Secretary

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 109
  2. Negative: 14 out of 109

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 23, 2016
    9
    This film will move you. It gets the culture right. The awkward habits we form sometimes around each other draw closer someone with similar tastes and affections.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1a6d-Secretary-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  2. Mar 10, 2016
    1
    The critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film I have ever seen, but it not as far off as it should be. It is awkward, uncomfortable, and exists in this sort of dream world that tries to exploreThe critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film I have ever seen, but it not as far off as it should be. It is awkward, uncomfortable, and exists in this sort of dream world that tries to explore sexuality and depression, but winds up just sitting there and waiting for something to happen. Tragically, it never does and the viewer is left in the awkward position of being bored to tears. Character actions are odd, awkward, and completely undeveloped, leaving the audience to wonder why something happened. It not funny, it is poorly directed, and the acting is pretty rough. While I appreciate the dream aesthetic to the film, it is still an unbearable film that is not something I would subject my worst enemy to. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2014
    5
    Well, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have the job is because I'm pretty not because I'm able to do anything properly behind a desk is just like the movie. I also get my bottom smacked when I makeWell, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have the job is because I'm pretty not because I'm able to do anything properly behind a desk is just like the movie. I also get my bottom smacked when I make mistakes. It happens at least once a week. Far from it being a crude sexist experience it can be the highlight of my day-especially when its done in front of other people with my skirt off showing my bum in pantyhose to anyone in the room while my boss fondles himself with his free hand. What more could a girl want. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Despite it's unusual skew, Secretary is actually one of the most romantic movies I've seen. Sure, the characters are complete S&M nutjobs, but hey, they need happiness too. It's also a fun ride from start to finish because you're never sure where Gyllenhaal's and Spader's relationship is going. I honestly thought he might kill her! Kudos to both the main actors for top-notch performances, too.
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    In Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventional sexual relationship. It's a sweet and engaging tale of two cripplingly shy people, who are unable to communicate with each other at all other than thoughIn Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventional sexual relationship. It's a sweet and engaging tale of two cripplingly shy people, who are unable to communicate with each other at all other than though BDSM. The film insightfully discusses intimacy, desire, sexual fetishism and depression, and manages to strike just the right balance between darkness and light-heartedness in writer/director Steven Shainberg's brilliant screenplay and complex characterisation. Both Lee and E. Edward Grey are interesting, layered and fully-rounded characters with real (if unusual) chemistry, and it's genuinely involving to see how their relationship progresses and how they conquer their fears and evolve as people throughout the film. It is only the last few minutes of the film that the narrative begins to wobble, delivering an ending that is a little too slushy and formulaic for this otherwise pleasantly original film. Even with this jarring change in tone in the final act, Secretary is a quirky, well-written and entertaining comedy-drama that bravely tackles a taboo subject in a way that only independent cinema can. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Excellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that this film is a very powerful metaphor for finding oneself and true love, and can't be missed by the avid movie watcher. Especially someone who likesExcellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that this film is a very powerful metaphor for finding oneself and true love, and can't be missed by the avid movie watcher. Especially someone who likes Gyllenhaal from other pieces. The S&M is not pornographic, rather personal. I highly rate this film, good plot, fantastic characters and actors, excellent movie! Collapse
  7. MarkJ.
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies and videotape' and 'Crash' had me convinced of his 'perversion' from the start. Maggie Gyllenhaal owns the screen with every The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies and videotape' and 'Crash' had me convinced of his 'perversion' from the start. Maggie Gyllenhaal owns the screen with every sultry moment, and her pairing with Spader works perfectly throughout. Whilst the closing minutes of the film seem to go against the unfolding plot of a tragic love story, it works perfectly in achieving its' aim of showing us that there really is someone out there for everybody. Truly memorable performances and a truly touching film. Expand
  8. ScottM
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    More proof that Maggie Gyllenhaal is one of the most talented, alluring, and underrated actesses working today.
  9. AnnaC.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    James Spader was exceptional and it took a subject that isn't all that uncommon and made it mainstream. This isn't hardcore BDSM, it's just an alternative way to enjoy love.
  10. JaneA.
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Brilliantly witty and kinky. Wonderful.
  11. SarahW.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    Great movie. It's really a love story, with a few twists. I would recommend it to anyone with an open mind.
  12. CandyD.
    Sep 12, 2003
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever saw. You can't take your eyes off Maggie Dyllenhaal and James Spader is at the top of his game in this one. I really love them as real people in this movie. It was about them not the kink they like to do. A must have in any movie collection.
  13. E.L.Lee
    May 2, 2003
    7
    What makes SECRETARY memorable are the performances. Maggie Gyllenhaal breaks out (literally) with a slam-bang job that, like the script, deserved far more recognition than it received. James Spader plays James Spader ... not a great stretch ... but coming to terms with as close to a conventional relationship that his character can accept is a well-done bout. Definitely worth the view.
  14. Axle
    Apr 25, 2003
    10
    Brilliant! Spader is great, as always. Gyllenhaal is genius. I enjoyed the journey and transformation of her character. Not everything is explained but that adds to the mystery of their lifestyle. A great subtle comedy-love story. Those of you who are open minded, it's a must see.
  15. PaulF.
    Apr 23, 2003
    2
    The worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission ... as told by people who know nothing about the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. The opening scene of the movie shows the lead character (the secretary) being released from a mental asylum, inferring that her later discovery of the world of kink is nothing more than part of her unstable mental psyche. That's offensive to anyone who The worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission ... as told by people who know nothing about the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. The opening scene of the movie shows the lead character (the secretary) being released from a mental asylum, inferring that her later discovery of the world of kink is nothing more than part of her unstable mental psyche. That's offensive to anyone who really knows the worlds of S&M and Domination/Submission. Add to that the lethargic pacing of the movie and the trite spanking scenes, and the movie adds up to a boring, insulting mess. Expand
  16. Richard
    Apr 22, 2003
    7
    There are some missteps, I think - in Lesley Ann Warren's over the top portrayal and the somewhat breezed over father relationship - but the central pairing of Gyllenhaal and Spader is genius, and the two generate genuine heat. I question the somewhat sweetened ending, but I suppose S&M folks need to have their own "Bridget Jones' Diary."
  17. Meat
    Apr 10, 2003
    9
    The applause has already been given to Maggie G. and she well deserves it. Spader was terrific as well. Its good to see these two misfits find each other and come out some what normal in the end. This was Surprisingly funny and sweet but a little tragic as well. Also, Spader's opulent office was really just a camouflaged dungeon that suited his wacky quirks. Very similar to Wild The applause has already been given to Maggie G. and she well deserves it. Spader was terrific as well. Its good to see these two misfits find each other and come out some what normal in the end. This was Surprisingly funny and sweet but a little tragic as well. Also, Spader's opulent office was really just a camouflaged dungeon that suited his wacky quirks. Very similar to Wild Bill's house of horrors in Silence of the Lambs. Great movie! Expand
  18. Lars
    Jan 6, 2003
    9
    Absolutely wonderful. The film is just plain weird and confronts us with things we'd sometimes rather not think about - - but the film is great by joining these bizarre human emotions with REAL people. Maggie Gyllenhaal deserves the Best Actress Oscar. Let's see if she's even nominated.
  19. JamesS.
    Nov 24, 2002
    9
    Symbolism is back! Our little miss blue hood meets the big bad wolf to share a real treat. This film is for those who realized "Wild at Heart" was a love story.
  20. RandallS.
    Nov 14, 2002
    10
    The sexiest movie of the year if not ever. Shainberg has managed to turn a touchy subject into an erotic love story that leaves you gasping for more.
  21. MichaelR.
    Oct 21, 2002
    9
    This movie, while not perfect, shows that the possibilities for original romantic comedies have not been exhausted. Plus, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives a very Oscar worthy performance. Remember the name. She's going to be a star.
  22. KathyH.
    Oct 15, 2002
    7
    It is strong in depicting a different need but the fact that gets so surreal and away from reality hurts the real trend of the movie badly.
  23. BlancoA.
    Sep 25, 2002
    10
    What an incredibly excellent movie! James Spader has never been this good... He had to pull everything out of his acting bag of tricks, stuff that he only partially developed in such movies as "Pretty in Pink" and "Sex, Lies, & Videotape." He brings the full range to this role. Maggie Gyllenhaal is going to be a huge star, and she tore it up in this movie. Probably one of the 2 or 3 best What an incredibly excellent movie! James Spader has never been this good... He had to pull everything out of his acting bag of tricks, stuff that he only partially developed in such movies as "Pretty in Pink" and "Sex, Lies, & Videotape." He brings the full range to this role. Maggie Gyllenhaal is going to be a huge star, and she tore it up in this movie. Probably one of the 2 or 3 best movies I've seen this year. Perhaps not for the easily offended, but hysterically funny and visually daring for the rest of us. Expand
  24. J.Foster
    Sep 24, 2002
    10
    "Secretary" privileges that which is normally kept under wraps in Hollywood films: sadomasochism and self-mutilation. This is a defiant love story, not afraid to push the bounds of sexual and emotional normalcy. Ms. Gyllenhaal gives a wonderfully nuanced performance as a young woman who is finally doing what she wants, no longer afraid of the constraints of society. This is the perfect "Secretary" privileges that which is normally kept under wraps in Hollywood films: sadomasochism and self-mutilation. This is a defiant love story, not afraid to push the bounds of sexual and emotional normalcy. Ms. Gyllenhaal gives a wonderfully nuanced performance as a young woman who is finally doing what she wants, no longer afraid of the constraints of society. This is the perfect role for Mr. Spader: the slippery Yuppie lawyer whose beautifully expressive face conveys more pain and desire than words could ever accomplish. Visually, the film is like a surrealist painting, full of rich colors and strange images, most notably Lee's bedroom room and Mr. Gray's indoor orchid garden. Overall, this is a thought-provoking film that resists the urge to veer into the clinical, and instead heads boldly into realm of dark humor tinged with sadness, without once looking back. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    80
    Lee's journey of the body and soul is something else. Maggie Gyllenhaal makes it strangely touching, a revelation.
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    40
    Not meant to be realistic; it was shot by the director Steven Shainberg in a slow, dreamy neo-De Palma style and in candy colors, and Gyllenhaal has a Kewpie-doll silliness that almost makes the naughty parts of the movie fun. [23 Sept 2002, p. 98]
  3. Secretary is deeply conventional: Edward and Lee accept their bondage as the way to a more fulfilling life. It's the filmmakers who need to be spanked.