Scream 2

Scream 2 Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 451 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: Away at college, Sidney Prescott (Campbell) thought she'd finally put the shocking murders that shattered her life behind her ... until a copycat killer begins acting out a real-life sequel! Now, as history eerily repeats itself, ambitious reporter Gale Weathers (Cox), deputy DeweyAway at college, Sidney Prescott (Campbell) thought she'd finally put the shocking murders that shattered her life behind her ... until a copycat killer begins acting out a real-life sequel! Now, as history eerily repeats itself, ambitious reporter Gale Weathers (Cox), deputy Dewey (Arquette), and other SCREAM survivors find themselves trapped in a terrifyingly clever plotline where no one is safe -- or beyond suspicion! (Dimension) Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. This funny, gory stab-athon is as sophisticated about the mechanics of Part 2s as the original was savvy about horror flicks.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    80
    Visceral, witty and appropriately redundant, the sequel has a winning commercial recipe that's certain to cook up excellent returns in all areas.
  3. 75
    Paradoxically, there's a lot less gore. There is blood, of course, but nothing excessive by slasher-movie standards, and there are no depictions of spilled entrails. Craven has remembered that scares are more important that graphic displays of human insides and bodily fluids.
  4. It's not as good as the original - which was fresher, funnier and scarier - but if it were, then by the criteria of the film's resident movie scholar, it wouldn't be a genuine sequel.
  5. 60
    The precredits sequence is exciting--it's the only part of the movie that even begins to use the idea of the vulnerability of a horror-movie audience reflexively. The rest of the story is a straightforward narrative that's threatening only to the ingenues in the cast.
  6. 60
    For all its parodic elements, this clever 'whodunit' leaves us squirming and wincing at each slash of the killer. Prepare for a surprise and beware the person enjoying the film right next to you.
  7. This disappointing sequel to last year's horror sleeper gets trapped in the clichés it's trying to send up.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. Dec 19, 2015
    10
    This is how you make a sequel! I admit the first one is the best (of course) but this one is a great movie as well. Wes Craven did a fantasticThis is how you make a sequel! I admit the first one is the best (of course) but this one is a great movie as well. Wes Craven did a fantastic work (as usual). They broke the movie sequel curse which is a hard work to do. The acting is great also the actors. Im happy that the four main characters of the film are still alive in this part. The lines are sometimes funny considering the fact that scream has always been a horror/comedy-ish kind of movie. It scared me too. The amount of suspense and thriller is just enough, its not gory like other **** movies. Theres nothing more scarier than a mother's revenge! Loved it. Expand
  2. May 10, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scream 2 agreeably, is more funnier and scarier than the first, but is as violent since it did garner an NC-17 like the first film. Scream 2 features more comedic content than the first film and more casting. So smart, the first scene features Omar Epps and Jada Pinkett Smith both getting slayed by ghost face was very unexpected and scary. Also, the film takes place on a college campus, which is a big step for the film (which also explains a more expansive budget than the first). Glad that Gale Weathers (Courtney Cox) survives in the film. I really appreciate the casting of Sarah Michelle Gellar, Jamie Kennedy, Jerry O'Connell, and Timothy Olyphant whom have all performed very greatly in the film. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, "Scream 2" is even better than the first. It's funnier, scarier, and a lot more confident. Featuring even more memorableIn my opinion, "Scream 2" is even better than the first. It's funnier, scarier, and a lot more confident. Featuring even more memorable death scenes and dialogue that's worth talking about, every scene is delicious. The twist ending is a great homage to horror films in general, and the thrills are non-stop. Plus one for the fact that Sarah Michelle Gellar's in it. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    This fantastic sequel keeps to the original film's sense of humor, scariness, and psychological excitement which is a rare aspect in horrorThis fantastic sequel keeps to the original film's sense of humor, scariness, and psychological excitement which is a rare aspect in horror sequels. This film does not prolong the scariness to the degree that the original did, but it has most certainly remained as funny and intriguing as ever. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2016
    7
    Scream 2 is one of the better horror sequels out there. Wes Craven returns to direct which is a rarity in horror films and all of the membersScream 2 is one of the better horror sequels out there. Wes Craven returns to direct which is a rarity in horror films and all of the members of the cast return to carry on the story and that makes the story feel like a true continuation of the first movie. Its not as self aware as the first one and there are not as many tense scenes but Scream 2 still has the fun. There are a few points were you really didn't know who the main character was and I thought that took me out of it a little and the twist ending is a little out there and unneeded, but Scream 2 does exactly what a horror sequel should do. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2014
    6
    The Sequel to the top notch "Scream" film has familiar elements from the first, that pull together to make yet another great horror movie. ButThe Sequel to the top notch "Scream" film has familiar elements from the first, that pull together to make yet another great horror movie. But like most horror sequels... It's just not as good as the first. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2016
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

    What I Personally Liked About "Scream 2":
    Right off the bat, let me say that the two best things about this sequel are Neve Campbell and Jamie Kennedy. They bring the same energy and same characterizations to this second installment that they brought to the first. It seems like they slipped effortlessly back into their roles whereas Courteney Cox and David Arquette struggled here and there. The death of Kennedy's character Randy was one of the best sequences of the movie and was a necessary evil as the ante always needs to be upped in sequels. Personally, I just think it's a shame Dewey didn't die while they were at it. Liev Schreiber was also a wonderful supporting actor who fits the film well. If they could have only found a few more people like him who didn't automatically turn into overacting hyenas, we would have been all set. While we're at it, Peter Deming's magnificent cinematography should be noted as one of the highlights of this production. Visual framing this good really deserves a better movie to accompany its presence.

    What I Personally Disliked About "Scream 2":
    For the most part, this sequel takes itself more seriously than its predecessor did and this hampers the enjoyment tremendously. Where the first film lampooned the horror genre, this second chapter feels like it's striving to fit in with the very flicks the initial production thumbed its nose at. In addition, it succumbs to the pitfall that plagues most scary movie sequels: it feels like we've seen it all before. It has nothing new to bring to the table. A good example of this is the boyfriend issue. For those of you (like myself) who thought Skeet Ulrich was the height of conventionality, I give you Jerry O'Connell. Yikes. He just had to sing, too, didn't he? Oh, the horror! I'm also not a big fan of Courteney's hair. Seriously. Who in their right mind thought THAT looked good? Double yikes. The inclusion of the painfully unfunny sorority girl stereotypes was also an abysmal decision which, of course, would make triple yikes. I thought watching Arquette in the first film was like being slammed against a brick wall but these girls take the cake. At least David had the good sense to ever so slightly tone down his buffoonish antics. Let's be completely honest with each other as well, shall we? The twist ending in this picture is a little lame and quite a bit forced when compared next to the innovation of the original.

    My Overall Impression of "Scream 2":
    At two hours in length, this film is about forty minutes too long. A lot of sequences (particularly the atrocious last third of the movie) seem to drag out endlessly and the viewer is left to wonder what happened to Wes Craven's normally tight directing skills. There are some briefly enjoyable moments scattered about, but this sequel feels more tired than inspired.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies

    Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies Image
    Published: October 21, 2010
    Just in time for Halloween, our week of horror-related articles kicks off with a look at the career of one of the genre's most prolific directors, Wes Craven.
  2. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  5. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.