Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 13, 2010
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1001 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
863
Mixed:
73
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ReReviewOct 27, 2010
If ever there was a fine example of style over substance, look no further than SPvTW. Not that this detracts from the film as an experience, but it does lack the flesh of Wright's previous work. The characters are mostly likeable and wellIf ever there was a fine example of style over substance, look no further than SPvTW. Not that this detracts from the film as an experience, but it does lack the flesh of Wright's previous work. The characters are mostly likeable and well played, although the script is lacking in certain areas. There may be points throughout the films duration when you wonder "Do I care as to this films conclusion?" such is the lack of depth to the storyline, but it still carries great production values and presentation - enough to last the course of one film, at least.

*Best watched - With popcorn in the cinema - a real visual treat, but not an immersive one*
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SonicphotoAug 29, 2010
This movie is quite random because it presents so many themes and it goes at such an incredible speed that is easy to get lost. But the main problem with the film is that it fails to unite the fantasy with the reality. The movie starts withThis movie is quite random because it presents so many themes and it goes at such an incredible speed that is easy to get lost. But the main problem with the film is that it fails to unite the fantasy with the reality. The movie starts with real life normal events until Ramona appears and all this fantasy starts to occur and suddenly Scott becomes powerful with no particular reason. It's not that the idea it presents are fun, they are and the movie definitely offers a lot of comedy. But sometimes it just exaggerates too much out of proportion it's fantasy and forgets that they are still in the real world. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
sammieteeOct 6, 2013
I started out fairly enjoying this movie. It had a cool premise and stayed true to it's roots but the more I watched it the less I liked it. The characters just started to not be likeable. Michael Cera's acting wasn't fun to watch and I couldI started out fairly enjoying this movie. It had a cool premise and stayed true to it's roots but the more I watched it the less I liked it. The characters just started to not be likeable. Michael Cera's acting wasn't fun to watch and I could really care less. The girl he was after (Ramona) just didn't seem worth the effort. I just had no feelings while watching the movie. Maybe I didn't enjoy it because it's my was my ex's favorite movie but I just stopped enjoying it midway through. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
ballinbeastautoAug 20, 2010
The movie was certainly enjoyable. It kept a very fast pace, and kept the watcher very involved. However, the jokes rarely hit, and the plot started to drag towards the middle. The movie seemed to struggle to find ways for pilgrim to defeatThe movie was certainly enjoyable. It kept a very fast pace, and kept the watcher very involved. However, the jokes rarely hit, and the plot started to drag towards the middle. The movie seemed to struggle to find ways for pilgrim to defeat each successive "ex". I did find that it was a surprisingly creative movie (whether or not that can attributed to the graphic novel is debatable) and the somewhat big name actors, although playing minor roles throughout the movie, did provide the movie with a needed boost when the plot began to thin. I gave this movie a 6 because it was a solid movie going experience that managed to defy the normal constructs of a coming of age romantic comedy. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Libra85Jan 1, 2011
I noticed a lot of people liked this movie but for some reason it was a flop. Well I think I might be able to shed some light as to why. First, Michael Cera is a one trick pony. Being the geeky kid trying to gain the love of the hot girl hasI noticed a lot of people liked this movie but for some reason it was a flop. Well I think I might be able to shed some light as to why. First, Michael Cera is a one trick pony. Being the geeky kid trying to gain the love of the hot girl has been overdone for him. Second, the hipster video game thing only appeals to a small number of people. I'm one of them and this movie was not impressive. The story was trite and silly with unfunny characters who pop in a few good one liners every now and then. The fighting was original and entertaining but did not fit. It seemed like it was thrown in for this-looks-cool reason. The video game references were cute but more silly than artistic. Which is what I can say for the movie as a whole. It tries to be artistic but it all just comes off silly. Just because there's nothing quite like it doesn't make it a good idea. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
5
ChonquistAug 24, 2010
This movie wasn't bad, well not the whole thing. I used to like Michael Cera until noticing that he can only play two types of characters, His youth in revolt one, and the sad little puppy of a dolt he plays in every other movie. WHile he wasThis movie wasn't bad, well not the whole thing. I used to like Michael Cera until noticing that he can only play two types of characters, His youth in revolt one, and the sad little puppy of a dolt he plays in every other movie. WHile he was charming in Superbad and to an extent in Juno, he is plain out annoying in this movie as a loser fighting for a girl that doesn't even seem to care about him at all. All of the fights that people were hoping were somewhat fun to a point and then had idiotic ending sequences (not counting one involving a vegan). However some brief moments of sunshine can be seen through Ramona near the end of the film, the music in the film will make you want to rock out, and Kieran Culkin is not to be missed as Scott's gay roommate Wallace Wells. Overall this movie is enjoyable until a certain point, and that point may be adulthood. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
4
mandm1951Sep 1, 2010
I guess I didn't get this movie. Perhaps I would have gotten it, and I might have like it better, if I had experience with video games and/or was familiar with the graphic novel. As it was, I found myself bored at times. Therefore II guess I didn't get this movie. Perhaps I would have gotten it, and I might have like it better, if I had experience with video games and/or was familiar with the graphic novel. As it was, I found myself bored at times. Therefore I recommend that you skip it unless you know modern video games. Maybe it gave this 60 year-old some sense of what it is like to be a 17 to 23 year old nowadays? But I'm not sure that is worth the price of admission. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
RicardoAug 18, 2010
Sorry guys, I just could not catch on to the cleverness in the movie that everyone is claiming. I think its the cleverness in the visual effects that this is where its receiving its praise from. Honestly, its another example where its allSorry guys, I just could not catch on to the cleverness in the movie that everyone is claiming. I think its the cleverness in the visual effects that this is where its receiving its praise from. Honestly, its another example where its all style and no substance. Same atmosphere of Avatar, where its great visuals serve as a substitute for its clumsy storyline. To watch my review of this film go to this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UIH8WX1Kx2E. I LOVE METACRITIC Expand
4 of 19 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
6
ShiiraAug 14, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World", with all due respect, is like an "Existenz" for dummies; it's as if Allegra Goodman(the game designer from the 1999 David Cronenberg film) sold out and designed a game for kids, a game called "Ramona's Seven Evil Exes". The world that these people(avatars, really) exist in, can only be the world of virtual reality, where a guy like Scott Pilgrim(Michael Cera) can stand toe-to-toe with anybody, since brawn is irrelevant in the gaming world. Pilgrim embodies the gamer, the stereotypical gamer who plays video games in order to feel powerful. Whereas most films of this ilk require that the hero should train before going into battle, Scott defeats Ramona Flowers' first ex(Matthew Patel, played by Satya Bhabha) without any training, and with relative ease. A narrative preliminary, a trope that was used as recently as John Turteltaub's "The Sorcerer's Apprentice", exists in "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" too, but it exists extra-diegetically. The training that enables Scott to defeat all of Ramona's exes is part of the film's backstory, translated into video game parlance, backstory means programming, and herein lies the difference between video games and movies, as "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" suggests the interactive quality of the former, because the avatar(the bassist for a rock band(or is that "Rock Band"?) and unlikely ladykiller), needs a gamer to do the fighting for him. Nobody on screen seems especially shocked that a man with Scott's physique turned out to be so adept at one-on-one combat; their cipher-like non-reactions to Scott's prodigious fighting ability adds to the virtual reality feel of the diegesis. Everybody comes across as pure character, rather than actual people; puppets being controlled by puppetmasters. While Scott looks like an underdog, he doesn't come across as one, since vulnerability is integral to the underdog's makeup. Instead of shedding blood, the vanquished emit a monetary spray of quarters. Instead of rooting for flesh and blood characters, "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" has the moviegoer rooting for the imaginary gamer, whose wish for a life is fulfilled, as Scott walks off with the girl of his dreams(personally, I would have chosen Knives). In "Existenz", the world that Allegra creates goes beyond mere simulacrum, which gives the player the notion that he's getting a life. When Scott says, "I'm getting a life," the film is quietly breaking the fourth wall, because those could be the words of the gamer who lives vicariously through the character he's manipulating. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
6
kidcoyoteSep 3, 2010
SAW SCOTT PILGRIM TODAY!!!, THIS MOVIE IS!!!!.....meh.

It was a fun little movie, and had me laughing at it's over the top ridiculousness. Don't get me wrong the fight scenes were awesome, but I found the rest of the movie kinda boring. The
SAW SCOTT PILGRIM TODAY!!!, THIS MOVIE IS!!!!.....meh.

It was a fun little movie, and had me laughing at it's over the top ridiculousness. Don't get me wrong the fight scenes were awesome, but I found the rest of the movie kinda boring. The only character I found likable was Scott's roommate. Scott is a douche and Ramona was a **** Every time one of them got punched in the face I laughed my ass off! I mean, is a movie supposed to make you cheer for the protagonist to get beat up? I'm not familiar with the graphic novels so forgive me for saying this, but Scott nor Ramona had any redeemable qualities that made me want to cheer for them. As far as the special effects, while they're stylization fit the movie, they came off as kind of cheap to me, but it worked for this movie. Overall, this was a good little movie, if you haven't seen it yet, it's worth seeing if it's still playing at your local theatre, or pick it up when it comes out on DVD/Bluray. But to say this is one of the best movies of the year is a bit exaggeration. It was good but not that good. I've seen funnier movies, and I've seen more action packed movies. I'll hate to say this but every movie I've seen this year (with exception to Grown-Ups, that movie sucked) was better than Scott Pilgrim.

Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Deconstructor1Aug 20, 2010
Scott Pilgrim... is a really tough one to critique... on the one hand, the movie is unique and imaginative â
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
4
PSardinasSep 4, 2010
Scott Pilgrim vs the World is interesting and creative, for the first half of its run. After that the peformances dwindle to nothing as the screen explodes with colors, flashy effects, and cartoonish fighting. None of which is terribly interesting.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
rdaviesOct 29, 2010
Basically: Directing, well Edgar Right's style shows very well and is suited very well for this type of film, the narrative is an easy job to understand as the story is fairly simple, plus the dialogue is basic.
Acting: Well for actors at
Basically: Directing, well Edgar Right's style shows very well and is suited very well for this type of film, the narrative is an easy job to understand as the story is fairly simple, plus the dialogue is basic.
Acting: Well for actors at this stage of their career; not bad at all.
Funniness; Mehh. Overrated. Some of the jokes are OK but not good enough to life the whole movie. Story in general. The biggest problem for me was the story, most of it doesn't make sense and we are distracted by the unnecessary comic book elements and the visuals. Characters: In themselves, ok I suppose but a lot of things don't really make sense and the way they act isn't consistent or convincing. Overall I felt as though Edgar Right could have changed his style just a bit although it still works OK. The storyline was pretty bad along with the jokes, and I think the whole thing would be suited better as a movie series as 7 whole graphic novels are crammed into a small space. I was disappointed. Still worth a watch if you like the comic books.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TriatsilaJan 9, 2011
This film has been hyped to the heavens. It's nothing at all special. Michael Cera seems to have been type cast as a high pitched lanky boy. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference from Scott Pilgrim Cera and any other Cera film. NothingThis film has been hyped to the heavens. It's nothing at all special. Michael Cera seems to have been type cast as a high pitched lanky boy. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference from Scott Pilgrim Cera and any other Cera film. Nothing in the film has stuck with me, no funny lines have been embedded into my head. It's utter tosh in my opinion. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
BrackmannFeb 1, 2011
The visual style on the movie is great, but the lack of explanation and poor storyline just makes it absolutely boring. Perhaps those who actually read the comics can understand what's going on, but I simply could not.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
napstrpsxMay 16, 2011
As a life-long gamer, I was pegged by some friends as the target audience of this movie, despite the fact that I did not get a good vibe from the trailer. I watched it yesterday to see what all the fuss was about, only to be disappointed. IAs a life-long gamer, I was pegged by some friends as the target audience of this movie, despite the fact that I did not get a good vibe from the trailer. I watched it yesterday to see what all the fuss was about, only to be disappointed. I really wanted to like the movie, but I just couldn't.

My primary complaint is Michael Cera as Scott Pilgrim. Every line he delivered grated on my nerves. He is the portrait of everything that is wrong with the subculture this movie represents - quiet, weak, socially inept, and snide in a completely self-aware way. The "friends" in this movie don't treat each other very well.

It's very clear where the movie is going right off the bat, so I looked for enjoyment in the journey. Unfortunately, there isn't much. You have these disposable and predictable characters entering only to vanish once and for all from the movie.

Another big gripe is the abundant number of gay jokes, none of which were funny. I have a gay roommate, did I mention he is gay? He's the gay one! Let's watch him be gay and laugh at the gay things he doesâ
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Forrestgump1Oct 9, 2010
"Scott Pilgrim is an Amusing Satire , and Pays Great Homage to the classic "era" of video games. It also has a nice Original Flow to it , But it moves to fast , Your always one step ahead of Scott , and its beyond predictable , But hey at"Scott Pilgrim is an Amusing Satire , and Pays Great Homage to the classic "era" of video games. It also has a nice Original Flow to it , But it moves to fast , Your always one step ahead of Scott , and its beyond predictable , But hey at least its Funny" .. B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
rotkuJul 2, 2011
Interesting mix of computer gaming and kung fu movie with over the top action scenes and a weird concept of a love story. Although it sounds like a car crash waiting to happen, once you don't take it too seriously it does make for anInteresting mix of computer gaming and kung fu movie with over the top action scenes and a weird concept of a love story. Although it sounds like a car crash waiting to happen, once you don't take it too seriously it does make for an entertaining and enjoyable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonApr 22, 2014
Scott Pilgrim was certainly entertaining in parts but I couldn't help coming away a little disappointed, particularly since I also recently watched the excellent 'Kick-Ass'. Although this film has a similar comic book style it did not haveScott Pilgrim was certainly entertaining in parts but I couldn't help coming away a little disappointed, particularly since I also recently watched the excellent 'Kick-Ass'. Although this film has a similar comic book style it did not have the same level of humour, despite the many pop-culture references, and the action scenes certainly did not match the best that film had to offer (such as Big Daddy fighting through the warehouse).

Overall your enjoyment of the film will depend on how bigger fan you are of popular culture and video games in particular.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
schnideAug 1, 2011
Hmm.. Entertainment Weekly called this:

"The first rock & roll kung fu videogame youth love story." ..and that feels very much accurate. But what is it beyond that? The answer I have is, bizarrely, not much. I really was expecting
Hmm.. Entertainment Weekly called this:

"The first rock & roll kung fu videogame youth love story."

..and that feels very much accurate. But what is it beyond that? The answer I have is, bizarrely, not much. I really was expecting something with more substance than style but I felt very let down by it or, even more precisely, never elated. It merely tickled me at best. Like another User Reviewer, it seemed to me like Knives was the most likeable character with Ramona never deserving of her goddess-like status from Scott. Speaking of who, as much as I like Michael Cera, especially when he's challenged by roles such as Youth In Revolt, this was possibly the weakest thing I've seen him in. Supposedly he played a a gaming-hero ladykiller, but I couldn't ever see him as anything else but a wimp from start to finish. Scott Pilgrim Vs The World was what I'd describe as a bubblegum film - slightly chewy, brightly coloured, and easily disposable. I didn't hate it, but I far from loved it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DontSep 6, 2013
The visual novel that this movie originates from tells a witty, quirky, engaging coming of age story. What it was made out to be, however is a romantic comedy action flick. If you expect(ed) more from this film, do yourself a favor and watchThe visual novel that this movie originates from tells a witty, quirky, engaging coming of age story. What it was made out to be, however is a romantic comedy action flick. If you expect(ed) more from this film, do yourself a favor and watch the Scott Pilgrim vs. the Animation (it's four minutes long), and if you've liked it, just read the novel instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Jack97Dec 24, 2016
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is brilliantly edited like Edgar Wright's Cornetto trilogy and has unique visuals and fight scenes that really dazzle. But the film's humor doesn't land for me personally, which is surprising given that Shaun ofScott Pilgrim vs. The World is brilliantly edited like Edgar Wright's Cornetto trilogy and has unique visuals and fight scenes that really dazzle. But the film's humor doesn't land for me personally, which is surprising given that Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and The World's End are some of my all time favorite comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews