Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 762 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Edgar Wright
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Romance
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 112 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Handily beats back the evils of boredom.
  2. 90
    As he did in "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz", Wright immerses his heroes in pop culture's detritus and diversions, but doesn't drown them in it. You don't have to be dazzled or tickled by the movie, or get every joke, to be touched by it, too.
  3. 88
    Of all the gonzo-goofy comic book adaptations that embrace video gaming sensibilities, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is the gonzo-goofiest.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    75
    The movie is of this precise moment and you should probably see it now, since it will be dated by next Tuesday.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    70
    The perfect summation of Hollywood at this moment - an apotheosis of American male infantilism - and, on its own, a most likable mess.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    60
    With Michael Cera in the title role, twentysomethings and under will swiftly embrace this original romancer.
  7. 30
    The film is alive with bad rock bands and dizzying bit parts, the standout being Kieran Culkin, in the role of Scott's gay roommate, but we feel them gyrating around a hollow core.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 216
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is maybe my favourite movie, it's soooooooo fun and creative. I watched it many, many times and i really enjoyed. I recommend it to everyone! GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Whoever claims that this movie is bad, go back to watching your awful Oscar-winning films that pretend they have a story when they don't. Movies don't need to have action scenes or explosions to be good, but they also don't need to act like they're smarter than the audience and don't need to act like they have a plot when they don't. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World had some of the best writing and directing in film since Tarantino made the Kill Bill movies. And the acting has humanity and actual emotion in it unlike whatever wins best picture at the Academy Awards. As much as people aren't going to want to admit it, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World is one of the few movies in recent memory that is relevant, like-able, watchable, and is legitimately hilarious. And that is a testament to how good movies can be! Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Absolutely fantastic! There is a reason I believe that Edgar Wright is THE best film director we have today, and SPvTW adds to it. Wright fully captured the essence of the gamer/gen-Y crowd and the modern teen comedy. Creativity oozes out of it. It's a movie that isn't afraid to not take itself seriously. I can definitely see how a critic or viewer would give it a low score, because they just don't get it. It doesn't interest them. It's ok! It won my heart. I smiled the whole time. If you love games, subtle humor, any of Edgar Wrights past films, teen comedies, or fresh ideas...Go see this film! Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    What a wonderful surprise. Edgar Wright captures such an essence of creativity and all out ridiculousness to bring us Michael Cera in this super-comic tween fest all together and rolled in with flashy colours and glitz to form Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.
    Michael Cera plays the titled character, who is part of a mediocre college band trying to make it, he happens across Ramona, a beautiful and pink-hair coloured girl, who he falls for, the problem being that she has seven evil 'exes' who Scott must defeat in order to have the girl of his dreams.
    Obviously, the events that occur are not as straightforward as Scott would have hoped. What is striking about this film is how Edgar Wright is not afraid to take a chance and go in all guns-blazing, trowing a nerd-fest party that only the geekiest kids are allowed access to, because this is an all-out comic and game oriented film that has onomatopoeic graphics flashing in front of your face and OCD fast paced directing that will have your brain buzzed. Its what makes this wonderful rollercoaster of a comic book adaption so unique, it won't try too hard to amaze, but simply to entertain in an eccentric and brilliant manner.
    It's has great comedic acting all round, particularly a cameo from Chris Evans.
    It doesn't get a 10 though, because Michael Cera is perhaps becoming very typecast in these roles, not by any means the film he is in, but his personality doesn't change, the same routine here of the nervous teen who lands the beautiful female lead, perhaps just becoming too predictable, apart from this, an throughly enjoyable film.
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow! What a great movie. Comedies like these tend to not settle well for me, so I was very skeptical about this one. I gave it a shot and it did not disappoint. I absolutely loved this film! A smart, unique film that cannot be missed. I love the way the video game sounds and comic book images were incorporated. It truly sets this film apart. I must mention the dialogue; a great script with perfect lines at the right time. So hilarious! "You punched my boob....prepare to die, obviously," "You made me swallow my gum. That's going to be in my digestive tract for 7 years." At times, the clever, bizarre, quirkiness of this film left me in a state of confusion as to whether or not what I was watching was literal. However, in this particular film, the confusion is part of the joy of watching. It's oddity is so brilliantly executed that the seemingly ridiculous story makes for a very good film. I absolutely loved it! Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    8
    This is one of the year best movie. They did a great job with the effects and edited. Great screenplay and acting in this movie. A very good comedy-romance movie. This movie was very entertainment. It started off kind of slow the first fifteen minutes but it pick up. This is a very good movie to get for dvd and bluray. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    An absolutely terrible adaption of the comics. They pretty much got evertyhing wrong about what made the source material so great. Michael Cera is a terrible choice for Scott. Expand

See all 216 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.