Paramount Classics | Release Date: February 18, 2005
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
4
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
ChadS.Oct 8, 2005
Anybody who knows the story about Bob Dylan at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival will recognize the allusion to this seminal confrontation of artist versus fanbase when Schultze decides to turn a cold shoulder towards the crowd's beloved Anybody who knows the story about Bob Dylan at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival will recognize the allusion to this seminal confrontation of artist versus fanbase when Schultze decides to turn a cold shoulder towards the crowd's beloved polka. Although it's absolutely refreshing to see a film, especially a comedic one, in a realist style, "Schultze Gets the Blues" is somewhat hampered by its formalist ethos. Schultze(Horst Krause) is so unassuming, more close-ups might've helped us better gauge the man through facial expressions since he's a man of very few words. And when he gets to America, the film's unpredictability, at times, is a strength and a weakness. What could've been a musical odyessy that culminated in his becoming a better musician, turns out to be a series of sometimes interesting, sometimes boring digressions into American life. What ultimately plants "Schultze Gets the Blues" firmly on the worth seeing list is an absolutely charming scene in which Schultze is invited sit down at the table of a Bayou woman and her daughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ConradK.Oct 7, 2005
After one or two motionless shots of the German landscape playing the part of . . . the German landscape . . . we don't need a third, fourth, or fifth shot to tell us not much is going on in Schultze's world. It's annoying to After one or two motionless shots of the German landscape playing the part of . . . the German landscape . . . we don't need a third, fourth, or fifth shot to tell us not much is going on in Schultze's world. It's annoying to have that stationary camera recording, recording, recording, while the actors walk on or off--mostly off--and we sit waiting for something to happen. Perhaps that's what they should have titled this film: "Waiting for Something to Happen." When something finally does happen (Schultze gets to the bayou) nothing really happens because he doesn't get to play his accordion and he don't speak English (or Cajun). So he dies. Excuse me, Mr. Michael Schorr, but I can tell you're not making this for an American audience because you have deliberately obscured anything which might be mistaken for a plot, and you know how much we backward, traditionalist Americans are stuck in our rut of plot and character (ideas coined by another European--Aristotle). Schultze (Horst Krause) IS a character, a gentle one--reminds me of Gert Frobe in "Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines" without the bluster--but, doggone, give the man a script to act, Herr Direktor. Und Himmel! why must we see him in a Speedo? If you want to watch a stationary camera filming nothing in particular, I would recommend Andy Warhol's "Empire State Building," which ought to cure you of such cinematic compulsions. At least Warhol knew how to aim the camera properly so that his subject filled the frame, rather than cinematographer Axel Schneppat's habit of framing his subjects' faces dead-center, giving us half a frame of German grey sky. If this was intentional, it is not genius, just plain cussedness; if unintentional, it is gross incompetence. Europhiles (and I am one), take note: This film is kind to us Americans, showing us as generous and innocent. But there is no passion in it, as if the director was too timid to take a stand of any sort . . . and isn't that just what's wrong with Europe? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MauroC.May 7, 2008
Moving, relaxing, original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KarenM.Nov 3, 2005
This was a delightful movie. Instead of the usual American hype dream that is realized at the end, this deals with an ordinary man and life. Schultze is like most of us leading our little lives as the prevailing norms have defined us. Hence, This was a delightful movie. Instead of the usual American hype dream that is realized at the end, this deals with an ordinary man and life. Schultze is like most of us leading our little lives as the prevailing norms have defined us. Hence, the assault of t "Reality "series.Yet,.he breaks out of the mold and lives out his dream in a Louisana Bayou. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LesH.Mar 19, 2007
Great move that shows plain kindness works best and carries much farther in life. Many words not spoken, told the best part of this tale. You never know when or where destiny pulls you. It`s the ride that counts, and I liked this ride! Thanks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeyL.Apr 3, 2007
I found this movie while channel surfing, and heard my grandmother's voice singing a song in the background. I watched, and found Shultze to be an ordinary man with an interest in Louisiana Cajun music. He could be any lonely old senior I found this movie while channel surfing, and heard my grandmother's voice singing a song in the background. I watched, and found Shultze to be an ordinary man with an interest in Louisiana Cajun music. He could be any lonely old senior citizen, which is what makes the movie so real. Its a good movie, a little slow, but good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RozE.Jan 31, 2009
I enjoyed this movie whilst watching it, and found my impatience of thinking "get on with it!" after a while very telling; this is exactly what the film-maker is probably trying to achieve! Once I settled into the rhythm, I enjoyed all the I enjoyed this movie whilst watching it, and found my impatience of thinking "get on with it!" after a while very telling; this is exactly what the film-maker is probably trying to achieve! Once I settled into the rhythm, I enjoyed all the little vignettes. My only complaint was his death at the end: not that he died, but that it was a bit unclear that he had died, and that the funeral was actually his and not them giving him up for dead in his non-return & disappearance to the Bayou.... worth it, if you have a visual appreciation and long attention span! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidL.Nov 18, 2007
Conrad K is simply ignorant and impatient. While this movie will not be mistaken for the greatest all time classic, it will also not be mistaken for pure stupidity. Take your head out of your ass, perhaps some directors may want to change Conrad K is simply ignorant and impatient. While this movie will not be mistaken for the greatest all time classic, it will also not be mistaken for pure stupidity. Take your head out of your ass, perhaps some directors may want to change things up a bit and focus the camera on the beauty of nature and place man second. Symbolism at its best. Can be slow at times but so is the point to which this movie is attempting to drive home. I agree with many former reviewers that it is quite admirable for the movie having ended in such a fashion of so little lights and glory and instead how a true retiree's life ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful