Scream Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 202 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Spencer H. Abbott
    100
    Wes Craven continues to explore (and blur) the lines between reelity and reality with his latest, and perhaps best, cinematic slice of horror.
  2. 90
    Finely crafted, tense, scary thriller from start to finish.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    80
    Craven creates his savviest and most frightening movie since the original "A Nightmare on Elm Street" by spoofing the horror cliches and simultaneously reinventing them to scare you all over again.
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Lovece
    70
    Compared with most of what passes for scary movies these days, this is golden: It's not stupid, it's not wussy and it pulls off a couple of pretty nasty jolts.
  5. May not be the most scary or the grossest horror film you've ever seen, but it has one distinct feature: it actually talks up to the audience. By the conclusion, you won't be shaking in your seat, but you may enjoy the status of someone who has earned a Master's in Slashology.
  6. Reviewed by: John Hartl
    50
    Doesn't know when to stop with the jokes about other horror movies and settle down to tell a coherent story.
  7. 25
    Indeed, Scream is better than the average slasher film, as its advertisers insist. And, indeed, it is probably Wes Craven's best film, as they also insist. But that is a little like saying the pimple on the left side of your nose is "better" than the pimple on the right side.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    An excellent film. The story of Scream is really good, with much scare moments, because is not the tipic slasher film of an assassin that kill all, is a great story. Scream is incredible. Expand
  2. May 31, 2012
    10
    My Favorite Horror Movie Of All Time!
    Even Though The Cast Is Not A+ Neve Campbell, And Rose McGowan Gets The Job Done!
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    10
    If you are going to survive a horror film there are rules one must abide (1. You can never have sex, (2. You can never drink or do drugs (you will be too out of it to escape the killers rampage), (3. Never under any circumstances say, â Expand
  4. MarkS.
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    This really is a great movie, and that surprised the heck out of me. The opening sequence is one of the greatest in movie history. This is one of if not the best slasher-horror movie ever. If you didn't like this movie, I think you're just incapable of appreciating the genre, which is fine in and of itself. But in that context, all these one and 2 reviews are useless. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    This Is A Great Movie (One Of The Best Horror Movies Of The 90's) But It Was Scary, But I Think That Wes Craven Could Of Made It Even More Scary!! As A Fan Of Neve Campbell She Did An OK Job, I Expected More From Seeing Other Films & T.V. Shows With Her... But Rose McGowan Was Very Good As Tatum Riley As Well As Matthew Lillird..
    I Do Think The Plot Was So-So But It Is Very Fun To Watch.... :)
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    A good horror movie, intriguing and will put you goosebumps.
  7. PatrickD.
    Apr 18, 2006
    2
    Thrilling and lots of fun, but flawed. The characters were so stupid! There is one moment when one of them says what NOT to do in a horror film, and then decides to stay home alone while a killer is on the loose. Another features a girl trying to guess who the man in the costume is. ("Is that you Kevin?") Her guesses are wrong, and she knows because the killer says so. Yet, she decides "How about we pretend you are the killer, and I am the victim?" And whenver they hurt the murderer, they don't decide to do something smart such as taking his knife and killing the killer. There are many moments like this in Scream, and we wish that maybe once, they could turn on thier brains. Collapse

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies

    Ranked: Wes Craven's Best and Worst Movies Image
    Published: October 21, 2010
    Just in time for Halloween, our week of horror-related articles kicks off with a look at the career of one of the genre's most prolific directors, Wes Craven.