Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 15, 1993
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 867 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
756
Mixed:
64
Negative:
47
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
GaryL.Aug 12, 2008
It was such a banal film, I think Spielberg rather wanted the audiences to symphathize with the Jews in the Holocaust rather than let the audience enjoy a good story.
3 of 48 users found this helpful
10
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Very well done,one of the best ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrunoP.Jan 19, 2006
Propaganda movie. So static characteristics of jews is so unrealistic. Spielberg thinks he, and his religion has no bad people, and no flaws. This is so one sided movie that it reminds me a few spots about police how they work hard, and they Propaganda movie. So static characteristics of jews is so unrealistic. Spielberg thinks he, and his religion has no bad people, and no flaws. This is so one sided movie that it reminds me a few spots about police how they work hard, and they are such a nice guys, but everyone hates them. And this was the main point in the movie: Jews are great with no negative trait, but everyone hates them and wants to get rid of them. Expand
0 of 26 users found this helpful
9
MichaelA.Mar 23, 2006
A fine movie that expresses the horror of what happened between 1940 and 1950. This movie made me cry for what happened to these people and that's why I give this movie a high rating of 9.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaR.Mar 25, 2006
Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the Why is this film so great to me? The incredible, indelible speeches: "today is history", "is this the face of a rat?", "nice things cost money", "the war brings out the bad, never the good", "now that's power", ". . .you know the meaning of the word gratitude", "don't forget who you work for", "the list is an absolute good" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieD.Jun 15, 2006
A perfect 10 for this disturbing, touching and vital piece of film. evryone must watch this movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BarbieL.Jul 18, 2006
breathtaking. i think people who gave it a low score or called it boring, they obviously weren't watching the same movie as me. It was indeed a story that was meant to be told. bravo steven, bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NatalieL.Sep 26, 2006
An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what An amazing film, fantastic story line - it's gripping. A must see! It is acturate to historical documents and just superb! I am not giving this film a 10, simply because it upset me and I sometimes found it difficult to understand what was going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.May 11, 2007
This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has This is the only movie I have ever given a perfect ten. Schindler's List is, to put it simply, the best, most well-done, overal greateset movie of our time. It's acting, editing, and directing are done to perfection. Spielsber has proven himself to be a master when it comes to films just by this movie alone. The character of Oskar Schindler could not have been played better, and as the movie progresses you begin to love him as not only just another actor in just another movie, but also as a person. Schindler is a real-life hero, and this movie does his life justice. Your emotions will be tied into this film, and you will never forget it. Excellent, excellent movie. Thank-you. Please watch, no matter who you are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnAug 19, 2007
Ive seen this movie 10 times and would watch it another 10 times. Amazing portrayal of the holocaust
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Apr 22, 2008
Without a doubt, one of the most profound movies I've ever seen. Probably Spielberg's best work. The movie itself is brilliant, but I especially love the end, when they show the real individuals behind the film who were saved by Without a doubt, one of the most profound movies I've ever seen. Probably Spielberg's best work. The movie itself is brilliant, but I especially love the end, when they show the real individuals behind the film who were saved by Schindler. That part really got to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobT.Jan 15, 2009
I honestly think anyone who gave this movie below an eight probably has the IQ of a retarted sloth. This movie will grip your soul and take it to new highs and lows. I have never cried watching a movie before(real manly type, yah know) but I I honestly think anyone who gave this movie below an eight probably has the IQ of a retarted sloth. This movie will grip your soul and take it to new highs and lows. I have never cried watching a movie before(real manly type, yah know) but I am not ashamed to admit to it at this one. WATCH THIS MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Strykr316Mar 28, 2012
The black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to haveThe black and white was used to eliminate any trace of glamour that critics could potentially accuse Spielberg of showing in his '93 masterpiece. Something as awful as the Jewish Holocaust doesn't need glamour; nay, it needs not to have glamour. The film shows a unique telling of one of the darkest chapters in human history; from the enemy's point of view: in that, it shows that everyone has a limit, including Nazi Profiteer Oskar Schindler. The only color in the film is the red coat that the protagonist sees for only two brief moments in the film, and so appropriate was the one color choice to be blood red; a coat on an innocent girl, whom everyone is ignoring, just like a blood stain ignored (or insufficiently acknowledged) on human history. Brilliant work overall, and one of my favorite pieces of art. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Holanda000Sep 16, 2011
Certainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when ICertainly one of the best movies I've ever seen. It is heavy and disturbing while describing the Holocaust, but also very detailed and realistic when describing personalities like Amon Goeth's and Oskar Schindler's. I was surprised when I found out, at the end of the movie, that Spielberg was the director, since this is not the type of movie he usually makes. My respect for him improved because of this movie. Some scenes are simply masterpieces, like those in which you can see some colors. Soundtrack is also great, making it an even more touching movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jazz_MDec 1, 2012
The movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. ThisThe movie is brilliant, but a bit tricky. You can't watch it with the mind of today. You have to literally send your mind back into 1930's, but you can't stop there. Now you have to become German and try to see it from a German's view. This movie is for someone who is INTELLECTUAL and can pick up on the hidden meanings. It's not meant to be viewed by someone who doesn't have the mental capacity to see PAST the movie and into the meaning. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
captainshanuMar 29, 2014
Superbly done all over. Perfect casting, Smart direction, Brilliant score thanks to John Williams, And one of the BEST Films ever made on Humanity... Hats oFF !!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
0JRB19690Mar 21, 2015
Steven Spielberg's greatest film. Outstanding! Great performances, insightful, powerful, and touching It's almost impossible to jack off to "Schindler's List".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrmetacriticerSep 28, 2015
Director Steven Spielberg has achieved something close to the impossible--a morally serious, aesthetically stunning historical epic that is nonetheless readily accessible to a mass audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GuilhermeCJul 21, 2016
Spielberg gives a driving lesson at certain points of the movie what is not confused or messed up , we see in this film a dramatic inspiration very well established here.The work with Liam Neeson 's character is very well done to the point ofSpielberg gives a driving lesson at certain points of the movie what is not confused or messed up , we see in this film a dramatic inspiration very well established here.The work with Liam Neeson 's character is very well done to the point of showing layers of his character not need to be said , there are shown in the face of own ator.O film has a regular rhythm that alternates show you the cruelties of the Nazi army besides the fact that many do not know what they are doing , as in show the suffering of people trapped in factories and also made ​​an slaves.Em conclusion Schindler's list is one of the most realistic films of war I have ever seen and one of the most sensitive too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews