Focus Features | Release Date: July 28, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
20
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MickH.Aug 5, 2006
This is as pleasant as a milk shake or an egg cream from the old neighborhood. If you don't like Woodly's shtick, you won't have much patience for it. It does not have much to SAY and it is not bold or adventurous, but it is This is as pleasant as a milk shake or an egg cream from the old neighborhood. If you don't like Woodly's shtick, you won't have much patience for it. It does not have much to SAY and it is not bold or adventurous, but it is aimiable and sympathetic. A light summer film in which some of the older Allen's themes about death are presented in a nonthreatening way. It does not have to be believable it is fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaneanK.Jul 30, 2006
This is Woody Allen comedy at its best. Refreshing. Slapstick. Smart. I want to say "Thank you!" Mr. Allen for making me so readily laugh during this summer of drought and war.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MichelleC.Jul 27, 2006
The first three-quarters of this movie are witty and funny. Scarlett and Hugh are awesome and have great chemistry together. Woody Allen's character is over done and grows tiresome quickly. (I wondered why Scarlett's character The first three-quarters of this movie are witty and funny. Scarlett and Hugh are awesome and have great chemistry together. Woody Allen's character is over done and grows tiresome quickly. (I wondered why Scarlett's character would even want to continue hanging out with such an incredible idiot.) Just when you are wanting something more the movie ends and the ending on this film is weak! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SashaT.Jul 28, 2006
A delightful comedy, in the style of Allen's "Manhatten Murder Mystery". Johansson shines, giving this film an added boost!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarcD.Jul 31, 2006
It's a fun, light movie, but it drags a little toward the middle, and although Scarlett Johansson can be fun to look at, her lack of acting skill tends to rear its ugly head in this one. She's better in such films as "The Island", It's a fun, light movie, but it drags a little toward the middle, and although Scarlett Johansson can be fun to look at, her lack of acting skill tends to rear its ugly head in this one. She's better in such films as "The Island", in which she needs to be a clone, or some other barely human entity. Woody Allen, on the other hand, is hilarious in this. And it does get a little suspenseful toward the end. See it for a few laughs, but remember, it's "light" fare. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatharineC.Aug 25, 2006
Great, hilarious flick. Woody is back.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Aug 6, 2006
Lots of DOA jokes. But a lot lot more that were funny. The laughs came pretty regularly. And the whole audience seemed to be into it, most of the time. It wasn't amazing or perfect and for the life of me I don't get why someone Lots of DOA jokes. But a lot lot more that were funny. The laughs came pretty regularly. And the whole audience seemed to be into it, most of the time. It wasn't amazing or perfect and for the life of me I don't get why someone doesn't tell him to trim a bit of the lame jokes that I cannot even imagine looked good on paper, but, all that aside, I laughed quite a bit. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackM.Aug 8, 2006
This was a very, funny Woody Allen film. Light, escapist fare. I think Woody has some of his funniest lines of the past 20 years in this movie. I laughed out loud, even on my third viewing. (That's right... 3). Very enjoyable Woody Allen film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BrandonS.Feb 7, 2007
I expected this to be middle of the road Woody and was pleasantly surprised. Though he has trouble writing for a younger female's voice, most of the time that works out okay, and all the performances were excellent. In the tradition of I expected this to be middle of the road Woody and was pleasantly surprised. Though he has trouble writing for a younger female's voice, most of the time that works out okay, and all the performances were excellent. In the tradition of Manhattan Murder Mystery, this a fun, interesting, and, above all, funny, comedy. Not a classic, by any stretch, but an enjoyable movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelP.Dec 1, 2006
Come on, give the man a break! I read the posted reviews of this movie before seeing it last night, and I'm stunned by all the negativity. By what impossible standard are you judging this film, people? No, it wasn't Woody Come on, give the man a break! I read the posted reviews of this movie before seeing it last night, and I'm stunned by all the negativity. By what impossible standard are you judging this film, people? No, it wasn't Woody Allen's best movie, but he delivered--it had all the usual elements that I believe most of his fans love. There were a few laugh out loud jokes and some not so funny ones, like in all of his movies. Yes, the plot had some holes, but you don't go see his movies looking for a mind-blowing plot, that's not what he's about. I thoroughly enjoyed the film, and so did my wife. It will be a sad, sad time in my life when fall rolls around and there's not a new Woody Allen film to go see. Trust me. If you love Woody, you won't regret paying to see this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jul 28, 2006
When I die and go to heaven, it will be a screening room that shows only Woody Allen movies!! Scoop is the latest film from Woody and his second made in his new stomping grounds - London, and though they're completely different movies, When I die and go to heaven, it will be a screening room that shows only Woody Allen movies!! Scoop is the latest film from Woody and his second made in his new stomping grounds - London, and though they're completely different movies, they both have a fresh new atmosphere that make them unique for a Woody. There will never be another Diane keaton, but Scarlett Johansson fills in quite nicely and with Woody again playing the male lead we're reminded of why we love him in the first place - he's a great comic actor. Scoop is a terrific movie with a scoop of Small Time Crooks, a scoop of Manhattan Murder Mystery and a scoop of Love and Death and I can't wait for the third London edition that starts shooting later this summer with Colin Ferrell and Ewan McGregor, maybe I already died and this IS heaven!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LucyR.Jul 28, 2006
I'm usually not a huge fan of Woody Allen movies when he is actually in them but I really enjoyed him in Scoop.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JonathanA.Nov 7, 2006
This one was hilarious. Then again, you won't enjoy it if you don't "GET" Woody Allen (which a lot of people do not). I "get" him (and it's not just about being obsessed with his films) and I found this one to be really funny This one was hilarious. Then again, you won't enjoy it if you don't "GET" Woody Allen (which a lot of people do not). I "get" him (and it's not just about being obsessed with his films) and I found this one to be really funny and yet kind of dumb in a few spots. I think Scarlett Johansson is really talented (not to mention HOT) but she didn't work in this film. Her lines were delivered awkward and it really seemed like she was straining. Woody, on the other hand, was absolutely hilarious. I honestly believe he has not been this laugh-out-loud funny with one-liners and slapstick since 'Love and Death'. He was a complete breath of fresh air from the other actors he has cast in his films where they essentially try to play Woody. It had great cinematography and incredible music (but that's to be expected). So to summarize: one of his funniest films in years, though it loses points for Scarlett's weak performance. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FantasyAug 27, 2006
The Woody Allen bashers will continue ad nauseum forever so you must discount their opinion as it lacks any and all merit. As for Scoop it was quite enjoyable despite some of the negative reviews. Woody Allen played well Woody Allen as his The Woody Allen bashers will continue ad nauseum forever so you must discount their opinion as it lacks any and all merit. As for Scoop it was quite enjoyable despite some of the negative reviews. Woody Allen played well Woody Allen as his old neurotic self to the max. The movie was adeptly written and acted without any one actor receiving more attention than the others. To tell the truth it was quite good. As for the naysayers get over the Woody bashing already as he is one of the most talented men on the planet. Kudo's to all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Widely considered to be one of Woody Allen's worst films to date. I completely disagree. Scoop is a fresh addition to the murder mystery genre. It's suspenseful and comedic when necessary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 21, 2016
Scoop got mixed reviews upon its release in 2006, but I absolutely adored the film. Scarlett Johansson, Hugh Jackman, and Woody Allen, are great in this crime comedy film that has a smart, well-written script. While the film can be subtlyScoop got mixed reviews upon its release in 2006, but I absolutely adored the film. Scarlett Johansson, Hugh Jackman, and Woody Allen, are great in this crime comedy film that has a smart, well-written script. While the film can be subtly sexist at times, it outweighs this with a truly hysterical script that features perfect comedic delivery from Woody Allen here. If you do not like his comedic style, Scoop will not be the film for you, but I find Woody Allen hysterical and Scoop is no exception. The comedy here is A+ and the mystery/romance element live up to that standard with a solid romance story and a captivating mystery that keeps you guessing from beginning to end as to how it will all turn out. Though many considered Scoop to be one of Woody Allen's misses, I absolutely loved it and found it to be an absolute riot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews