Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 13, 2010
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1054 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
912
Mixed:
76
Negative:
66
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
thescifijovianMar 6, 2012
For the first time agreeing with the user score. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a very fun action-comedy that is clearly not for everyone. There's a reason why it bombed and I'm not sure if I should be recommending the film. Personally it wasFor the first time agreeing with the user score. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a very fun action-comedy that is clearly not for everyone. There's a reason why it bombed and I'm not sure if I should be recommending the film. Personally it was a lot of fun and I liked it very much. I don't think its one of my favorites but it is a film I will watch again if I feel like it. Edgar Wright did not disappoint and I'm sorry I missed out on watching it in a cinema. If you're a full blown adult with no nerdiness at all you may find this movie confusing and dull but if you enjoy videogames this film is a strong recommendation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ScarTissue1990Mar 19, 2012
FINALLY! A movie that makes me happy to live in this generation! "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" is probably one of the most unique, fun, amazing films I've EVER SEEN! Makes me happy just thinking about it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
moonman1994Jan 28, 2013
Scott Pilgrim is honestly one of my favorite movies. It's witty, funny and full of hilarious references to video games and other parts of pop culture. This movie is romantic and extremely quirky as well. No one can say that Scott Pilgrim vs.Scott Pilgrim is honestly one of my favorite movies. It's witty, funny and full of hilarious references to video games and other parts of pop culture. This movie is romantic and extremely quirky as well. No one can say that Scott Pilgrim vs. the World isn't extremely unique. Sure it's not perfect but it is certainly a movie I can watch over and over again and enjoy each time! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 24, 2012
I really didn't think I would enjoy this film after seeing the trailers but I thought it was fantastic. I enjoyed the comic-book stylings and, for once, thought that Michael Cera played his character just right. He seemed to overcome hisI really didn't think I would enjoy this film after seeing the trailers but I thought it was fantastic. I enjoyed the comic-book stylings and, for once, thought that Michael Cera played his character just right. He seemed to overcome his usual timid self to produce a great display. The villains were also played really well. The plot was a bit silly but it worked extremely well. I am very glad that I watched this film. I don't normally enjoy off-beat comedies but I thought this one was very, very good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2013
This is a great movie that is like being in the middle of a video game. Edgar Wright steps out from his normal routine to display a sense of style that is really exciting.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RobyLula555Mar 27, 2013
This is maybe my favourite movie, it's soooooooo fun and creative. I watched it many, many times and i really enjoyed. I recommend it to everyone! GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
M0vieAddictMar 17, 2013
You can't put a genre on this movie. Music? superb. Visuals? fantastic. The dream movie for anybody who loves comic books, can't talk to that one girl or wants to fight for their relationship. The cast is solid as are the boss battles whichYou can't put a genre on this movie. Music? superb. Visuals? fantastic. The dream movie for anybody who loves comic books, can't talk to that one girl or wants to fight for their relationship. The cast is solid as are the boss battles which flow smoothly. Cera and Culkin carry this tale to the end with their own character quirks and problems. A male version of twilight hyped up on buzz and action and certainly a favourite of my movie catalogue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
XulnogoApr 27, 2013
Allow me to explain this movie: It first starts out kinda slow, the first 10 minutes are a bit boring and you could swear you're watching one of those independent love films, but then right at the 15 minute mark... BOOM! This movie just slapsAllow me to explain this movie: It first starts out kinda slow, the first 10 minutes are a bit boring and you could swear you're watching one of those independent love films, but then right at the 15 minute mark... BOOM! This movie just slaps you awake and throws all these awesome images at you (in a good way). The humor was great, the characters were awesome and the fighting was some of the best damn fighting I have ever seen in comic book movie.

This is how you bring a graphic novel to the big screen. It's just perfect in every way
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ICEExMagicJul 4, 2013
This movie is WAY better than I thought it was going to be!The story is great,all the characters are awesome and the movie makes you feel like your watching a real life Nintendo game.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dinklsoonsAug 11, 2013
Although the movie lacks the two iconic Edgar Wright actors, Pegg and Frost, this movie does not disappoint. Wright's first two movies were quite cartoony, this movie is over the edge when it comes to that. During fight scenes, Scott andAlthough the movie lacks the two iconic Edgar Wright actors, Pegg and Frost, this movie does not disappoint. Wright's first two movies were quite cartoony, this movie is over the edge when it comes to that. During fight scenes, Scott and his opponent throw powerful punches and are not scratched. This movie has plenty of eye candy throughout which make the overall experience enjoyable. One problem with this movie is that it is hard to make unpredictable. Wright takes this issue and throws it out the window. The plot has plenty of unpredictable twists that will keep you glued to your seat. The acting in this movie is phenomenal. Michael Cera delivers and the wimpy hero and Ramona brings a strong performance as the female protagonist. This movie is best described as a real-life video game action comedy mashup. Overall, Wright hit it big with this movie and he shows that you do not have to like video games to like this hilarious movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
McLaughlinViewsAug 19, 2013
Edgar Wright's film Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is based on the comic book series of the same name. The film, unlike most, is a lot better than the book series, which is surprising because the books are awesome, making this film incredible.Edgar Wright's film Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is based on the comic book series of the same name. The film, unlike most, is a lot better than the book series, which is surprising because the books are awesome, making this film incredible.

This film is not going to be for everyone, a person I know absolutely hates the film, but yet I love it. She didn't like just how much the plot was like a comic book, thinking that the plot was ridiculous. Although I love the film because it is true to the book and embraces it's comic origins through it's visuals and general feel of the film.

The acting in this film was brilliant, Michael Cera is absolutely hilarious again, perhaps even better than he is in Arrested Development. Mary Elizabeth Winstead is great she sinks into this role well and I couldn't think of a better actor to play the role.

The rest of the cast deliver favorable performances and the visual effects look amazing. Altogether a great cast and crew making an incredibly funny film. Well worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ComasiDec 29, 2010
I absolutely love this movie. I was never bored with the action, comedy, and the heart it had. I don't really care about the low scores for this movie but I think it deserved more than a 69 rating. I love playing video games and the classicI absolutely love this movie. I was never bored with the action, comedy, and the heart it had. I don't really care about the low scores for this movie but I think it deserved more than a 69 rating. I love playing video games and the classic ones too so this movie was really fun to watch because of the video game style. Michael Cera does seem to repeat his nerdish personality in movies but it works for him and it makes the movie more enjoyable. I also like how Jason Schwartzman acted in this movie along with Kieran Culkin. This movie is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nunchuksJan 1, 2011
Truly an excellent movie, maybe not so much if you're over/around 40, not that i'm trying to be ageist but the movie just has a very laid back, modern comedic feel to it. SPvTW knows it's place in the world and doesn't pretend to be an oscarTruly an excellent movie, maybe not so much if you're over/around 40, not that i'm trying to be ageist but the movie just has a very laid back, modern comedic feel to it. SPvTW knows it's place in the world and doesn't pretend to be an oscar contender, which honestly only adds to the charm. Plot is all over the place, visuals/effects are really cool, and the weird thing is that despite all the mad effects, deranged bad guys and all round shininess, i found myself relating to this more than any movie i've seen in a long time.
RECOMMENDED
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
technologicAug 25, 2010
Fantastic move, lots of fun and a great little story. This one fits in perfectly with Edgar Wright's previous catalogue, and really does the comics justice. Excellent use of music in the film as well, with a great score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MarkStringer96Aug 27, 2010
A great feel good film, all the way through its original style and likeable characters seem to drag you into this wierd and wonderful world where it seems as if, like true to games, the good guy should always win. The way the film makes youA great feel good film, all the way through its original style and likeable characters seem to drag you into this wierd and wonderful world where it seems as if, like true to games, the good guy should always win. The way the film makes you want a certain thing to happen at every 'confrontation' and changes your view on the world we live in is great. If you are feeling a bit down, or just want to feel good, go see it because after the end of it all it's pretty much summed up by 'Who cares what people think? Life is too short.' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shlugalugSep 3, 2010
If anyone knows Edgar Wright, you'll know he's famous for directing Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead which are insanely funny. His film Scott Pilgrim is also funny but also it's creative and experimental. Scott Pilgrim is based on the comicIf anyone knows Edgar Wright, you'll know he's famous for directing Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead which are insanely funny. His film Scott Pilgrim is also funny but also it's creative and experimental. Scott Pilgrim is based on the comic series which plays out like a video game (both in the comic and the film). I liked how different it was and they used some of the original comic book for some of the montages. I didn't like Wright's choice of Cera as the title role, I felt awkward watching him sometimes and if they had someone else in the lead role, I might have liked it better. I praise Kieran Culkin's hilarious performance as the gay roommate Wallace, who at times had me in stitches. It's definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Vicki_t2702Aug 28, 2010
If you're a comic fan who truly appreciates the characteristics of a comic going into a film then you will enjoy this, no doubt about it. With what appears to be Pokemon-style battle scenes and captions, along with character titles andIf you're a comic fan who truly appreciates the characteristics of a comic going into a film then you will enjoy this, no doubt about it. With what appears to be Pokemon-style battle scenes and captions, along with character titles and colourful cinematography, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World should have it's own category of awesomeness. It's retro, with a rocking soundtrack and the occasional sound effect you should all know if you were in the Super Mario World generation.

It's geek-chic appeal means that the women going to watch this film will be falling at Michael Cera's feet. Cera always pulls off the role of an indie geek boy well, but in this film he has almost matured a little, as he has move away from home and has his own band, but the way he acts around girls brings out that hesitant and clumsy character we all love. His ability to fight was amazing (even if he runs a bit funny); he isn't your typical superhero, he's just trying to win the thing he wants the most, in this case Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead). You may not think you've seen her in the acting world much, but she played Lucy McClane in Die Hard 4, and I think she has some strong potential to take up more female leads in the future.

Her hard-to-get but charming personality makes her all the more appealing, and you can begin to understand why she has seven ex's. The only thing I felt that could have gone wrong in this film is the fact we as an audience know Pilgrim must defeat seven people, and then what? A happy ending? I am pleased to say it wasn't that straight forward. There are a mixture of characters, such as Scott's obsessive girlfriend Knives Chau (Ellen Wong) and his gay house mate Wallace Wells (Kieran Culkin) who are full of witty one liners. It was even easy to connect with non-enthusiast Kim (Alison Pill).

By the end of the film there is a lesson learned and underneath is just your typical story of a heartbreaking boy just trying not to hurt anyone. He could easily be your best friend, because the relationship problems he goes through is something we can all relate to. Director Edgar Wright has made this film genuinely funny, but we shouldn't expect any less from the man who also directed Shaun of the Dead (2004). I would say this film is aimed at the teenage generation more than anyone else, it's not something I can imagine my parents going to see because you really have to appreciate the comic elements they've integrated.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MetalMan95Nov 18, 2010
Thee Day i watched this was not a good day. and this movie completely turned it around. I was pretty pissed off that day, and from the start i had this big grin on my face that never died. i loved it. I was laughing so hard and the action wasThee Day i watched this was not a good day. and this movie completely turned it around. I was pretty pissed off that day, and from the start i had this big grin on my face that never died. i loved it. I was laughing so hard and the action was awesome. The video game-style editing made it even more epic. And Michael Cera was cool for once and Ramona Flowers... i can see why he fell for her (she's hot). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ILLKILLALLOFYOUSep 6, 2010
One of the most enjoyable films i've seen since i can remember! I could not believe how cleverly it has been edited and the music was off the hook. Hilarious in literally each scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
6foot2Sep 6, 2010
For me Michael Cera has overstayed his welcome. After the positive reviews for the film I decided to give the movie a chance- I enjoyed the film but Michael, as has been the case with Jack Black and Will Ferrell, needs to lay low for a while-For me Michael Cera has overstayed his welcome. After the positive reviews for the film I decided to give the movie a chance- I enjoyed the film but Michael, as has been the case with Jack Black and Will Ferrell, needs to lay low for a while- and maybe he will have a comeback, but it may be to late. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LacksagooSep 8, 2010
A half hour into SPvTW, I took a breath. "Spectacular." That's what I thought of this film by the 30-minute mark. However, by the end credits, I was fully aware that the cinematic masterpiece that I had just witnessed was something moreA half hour into SPvTW, I took a breath. "Spectacular." That's what I thought of this film by the 30-minute mark. However, by the end credits, I was fully aware that the cinematic masterpiece that I had just witnessed was something more than a spectacle for temporary enjoyment- it was a creative tour de force that will (if we're lucky) shape films to come for years. I was completely engrossed in this wonderfully artistic journey from start to finish- and this is coming from a card-carrying member of the Anti-Michael Cera Club. No more. If there's any justice in the film world, SPvTW is the first step on the road to inspired, multisensory storytelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JemsSep 10, 2010
I loved how this movie was filmed as if it was a video game which added to the fantasy feel of the whole thing. The plot was basic but it worked really well in telling the story of 'Scott Pligrim' and his love for 'Ramona Flower'. TheI loved how this movie was filmed as if it was a video game which added to the fantasy feel of the whole thing. The plot was basic but it worked really well in telling the story of 'Scott Pligrim' and his love for 'Ramona Flower'. The unrealistic fighting really worked in adding a great deal of comedy to the story.
The characters themselves were loveable and each one added a great deal to the film. It even had a moral to the story which was to be true to your heart, fight for love for yourself and you'll be far more respected and never forget the true meaning of life. Which is to date someone who makes you happy because in the end being happy is all that matters in this world.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
canadianrugbySep 23, 2010
I didn't know what to expect going into this movie. It turned out to be the most enjoyable movie of the year for me. It might be too fast paced for some but I loved it. One of the things that suprised me was how well special effects wereI didn't know what to expect going into this movie. It turned out to be the most enjoyable movie of the year for me. It might be too fast paced for some but I loved it. One of the things that suprised me was how well special effects were used throughout the movie. Also, whoever did the casting deserves an award. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OxyFenixSep 22, 2010
This movie was pretty awesome and funny. It followed most of the comic book and had so many video game, movie, and comic references. I enjoyed watching it and would recommend to anyone. (I saw some negative reviews too, I don't understand whyThis movie was pretty awesome and funny. It followed most of the comic book and had so many video game, movie, and comic references. I enjoyed watching it and would recommend to anyone. (I saw some negative reviews too, I don't understand why either, the movie made me laugh and it's been a while since a good movie has come out) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nutterjrMay 2, 2011
Truly imaginative direction, funny and quirky dialogues and if it was not for the over the top ending it would be a brilliant film indeed. Great casting and music add to the attraction of the final product.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JustinSmithSep 26, 2010
Director Edgar Wright's first feature film without his cohorts Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, proves that not only is Wright a master of his craft, but he can also make a great film with a fresh cast.
The 22-year-old Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera)
Director Edgar Wright's first feature film without his cohorts Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, proves that not only is Wright a master of his craft, but he can also make a great film with a fresh cast.
The 22-year-old Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera) is average enough at first glance. He's in a band, dating a 17-year-old Asian high school girl (complete with school girl uniform), and has a gay roommate. Well, maybe he's not exactly average, but things take a 180° turn from average when Scott sees Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) at a party, a girl he had seen in a dream. Turns out that while Ramona is closer to Scott's age, she comes with baggage, seven evil exes worth of baggage that is, all of which intend to kick Scott's ass. At this point we suspend disbelief and simply enjoy the fact that everything we see on screen is a Generation Xer's wet dream, where characters are flung through brick walls, with little more than a scratch to show for it, and defeating opponents is rewarded with points and coins.
Those who spent a majority of their free time in the 1980s playing Nintendo, Sega, or even Atari, will have an appreciation of the style and concepts presented in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. From the 8-bit reproduction of the Universal logo, to the animated character after the closing credit roll, Wright proves understands the material and how to present it to an audience.
After the brilliant collaborations of Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg, and Nick Frost in Shaun of the Dead (2004), Hot Fuzz (2007), and the lesser known TV series, Spaced (1999-2001), the absence of Pegg and Frost is a legitimate concern going into Pilgrim, but Wright and crew hold their own and show that they can branch out from the successful formula and still succeed. Although, as an avid fan of the trio, I hope to see these three amigos working together again soon.
There are only a handful of directors who excite me as much (if not more so) with their filming style as with the story, characters, and actors. With Spaced, Shaun, and Fuzz leading the way, after watching Pilgrim, Wright has become the first director on my list to achieve this level of style while working mainly in the realm of comedy.
On the heels of films such as Avatar (2009) and Inception (2010), Wright delivers a unique vision (although on a smaller scale) incorporating many seemingly random ideals which blend together perfectly in the finished product. Everything from the Pee Meter to the Vegan Police (yes, there is Vegan Police) is a welcome addition to Scott Pilgrim's universe.
If there is something more to be said of Edgar Wright as a director, it's that he understands music, and its role in film. His use and placement of music in his films is always spot on. I've been a fan of the unsung bass guitar for many years, but watching Pilgrim makes me want to actually play it. Anyone up for a bass battle?
Now that I've gushed quite enough about Edgar Wright, I should mention the actors. Apart from Superbad (2007), there has never been a better use of Michael Cera's acting strengths. (here I go, back to Wright again) Wright pulls out the best aspects of Cera's abilities, then stretches them a little farther to bring Cera to top performance. And although the rest of the cast are all great in their roles (I could write a 1,000 word essay on the actors alone), I was most impressed with relative newcomer Ellen Wong, who, in her feature film debut, provides a great performance as Pilgrim's insanely jealous, but loyal, high school girlfriend, Knives Chau. Look for her to go on to great things. Although there have been complaints about Mary Elizabeth Winstead's seemingly drab performance as Ramona, it should be noted that her character is the centerpiece to what is happening around her. Much like Zooey Deschenal and Lizzy Caplan, Winstead's subdued style has been misinterpreted as bland and unmotivated. The list of great characters and actors goes on, but I'll let you enjoy them as they show up on screen, just know that you'll be saying to yourself "It's that guy (or girl)!" several times during the film.
With a strong cast, a fun story, and a great visual director who truly understands the medium, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World stands as the overachieving underdog that will find an audience with Generation Xers, who will keep it alive for many years to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KingmushOct 3, 2010
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/scott-pilgrim-vs-world.html

Here I am reviewing another largely talked about movie recently, and one that also has mixed opinions. I know I saw this the day in came out over the summer and can still
http://mashupmash.blogspot.com/2010/10/scott-pilgrim-vs-world.html

Here I am reviewing another largely talked about movie recently, and one that also has mixed opinions. I know I saw this the day in came out over the summer and can still remember all the talk about it. Lots of comic lovers wanted to see it, but you also had loads of people who thought the premise was stupid, or worse...didn't want to see it due to Micheal Cera. Let me talk for a moment on Cera. I know all the critism surrounding him, he is a static actor blah blah blah. Well, that may be true somewhat but he plays that type of character quite well and personally I love him as an actor, think he's great. Anyway, moving on to the actual movie. I really liked the whole idea of this movie. It was one of the most unique film experiences I can safely say I've ever had. Everything was unique and put towards a video game or just general nerd basis. And that's not to say that you needed to know all the references to enjoy this movie. My girlfriend who never plays video games or reads comic books or anything loved the humor and style of this movie as well. So guess what I'm saying is that if you haven't seen this movie for whatever reason I say give it a chance. It did poorly in theaters but I don't think that's fair, it was just ignorance of people. I give it a 4.5 out of 5.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SeekerDarksteelOct 3, 2010
Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. The only downside to the movie is that it may not resonate with everyone, leading to very hit or miss opinions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
grendel082Oct 5, 2010
A fun movie that will mostly appeal to the Sega Genesis era of gamers. Loads of funny dialogue and silly but fun fight scenes. I found Cera dull and unconvincing as the romantic lead and Winestead seemed bored and detached throughout butA fun movie that will mostly appeal to the Sega Genesis era of gamers. Loads of funny dialogue and silly but fun fight scenes. I found Cera dull and unconvincing as the romantic lead and Winestead seemed bored and detached throughout but Culkin's dialogues stole the show. Wonderful soundtrack too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KapowgiraffeOct 10, 2010
An epic of epic epicness, certainly. Best film of the year, Edgar Wright has done it again. Look out for my full review at http://www.youtube.com/PulpVideos in November.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KandraaOct 7, 2010
I loved this movie, it was very entertaining and such an action packed yet funny and cute love story. Not straight from the graphic novels but I The ending although different from the graphic novels was excellent. It was well done and theI loved this movie, it was very entertaining and such an action packed yet funny and cute love story. Not straight from the graphic novels but I The ending although different from the graphic novels was excellent. It was well done and the casting was fantastic, the characters actually looked straight out of the graphic novels. Such a modern comedy for teens today. I defs recommend it. LOVED IT.! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MartyJDec 11, 2010
This is one of the best films I've managed to watch all year! On the front of it an Adventure, Romance, Action, Comedy, Fantasy film sounds like its trying to be too much too all things, but this is not the case, its a clever witty film whichThis is one of the best films I've managed to watch all year! On the front of it an Adventure, Romance, Action, Comedy, Fantasy film sounds like its trying to be too much too all things, but this is not the case, its a clever witty film which is classy slick and a very polished comic book to movie transition probably one of the best in that genre. It has the subtle British comedy which is becoming a trademark of all of Edgar Wright's films and he must be one of the best current modern directors. The subtle nuance's and all the links to other films just add to it and it never seems to be ripping anyone off. Its also a great bow in Cera's filmography as its a slightly different role to what he seems to be getting typecast into.

In short if you like glitzy, glamourous gaming films which are also clever and witty bringing something which hollywood normally cannot deliver then this is for you
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
skaiserOct 13, 2010
In short, a 2+ hour movie often with a fast forward Schizophrenic like pacing because of the amount of material they had to get through, with a bunch of what the general public will see as "obscure" references. I salute Edgar Wright's attemptIn short, a 2+ hour movie often with a fast forward Schizophrenic like pacing because of the amount of material they had to get through, with a bunch of what the general public will see as "obscure" references. I salute Edgar Wright's attempt to cram 6 books into one movie as if he knew a sequel was highly unlikely for such a bold Indie project, however choosing such a fast pace does effect the movie in bad ways, the main reason being it limits the appeal of an already unique movie even more then if the story had the time of a sequel to develop. Scott and Ramona as characters suffer the most from the pacing as the movie almost completely removes the book story aspects of addressing their pasts, coming to terms with their mistakes and the new responsibilities of adulthood, reducing Scott to little more then a Jerk Jock and Ramona to little more then an indecisive whore. It's the biggest flaw of this movie, what we get instead is characters typical Hollywood style, the main characters magically becoming better people by the end of the movie with little explination and it's I think one of the main reasons for so much hate towards the movie because they have basically watered down the entire point of the story. True the movie is still crammed to the brim with bold in your face visuals, Anime/manga and videogame references at every turn, when it's not overdone like the pointless peeing scene it's an impressive sight to behold, but it's assumbing you can actually recognise the references to appreciate them. For casual movie watchers who have no idea what hadoken, frag, kawaii or other similar lingo means, the movie will leave them scratching their head in frustration around barely even 10 minutes in as they try to follow the fast paced story. The only way they could possibly connect is reading the books first, which I consider a failure, as the film should be able to draw audiences in on it's own merits. No matter how you feel about this movie, it's doomed to a 'cult classic' fate at best, in some ways similar to twilight, but with a fraction of the movie goer profits, which is a shame because the Scott Pilgrim universe has more depth then those glorified vampire romance fanfictions. If Scott pilgrim vs the World is 'self absorbed', then by that logic the Twilight Saga thinks it's the greatest love story ever told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FadeOutAgainNov 14, 2010
Unique fresh and all around enjoyable movie. Don't expect to be moved but it's a movie you'll enjoy the living crap out from start to finish. It's a breath of fresh air that anyone can enjoy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AxlthehunterNov 18, 2010
"This movie is made of win." If you are familiar with this term and it is more than just a gramatical error in your eyes, then chances are, you fall within the target audience of this movie. To be more clear, you are obsessed with internet,"This movie is made of win." If you are familiar with this term and it is more than just a gramatical error in your eyes, then chances are, you fall within the target audience of this movie. To be more clear, you are obsessed with internet, anime, and videogame society. I cannot give this movie the 10 that I would like to based off of my satisfaction alone however, as if anyone outside of this niche audience were to watch this movie (such as my wife) will not get it and will hate it dismissing it as juvenile. If however you do fall in this audience you will love it, you will laugh at all of the references as they will hit you in ways that you didn't realize a movie could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vramir3Oct 21, 2010
This movie was the **** I loved it from beginning to end... Probably kinda weird for most people but perfect for me cuz I was born in 82' and was totally into nintendo when it first came out.... gamer for life. Can't wait till it comes out onThis movie was the **** I loved it from beginning to end... Probably kinda weird for most people but perfect for me cuz I was born in 82' and was totally into nintendo when it first came out.... gamer for life. Can't wait till it comes out on blu ray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BarryAOct 22, 2010
Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sody2001Oct 29, 2010
Original, funny, great plot, well acted, awesome cinematography. You get the point.

Something that's not been done before, I really enjoyed this film, and can't wait until it's released on Blu-Ray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Oracle420Nov 18, 2010
This is easily one of the most imaginative movies to ever exist in history. I knew before watching that I was in for something different, but my mind was completely blown away. Anyone actually trashing this movie is clearly an idiot. This isThis is easily one of the most imaginative movies to ever exist in history. I knew before watching that I was in for something different, but my mind was completely blown away. Anyone actually trashing this movie is clearly an idiot. This is an experience you need to have, I can't believe I waited this long to see it myself, I should of had this taken care of a long time ago when it first came out. Because its now one of my all time favorite movies. You watch a movie and get something out of it, but that is usually the same thing... and what Scott Pilgrim gives is truly unique, So I urge you to see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dare2BlinkNov 11, 2010
Great movie indeed, it was everything I was hoping for and then some. Anyone that does not like this movie simply does not get it at all, either because they were born a generation too early or because they were born without a sence ofGreat movie indeed, it was everything I was hoping for and then some. Anyone that does not like this movie simply does not get it at all, either because they were born a generation too early or because they were born without a sence of humour. Seriously how can anyone not like the awesome mindless fun that is SCVTW. It is well acted, very funny and never boring. Sure the actual story is not great but that is not the point of the movie at all, the movie is about the comedy and the action. I recomend this movie to anyone born in the last 30 years and with a good sence of humour Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tejas25Nov 12, 2010
Scott Pilgrim is an awesome invention in film making it's fast ,it's cool,it's funny.
Michael Cera is excellent. Edgar Wright Strikes the chord again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Thumbsupguy90Nov 15, 2010
This movie was without a doubt one of the best movies of the summer. Who knew Michael Cera still had it in him to crack jokes that can still make the audience laugh. I was able to attend a sneak preview with a packed crowd. One of my friendsThis movie was without a doubt one of the best movies of the summer. Who knew Michael Cera still had it in him to crack jokes that can still make the audience laugh. I was able to attend a sneak preview with a packed crowd. One of my friends that went with me was expecting the movie to be a complete waste of time, but after he was blown away and wanted to see it again. Everyone in the theater was cracking up and even making those "OHHHH" sounds whenever Cera would land a great punch or a (surprisingly awesome) fight scene would occur.
Edgar Wright still owns the gift of making amazing movies. I think he could make a Care Bears movie and it would not disappoint whatsoever. See this movie.
PS- The only reason I gave it a 9 was because I wished the monster fight scene would've lasted just a few minutes longer, because that scene will just blow you away.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
What makes the movie really enertaining is the fact that the story is told like a comic book. With every scene suddenly changing with barely any sense of a crescendo that moves the film from a boring start to a "Laugh Out Loud" purelyWhat makes the movie really enertaining is the fact that the story is told like a comic book. With every scene suddenly changing with barely any sense of a crescendo that moves the film from a boring start to a "Laugh Out Loud" purely entertaining romantic/action comedy. With Scott Pilgrim having to defeat Ramona's seven evil ex's before they can date, which in the movie we only see him fight 3 or 4, and Michael Cera's always playing the same role which is a shy person and never says what's really on his mind, fits the role quite perfectly. It definitely is super light on the romance, which in way makes the movie even better. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is definitely one of the funniest comedies in a long time, or as in the tagline "An epic of epic epicness". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FortinbrasNov 20, 2010
This movie is not for everyone, but it's perfect for who it is for. If you went to the movie you're either really into Comics/Games/Music or you went with somebody who is. The former who really respond to the goofy male protagonist with aThis movie is not for everyone, but it's perfect for who it is for. If you went to the movie you're either really into Comics/Games/Music or you went with somebody who is. The former who really respond to the goofy male protagonist with a passion for hanging out and kicking exaggerated butt for a cute girl are few, but this movie is made for them. Us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hydeksDec 11, 2010
This is a AWESOME movie and definately a watch for REAL gamers out there. This movie is really funny in my opinion and a great homage to the novels, BUT, I hate the deleted scenes they took out and REALLY should have kept in, also how much ofThis is a AWESOME movie and definately a watch for REAL gamers out there. This movie is really funny in my opinion and a great homage to the novels, BUT, I hate the deleted scenes they took out and REALLY should have kept in, also how much of the story they took out kills alot of story. Even though this, this movie is great and would get anyone into Scott Pilgrim! P.S. This movie is SUPPOST to be silly ppl...we seriously need more movies like this released. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RumblebeeloveNov 23, 2010
Scott Pilgrim boasts a slick, gamer/comic influenced style that really flows well with the story. The soundtrack is amazing and feels so right with the material, and the actors are top notch. This one is worth the watch, heck the buy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424Jan 5, 2011
This is one of the year best movie. They did a great job with the effects and edited. Great screenplay and acting in this movie. A very good comedy-romance movie. This movie was very entertainment. It started off kind of slow the firstThis is one of the year best movie. They did a great job with the effects and edited. Great screenplay and acting in this movie. A very good comedy-romance movie. This movie was very entertainment. It started off kind of slow the first fifteen minutes but it pick up. This is a very good movie to get for dvd and bluray. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TetsuoJan 17, 2011
The whole thing is like a video game brought to life. It has a good premise hilarious jokes and the acting is marvellous. Video game fanatics will dig the hell out of this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Stealth032Dec 21, 2010
This movie was freaking awesome. FREAKING AWESOME. There hasn't been one movie ever made that affects gaming references like this one and also follows along with how we act at the same time ever!! There's so much more to this review that IThis movie was freaking awesome. FREAKING AWESOME. There hasn't been one movie ever made that affects gaming references like this one and also follows along with how we act at the same time ever!! There's so much more to this review that I could put but I don't have time so that's about it. It's Awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JonnyFendiJan 12, 2011
What is the password? Umm,.. Whatever! That is the attitude of 23-year-old Scott Pilgrim. By watching thiz film, amazingly I feel like back to become teenager again, with my skate board under my feet and baseball cap on my head. It tellsWhat is the password? Umm,.. Whatever! That is the attitude of 23-year-old Scott Pilgrim. By watching thiz film, amazingly I feel like back to become teenager again, with my skate board under my feet and baseball cap on my head. It tells about Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera) who has a new girlfriend, Ramona Flower (Mary Elizabeth Winstead). Now, he must defeat seven Ramona evil ex-boyfriends in video game style duels. Meanwhile, Scott is also playing in a band called Sex Bob-omb with his friends. The movie directed by Edgar Wright who brought us SHAUN OF THE DEAD (2004) and HOT FUZZ (2007). He is always able to make any comedy to be smart one. On thiz latest feature, there are some unique and hilarious characters, such as: Scott gay roommate Wallace (Kieran Culkin), the annoying Scott ex-girlfriend Knives (Ellen Wong) and Ramona Indian silly ex-boyfriend Matthew Patel (Satya Bhabha). Even more, the movie is surrounded by refreshing Cameo appearances from Anna Kendricks, Jason Schwartzman, Chris Evans, Thomas Jane and our last Superman, Brandon Routh. Michael Cera seems to be a perfect choice for Scott Pilgrim, he does not even have to act so hard for being Scott character. Mary Elizabeth Winstead delivers some cool punk-girl character successfully. The movie apparently based on the first three series of six black-and-white comic strips by Bryan Lee O Malley. The Art Direction is so different and attractive. They use comical fonts to emphasize the sound and the fighting scene is one of my main attentions. The fight scenes are mind-blowing with those graphics and animations, yeah it looks ridiculous sometimes, but surely well-choreographed. Once again, the only way to comprehend thiz movie is by letting yourself being young again. Just to recall how we enjoy adolescence by just living in our own world. Once in awhile, all of us were Scott Pilgrim and only us Vs. The World. Welcome back to MTV generation. For me, thiz movie deserves to receive 1Up and 1000 Combos! Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
juliankleissJan 30, 2011
Totally irrational. But an innovative, fun, and fast-paced ride between video game, comics, and young people romance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lightslash53Jan 23, 2011
Great movie, people bashing it really aren't looking at the right spot (as a hint its not about character development). its a great topical comedy and it flowed seamlessly from semi-realistic into full on video game mode.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sumsarJan 24, 2011
After seeing the trailers for this film I initially thought it looked like one of the worst movies made... then after seeing so many good reviews for it I finally convinced myself to rent the dvd.. and thank god I did, I can't believe IAfter seeing the trailers for this film I initially thought it looked like one of the worst movies made... then after seeing so many good reviews for it I finally convinced myself to rent the dvd.. and thank god I did, I can't believe I almost missed out on watching such a fun crazy film.. remember it is based on a comic so it's not the most realistic movie made but damn I probably never enjoyed a film so much, it's kind of a crazy movie actually, everything was excellent, from the soundtrack to the visuals, from the directing to the acting. A must see for anyone who likes to have a good time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
M-RodApr 13, 2011
This is my favorite movie of all time.The books are better but thats only because they are longer.Its funny, romantic, and it has action.I also love that it has alot to do with Nintendo especially Legend of Zelda.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JorossApr 21, 2011
Most original movie ever made. Incredibly entertaining and hilarious. I wish more than anything that more people would have gone to see it, because I want a sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KeeferBishopApr 25, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Part 2
Whilst still retaining his reputation as the perennial lovable geek (who we all know and love from Judd Apatowâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GMUJun 12, 2011
Okay, this movie clearly has some flaws / isn't perfect, however I found this movie to be creative and infectious. The theatrical trailer made me want to never me caught dead in a theatre where this film is / was being shown, but now afterOkay, this movie clearly has some flaws / isn't perfect, however I found this movie to be creative and infectious. The theatrical trailer made me want to never me caught dead in a theatre where this film is / was being shown, but now after having seen it I realise how poorly movies can be presented. (I admit I expect way too much, but it's hard not to when you have trailers like Super 8- a bit of a letdown; and Inception- letdown city) In this day and age where movies like 'Clash of the Titans', 'Jonah Hex', 'The Other Guys' are afoot, this film more or less saves the day. Sure you have films like Social Network and Black Swan in the same year (which were both great), but this movie offers a new direction that is unique and fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
metboboboMay 19, 2011
This Movie is a injoyalbe ride from beging to end a nother masterpiece by the great Edger Wright this movie was problie the best movie of 2010 Kick Ass is a close 2nd.from the begining to end this movie effects and Comedy will keep youThis Movie is a injoyalbe ride from beging to end a nother masterpiece by the great Edger Wright this movie was problie the best movie of 2010 Kick Ass is a close 2nd.from the begining to end this movie effects and Comedy will keep you hooked. and the main character Scott almost perfictly repesents what a guy wants after a big brake up with a long time girlfriend. and this movie has a lot of injoyable rewatch moments almost just like a Graphic Novel it based on if you go back and rewatch and maybe you'll notice somthing you didnt at first Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rumi17May 27, 2011
This movie bugged me at first, with its indier-than-thou scene, but by the end I was totally won over. It's just great fun all around, with a large ensemble of characters of true depth that hold your interest, lots of laughs, great music,This movie bugged me at first, with its indier-than-thou scene, but by the end I was totally won over. It's just great fun all around, with a large ensemble of characters of true depth that hold your interest, lots of laughs, great music, and dazzling fight sequences. One of the best movies of 2010. Can't wait until they turn Edgar Wright loose on a Marvel title. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
davenbettridgeJul 19, 2011
SP was a movie on release that really resinated with me. The young mans struggle with love, rock, imagination, competition and growing up was something that I found myself really connecting to in many ways. I often had imagined in my mindSP was a movie on release that really resinated with me. The young mans struggle with love, rock, imagination, competition and growing up was something that I found myself really connecting to in many ways. I often had imagined in my mind many of the things that come to life in the movie while growing up. Having seen the movie many times now I can certainly see that the film isnt perfect, the girlfriend character Ramona is a bit of a bore, and Scotts relationship with Ramona isnt as deep as what it should perhaps be. The pacing also becomes in the later part of the movie a struggle going from fight to fight. The story of the book is more concerned with the comedy of Scott growing up and finding his way in life over a 2 year period and not the condensed fighting that the movie concentrates on. The visuals and sound are nothing short of brilliant and succeed at the highest level. The comedy is also entertaining and there are some great lines and movie moments. I wished that there was that extra 10% of this movie to make it a great film, but what it is good non the less. Thumbs up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CRLSep 17, 2011
This movie had me from the opening 8-bit re-imagining of the Universal theme to the countdown to the closing credits. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is two hours of nostalgic video-game fun with awesome battles, goofy characters, and even theThis movie had me from the opening 8-bit re-imagining of the Universal theme to the countdown to the closing credits. Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is two hours of nostalgic video-game fun with awesome battles, goofy characters, and even the occasional hilarious line. Michael Cera does what he does best, the geeky guy falling for the hot girl, and Mary Elizabeth Winstead does the aforementioned hot girl perfectly. They're backed up by Kieran Culkin, whom I think was probably the funniest character of the film, and several short but great appearances by Anna Kendrick. The only flaw that Scott Pilgrim might have is that it can never be taken seriously, so much so that it never even takes itself seriously... but that's the entire point of the film. It's meant to be two hours of pure, delightful enjoyment, and that's exactly what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
destroya1artAug 16, 2011
BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN! This movie is just so amazing. In case you don't know, "Scott Pilgrim" is a Graphic Novel Series. It has 6 books and they are all wrapped up into this movie!. and man it is groundbreaking. i Enjoyed the books andBEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN! This movie is just so amazing. In case you don't know, "Scott Pilgrim" is a Graphic Novel Series. It has 6 books and they are all wrapped up into this movie!. and man it is groundbreaking. i Enjoyed the books and even more the movie. The cast is just perfect, they all fit in so perfectly. and many people criticized Michael Cera for playing Scott but after reading the Books and watching the movie over 10 TIMES! I honestly can't think of anyone doing a better job than he did. Everybody else from Kieran Culkin to Mary Elizabeth Winstead were great. Edgar Wright the director did an AWESOMETACULAR job. The pacing is perfect, the action scenes, the comedy, it was right ON!. Mostly everything from the books Transcended onto the movie except for a few scenes and characters. BUT nothing to BIG. THIS MOVIE IS ONE that you'll probably never see again, or maybe you will. ITS ORIGINAL AND PERFECT. If you're a fan of Scott pilgrim Books THEN YOU'LL LOVE IT! 10/10 THE MOVIE OF MY GENERATION. MY INSPIRATION TO BECOMING A FILMMAKER!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
Scott Pilgrim succeeds where Kick-Ass failed. Yes they share the same wink-and-a-nod style of humor. Yes, they both push effect to ridiculous extremes. Yes, they both try way too hard. But what Scott Pilgrim has is a corny thing to root it inScott Pilgrim succeeds where Kick-Ass failed. Yes they share the same wink-and-a-nod style of humor. Yes, they both push effect to ridiculous extremes. Yes, they both try way too hard. But what Scott Pilgrim has is a corny thing to root it in the hearts if its audience: love. Love for every cheesy moment of nerdy quirks that it celebrates, and love for its own characters and dickish protagonist. Where Kick-Ass mocked itself while still trying to appeal to those who wanted it to celebrate what it was. Scott Pilgrim is in love with itself and all those who love it in return. Technically, that would make it smug, but when a film can honestly say the line "Once you were a ve-gone, but now you will be gone" do you even want to complain about that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
This is one of my all-time favourite films. Any criticism attributed to this film is just unacceptable, because it's a fast-paced, funny, adventurous movie. Pretty much every single character gives a razor-sharp performance, even if they haveThis is one of my all-time favourite films. Any criticism attributed to this film is just unacceptable, because it's a fast-paced, funny, adventurous movie. Pretty much every single character gives a razor-sharp performance, even if they have just two lines. Michael Cera proves his comedic brilliance once more, Jason Schwartzman (apparently the nicest man in the world, according to others) shows how well he can be an evil bastard, and great comedy turns from Chris Evans and Brandon Routh are the icing on the cake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
hootisJan 1, 2012
Its nice that they tried something new with this movie, there really hasen't been something this different in a while. I suppose some like it some don't, it was a nice concept but the actors and storyline are just terrible and i couldn'tIts nice that they tried something new with this movie, there really hasen't been something this different in a while. I suppose some like it some don't, it was a nice concept but the actors and storyline are just terrible and i couldn't wait for it to be over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Lord_AngeluzJul 26, 2014
Honestly, I've seen this movie about fifteen times, and every time I see it I find a lot of Easter eggs, as if playing a video game, this movie has comedy, love, action, a great script and the most beautiful soundtrack I've heard in my life,Honestly, I've seen this movie about fifteen times, and every time I see it I find a lot of Easter eggs, as if playing a video game, this movie has comedy, love, action, a great script and the most beautiful soundtrack I've heard in my life, this film does not deserve a 10, deserve a 100 worth of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinePlaceboMay 24, 2012
No es una película que esté proponiendo como primera vez algo, simplemente está articulando lenguajes de diferentes expresiones: comic, videojuegos, cine; y lo hace en un equilibrio a resaltar.No es una película que esté proponiendo como primera vez algo, simplemente está articulando lenguajes de diferentes expresiones: comic, videojuegos, cine; y lo hace en un equilibrio a resaltar. Reseña del filme en http://cineplacebos.webnode.es/news/disfrutando-de-la-juventud/ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 4, 2015
Certainly one of the weirdest films I have ever seen, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is also one of the most entertaining and well made films I have seen. Once I got over the general weirdness of it, the film really took off for me and aboveCertainly one of the weirdest films I have ever seen, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is also one of the most entertaining and well made films I have seen. Once I got over the general weirdness of it, the film really took off for me and above all, is incredibly fun, but most importantly, it is well made. Edgar Wright's style is very abrasive here, since he basically just made it a video game/comic book that was made into a movie, but it really has a very cool and unique look to it that really made the film true eye candy at times. The characters are all pretty well written, though there are some things that really did not work writing wise and I do wish the script was better at different times. The acting was very good from everyone, really loved Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Anna Kendrick here, in particular. While very, very odd, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World is a shining example of Edgar Wright's talents in the director's chair. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 29, 2013
Edgar Wright is easily one of the best directors out their, his films are always, energetic, bold, funny and just a whole lot of fun, to goofy fight scenes, great characters and amazingly witty dialog
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World is a 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GarianAug 9, 2016
This movie is a must-see for anyone into gaming/arcade culture even in the slightest. You have absolutely no idea what's going on in the 20 minutes, which sets up a great non-linear structure that eventually does narrow into a linear one.This movie is a must-see for anyone into gaming/arcade culture even in the slightest. You have absolutely no idea what's going on in the 20 minutes, which sets up a great non-linear structure that eventually does narrow into a linear one. However, the awkward erratic comedy keeps you focused as to what's happening on screen rather than predicting what's going to happen later on in the movie, at least for the most part, as there's a few hints as to what generally tends to conclude a comedy movie. A very late review on my part but definitely one of the best feel-good movies I've ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Um dos filmes mais divertidos do ano de seu lançamentoUm dos filmes mais divertidos do ano de seu lançamento Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZombieAxeHeroMar 10, 2014
As a hardcore gamer and total comic book nerd, there is no way I was going to skip this movie. Is this movie stupid? You're damn right it is, but you know what? So are most of the other movies that Edgar Wright directed, and those were allAs a hardcore gamer and total comic book nerd, there is no way I was going to skip this movie. Is this movie stupid? You're damn right it is, but you know what? So are most of the other movies that Edgar Wright directed, and those were all awesome. This, my friends, is another one of his masterpieces, sure to make you laugh uncontrollably for at least five minutes.

To best describe this movie is to call it crazy awesome. The fights are crazy awesome, the way the characters act is crazy awesome, the special effects are crazy awesome, the fact that it takes place in Canada is crazy awesome (Yeah, I'm saying that and I'm Canadian. Sue me). Reuben Langdon making a cameo is crazy awesome. All the references to Zelda, Street Fighter, and Mario are crazy awesome. Good God, is this movie crazy awesome!!! ...you know what's not crazy awesome? The fact that this movie got trampled in the box office by Vampires Suck! That is just disgusting!

Was there anything I didn't like? Well...yes. While I do think Michael Cera did a good job as Scott, I can't help but think that he wasn't the best choice for the role. Maybe that's just me, though. After reading the comics, I also get the feeling that the movie would have been way better had they included just one or two others plot pieces. On that note, this movie felt way too short, but given how much I was enjoying it, it could be longer than all of the Lord of the Rings movies slammed together and I wouldn't care.

Is this movie stupid? Man, you have no idea. Is it for everyone? Absolutely not (hell, my dad thinks it's dumber than Blades of Glory), but for the rest of us? To conclude, let me just say that...well, I'm in lesbians with this movie, and if you have the right mindset when you sit down to watch it, you will be too.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGOct 4, 2015
A video game inspired explosion of romance, comedy, art and fast paced action. Scott Pilgrim vs the world is one of my favourite films of all time and deserves so much more praise from critics
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RemJun 1, 2014
Two words to describe this movie: NEVER BORING. While the characters' deliverance of the lines may seem hammy, the editing in the movie is among the best of the year. If you have any love for video games or the dating scene, I suggest thisTwo words to describe this movie: NEVER BORING. While the characters' deliverance of the lines may seem hammy, the editing in the movie is among the best of the year. If you have any love for video games or the dating scene, I suggest this movie for you. The songs covered in the movie are also well done as os the performance of Kieran Culkin as Wallace, who made me laugh everytime he made an appearance. The movie is quiick, on point, funny, and full of badass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World was actually a pretty good movie and it was way better then what i thought it was going to be. After hearing good things about the movie from multiple people i decided to give it a watch. Seeing that the DirectorScott Pilgrim vs. the World was actually a pretty good movie and it was way better then what i thought it was going to be. After hearing good things about the movie from multiple people i decided to give it a watch. Seeing that the Director is Edgar Wright the guy that brought us Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, The World's End and soon Marvels Ant-Man i should have giving it a chance a while ago. I had just seen this movie for the first time last year when i bought it on blu ray and this is only my second time watching it. I just dont like Michael Cera all that much as he is always the same in all his movies this movie though makes him tolerable. There are so many hot women in this movie Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza but i just absolutely love Mary Elizabeth Winstead she is simply gorgeous especially in this movie all the different hair colors she has and her facial expressions were super cute. Chris Evans part in the movie was hilarious i loved the part when he is walking off the bus and the Universal Studios Theme music starts to play that was too funny. The concept was great and it played out pretty well and the fighting was also kickass. Thomas Jane and Clifton Collins Jr. as the Vegan Police was so random but i found it funny because i know the actors.

Overall i give it a 7.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJul 10, 2014
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World seems more like a video game than a movie (and that's the point), and it literally makes no sense, but it's quirky and funny enough to be watchable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Adam201028May 17, 2014
I loved it so much now i am a huge fan the story everything thing is AWESOME in i hope we see a 2nd one. This is for music fans,gamers and movie fans one to bee seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJan 20, 2014
A fresh take on comic book films, and a true homage to the 16-bit video game culture. Scott Pilgrim is a Canadian boy in a band who finds love in a girl, but first he must battle her exes to win her heart. I admire Edgar Wright's originalityA fresh take on comic book films, and a true homage to the 16-bit video game culture. Scott Pilgrim is a Canadian boy in a band who finds love in a girl, but first he must battle her exes to win her heart. I admire Edgar Wright's originality and guts to take on a project that could have gone horribly wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingDec 14, 2013
Unique, fun and very entertaining, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a very stylish video game adaptation that is incredibly fun to watch. Despite some clichéd scenes, Edgar Wright injects the movie with a sense of wild modern humor to make it aUnique, fun and very entertaining, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a very stylish video game adaptation that is incredibly fun to watch. Despite some clichéd scenes, Edgar Wright injects the movie with a sense of wild modern humor to make it a memorable watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Oct 5, 2016
This was such a schlonky movie and I loved it. It literally had everything that could satisfy your inner dweeb with video game references, action, tons of comedy and a tad bit of romance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chem64Jan 23, 2014
I absolutely love this movie. The story is amazing, and can be loved by anyone ages 14-30 (and older), and the couldn't of picked better actors to play the characters from the books. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Christian0205Mar 30, 2014
One of my favorite films. Full of energy, visuals, black humor, white humor. Video Game turned into a movie. Great soundtrack. Anti-hero movie favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DirtyDaveJun 23, 2014
This movie is a shock for the senses. The fast paced action and comedy rarely leaves you able to even look away to do something as small as check your phone. The characters, good and bad, are all hilariously overblown in the most enjoyableThis movie is a shock for the senses. The fast paced action and comedy rarely leaves you able to even look away to do something as small as check your phone. The characters, good and bad, are all hilariously overblown in the most enjoyable way. Nerd or jock, you just needed to be a child at some point to get lost in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Unique, fun and very entertaining, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a very stylish video game adaptation that is incredibly fun to watch. Despite some clichéd scenes, Edgar Wright injects the movie with a sense of wild modern humor to make it aUnique, fun and very entertaining, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a very stylish video game adaptation that is incredibly fun to watch. Despite some clichéd scenes, Edgar Wright injects the movie with a sense of wild modern humor to make it a memorable watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hystrixAug 7, 2014
This movie is a perfect example of a movie which isn't made for the masses. All the references towards old-skool arcade games, comic books etc. make this movie hard to watch for people not into that scene or who didn't grew up about 15 yearsThis movie is a perfect example of a movie which isn't made for the masses. All the references towards old-skool arcade games, comic books etc. make this movie hard to watch for people not into that scene or who didn't grew up about 15 years ago.
Usually i'm sceptical if it's about comic book adaptations, unless it's Marvel/DC Comics, because most of the time the movies try to be to Hollywood like. Not this movie. Wright managed to keep every important piece of the comic and turned it into a perfect movie.

The only reason i'm not giving it a 10, is that although i find it a masterpiece, I understand if the common teenager or adult don't get the references etc. without them the movie is probably just a mere meh (5).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Kai82Sep 14, 2014
I want to give 10/10 but I could not do it. The movie is some of the most awesome things in movie history. The story is deep on many levels and the fighting scenes are unmatched. The humor works very well and there is no bad actor orI want to give 10/10 but I could not do it. The movie is some of the most awesome things in movie history. The story is deep on many levels and the fighting scenes are unmatched. The humor works very well and there is no bad actor or performance in the entire cast. The only negative point were the first 20 minute of the film. It started slow and with some awkward scenes. Many people (some of my friends too) turned away from this movie and missed probably one of the best movies ever made. Because of this I give 9/10 (The mentioned negative point is sadly valid enough). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
awkwardMEOWSep 5, 2014
Fantastic. Brilliant. Risky. Beautiful. Superlatives. Humor is not only driven from the incredible dialogue, but from the way the film is directed, edited, and presented. Absolutely see it. Especially if you would be happy to know Cera playedFantastic. Brilliant. Risky. Beautiful. Superlatives. Humor is not only driven from the incredible dialogue, but from the way the film is directed, edited, and presented. Absolutely see it. Especially if you would be happy to know Cera played Final Fantasy 2 song on his bass!! Critics love it too!

Totally reminiscent of some great French New Wave cinema, here's looking at you, Une femme est une femme!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sonic4presidentNov 11, 2014
Bro, this is essentially the best film ever made. It doesn't have everything in the books, but if it did then it would be way to long so that's to be expected. This film will have you filled with excitement with every battle to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
masseyJan 17, 2015
For fans of all things geeky around the world, this film is for YOU! Comedy, action, romance, video games, music; "Scott Pilgrim vs. The World" has everything you could ask for. It very quickly became my favourite film after watching it and IFor fans of all things geeky around the world, this film is for YOU! Comedy, action, romance, video games, music; "Scott Pilgrim vs. The World" has everything you could ask for. It very quickly became my favourite film after watching it and I could watch it over and over again without ever getting bored of it; the same way that you could watch the same episode of Friends for the 'nth' time and find it as hilarious as the first.

Though the character feels quite different to his graphic novel counterpart, Michael Cera does an excellent job as the awkward Scott, Kieran Culkin is perfect as Wallace and Mary Elizabeth Winstead plays a much more tragic version of Ramona Flowers but this change still works well.

Scott Pilgrim is a must-see and it deserves more recognition. Go watch it, you'll love it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
This s a fun, inventive, and amazing film. It is ambitious, epic, dazzling, and tries to maybe do too much. It doesn't fully succeed here, but there's so much that is great that it is easy to bypass what little flaws there are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Signas501Mar 22, 2015
Scott Pilgrim is based off of a comic book series, set protagonist being Scott pilgrim, who is part of a band named "Sex Bob-omb" who falls in love with Remona Flowers, knowing he didn't have much chemistry with Knifes Chao he pursues RemonaScott Pilgrim is based off of a comic book series, set protagonist being Scott pilgrim, who is part of a band named "Sex Bob-omb" who falls in love with Remona Flowers, knowing he didn't have much chemistry with Knifes Chao he pursues Remona until she acknowledges his love for her. However after sleeping with her, Scott finds out that about the "seven deadly exe's" she brokes up with. In order to prove his affection towards Remona, Scott has to defeat the seven deadly exe's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AwesomeRaiderMay 13, 2015
Scott Pilgrim vs The World is one of the most original films that i seen
Because I found this movie funny,creative and colorful with a fresh tone of action and teenage romance.
With references to the videogames. And excellent direction of
Scott Pilgrim vs The World is one of the most original films that i seen
Because I found this movie funny,creative and colorful with a fresh tone of action and teenage romance.
With references to the videogames.
And excellent direction of Edgar Wright and the best actuation goes to Mary Elizabeth Winstead as Ramona Flowers XD

Scott Pilgrim vs The World es una de las películas mas originales que he visto
Porque yo encontré esta película divertida,creativa y colorida con un toque fresco de acción y romance adolescente.
Con referencias a los videojuegos.
Y tambien una excelente dirección de Edgar Wright y la mejor actuación va para Mary Elizabeth Winstead como Ramona Flowers XD
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geo333Mar 14, 2016
The most usual movie but at the same time very creative and artistic.Add to that the humorous story that is well acted by all the cast. In the end Scoot Pilgrim vs The World is a solid unique movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
What makes "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" much better than your average comedy flick is it's playful structure and design. I love it when films take risks and play with the narrative. This film is worth the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Let me put this lightly: if you were born and raised on video games, or are even familiar with games like Zelda, Street Fighter, and Mario, you will enjoy, if not love, this film. The fast paced editing wrapped around the surprisingly goodLet me put this lightly: if you were born and raised on video games, or are even familiar with games like Zelda, Street Fighter, and Mario, you will enjoy, if not love, this film. The fast paced editing wrapped around the surprisingly good performance by Micheal Cera, supported by a great cast and excellent music make this a great watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 4, 2016
Scott Pilgrim just seems enjoyable to watch. Let's watch him fight the world to win his girlfriend's heart. Yeah, that's very original... any who, this story just seems entertaining to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ComandanteCobraApr 26, 2017
Unconventional movie. It's funny, has a lots of reference, good ost, it's furious, stunning visual experimentation. It's one of those movie that get better with every watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThatmoviesdudeApr 20, 2016
Scott Pilgrim vs the World is an indie adaptation of the popular comic, which is actually one of the greatest movies about games ever made, which will make you long to pick up that old NES console and remember gaming as a child, those broughtScott Pilgrim vs the World is an indie adaptation of the popular comic, which is actually one of the greatest movies about games ever made, which will make you long to pick up that old NES console and remember gaming as a child, those brought up in the generation of 8-bit consoles. Well, after a while, it strays from the comic a little, but they have chosen only the best bits to keep.

It's a funny, over-the-top comedy-slash-action-slash-romance movie, with special effects that are extremely believable, and never make you point at the screen and yell, "FAAAAAKEE!!" And as I said before, parts of the comic are cut out, but if you haven't read them, you won't even know.

The evil ex battles are well planned, well set and well executed (check out the 5th and 6th evil ex battles as the phrase "battle of the bands" is taken literally). The script also has a lot of heart and charm to it, and has something in it for everyone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rei07Jul 19, 2016
I absolutely like this movie. If you love video games and movies about video games, then this is the right one for you. I absolutely enjoyed Edgar Wright's style with his blend of action and comedy. In fact, I liked this as much as Shaun ofI absolutely like this movie. If you love video games and movies about video games, then this is the right one for you. I absolutely enjoyed Edgar Wright's style with his blend of action and comedy. In fact, I liked this as much as Shaun of the Dead (another one of his films) if not more. The action was fast paced, the story was pretty decent, and the movie was funny and thoroughly entertaining. Even if you're not into the whole gaming scene, it's still possible for anyone to enjoy this movie regardless. If you haven't seen it, I definitely recommend it. Overall, I give this movie a solid 8.5/10. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyJun 2, 2017
Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is a fantastic movie with a brilliant sense of style and pacing. The writing, blocking, cinematography, and editing seamlessly blends each scene into the next unlike any other movie I have seen. These techniquesScott Pilgrim vs. The World is a fantastic movie with a brilliant sense of style and pacing. The writing, blocking, cinematography, and editing seamlessly blends each scene into the next unlike any other movie I have seen. These techniques keep the film moving at a quick pace making sure you never get bored. The film also does a tremendous job at balancing real life problems for the characters while also making it feel like a comic book/video game. It is a very unique film that almost anyone can find something of enjoyment out of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews