Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: September 29, 2006
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 72 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
6
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
KelR.Oct 1, 2006
I've seen some comments about the movie being racist; but another feather in this movies cap is that it's sexist as well. We have yet another movie that portraits the pathetic modern day white male, you know, with his virtually I've seen some comments about the movie being racist; but another feather in this movies cap is that it's sexist as well. We have yet another movie that portraits the pathetic modern day white male, you know, with his virtually retarded IQ and his nervous twitchy behavior around women. He's way too nice, and is a perpetual wimp. Hmm, maybe it's because society tells him to be this way by making movies like this. Honestly, these movies have been done to DEATH, how about they teach young men to accept and love themselves without having to change for a woman? Aside from that this movie is just plain stupid, who is it's target audience? Barely any of the writing is believable. Oh, and whats up with people on here who give the movie a 10 and also complain about it in their review? Well, I guess they would be the kind to like this movie... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MylonS.Oct 8, 2006
Fun movie. Went in with no expectations, but was excited about the cast. We were not disappointed in any way, mostly because we knew it would be (and was intended to be) a "no-brainer" film. Lots of fun - lots of laughs. Critics: lighten up Fun movie. Went in with no expectations, but was excited about the cast. We were not disappointed in any way, mostly because we knew it would be (and was intended to be) a "no-brainer" film. Lots of fun - lots of laughs. Critics: lighten up and let a film be what it's supposed to be - entertainment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheCriticOct 9, 2006
C'mon guys it's supposed to be a comedy and it succeeds... I totally agree w/ Mylon
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SpongeeeOct 16, 2006
When will Billy Bob stop cursing and being so nasty...its not funny. I wish Napoleon Dynamite was in this movie...it would have made it half way decent. This movie sucks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertxxxxOct 9, 2006
The original British comedy was hysterical; this one was only semi-engaging
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BOBCOZSep 26, 2006
Billy Bob and Heder are hilarious, great writing, only problem is the rest of the cast could not keep up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ThomasT.Sep 28, 2006
See the original British film. It has class rather than crass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LukeSep 29, 2006
Lots of fun. Good cast, lots of good supporting roles. Billy Bob was very credible, Michael Clarke Duncan was superb, as usual. Jon Heder, Sarah Silverman and Ben Stiller all gave worthwhile performances. Silly, but lovable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DWillySep 30, 2006
Not aimed so low as to fill me with disgust (as with the walkout necessary for Heder's "Bench Warmers"), but it's basically the same lazy, tone deaf crap churned out by this same narrow circle. The formula is to have clean Not aimed so low as to fill me with disgust (as with the walkout necessary for Heder's "Bench Warmers"), but it's basically the same lazy, tone deaf crap churned out by this same narrow circle. The formula is to have clean production values, a lot of mean quips from everybody, regardless of how it relates to their character (but then anybody can do anything regardless of the sense it makes for their character), keep all the acting "real," cutting actors like David Cross off at the knees, occasionally suggest, but only suggest, something truly savage, and pass off some romance without intimacy... oh, and you have to have a very broad cameo by either Will Farrell or Ben Stiller but usually Ben Stiller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TylerD.Mar 27, 2007
Mediocre at best. Wasn't as fun as I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
E.F.Sep 25, 2006
What a waste of time, and what a lack of effort. The jokes fall flat, anything that could save it is underdeveloped, and its just simply embarrassing to watch at times. This is two hours of my life I am never getting back, and 18 dollars I What a waste of time, and what a lack of effort. The jokes fall flat, anything that could save it is underdeveloped, and its just simply embarrassing to watch at times. This is two hours of my life I am never getting back, and 18 dollars I could have spent on something more important like laundry detergent, to get the stink off of me after watching this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CN.Sep 27, 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Sep 29, 2006
We've seen "Annie Hall", and "School for Scoundrels", you're no "Annie Hall". Referencing the 1977 romantic-comedy classic doesn't do this romance-free, comedy-free dud any favors, chiefly because Jon Heder fails to convince We've seen "Annie Hall", and "School for Scoundrels", you're no "Annie Hall". Referencing the 1977 romantic-comedy classic doesn't do this romance-free, comedy-free dud any favors, chiefly because Jon Heder fails to convince us that a girl like Amanda(Jacinda Barrett) could possibly fall for him. Give her someone like Duckie, not Napoleon Dynamite with better hair; or give the girl a flaw like Tourettes Syndrome to help explain why her "I-can-have-any-man-I-want"-potential is wasted on Roger. Billy Bob Thornton picked the wrong project to reprise his Bad Santa-persona. Mean-spiritedness is just mean without the levity of successful humor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GregA.Sep 29, 2006
Sheesh. What a waste of talent. How did a movie get made with the usually funny Billy Bob Thorton, and great character actors such as Luis Guzman, Sarah Silverman, Tod Louiso, and others not garnishing one laugh amoung them all? It's Sheesh. What a waste of talent. How did a movie get made with the usually funny Billy Bob Thorton, and great character actors such as Luis Guzman, Sarah Silverman, Tod Louiso, and others not garnishing one laugh amoung them all? It's the screenplay -- everyone is either too dumb to even give the hint of believeability or too nice to make this anything worth laughing at a dark comedy. I didn't want him to get the girl, or anyone to get the girl. I didn't even want the girl to end up happy. None of them had any personality I cared about, except Billy Bob, and even then he changed with requirements of the script, not with anything that seemed logical. And I don't go to these movies for reality, but this was just beyond stupid. Stupid, and worse than that -- boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ZardozO.Sep 28, 2007
Like the critics said... Starts off well and then rolls over and plays... dead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BazzarieN.Feb 19, 2008
After reading the reviews i wasnt expecting much, But it was entertaining! Very much a teen movie, but one of the best of its kind. Fast paced and good fun with a well selected cast. 8/10 !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Billy Bob Thorton is a great lead and plays a wonderful villian and is perfect for this film. Jon Heder though is a terrible lead that does not do a good job at selling his role. What started off promising slowly goes down hill. While thereBilly Bob Thorton is a great lead and plays a wonderful villian and is perfect for this film. Jon Heder though is a terrible lead that does not do a good job at selling his role. What started off promising slowly goes down hill. While there are a few funny moments, You wont miss much by skipping this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tss5078Dec 6, 2015
Following his Old School Road Trip, and long before his epic Hangover, Todd Phillips went back in time to remake the classic School For Scoundrels, with disappointing results. The story follows an insecure loser in love, who takes a class onFollowing his Old School Road Trip, and long before his epic Hangover, Todd Phillips went back in time to remake the classic School For Scoundrels, with disappointing results. The story follows an insecure loser in love, who takes a class on how to become more appealing to women. His teacher is a total player, who teaches the class to the best of his abilities, but in the end, he has the same goal as the others, and ultimately falls for the same girl as the loser. When seeing a Todd Phillips comedy, that is unrated, and features Billy Bob Thornton, you should expect to see a raunchy good time, but that's not what happens here. To Phillips, keeping as close to the original story was more important than modernizing it for today's audiences, and the result was a film that fails to live up to expectations. This film needed a major injection of raunch, the kind Thornton became known for in films like Bad Santa. Instead you get what amounts to an average, mediocre, comedy. In this film, Thornton is paired with Jon Heder, Napoleon Dynamite himself, but as with that film, his monotone lovable loser act, gets old very quickly. This film has all the makings of a wild ride and a terrific comedy, but instead it falls flat on it's face, as just another ordinary, run of the mill, romantic comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
It wasn't that good to be completely honest, but it wasn't that bad either. When Bad Santa meets Napoleon Dynamite, this is the result. I think I would rather watch this than play any virtual school game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews