Lions Gate Films | Release Date: September 20, 2002
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
4
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
avamiller21May 23, 2016
This film will move you. It gets the culture right. The awkward habits we form sometimes around each other draw closer someone with similar tastes and affections.

Watch it online for free:
This film will move you. It gets the culture right. The awkward habits we form sometimes around each other draw closer someone with similar tastes and affections.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1a6d-Secretary-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SpangleMar 10, 2016
The critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film IThe critically acclaimed 50 Shades of Grey, Secretary is either too smart for me or just about one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen. Sexist, unsexy, and one of the worst written films I have ever seen, Secretary is not the worst film I have ever seen, but it not as far off as it should be. It is awkward, uncomfortable, and exists in this sort of dream world that tries to explore sexuality and depression, but winds up just sitting there and waiting for something to happen. Tragically, it never does and the viewer is left in the awkward position of being bored to tears. Character actions are odd, awkward, and completely undeveloped, leaving the audience to wonder why something happened. It not funny, it is poorly directed, and the acting is pretty rough. While I appreciate the dream aesthetic to the film, it is still an unbearable film that is not something I would subject my worst enemy to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
emeraldcitySep 5, 2014
Well, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have theWell, as a secretary myself in an obscure company that makes bobble heads I can identify with the kind of situations this movie talks about. Having to retype a letter all day because I keep making mistakes because the only reason I have the job is because I'm pretty not because I'm able to do anything properly behind a desk is just like the movie. I also get my bottom smacked when I make mistakes. It happens at least once a week. Far from it being a crude sexist experience it can be the highlight of my day-especially when its done in front of other people with my skirt off showing my bum in pantyhose to anyone in the room while my boss fondles himself with his free hand. What more could a girl want. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuOct 7, 2012
Despite it's unusual skew, Secretary is actually one of the most romantic movies I've seen. Sure, the characters are complete S&M nutjobs, but hey, they need happiness too. It's also a fun ride from start to finish because you're never sureDespite it's unusual skew, Secretary is actually one of the most romantic movies I've seen. Sure, the characters are complete S&M nutjobs, but hey, they need happiness too. It's also a fun ride from start to finish because you're never sure where Gyllenhaal's and Spader's relationship is going. I honestly thought he might kill her! Kudos to both the main actors for top-notch performances, too. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanJul 21, 2012
In Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventionalIn Secretary, Maggie Gyllenhaal gives the performance of her career as Lee Holloway, a meek and introverted young woman who gets a job as a secretary for an oddball small-time lawyer (James Spader), which leads to a less-than-conventional sexual relationship. It's a sweet and engaging tale of two cripplingly shy people, who are unable to communicate with each other at all other than though BDSM. The film insightfully discusses intimacy, desire, sexual fetishism and depression, and manages to strike just the right balance between darkness and light-heartedness in writer/director Steven Shainberg's brilliant screenplay and complex characterisation. Both Lee and E. Edward Grey are interesting, layered and fully-rounded characters with real (if unusual) chemistry, and it's genuinely involving to see how their relationship progresses and how they conquer their fears and evolve as people throughout the film. It is only the last few minutes of the film that the narrative begins to wobble, delivering an ending that is a little too slushy and formulaic for this otherwise pleasantly original film. Even with this jarring change in tone in the final act, Secretary is a quirky, well-written and entertaining comedy-drama that bravely tackles a taboo subject in a way that only independent cinema can. Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
darbs264Nov 13, 2011
Excellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that thisExcellent movie! Didn't know what to expect when starting this film, however very pleasantly surprised. Gyllenhaal is amazing and so is Spader, their sheer intensity during some of the scenes makes you shudder. However, I believe that this film is a very powerful metaphor for finding oneself and true love, and can't be missed by the avid movie watcher. Especially someone who likes Gyllenhaal from other pieces. The S&M is not pornographic, rather personal. I highly rate this film, good plot, fantastic characters and actors, excellent movie! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies The Secretary takes all of the standard 'love story' cliches and explores them with more honesty and meaning than any genre standard. Spader is perfect in his role; memories of his dysfunctional sexual nature from 'Sex, Lies and videotape' and 'Crash' had me convinced of his 'perversion' from the start. Maggie Gyllenhaal owns the screen with every sultry moment, and her pairing with Spader works perfectly throughout. Whilst the closing minutes of the film seem to go against the unfolding plot of a tragic love story, it works perfectly in achieving its' aim of showing us that there really is someone out there for everybody. Truly memorable performances and a truly touching film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottMNov 28, 2005
More proof that Maggie Gyllenhaal is one of the most talented, alluring, and underrated actesses working today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaC.Oct 9, 2005
James Spader was exceptional and it took a subject that isn't all that uncommon and made it mainstream. This isn't hardcore BDSM, it's just an alternative way to enjoy love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful