Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sidney Prescott, now the author of a self-help book, returns home to Woodsboro on the last stop of her book tour. There she reconnects with Sheriff Dewey and Gale, who are now married, as well as her cousin Jill and her Aunt Kate. Unfortunately, Sidney's appearance also brings about the return of Ghostface, putting Sidney, Gale, and Dewey, along with Jill, her friends, and the whole town of Woodsboro in danger. (Dimension Films)

    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 13, 2011
    83
    It's about time that another Scream flick came along to gouge the new cliches out of their sockets. Scream 4 does it in grandly Guignol style.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Apr 14, 2011
    75
    A strange concoction, clever and self-knowing in the extreme and yet operating in primal ways that bypass wit. Something about it feels very modern.
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Apr 13, 2011
    67
    Some of the riffs are really funny and/or expertly scary. Others have the feel of awfully snappy dialogue crafted by middleaged people trying a little too eagerly to sound like the young people from whose mouths the banter flows.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Apr 14, 2011
    50
    It's rare for a sequel to extensively acknowledge its own pointlessness, let alone make the unnecessary nature of its existence a recurring theme, the way Scream 4 does. Then again, the Scream franchise has always been ahead of the curve when it comes to deconstructing itself and the rules of the slasher genre.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 19, 2011
    50
    Scream 4 is so obsessed with the self-referential element that made the original Scream unique that it loses the capacity to be genuinely scary or funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    Too self-referential for its own good by half.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Apr 12, 2011
    30
    The enjoyable moments are limited to Alison Brie, funny as Sidney's publicist, and the final recasting of the movie as a backstage diva drama. As ever, the self-reflexive horror stuff is superficial, loveless, and constant-a ladled-on sauce to disguise what you're eating.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 115
  2. Negative: 12 out of 115
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I definitely have to say..speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films that 11 yrs later in Scream 4...i was definitely thoroughly entertained. It was an amazing opening and ending that still has me thinking WOW! I highly recommend this to any horror fan and any fan of the first 3 films...way to go Kevin Williamson and Wes Craven...cant wait for Scream 5 and 6! Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was amassing it was the best scream installment yet and I really hope they make more because they get better and better. But the one thing i didn't like is you never find out what happend to her dad Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Scream 4 is a welcome return to the franchise, reuniting old favorites with Ghostface, who is targeting unsuspecting victims in a mad ploy to get to survivor Sydney Prescott. The plot is pretty solid with a few blatant winks to the first film. The acting is mostly stellar (some hamming-it-up moments detract from the impact of the film in some instances) and the gore does not disapoint. Where does the film go wrong? Well, the opening sequence, in trying to be spectacular, kind of falls flat and turns out to be the weakest opening yet. It tries to take a stab at the ridiculous franchises out there that seem to fall apart as a new installment hits but doesn't take itself seriously enough in the moment, thus rendering it more of a Scary Movie type spoof than an actual slasher flick shocker. Still, the film delivers in thrills. And the pop culture references serve as a fun interlude to all the killing. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    Funny, meta, and for once actually unpredictable, Scream 4, in my opinion, actually outdoes the original. However, it's still hindered greatly by the fact that it's the fourth in the series, and the fact that horror movies have been satirized and spoofed for well over a decade now doesn't help it out much either. There were parts of it that I actually laughed out loud at, and other parts where it actually got me nervous. It wasn't terrifying, but I can live with that. My main complaint is that it takes itself too seriously. It too often just feels like another horror film. Craven directs it confidently, but couldn't he give it a little more style, or make it a little bit more of a spoof? 4 movies in I wish the series would stop trying to mix actual horror with the laughs. I'm not saying to make it like the Scary Movie series, but I feel that a lighter tone would have helped it out. Still, I'm hard pressed to try and recommend any other slasher film over it. I had a decent time with it, but not a great one. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    Scream 4 does exactly what is expected, roll the first three movie together, add a twist (although hardly a surprise when it does happen) and let the body count rise. Worth a watch if you enjoyed the first three. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    5
    This sequel hopes to outsmart the audience by turning the tropes upside down, but it's more posing that payoff. It's the tenth anniversary of the original massacre and the town's teens are celebrating, even the original trio is back (Campbell, Cox & Arquette). Naturally, Ghost Face starts stabbing and provides plenty of bloody blows. There are a few mild jumps, but updating it to the social media slant isn't really that original. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    The movie inside the movie, inside of the original movie, in conclusion it was **** omg.! not long ago that crap was tremendous, everything, absolutely everything was lousy. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.