Lions Gate Films | Release Date: September 20, 2002
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 111 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
93
Mixed:
4
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TokyochuchuOct 7, 2012
Despite it's unusual skew, Secretary is actually one of the most romantic movies I've seen. Sure, the characters are complete S&M nutjobs, but hey, they need happiness too. It's also a fun ride from start to finish because you're never sureDespite it's unusual skew, Secretary is actually one of the most romantic movies I've seen. Sure, the characters are complete S&M nutjobs, but hey, they need happiness too. It's also a fun ride from start to finish because you're never sure where Gyllenhaal's and Spader's relationship is going. I honestly thought he might kill her! Kudos to both the main actors for top-notch performances, too. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanJul 21, 2012
In Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventionalIn Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventional sexual relationship. It's a sweet and engaging tale of two cripplingly shy people, who are unable to communicate with each other at all other than though BDSM. The film insightfully discusses intimacy, desire, sexual fetishism and depression, and manages to strike just the right balance between darkness and light-heartedness in writer/director Steven Shainberg's brilliant screenplay and complex characterisation. Both Lee and E. Edward Grey are interesting, layered and fully-rounded characters with real (if unusual) chemistry, and it's genuinely involving to see how their relationship progresses and how they conquer their fears and evolve as people throughout the film. It is only the last few minutes of the film that the narrative begins to wobble, delivering an ending that is a little too slushy and formulaic for this otherwise pleasantly original film. Even with this jarring change in tone in the final act, Secretary is a quirky, well-written and entertaining comedy-drama that bravely tackles a taboo subject in a way that only independent cinema can. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
darbs264Nov 13, 2011
Excellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that thisExcellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that this film is a very powerful metaphor for finding oneself and true love, and can't be missed by the avid movie watcher. Especially someone who likes Gyllenhaal from other pieces. The S&M is not pornographic, rather personal. I highly rate this film, good plot, fantastic characters and actors, excellent movie! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
PaulF.Apr 23, 2003
The worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission ... as told by people who know nothing about the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. The opening scene of the movie shows the lead character (the secretary) being released from a mental The worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission ... as told by people who know nothing about the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. The opening scene of the movie shows the lead character (the secretary) being released from a mental asylum, inferring that her later discovery of the world of kink is nothing more than part of her unstable mental psyche. That's offensive to anyone who really knows the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. Add to that the lethargic pacing of the movie and the trite spanking scenes, and the movie adds up to a boring, insulting mess. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
emeraldcitySep 5, 2014
Well, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have theWell, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have the job is because I'm pretty not because I'm able to do anything properly behind a desk is just like the movie. I also get my bottom smacked when I make mistakes. It happens at least once a week. Far from it being a crude sexist experience it can be the highlight of my day-especially when its done in front of other people with my skirt off showing my bum in pantyhose to anyone in the room while my boss fondles himself with his free hand. What more could a girl want. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
RichardApr 22, 2003
There are some missteps, I think - in Lesley Ann Warren's over the top portrayal and the somewhat breezed over father relationship - but the central pairing of Gyllenhaal and Spader is genius, and the two generate genuine heat. I There are some missteps, I think - in Lesley Ann Warren's over the top portrayal and the somewhat breezed over father relationship - but the central pairing of Gyllenhaal and Spader is genius, and the two generate genuine heat. I question the somewhat sweetened ending, but I suppose S&M folks need to have their own "Bridget Jones' Diary." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Sep 25, 2002
What an incredibly excellent movie! James Spader has never been this good... He had to pull everything out of his acting bag of tricks, stuff that he only partially developed in such movies as "Pretty in Pink" and "Sex, Lies, & Videotape." What an incredibly excellent movie! James Spader has never been this good... He had to pull everything out of his acting bag of tricks, stuff that he only partially developed in such movies as "Pretty in Pink" and "Sex, Lies, & Videotape." He brings the full range to this role. Maggie Gyllenhaal is going to be a huge star, and she tore it up in this movie. Probably one of the 2 or 3 best movies I've seen this year. Perhaps not for the easily offended, but hysterically funny and visually daring for the rest of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarsJan 6, 2003
Absolutely wonderful. The film is just plain weird and confronts us with things we'd sometimes rather not think about - - but the film is great by joining these bizarre human emotions with REAL people. Maggie Gyllenhaal deserves the Absolutely wonderful. The film is just plain weird and confronts us with things we'd sometimes rather not think about - - but the film is great by joining these bizarre human emotions with REAL people. Maggie Gyllenhaal deserves the Best Actress Oscar. Let's see if she's even nominated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MeatApr 10, 2003
The applause has already been given to Maggie G. and she well deserves it. Spader was terrific as well. Its good to see these two misfits find each other and come out some what normal in the end. This was Surprisingly funny and sweet but a The applause has already been given to Maggie G. and she well deserves it. Spader was terrific as well. Its good to see these two misfits find each other and come out some what normal in the end. This was Surprisingly funny and sweet but a little tragic as well. Also, Spader's opulent office was really just a camouflaged dungeon that suited his wacky quirks. Very similar to Wild Bill's house of horrors in Silence of the Lambs. Great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandyD.Sep 12, 2003
One of the best movies I've ever saw. You can't take your eyes off Maggie Dyllenhaal and James Spader is at the top of his game in this one. I really love them as real people in this movie. It was about them not the kink they like One of the best movies I've ever saw. You can't take your eyes off Maggie Dyllenhaal and James Spader is at the top of his game in this one. I really love them as real people in this movie. It was about them not the kink they like to do. A must have in any movie collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaC.Oct 9, 2005
James Spader was exceptional and it took a subject that isn't all that uncommon and made it mainstream. This isn't hardcore BDSM, it's just an alternative way to enjoy love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AxleApr 25, 2003
Brilliant! Spader is great, as always. Gyllenhaal is genius. I enjoyed the journey and transformation of her character. Not everything is explained but that adds to the mystery of their lifestyle. A great subtle comedy-love story. Those of Brilliant! Spader is great, as always. Gyllenhaal is genius. I enjoyed the journey and transformation of her character. Not everything is explained but that adds to the mystery of their lifestyle. A great subtle comedy-love story. Those of you who are open minded, it's a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
E.L.LeeMay 2, 2003
What makes SECRETARY memorable are the performances. Maggie Gyllenhaal breaks out (literally) with a slam-bang job that, like the script, deserved far more recognition than it received. James Spader plays James Spader ... not a great stretch What makes SECRETARY memorable are the performances. Maggie Gyllenhaal breaks out (literally) with a slam-bang job that, like the script, deserved far more recognition than it received. James Spader plays James Spader ... not a great stretch ... but coming to terms with as close to a conventional relationship that his character can accept is a well-done bout. Definitely worth the view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahW.May 9, 2004
Great movie. It's really a love story, with a few twists. I would recommend it to anyone with an open mind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneA.Aug 8, 2004
Brilliantly witty and kinky. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies and videotape' and 'Crash' had me convinced of his 'perversion' from the start. Maggie Gyllenhaal owns the screen with every sultry moment, and her pairing with Spader works perfectly throughout. Whilst the closing minutes of the film seem to go against the unfolding plot of a tragic love story, it works perfectly in achieving its' aim of showing us that there really is someone out there for everybody. Truly memorable performances and a truly touching film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandallS.Nov 14, 2002
The sexiest movie of the year if not ever. Shainberg has managed to turn a touchy subject into an erotic love story that leaves you gasping for more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Nov 24, 2002
Symbolism is back! Our little miss blue hood meets the big bad wolf to share a real treat. This film is for those who realized "Wild at Heart" was a love story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KathyH.Oct 15, 2002
It is strong in depicting a different need but the fact that gets so surreal and away from reality hurts the real trend of the movie badly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelR.Oct 21, 2002
This movie, while not perfect, shows that the possibilities for original romantic comedies have not been exhausted. Plus, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives a very Oscar worthy performance. Remember the name. She's going to be a star.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.FosterSep 24, 2002
"Secretary" privileges that which is normally kept under wraps in Hollywood films: sadomasochism and self-mutilation. This is a defiant love story, not afraid to push the bounds of sexual and emotional normalcy. Ms. Gyllenhaal gives a "Secretary" privileges that which is normally kept under wraps in Hollywood films: sadomasochism and self-mutilation. This is a defiant love story, not afraid to push the bounds of sexual and emotional normalcy. Ms. Gyllenhaal gives a wonderfully nuanced performance as a young woman who is finally doing what she wants, no longer afraid of the constraints of society. This is the perfect role for Mr. Spader: the slippery Yuppie lawyer whose beautifully expressive face conveys more pain and desire than words could ever accomplish. Visually, the film is like a surrealist painting, full of rich colors and strange images, most notably Lee's bedroom room and Mr. Gray's indoor orchid garden. Overall, this is a thought-provoking film that resists the urge to veer into the clinical, and instead heads boldly into realm of dark humor tinged with sadness, without once looking back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottMNov 28, 2005
More proof that Maggie Gyllenhaal is one of the most talented, alluring, and underrated actesses working today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SpangleMar 10, 2016
The critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film IThe critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film I have ever seen, but it not as far off as it should be. It is awkward, uncomfortable, and exists in this sort of dream world that tries to explore sexuality and depression, but winds up just sitting there and waiting for something to happen. Tragically, it never does and the viewer is left in the awkward position of being bored to tears. Character actions are odd, awkward, and completely undeveloped, leaving the audience to wonder why something happened. It not funny, it is poorly directed, and the acting is pretty rough. While I appreciate the dream aesthetic to the film, it is still an unbearable film that is not something I would subject my worst enemy to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 23, 2016
This film will move you. It gets the culture right. The awkward habits we form sometimes around each other draw closer someone with similar tastes and affections.

Watch it online for free:
This film will move you. It gets the culture right. The awkward habits we form sometimes around each other draw closer someone with similar tastes and affections.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1a6d-Secretary-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews