Scream 4

Scream 4 Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 386 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sidney Prescott, now the author of a self-help book, returns home to Woodsboro on the last stop of her book tour. There she reconnects with Sheriff Dewey and Gale, who are now married, as well as her cousin Jill and her Aunt Kate. Unfortunately, Sidney's appearance also brings about theSidney Prescott, now the author of a self-help book, returns home to Woodsboro on the last stop of her book tour. There she reconnects with Sheriff Dewey and Gale, who are now married, as well as her cousin Jill and her Aunt Kate. Unfortunately, Sidney's appearance also brings about the return of Ghostface, putting Sidney, Gale, and Dewey, along with Jill, her friends, and the whole town of Woodsboro in danger. (Dimension Films)

    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 13, 2011
    83
    It's about time that another Scream flick came along to gouge the new cliches out of their sockets. Scream 4 does it in grandly Guignol style.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 14, 2011
    75
    A strange concoction, clever and self-knowing in the extreme and yet operating in primal ways that bypass wit. Something about it feels very modern.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 13, 2011
    67
    Some of the riffs are really funny and/or expertly scary. Others have the feel of awfully snappy dialogue crafted by middleaged people trying a little too eagerly to sound like the young people from whose mouths the banter flows.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Apr 14, 2011
    50
    It's rare for a sequel to extensively acknowledge its own pointlessness, let alone make the unnecessary nature of its existence a recurring theme, the way Scream 4 does. Then again, the Scream franchise has always been ahead of the curve when it comes to deconstructing itself and the rules of the slasher genre.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 19, 2011
    50
    Scream 4 is so obsessed with the self-referential element that made the original Scream unique that it loses the capacity to be genuinely scary or funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    Too self-referential for its own good by half.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 12, 2011
    30
    The enjoyable moments are limited to Alison Brie, funny as Sidney's publicist, and the final recasting of the movie as a backstage diva drama. As ever, the self-reflexive horror stuff is superficial, loveless, and constant-a ladled-on sauce to disguise what you're eating.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 125
  2. Negative: 13 out of 125
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I definitely have to say..speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films that 11 yrs later in Scream 4...i was definitely thoroughly entertained.I definitely have to say..speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films that 11 yrs later in Scream 4...i was definitely thoroughly entertained. It was an amazing opening and ending that still has me thinking WOW! I highly recommend this to any horror fan and any fan of the first 3 films...way to go Kevin Williamson and Wes Craven...cant wait for Scream 5 and 6! Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the opening of the movie was great, creative, and kind of funny. and i really like the whole story, it's pretty predictable, but still shocking. i love the idea of "usually, in a movie, what will happen next is..." or something like that. it's creative and it makes the viewer to think and guess, who was the killer. the characters were pretty much classic, Neve Campbell was predictable, Hayden Panettiere as well, but Emma Roberts was awesome. it's a joy to see her acting as a psycho, not just a sweet good girl like i always see on tv. she has proven the viewers that she is a great actress. the whole movie was entertaining to me and i enjoyed watching it. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Scream 4 recaptures the tone and intent of the first film in this franchise perfectly. All the major players are back and boy, are they inScream 4 recaptures the tone and intent of the first film in this franchise perfectly. All the major players are back and boy, are they in for the ride of their lives! Go see this if you love a good scary movie, but check out the original three films first, if you can. A real fanboy (and fangirl) treat here! Careful, the theater is dark. Better take a friend to keep you company. Plop down full price on this one, and be proud. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    Funny, meta, and for once actually unpredictable, Scream 4, in my opinion, actually outdoes the original. However, it's still hinderedFunny, meta, and for once actually unpredictable, Scream 4, in my opinion, actually outdoes the original. However, it's still hindered greatly by the fact that it's the fourth in the series, and the fact that horror movies have been satirized and spoofed for well over a decade now doesn't help it out much either. There were parts of it that I actually laughed out loud at, and other parts where it actually got me nervous. It wasn't terrifying, but I can live with that. My main complaint is that it takes itself too seriously. It too often just feels like another horror film. Craven directs it confidently, but couldn't he give it a little more style, or make it a little bit more of a spoof? 4 movies in I wish the series would stop trying to mix actual horror with the laughs. I'm not saying to make it like the Scary Movie series, but I feel that a lighter tone would have helped it out. Still, I'm hard pressed to try and recommend any other slasher film over it. I had a decent time with it, but not a great one. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    Scream 4 does exactly what is expected, roll the first three movie together, add a twist (although hardly a surprise when it does happen) andScream 4 does exactly what is expected, roll the first three movie together, add a twist (although hardly a surprise when it does happen) and let the body count rise. Worth a watch if you enjoyed the first three. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Scream 4 is a return for the original cast members and director Wes Craven..... but it seems that a lot has been lost in the transfer to aScream 4 is a return for the original cast members and director Wes Craven..... but it seems that a lot has been lost in the transfer to a more modern horror. While I applaud Scream 4 in originality (the old satirical humour is still very much alive) a lot of tension, for me at least, was lost to half arsed dialogue, lack of build up and a predictable structure. It just wasn't tense enough. I really didn't care about the new characters they brought to the franchise. In fact, the only reason Scream isn't getting a lower score is because I was nowhere near guessing the killers identity. That and I have a soft spot for slashers, a genre of horror films that has nearly dried up. And it was good to see ghostface.
    But unless you're a hardcore fan of the franchise, I suggest a rent at most.
    Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2016
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

    What I Personally Liked About "Scream 4":
    Um. Give me a minute. I'm thinking. I'm thinking!!! It's saying something when even the normally reliable Neve Campbell seems like she's just going through the motions to grab a quick paycheck. Well, here's one thing I do like: Hayden Panettiere. She always deserves more credit than she receives and has the propensity to be a serious actress if given the opportunity. She's easily the best part of this sorry excuse of a "film." I suppose Emma Roberts is okay, too. She's certainly not horrible, she just feels like she's holding back for some reason, even in the finale. She needs to learn to cut loose a little.

    What I Personally Disliked About "Scream 4":
    It's hard to pick a place to begin with this one. I will say that the triple false opening is a mind-numbingly tedious experience that should have been scrapped. There is a lifeless pacing to the entire production and there are too many stretches that rely on cliches instead of actual substance. There are no really solid supporting characters. While a lot of the ancillary characters weren't exactly fully formed in the original trilogy, they were still more interesting and had more personality than the ones seen here. The relationship between Dewey and Gale that was so unbearable in the third chapter has become rip-your-eyeballs-out-of-their-sockets-so-you-don't-have-to-witness-it-anymore bad. But the biggest drawback to this film is the one missed opportunity that could have saved the entire movie: Sidney Prescott should not have lived. Seriously. This was a monumental oversight by the filmmakers that could have brought about something unique within the genre. Having Jill Roberts get away with murder could have opened new doors for the franchise. Focusing on how a serial killer secretly maintains her "survivor" fame while trying not to get caught killing future victims would have been a superb idea for a fifth installment. "Scream 4" should have ended after Jill beat herself up and was being carted out of the house through the flashing of the paparazzi. Fade to white. End of film. However, mediocrity reigned supreme, Sidney lived and the whole shebang wound up scraping the bottom of the cinematic barrel.

    My Overall Impression of "Scream 4":
    This is an inconsequential sequel that exists solely to appease the almighty dollar. Why tarnish a decent legacy for the sake of being greedy? It never works out well in the long run. I guess, to paraphrase a line from the movie (which came from Dewey no less - ugh!), "One generation's classic horror movie is another one's joke." This film is the joke and it is one that fails miserably.
    Expand

See all 125 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Six Picks for the Week of April 11-17

    Six Picks for the Week of April 11-17 Image
    Published: April 10, 2011
    Can HBO's "Game of Thrones" live up to the popular fantasy books on which it is based? Can "Scream 4" revive the magic of the 1996 classic? Is the new Foo Fighters album as good as the early buzz suggests? Find out more about these and other timely issues in this week's 6 Picks.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 21, 2011
    This week, get the latest news on Christopher Nolan's next "Batman" and new projects from Ridley Scott, Clint Eastwood, and Alexander Payne, plus watch new trailers for "Scream 4," "Red Riding Hood," and more.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: October 22, 2010
    This week, get the latest news about "The Hobbit," a "Piranha 3D" sequel, and other upcoming films, and watch new trailers and clips for "Scream 4," "Megamind," "The Fighter," and more.