycemApr 26, 2013
Probably one of the most emotionally engaging films ever made. The direction of the action and the performances all ehance what is a deeply moving film. The film content is one of both horror and compassion of the war time scenes that youProbably one of the most emotionally engaging films ever made. The direction of the action and the performances all ehance what is a deeply moving film. The film content is one of both horror and compassion of the war time scenes that you know really happened. It is difficult to explain the WOW factor of the film without explaining scenes but even then seeing is better than a thousand words. I got to the end of the film with a tear in my eye and actually had to say wow over what a terrific display had brought over me. Liam 'I can never remove my accent completely' Neeson was superb and even thought in most films I get annoyed hearing Liam rather than the accent of the character he is meant to be on screen, I could look past the Scottish German accent he was putting on the screen.
The Black and White of the film is the perfect choice as it sets the right tone and also ages the film to feel more like recording of the actual events than a film adaptation. It is a film I would watch again and again and it would still take my breathe away.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergSep 26, 2011
A historical drama detailing the life of Oskar Schindler, who used his money to save over a thousand Jews during the Second World War. Seen as a sort of companion piece to Spielberg's other war epic Saving Private Ryan (1998) , this film isA historical drama detailing the life of Oskar Schindler, who used his money to save over a thousand Jews during the Second World War. Seen as a sort of companion piece to Spielberg's other war epic Saving Private Ryan (1998) , this film is more factual and contains less action so that when you do see it, it is all the more horrifying. I was blown away by Liam Neeson's performance and I now consider it his best role, next only to Michael Collins. Another notable performance is Ralph Fiennes as the evil, cold blooded and militant psycho Amon Goeth, who was hung after Germany surrended for crimes against humanity. My only complaints would be that the accents are sometimes difficult to make out and that it is heavily depressing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Considered to be one of the most powerful films since the beginning of film. Steven Spielberg's devastating look at the Holocaust is both personal and sorrowful. Spielberg's decision to film in black-and-white creates a vivid nightmare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
A near perfect movie. Although sometimes a bit slow, Schindler's List a thoughtful and brutal portrait of the tragedy that was the Holocaust. Spielberg's directing is wonderful, but what really makes the movie are the performances from LiamA near perfect movie. Although sometimes a bit slow, Schindler's List a thoughtful and brutal portrait of the tragedy that was the Holocaust. Spielberg's directing is wonderful, but what really makes the movie are the performances from Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes, which are perfect in every way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ExKingApr 26, 2013
this movie is a gem there is a good movie and there is a great movie and there is a gem which is something you get to see few times in a life time Steven Spielberg is a spectacular director with this amazing ideas and amazing talent and youthis movie is a gem there is a good movie and there is a great movie and there is a gem which is something you get to see few times in a life time Steven Spielberg is a spectacular director with this amazing ideas and amazing talent and you get to see all that in this movie from start to finish i can't really think of anything negative about this one this movie simply change your views about humanity waw. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
WalkingDead5640Jul 4, 2013
It's more than a film. It's an unforgettable, stylistic experience. The film is 3 hours long and you have to take in superb acting, imagery and storytelling, capturing the emotional and realism of the Holocaust. I realized I had watched aIt's more than a film. It's an unforgettable, stylistic experience. The film is 3 hours long and you have to take in superb acting, imagery and storytelling, capturing the emotional and realism of the Holocaust. I realized I had watched a masterpiece once it had finished. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
RockCriticJun 18, 2013
Simply beautiful, sad, and a masterpiece. Definitely one of Steven Spielberg's best along with E.T., Raiders, Jaws, and Saving Private Ryan. One of the most realistic movies ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ingie44Mar 29, 2014
This is an extremely harrowing and toutching film. Well written, beuatifully directed and supebly acted. The cinematography is materful, never seen anything else like it. Liam Neeson and ralph finnes act so natrually together, and theirThis is an extremely harrowing and toutching film. Well written, beuatifully directed and supebly acted. The cinematography is materful, never seen anything else like it. Liam Neeson and ralph finnes act so natrually together, and their performances are believable and moving. Though provoking and highly recomended film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ardania22Sep 1, 2015
Epic historical dramas don't get much better than this. Probably the most visceral recount of the Holocaust ever brought to cinema; the sporadic violence is brutal yet purposeful, shocking without feeling exploitive. The cast is allEpic historical dramas don't get much better than this. Probably the most visceral recount of the Holocaust ever brought to cinema; the sporadic violence is brutal yet purposeful, shocking without feeling exploitive. The cast is all excellent. It's three hours long, yet you hardly feel the length. Like Lord of the Rings, it's so massive and engrossing that time stops mattering.
What really makes this movie special, though, is its treatment of Schindler himself. The character isn't a particularly nice man. He's adulterous. He's erratic. He loses his temper. He's also kind of a pedophile, at least in one scene. Most "great man" epics would try to gloss over these imperfections and have him redeem himself in the end through his valiant actions. But Spielberg's too smart for that. He doesn't try to scrub Schindler clean of his sins. He presents the Nazi renegade warts and all, and as a result, Schindler feels achingly real (and Liam Neeson's outstanding performance certainly helps). You want to see him succeed, to overcome his personal demons for the greater good, and every little moment of light in his darkness feels profound. In the end, though, his triumph isn't particularly heroic. I won't spoil how it ends, in case you haven't seen the movie, but there's a scene near the end where Schindler tries to come to terms with the massive good he's done and what it means for him. It's heartbreaking, and one of the best-earned crying scenes in movie history.
Seriously, see this movie. It's epic, unflinching, riveting, and utterly beautiful.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JackMar 27, 2008
A stunning film with great use of film techniques. This shocked me and showed me a part of the holocaust from the eyes of both the jews and the upper-class germans. People who think that the film is boring obviously do not have any sense of A stunning film with great use of film techniques. This shocked me and showed me a part of the holocaust from the eyes of both the jews and the upper-class germans. People who think that the film is boring obviously do not have any sense of humanity and perhaps have been brainwashed by the current modern action films, where the only lift is seeing people killing others in different ways. Fantastic film Steven! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulianP.May 2, 2008
Schindler's List is a masterpiece of filmaking that modern cinema has not and will not ever see again. Plain and simple, this movie touches us in a place that a super-hero flick just cannot. Spielberg shows us just how low and just how Schindler's List is a masterpiece of filmaking that modern cinema has not and will not ever see again. Plain and simple, this movie touches us in a place that a super-hero flick just cannot. Spielberg shows us just how low and just how high the human spirit can go, all while showing the world his magnificent brilliance and mastery of filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinBeattieJan 9, 2007
First off I would like to say that this is an excellent movie and it portrays the brutality of the Nazis treatment of Jewish prisoners. Second, to people who say this "doesnt tell the full story". That statement is absolutley moronic. Yes First off I would like to say that this is an excellent movie and it portrays the brutality of the Nazis treatment of Jewish prisoners. Second, to people who say this "doesnt tell the full story". That statement is absolutley moronic. Yes there are two sides to this story. The jews who were murdered, and the Nazis who murdered them. Thats the story. Did all of the germans who were Nazi soldiers want to be? No some of them were forced to do what they did. But to somehow place the Germans in a position that what they did was a good thing is insane. The Nazis murdered those people. End of story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.L.Jan 6, 2009
Exceptional!! Schindler's list is perhaps the best and most heartbreaking depiction of the Holocaust ever, It's a dark and heart breaking tale of one man's journey to become a hero to the Jew's of today, Liam Neeson plays Exceptional!! Schindler's list is perhaps the best and most heartbreaking depiction of the Holocaust ever, It's a dark and heart breaking tale of one man's journey to become a hero to the Jew's of today, Liam Neeson plays Oskar Schindler a greedy factory owner who hires Jew's to minimum wage work for him. Soon enough he has all the money in the world and is happy as can be. Or so it appears, as the film progress you see the demeanor and attitude of Schindler change dramatically when he watches the Jewish people get slaughtered like animals by the Nazi's, after that he sets his heart on the sole task if getting them out of the camps and into his country. Schindler's List is the proven example of human kindness and compassion, It's a movie that will make your heart break and make the spirit soar at his heroic feet. Schindler's List is one of the greatest films ever made and will continue to shock and amaze people for all time. I very highly recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuciusSep 1, 2005
A real masterpiece, best movie ever made. A person who doesn't like it, is a monstrous entity with neither a heart nor a soul, period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HikaruK.Mar 15, 2007
Honestly, I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, Honestly, I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through the actions of Amon Goeth, who is played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes. It is ultimately the story of Oskar Schindler, a man who worked within the Nazi party system to save over one thousand Jewish individuals from almost certain death. It doesn't portray him as a god as he clearly had faults, but it shows that hope is possible and that people can work together to save others. But it is still very clearly about the violence of the Holocaust, almost in a numbing emotional sense. The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous in this film. Black and white was the way to go. In some senses, I think it helps to keep the picture from overwhelming us and as authenticity of some newsreel from the time. The touch at the end in "present" day of the survivors and their families coming to Schindler's grave is at once touching and haunting without necessarily spelling it out for us. Haunting and moving, it is one of the most weighty and ponderous films but it never harkens from its intensity even being more than three hours. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BaytotheAGetHyphyMay 5, 2007
This was a fantastically directed. Steven Spielberg knows how to convey any message beautifully through film. It is sad to see how brutally the Nazis treated Jews and their utter disrespect for human life. Bring some Kleenex with you when This was a fantastically directed. Steven Spielberg knows how to convey any message beautifully through film. It is sad to see how brutally the Nazis treated Jews and their utter disrespect for human life. Bring some Kleenex with you when watching this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimTwoJun 30, 2007
You have got to be kidding me...Return of the King and an animated feature get higher scores than Schindler's List?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayH.Mar 7, 2008
One of the truly greatest films of all time. It is unforgettable and haunting. Steven Spielberg's expert direction, the tremendous acting and outstanding writing make it a brilliant film in all respects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BerkeO.Apr 2, 2008
This is the most beutiful film that I've ever senn!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcinCFeb 23, 2009
A flawless masterpiece...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bryonyJul 31, 2009
Such a clever film, I noticed the use of the well known sad song gloomy Sunday - immediately showing the depression and suffering of the Jews that this film perfectly portrays. Amazingly directed scenes that show the sheer horror and leave Such a clever film, I noticed the use of the well known sad song gloomy Sunday - immediately showing the depression and suffering of the Jews that this film perfectly portrays. Amazingly directed scenes that show the sheer horror and leave you gasping afterwards. Casted with perfection, every actor convincing you with their realistic portrayals of heroes/victims/villains of this awful time. I was left devastated, just as the makers intended their audience to feel. Loved how the realism was actually THERE at the end. This film really chilled my bones, made me think like an adult for once about the serious history people have experienced. Excellence! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Aug 10, 2009
Forget Brando as Vito Corleone or Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter, Ralph Fiennes delivers THE greatest performance as Amon Goth in this film. Incredibly complex, chilling but somehow addictive. Spielberg's directing is sensational Forget Brando as Vito Corleone or Anthony Hopkins as Hannibal Lecter, Ralph Fiennes delivers THE greatest performance as Amon Goth in this film. Incredibly complex, chilling but somehow addictive. Spielberg's directing is sensational and although I didn't care that much for Liam Neeson as Schindler, this film still certainly deserves a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikerAug 2, 2009
Great piece of film making, and a great man. For Gary l. to give it a 0 is actually rather frightening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackA.Apr 20, 2003
Words cannot describe this movie. It simply touches the soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyN.Jan 11, 2006
This video opened my eyes to see that people can be good. You dont have to give your life for others, but saving one person is changing your life. They can have children, and those children will be there because of you. This is a wonderful This video opened my eyes to see that people can be good. You dont have to give your life for others, but saving one person is changing your life. They can have children, and those children will be there because of you. This is a wonderful movie and I recommend it to anyone willing to watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatrinaS.Jan 12, 2006
I really think that this was a really good movie because of all the details and how they put it all together it was a true work of art.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SnezanaM.Feb 6, 2006
Simply thriling and heart capturing! a motionless epic to be applauded!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaurenS.May 1, 2006
There are no words that can even begin to tell how incredible this movie is. It is perfect, it is just so horrible that it is a true story. A perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 28, 2006
Extremely entertaining. Heartbreaking to say the least. The 3 hours literally fly by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachQ.Jun 7, 2006
This movie is fair to all sides, and it portrays history accurately enough for teachers to show it in their classes. I feel as though this movie captures the essence of what makes a movie great. Criticism of this movie highlights the This movie is fair to all sides, and it portrays history accurately enough for teachers to show it in their classes. I feel as though this movie captures the essence of what makes a movie great. Criticism of this movie highlights the person's ignorance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethM.Jul 10, 2006
Ralph Fiennes is what makes this movie, pure and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jan 16, 2007
I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through I think this is Steven Spielberg's masterwork. Not claiming or wanting to delve into lengthy sequences of death and violence at Auschwitz or somewhere similar, it instead captures the violence in the ghettos, in work camps, and through the actions of Amon Goeth, who is played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes. It is ultimately the story of Oskar Schindler, a man who worked within the Nazi party system to save over one thousand Jewish individuals from almost certain death. It doesn't portray him as a god as he clearly had faults, but it shows that hope is possible and that people can work together to save others. But it is still very clearly about the violence of the Holocaust, almost in a numbing emotional sense. The cinematography is absolutely gorgeous in this film. Black and white was the way to go. In some senses, I think it helps to keep the picture from overwhelming us and as authenticity of some newsreel from the time. The touch at the end in "present" day of the survivors and their families coming to Schindler's grave is at once touching and haunting without necessarily spelling it out for us. Haunting and moving, it is one of the most weighty and ponderous films but it never harkens from its intensity even being more than three hours. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BryanH.Feb 4, 2007
Definitely a great film but severely flawed by the overacting at the end as Schindler dramatically proclaims, while holding up a ring, (apparently enough to save another from his list) "I could have saved one more Jew! Just one more oversell Definitely a great film but severely flawed by the overacting at the end as Schindler dramatically proclaims, while holding up a ring, (apparently enough to save another from his list) "I could have saved one more Jew! Just one more oversell from Spielberg that keeps him off the best director list. He has skill, but "beat me over the head" is not poingant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenP.Mar 4, 2007
Honestly, I'm glad someone out there made time to make a movie like this, and Im glad it was Spielberg (because he's a great director). The actors were pretty good, great cinematography,match cuts, and I love how he added the Honestly, I'm glad someone out there made time to make a movie like this, and Im glad it was Spielberg (because he's a great director). The actors were pretty good, great cinematography,match cuts, and I love how he added the little girl in the red dress. Although, I honestly feel that it wasn't as touching and meaninful as I thought it would have been. It didn't 'touch our hearts' and make us cry. I think it would have been an amazing movie if it would have been a movie with 3 points of views. That way, we would understand how people felt when they lost their parent, brothers, and sisters. Or when they would watch them get beat. Schindler didn't go through any of that, therefore, we still don't know what a Jew went through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LozzaKateAug 20, 2007
SL was an absolutely amazing & touching movie, it went for a bit too long. I can't concentrate for that amount of time. & secondly, I felt it was a bit too confronting. In some scenes it made me feel somewhat uncomfortable, such as the SL was an absolutely amazing & touching movie, it went for a bit too long. I can't concentrate for that amount of time. & secondly, I felt it was a bit too confronting. In some scenes it made me feel somewhat uncomfortable, such as the nudie scenes. Yet, overall, it was very well made. Well done Speilberg! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FiS.Sep 3, 2007
I love the cinematography- the sharp lighting hues, the layers and shadows- but the girl in red doesn't do it for me. she seems too forced and at odds with the surprisingly constrained hand of Speilberg's direction. i went to a I love the cinematography- the sharp lighting hues, the layers and shadows- but the girl in red doesn't do it for me. she seems too forced and at odds with the surprisingly constrained hand of Speilberg's direction. i went to a museum for the holocaust and a speaker there had lived under the real forced labor camp commandant Goeth. after listening to the horribly real version of events, i can only praise Fiennes' acting in the role of Goeth. Spielberg really could have shown more restraint in the ending, where Schindler breaks down. such a sudden jump out of character feels unconvincing, but thankfully, the epilogue, in its understated bittersweet joy, redeems its showiness. all in all a good satisfying skillfully constructed film. the three hours are worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LiM.Apr 23, 2008
It is my favorite film!! I like the story, the music, and the moving performance. Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Very well done,one of the best ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelA.Mar 23, 2006
A fine movie that expresses the horror of what happened between 1940 and 1950. This movie made me cry for what happened to these people and that's why I give this movie a high rating of 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaR.Mar 25, 2006
Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the meaning of the word gratitude", "don't forget who you work for", "the list is an absolute good" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbieL.Jul 18, 2006
breathtaking. i think people who gave it a low score or called it boring, they obviously weren't watching the same movie as me. It was indeed a story that was meant to be told. bravo steven, bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NatalieL.Sep 26, 2006
An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what was going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 11, 2007
This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has proven himself to be a master when it comes to films just by this movie alone. The character of Oskar Schindler could not have been played better, and as the movie progresses you begin to love him as not only just another actor in just another movie, but also as a person. Schindler is a real-life hero, and this movie does his life justice. Your emotions will be tied into this film, and you will never forget it. Excellent, excellent movie. Thank-you. Please watch, no matter who you are. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 19, 2007
Ive seen this movie 10 times and would watch it another 10 times. Amazing portrayal of the holocaust
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Apr 22, 2008
Without a doubt, one of the most profound movies I've ever seen. Probably Spielberg's best work. The movie itself is brilliant, but I especially love the end, when they show the real individuals behind the film who were saved by Without a doubt, one of the most profound movies I've ever seen. Probably Spielberg's best work. The movie itself is brilliant, but I especially love the end, when they show the real individuals behind the film who were saved by Schindler. That part really got to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobT.Jan 15, 2009
I honestly think anyone who gave this movie below an eight probably has the IQ of a retarted sloth. This movie will grip your soul and take it to new highs and lows. I have never cried watching a movie before(real manly type, yah know) but I I honestly think anyone who gave this movie below an eight probably has the IQ of a retarted sloth. This movie will grip your soul and take it to new highs and lows. I have never cried watching a movie before(real manly type, yah know) but I am not ashamed to admit to it at this one. WATCH THIS MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MightyQuinn3000Nov 7, 2010
This was a deep, emotional, and horrifying movie. It made you realize what the days of WW2 Germany were like, and the tragedies and disasters the Jews had to deal with. The acting was phenomenal and seeing Schindler try and save the JewsThis was a deep, emotional, and horrifying movie. It made you realize what the days of WW2 Germany were like, and the tragedies and disasters the Jews had to deal with. The acting was phenomenal and seeing Schindler try and save the Jews after realizing the things his own country had did to them were comforting and expressible. This was a great film, and as such, deserves to be seen as so, to Schindler's List, may it keep on doing great and keep eye's open to a period in time that needs to be remembered as something to never happen again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
Excellent film !!!!!!! Such an incredibly hard subject to begin to tackle in a film and do justice to. I think it's very close and done as well as anything we have seen yet. Kudos to all the actors and especially Ralph F.... awesome job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Dec 2, 2011
Bottom Line: Schindlerâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jes1310Jan 26, 2015
One of the scariest movies I have ever seen. But also one of the best and most important. Ralph Fiennes is outstanding as the sadistic nazi officer and Liam Neeson is a great Schindler. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OfficialNov 4, 2013
This movie is a heartbreaking masterpiece. Directed by Steven Spielberg, "Schindler's List" is a powerful, superbly acted, fantastic example of what a movie should be like. The cast is brilliant with Liam Neeson playing Oskar Schindler, BenThis movie is a heartbreaking masterpiece. Directed by Steven Spielberg, "Schindler's List" is a powerful, superbly acted, fantastic example of what a movie should be like. The cast is brilliant with Liam Neeson playing Oskar Schindler, Ben Kingsley playing Ihtzak Stern and Ralph Fiennes playing Amon Goeth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PuraputoNov 6, 2013
The most personal movie of Stephen Spielberg. Rumor has it that the atmosphere in the set was grim and tense and after I watched it, I can pretty much tell that the rumor is justified.

There won't be any comments from me about Schindler
The most personal movie of Stephen Spielberg. Rumor has it that the atmosphere in the set was grim and tense and after I watched it, I can pretty much tell that the rumor is justified.

There won't be any comments from me about Schindler List apart from I have always considered this movie as one of the best movies ever. The duration is superbly long but when I watched it I hardly felt any boredom coming. The movie is shown in black-and-white without any color EXCEPT for one person-if you have watched it, you'll know what I mean-and one watery-eyes moment in the end. That being said, you don't need to mind the colors too much as the plot will surely give you a hook.

This movie isn't for everybody and the tone is dark, I won't recommend Schindler's List if what you mostly watch are just romance and drama movies.

PS: Ralph Fiennes is fantastic in this movie. You can always feel how evil he is whenever he is on the screen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
3 horas do mais puro realismo sobre o holocausto. A Lista de Schindler um filme de partir o coração, uma obra prima do cinema moderno consegue se manter esteticamente deslumbrante com fotografia magistral e teor histórico relevante que3 horas do mais puro realismo sobre o holocausto. A Lista de Schindler um filme de partir o coração, uma obra prima do cinema moderno consegue se manter esteticamente deslumbrante com fotografia magistral e teor histórico relevante que impossível de ser descartado. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMay 31, 2015
Speechless... I dont want to comment this masterpiece.. if you're wondering to watch it or not....don't! This is one of the best movies i've ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Redman_07Apr 5, 2015
It's a good movie with strong characters and a really grrat story....but I don't get the hype...the movie shows "the brutal truth"...but the inmates have all been in a good shape...the cuts are bad over and over...one scene to another....IIt's a good movie with strong characters and a really grrat story....but I don't get the hype...the movie shows "the brutal truth"...but the inmates have all been in a good shape...the cuts are bad over and over...one scene to another....I saw thousands of movies, but this one didnt reach me emotionally like it should.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
A powerful film that will stick with you until you take your last breath, it goes in depth at what happened in those concentration camps during World War 2. The black and white aspect to it just adds to the reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KristianBKAug 13, 2014
Spielberg exceeds his previous great movies with this one. Dealing with a subject that is not the most attractive, the movie avoids being depressing and hard to watch. Perfectly directed, great performances, marvelous story-telling, whileSpielberg exceeds his previous great movies with this one. Dealing with a subject that is not the most attractive, the movie avoids being depressing and hard to watch. Perfectly directed, great performances, marvelous story-telling, while using black-and-white technique doesn't drive off the least demanding movie lovers. However, it's length does. Gilliam criticized the "stupid" endings of Spielberg, including the ending of this movie. I can agree with him, although the ending is good enough to make this movie worth watching not just once, but lots of times. Marvelous movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonDec 22, 2013
This is, undoubtedly, Steven Spielberg's best movie ever. A touching story truly depicting the horror and pain that Jews people had to suffer under Nazi regime. Liam Neeson's acting was so perfect that you certainly couldn't ask for a better actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmVirtueMay 26, 2014
Liam Nesson provides an good act and Mr. Spielberg's amazing direction (As always) creates the great film experience of the years. This film will make even the strongest and stoic people feel a emotional tug. Don't pass the opportunity toLiam Nesson provides an good act and Mr. Spielberg's amazing direction (As always) creates the great film experience of the years. This film will make even the strongest and stoic people feel a emotional tug. Don't pass the opportunity to watch this film. Don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 18, 2014
Schindler's List. How the **** can one discuss the flaws of Schindler's List? It's so depressing that any mistakes are glossed over by the tears rolling down our eyes. Even then, there probably aren't that many mistakes. It's a perfect film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
captainshanuMar 29, 2014
Superbly done all over. Perfect casting, Smart direction, Brilliant score thanks to John Williams, And one of the BEST Films ever made on Humanity... Hats oFF !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CPD98Oct 18, 2014
Obra maestra absoluta, devastadora, cruda, impresionante. No se hace pesada pese durar 3 horas, te mantiene en tensión todo el rato. Actuaciones memorables. Quizás la mejor película sobre el nazismo jamás hecha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
badwebdiverSep 11, 2014
THis is tone of the all-time best films, ever. It's based on a true situation, and from a dramatized novel written by an Australian author. It presents a famous event from a very interesting angle, and cleverly tries to undercut yourTHis is tone of the all-time best films, ever. It's based on a true situation, and from a dramatized novel written by an Australian author. It presents a famous event from a very interesting angle, and cleverly tries to undercut your expectations of how things work.

One of the most under-appreciated aspect of this film is the way the emotions are so carefully played through, from serious drama to light comic moments to dark humour to heart-wrenching tragedy - even in the same scene!

I totally love how this film sets things up, then plays them out with some wonderful character insight and great dramatic twisting. Textbook example of how to do top-class storytelling to get viewers involved in the situation, and do a world-famous event and still keep it fresh.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Anonymous777Sep 12, 2014
Spielberg’s dramatic masterpiece showcases a strong cast, effective filming and amazing story. The ending of the film is one of the best in film history and it makes my top 10 of all time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DirectorTomOct 23, 2014
There are only a few films ever made that require the value of IMPORTANT. This film may rate near the top in that rare category. It is the true story that matters most here although the acting is more than sufficient. Special attention shouldThere are only a few films ever made that require the value of IMPORTANT. This film may rate near the top in that rare category. It is the true story that matters most here although the acting is more than sufficient. Special attention should be given to Ben Kingsley in his portrayal of Issac Stern, Oscar Schindler's link to the Jewish leadership. Mr Kingsley simply nails the personality and character of a man who, reluctantly almost to the very end, is the key figure to the success of Schindler's eventual passion of saving as many Jews as possible, though it cost him everything. The brilliance of Steven Spielberg is in no short supply here as he paints a bitter but realistic picture of the real suffering of the holocaust Jews during World War II Europe. We now understand better how and why these Jews could not imagine the horrors they would face until too late. Spielberg holds nothing back here. The children, the elderly, and even the preferred Jewish servants of the Nazis have screen time and as brutal as it is on screen, the actual abuse remains largely unimaginable in modern eyes. Although some of the film teases us with a documentary flavor, Spielberg is able to transform Schindler and the audience into helpless emotional characters reaching for tissues. The moment Schindler realizes his ring and especially his car might have saved a few more Jews from the ovens, we are tearful wrecks! The most IMPORTANT film in my rather larger collection of classic films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShedeggDec 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Schindler's list is a movie based on true events, so it's practically a documentary. It makes the watcher feel many different emotions, but it is quite sad. It really makes the watcher realise the hardship of world war 2, for the Jews. The story is amazing and you wouldn't think it was true! The acting is good, and so is the directing (steven Spielberg so it's definately a worth while watch). I do warn you though it is in black and white. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LelchelseaJan 19, 2015
One of the greatest epics of all time. The Schindler's list portrays the brutality and savagery of man's heart with the contrast of generosity and good will. It will leave you inspired, shocked, sad but most of all extremely satisfied by theOne of the greatest epics of all time. The Schindler's list portrays the brutality and savagery of man's heart with the contrast of generosity and good will. It will leave you inspired, shocked, sad but most of all extremely satisfied by the three hours of this Spielberg masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 12, 2015
'Schindler's List' is probably the greatest film Spielberg will ever make. A strong story, based on a true heart-breaking actual event, the movie is an apotheosis of humanity and humanism, presented quite ironically through the eyes of a'Schindler's List' is probably the greatest film Spielberg will ever make. A strong story, based on a true heart-breaking actual event, the movie is an apotheosis of humanity and humanism, presented quite ironically through the eyes of a profit-oriented factory owner and a member of the Nazi Party. The film teaches us a lot, but probably the most important lesson amongst them is the one that we should, first and foremost, be humans and that we should treat others like humans to.

In his undoubtedly best role, Liam Neeson brilliantly performed the role of Oskar Schindler, the German industrialist whose name is written down in history because of his heroic deeds in a time when almost all we had was blood and hatred. Schindler showed us that, even in times of peril and despair, there always exists someone who will fight against violence and death. Ben Kingsley was exceptionally strong likewise, but Ralph Fiennes certainly elevated his role, that of the monstrous Amon Goeth, to a level almost identical to that of Neeson's role.

Certainly an essential master-piece, 'Schindler's List' is a movie that should be well preserved in our memories as a proof that human kindness can overcome even the most difficult problems.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
emlugo123Feb 27, 2015
The best I feel like Liam Neeson has done in film is in this movie. I don't understand how this film received negative reviews, this was one of the best movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley, and Ralph Fiennes are probably some of the best actors in Hollywood, and together, they made this movie fantastic. This is one of Steven Spielberg's great films, and it deserved Best Picture during the Oscars. TheLiam Neeson, Ben Kingsley, and Ralph Fiennes are probably some of the best actors in Hollywood, and together, they made this movie fantastic. This is one of Steven Spielberg's great films, and it deserved Best Picture during the Oscars. The acting is excellent, the story is gripping, the cinematography is amazing, and the music is spellbinding. Still, I found certain parts disturbing. Watching some of those recreations of the Holocaust were very upsetting and depressing. It's a both sad and happy film, if you think about it. Definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffJul 8, 2015
'Schindler's List' tells the story of how one man risked all he could to save the lives of thousands and thousands of innocent lives during the Holocaust.

Liam Neeson plays the role of Oskar Schindler, a wealthy businessman who opens a
'Schindler's List' tells the story of how one man risked all he could to save the lives of thousands and thousands of innocent lives during the Holocaust.

Liam Neeson plays the role of Oskar Schindler, a wealthy businessman who opens a factory somewhere in Poland and hires Jewish employees. Ben KIngsley plays Itzak Stern, an associate of his, if one must say, who is Jewish. Ralph Fiennes plays Amon Goeth, a Nazi who is very sadistic and lusts for one Jewish girl in particular adding to his evil personality.

The film is directed by Steven Spielberg who, at the time, came off from directing films such as; 'Close Encounters of the Third Kind' (1977), 'E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial' (1982), The "Indiana Jones" trilogy and 'Jurassic Park' (1993) which was released earlier that summer.

Spielberg made some very clever decisions when making this film, such as the choice to shoot it entirely in black and white as opposed to color. This emphasizes the bleak, horrible and dreary condition of the Holocaust which is a tragic event. It also gives that documentary style to the film which is very effective, almost as if what we're seeing is actually happening.

The score by John Williams as well is fascinating, and the acting and writing also deserve more credit.

The screenplay, which is written by Steven Zallian, offers some clean dialogue with characters having real conversations, not the kind of cheesy movie dialogue you tend to see in big-budget action flicks.

The characters here are all real as well...Neeson, Kingsley and Fiennes give off such convincing performances that you don't feel like that they are acting, the emotions and body-languages feel as genuine as ever.

'Schindler's List' for me, is the definition of a "Best Picture" Oscar winner, the film is made to such perfection and tells such an important story that I advise that EVERYONE sees this. It's not to be missed and it's worth talking about for generations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
0JRB19690Mar 21, 2015
Steven Spielberg's greatest film. Outstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching It's almost impossible to jack off to "Schindler's List".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 26, 2015
Painful to watch, its a film that still leaves every human with a haunting reminder of how evil engulfed a nation years ago, and encourages to never make the same mistake ever again, but amidst the dark atmosphere of death we all know that wePainful to watch, its a film that still leaves every human with a haunting reminder of how evil engulfed a nation years ago, and encourages to never make the same mistake ever again, but amidst the dark atmosphere of death we all know that we are still facing the conflict on a smaller scale now that tends to grow back again.

Steven Spielberg crafts together a beautiful yet controversially emotionally powerful film, that is as heartbreaking in climax, its a masterful film that still handles the subject essentially.

A powerful film of remembrance that has been made clear so that we may remember the Holocaust and how it changed the future so we may remember this was an evil past, so that we may not be doomed to repeat it.

undeniably Powerful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mgd12DiazApr 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esta es probablemente una de las mejores películas del cine moderno.
Un Liam Neeson colosal en todos los aspectos realiza el mejor papel de su carrera en esta obra.
Realmente tiene de todo, usa la narrativa visual, la violencia para incomodar al espectador y hacerle partícipe de lo que fue realmente el holocausto, la banda sonora de John Williams aparece en los momentos más importantes y no hace falta que esté cargada de crescendos para resaltar los momentos importantes.
El papel de Ralph Fiennes es brillante al igual que Neeson y logra crear un contraste a lo largo de la película entre Schindler y Goeth.
La escena de la lluvia de cenizas y la quema de cadáveres está retorcidamente bien representada, a todos los niveles es una de las mejores escenas que he visto en el cine.
Es sin duda una de las mejores películas de la historia del cine, la mejor de Steven Spielberg y la mejor tratando el tema del holocausto en la segunda guerra mundial
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EddyGregsApr 20, 2015
Czech born, Schindler (Neeson) owns a factory in Poland where he exploits the cheap jewish labour found there. When he witnesses the atrocities of Aushwitz he creates a list - turning his factory into a safe haven and rescuing over 1,100Czech born, Schindler (Neeson) owns a factory in Poland where he exploits the cheap jewish labour found there. When he witnesses the atrocities of Aushwitz he creates a list - turning his factory into a safe haven and rescuing over 1,100 Jews.

One of the most important films ever made.

A purely horizontal movie - one without a dramatically interesting protagonist or a focus on survivors - might satisfy the most searching complaints, but it would be almost impossible to stomach. (Spielberg is in fact so anxious to keep death gate-crashing into what is fundamentally a survivor's story that occasionally, as with the shower scene, he stumbles slightly.) As it stands, 'Schindler's List' which Spielberg thought would lose every dime of its $22 million budget, made an unprecedented $321.2 million at the box office. That kind of reach for a film of this nature is nothing short of a miracle.

If no mere movie can become an "absolute good" - to borrow Stern's description of the list itself - then by 1993 a popular motion picture about the Holocaust had become an absolute necessity. That the picture born of this necessity was Steven Spielberg's 'Schindler's List' is enough to restore your faith in not just the medium, but also the human race itself.

Necessary holocaust movie made for a Western audience. At times over sentimental when the subject matter hardly needs any dressing up, this is a beautifully crafted, hopeful movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
There have been numerous documentaries and dramatic productions focusing on the Holocaust, including a television mini-series which many consider to be the definitive work. As a result, in deciding to film Schindler's List, director StevenThere have been numerous documentaries and dramatic productions focusing on the Holocaust, including a television mini-series which many consider to be the definitive work. As a result, in deciding to film Schindler's List, director Steven Spielberg (Jurassic Park) set an imposing task for himself. His vision needed to differ from that of the film makers who preceded him, yet the finished product had to remain faithful to the unforgettable images which represent the legacy of six million massacred Jews. Those who see this motion picture will witness Spielberg's success.

The film opens in September of 1939 in Krakow, Poland, with the Jewish community under increasing pressure from the Nazis. Into this tumult comes Oskar Schindler (Liam Neeson), a Nazi businessman interested in obtaining Jewish backing for a factory he wishes to build. He makes contact with Itzhak Stern (Ben Kingsley), an accountant, to arrange financial matters. For a while, there is no interest and nothing happens.

Spielberg elected to film this motion picture in black-and-white, and it's impossible to argue with his choice. Director of Photography Janusz Kaminski has made effective use of shadow and light, meticulously limiting the application of hue. The opening scene is in color, as is the closing sequence (which features the surviving "Schindler Jews", each accompanied by the actor who played their character, placing a stone on their savior's grave). There are also two instances when color is allowed to bleed into the blacks, whites, and grays. One little girl's jacket appears red so that she stands out from the masses, and a pair of candles burn with orange flames. When color is used, it makes a point and an impression.

Of course the Holocaust images are grim, but scenes of mass graves and exhumed bodies are not unique to Schindler's List. While it's impossible to deny their power, potentially more distubing are the instances of callous, individual murder. Spielberg doesn't spare his audience when it comes to sudden violence or the dehumanizing factors involved in such events. After all, Jews were viewed as "vermin." Schindler's List is replete with moments like this.

The acting is uniformly excellent. Liam Neeson's Schindler is shown in all his complexity, and his transformation is played with studied control. This is no sudden reversal of philosophy, but a matter of conscience that slowly dawns on the man. With a keen sense of Schindler's character, Neeson depicts the metamorphosis from self-centered businessman to driven messiah.

Despite the grisly subject matter, this movie is essentially about uncovering a kernel of hope and dignity in the midst of a monstrous tragedy. The story of Oskar Schindler's sacrifices for the Jews sets this apart from other Holocaust dramas. Uncompromising in its portrayal of good, evil, and all the shades in between, Schindler's List offers a clear view of human nature laid bare: hatred, greed, lust, envy, anger, and, most important of all, empathy and love. Because this film touches us so deeply, the catharsis has a power that few -- if any -- other moments in film history can match. And that's what establishes this as a transcendent motion picture experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
There have been numerous documentaries and dramatic productions focusing on the Holocaust, including a television mini-series which many consider to be the definitive work. As a result, in deciding to film Schindler's List, director StevenThere have been numerous documentaries and dramatic productions focusing on the Holocaust, including a television mini-series which many consider to be the definitive work. As a result, in deciding to film Schindler's List, director Steven Spielberg (Jurassic Park) set an imposing task for himself. His vision needed to differ from that of the film makers who preceded him, yet the finished product had to remain faithful to the unforgettable images which represent the legacy of six million massacred Jews. Those who see this motion picture will witness Spielberg's success.

Spielberg elected to film this motion picture in black-and-white, and it's impossible to argue with his choice. Director of Photography Janusz Kaminski has made effective use of shadow and light, meticulously limiting the application of hue. The opening scene is in color, as is the closing sequence (which features the surviving "Schindler Jews", each accompanied by the actor who played their character, placing a stone on their savior's grave). There are also two instances when color is allowed to bleed into the blacks, whites, and grays. One little girl's jacket appears red so that she stands out from the masses, and a pair of candles burn with orange flames. When color is used, it makes a point and an impression.

Often, the experiences of the minor characters provide the most lasting images. Helen's story is memorable, as is the plight of young Danka Dresner and her mother as they strive to avoid death while staying together. There's a Jewish couple that marries in the Plaszow camp, even though their chances of survival are dim, and a Rabbi who survives a close encounter with a Nazi gun.

Of course the Holocaust images are grim, but scenes of mass graves and exhumed bodies are not unique to Schindler's List. While it's impossible to deny their power, potentially more distubing are the instances of callous, individual murder. Spielberg doesn't spare his audience when it comes to sudden violence or the dehumanizing factors involved in such events. After all, Jews were viewed as "vermin." Schindler's List is replete with moments like this.

The acting is uniformly excellent. Liam Neeson's Schindler is shown in all his complexity, and his transformation is played with studied control. This is no sudden reversal of philosophy, but a matter of conscience that slowly dawns on the man. With a keen sense of Schindler's character, Neeson depicts the metamorphosis from self-centered businessman to driven messiah.

Despite the grisly subject matter, this movie is essentially about uncovering a kernel of hope and dignity in the midst of a monstrous tragedy. The story of Oskar Schindler's sacrifices for the Jews sets this apart from other Holocaust dramas. Uncompromising in its portrayal of good, evil, and all the shades in between, Schindler's List offers a clear view of human nature laid bare: hatred, greed, lust, envy, anger, and, most important of all, empathy and love. Because this film touches us so deeply, the catharsis has a power that few -- if any -- other moments in film history can match. And that's what establishes this as a transcendent motion picture experience.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews