Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 25, 2003
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 45 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
34
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarisaR.Mar 9, 2006
Hey Im a nineteen Year old Jockey and i have Two three year old Thoroughbred colts There names are Stryder and Arwen, Stryder is a Pallamino, And Arwen is a Buckskin and they are 16.6 hands they are vary spirited horses and they are vary Hey Im a nineteen Year old Jockey and i have Two three year old Thoroughbred colts There names are Stryder and Arwen, Stryder is a Pallamino, And Arwen is a Buckskin and they are 16.6 hands they are vary spirited horses and they are vary competive anyways i love your Seabiscuit website anyways nice job. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JanetS.Aug 13, 2003
The movie does not do justice to the book which is so superior; but having said that, Seabiscuit the movie is still good. The sad part is that they played it safe and made it into a sappy Hollywood story instead of having the faith to The movie does not do justice to the book which is so superior; but having said that, Seabiscuit the movie is still good. The sad part is that they played it safe and made it into a sappy Hollywood story instead of having the faith to present the life and times of the real Seabiscuit. If they had, they would have had a blockbuster on their hands... The truth is that if they had played it straight, the real story and especially the characters associated with him were far more than vanilla would have made a better story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyOct 24, 2005
I never really wanted to see this because I thought it would be sappy. By accident I started watching it and was glued! I loved it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 15, 2005
Not perfect, but having a heart is surely a plus. Maguire and the horse almost perfectly mirror each other. Perhaps an underrated classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RegOzJan 19, 2012
When I saw this at the video store I was uncertain about it....yet the theme looked good so I rented it. I was greatly surprised. It was engaging, refreshing, and smart! Not overly emotional, yet sentimental. This is a classic to me...a movieWhen I saw this at the video store I was uncertain about it....yet the theme looked good so I rented it. I was greatly surprised. It was engaging, refreshing, and smart! Not overly emotional, yet sentimental. This is a classic to me...a movie that won't age...and a movie that I think will please different types of public. I just love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Seabiscuit" is a 2003 biographical period drama about one of the greatest and most notable horses in American Horseracing History. The movie follows the story of a wealthy man (Bridges) who hires an unconventional trainer (Cooper) during The"Seabiscuit" is a 2003 biographical period drama about one of the greatest and most notable horses in American Horseracing History. The movie follows the story of a wealthy man (Bridges) who hires an unconventional trainer (Cooper) during The Great Depression to help him find an appropriate horse to enter into the races. They soon stumble upon a young man (Maguire) that they soon choose to be their jockey. I truly enjoyed this movie - there's just so much to really appreciate about it. First off, and most noticeably, is the wonderful cast of characters here. I know this movie's title makes you think this film is just about the horse, but it's also about the truly remarkable people behind him. Tobey Maguire plays Red Pollard, Seabiscuit's jockey, and his performance in this movie is really quite compelling to see. His character's stubbornness is something that you'd think you'd hate, but it's actually something I, and probably most people will, find to be his most enjoyable trait. Ross also does a really effective job of drawing parallels between Pollard and Seabiscuit. This, in a sense, helps solidify the relationship between the two characters. Chris Cooper does a really fine job of playing the unorthodox, yet effective trainer, Tom Smith. However, my most favorite character in this movie is Charles Howard, played by Jeff Bridges. There's just something about a guy, who's been dealt a bad hand of cards trying to make the best of his life do something good for society. I think It's through Howard's character and Bridges magnificent performance that we really get to see what Seabiscuit's presence throughout the Depression really meant for the American people - he was a beacon of hope. The screenplay is incredibly well done, as I find many lines of this movie to be memorable and quotable. After watching the special features, I was really impressed by the intense amount of preparation and work that went into this movie. Nearly every race was historically choreographed and rehearsed, and it really helps you gain a sense that these are the actual events as they transpired. One of the only problems I have with this movie is the length. Nearly an hour of this movie is exposition and I feel that a good amount of it could've been cut out. Did that hinder my ability to enjoy this movie? No not really, so I won't knock this movie much at all. In the end, I felt that "Seabiscuit" was a great underdog sports film with a truly inspiring tone that sticks with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwJul 20, 2014
Seabiscuit was an amazing movie! I thought it would be bad because family said it was boring, plus it was two hours and twenty minutes, but it turned out to be a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Jul 4, 2014
A great 5-star masterpiece full of comedy, heart, friendship,and inspiration. Good casting choices, good race scenes, and one of Gary Ross' best movies. A spectacular must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
missy64Oct 13, 2014
I read the book and this film didn't do any justice. The cinematography was beautifully done and that's it. The movie's story line was confusing. The screenwriter cut out so much of the book. There was no mention in the end as to whatI read the book and this film didn't do any justice. The cinematography was beautifully done and that's it. The movie's story line was confusing. The screenwriter cut out so much of the book. There was no mention in the end as to what happened to each person and Seabiscuit.

Too bad. I wish I could get my 2.2 hours back. Very long and boring for the most part.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Oct 27, 2015
It's a great movie and it is a unbelievably good and I think is a sports movie that should be watched more often to motivate everyone that any one can be great at anything, and that you should keep trying at something until you succeed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews