Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 828 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. 100
    Its speedy, funny, happy-sad spirit is so infectious that the movie makes you feel at home in its world even if the landscape is, at first glance, unfamiliar.
  2. 90
    As he did in "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz", Wright immerses his heroes in pop culture's detritus and diversions, but doesn't drown them in it. You don't have to be dazzled or tickled by the movie, or get every joke, to be touched by it, too.
  3. 88
    This is not the first time Wright has shown his understanding for such things, nor is this the first occasion in which he has displayed a strong sense of comedic timing, but Scott Pilgrim vs. the World feels fresher and more inspired than his previous outings, and that makes it an excellent source of late-summer entertainment.
  4. English director Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz), takes the approach that movies have been far too reticent. His new film, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, is as vibrant as a cluttered wall of graffiti, jumpy enough to risk retina damage.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    70
    The perfect summation of Hollywood at this moment - an apotheosis of American male infantilism - and, on its own, a most likable mess.
  6. Talk about style over substance: The sheer volume of musical, comic-strip and video-game influences, riffs and licks in "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" can get exhausting, but they also are what lift this romantic coming-of-age tale from this world to someplace totally ... else.
  7. 30
    The film is alive with bad rock bands and dizzying bit parts, the standout being Kieran Culkin, in the role of Scott's gay roommate, but we feel them gyrating around a hollow core.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 223
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    I put off this movie for so long and I finally got around to watching it and I am glad that I did. It's pretty enjoyable. Absolutely lovedI put off this movie for so long and I finally got around to watching it and I am glad that I did. It's pretty enjoyable. Absolutely loved Culkin as Wells, He was awesome. Just a very entertaining movie. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Whoever claims that this movie is bad, go back to watching your awful Oscar-winning films that pretend they have a story when they don't.Whoever claims that this movie is bad, go back to watching your awful Oscar-winning films that pretend they have a story when they don't. Movies don't need to have action scenes or explosions to be good, but they also don't need to act like they're smarter than the audience and don't need to act like they have a plot when they don't. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World had some of the best writing and directing in film since Tarantino made the Kill Bill movies. And the acting has humanity and actual emotion in it unlike whatever wins best picture at the Academy Awards. As much as people aren't going to want to admit it, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is one of the few movies in recent memory that is relevant, like-able, watchable, and is legitimately hilarious. And that is a testament to how good movies can be! Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! There is a reason I believe that Edgar Wright is THE best film director we have today, and SPvTW adds to it. WrightAbsolutely fantastic! There is a reason I believe that Edgar Wright is THE best film director we have today, and SPvTW adds to it. Wright fully captured the essence of the gamer/gen-Y crowd and the modern teen comedy. Creativity oozes out of it. It's a movie that isn't afraid to not take itself seriously. I can definitely see how a critic or viewer would give it a low score, because they just don't get it. It doesn't interest them. It's ok! It won my heart. I smiled the whole time. If you love games, subtle humor, any of Edgar Wrights past films, teen comedies, or fresh ideas...Go see this film! Expand
  4. May 24, 2012
    9
    No es una película que esté proponiendo como primera vez algo, simplemente está articulando lenguajesNo es una película que esté proponiendo como primera vez algo, simplemente está articulando lenguajes de diferentes expresiones: comic, videojuegos, cine; y lo hace en un equilibrio a resaltar. Reseña del filme en http://cineplacebos.webnode.es/news/disfrutando-de-la-juventud/ Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2011
    8
    This was a visually amazing film, and considering that this film is based on a 2D video game, I have to say I was very impressed by theThis was a visually amazing film, and considering that this film is based on a 2D video game, I have to say I was very impressed by the storyline. The acting was just ok ,but I enjoy all the different characters and their abilities. Great film!!!
    Acting: OK
    Storyline: Great
    Characters: Great
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    SP was a movie on release that really resinated with me. The young mans struggle with love, rock, imagination, competition and growing up wasSP was a movie on release that really resinated with me. The young mans struggle with love, rock, imagination, competition and growing up was something that I found myself really connecting to in many ways. I often had imagined in my mind many of the things that come to life in the movie while growing up. Having seen the movie many times now I can certainly see that the film isnt perfect, the girlfriend character Ramona is a bit of a bore, and Scotts relationship with Ramona isnt as deep as what it should perhaps be. The pacing also becomes in the later part of the movie a struggle going from fight to fight. The story of the book is more concerned with the comedy of Scott growing up and finding his way in life over a 2 year period and not the condensed fighting that the movie concentrates on. The visuals and sound are nothing short of brilliant and succeed at the highest level. The comedy is also entertaining and there are some great lines and movie moments. I wished that there was that extra 10% of this movie to make it a great film, but what it is good non the less. Thumbs up! Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    An absolutely terrible adaption of the comics. They pretty much got evertyhing wrong about what made the source material so great. MichaelAn absolutely terrible adaption of the comics. They pretty much got evertyhing wrong about what made the source material so great. Michael Cera is a terrible choice for Scott. Expand

See all 223 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.