User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    The gearing up at the beginning of the film is slow while the cello and gray skies don't help much to break up the denseness. Secrets and Lies becomes more engrossing as it goes along. Terrific acting all the way really helps the vision. Reminds me a lot of "In the Bedroom" in that the sullen mood rarely lets go even when characters are smiling or laughing. Over all a quality film.
  2. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    Secrets & Lies is my favorite film from a terrific director in Mike Leigh. It's about intricate and rocky relationships evolving around a family, and at it's heart a woman finding her real mother becoming introduced into this family. It's not just another "searching for birth parent" film, but one of real emotion and complexity. It has a host of terrific performances especially, from theSecrets & Lies is my favorite film from a terrific director in Mike Leigh. It's about intricate and rocky relationships evolving around a family, and at it's heart a woman finding her real mother becoming introduced into this family. It's not just another "searching for birth parent" film, but one of real emotion and complexity. It has a host of terrific performances especially, from the great Brenda Blethyn as the mother struggling in her relations with one daughter, while coming to terms with another she never knew. This is one of my favorite films from the 1990's; just terrific! Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Mike Leigh reveals to us how secrets and lies can cause upset, pain, and regret in what has to be one of the best British films of all time. With spot-on dialogue and glorious performances it is hard to find fault with Leigh's masterpiece. Just when we thought Cynthia would live out the rest of her days as a worker in a banal factory, with her confrontational daughter Roxanne, she isMike Leigh reveals to us how secrets and lies can cause upset, pain, and regret in what has to be one of the best British films of all time. With spot-on dialogue and glorious performances it is hard to find fault with Leigh's masterpiece. Just when we thought Cynthia would live out the rest of her days as a worker in a banal factory, with her confrontational daughter Roxanne, she is thrown a life line in the form of Hortense, and we see their relationship flourish. Timothy Spall is also on top form as the glue that holds the family together. Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    I am a huge Mike Leigh fan and this is his crowning glory. I still remember the first time I saw it at the movies. I had the tears streaming down my face in several parts. The acting is incredible. The story really interesting. It's an I can't miss kind of film. I am baffled that anyone would give it a negative review unless of course the only type of film they like is violent orI am a huge Mike Leigh fan and this is his crowning glory. I still remember the first time I saw it at the movies. I had the tears streaming down my face in several parts. The acting is incredible. The story really interesting. It's an I can't miss kind of film. I am baffled that anyone would give it a negative review unless of course the only type of film they like is violent or action adventure. This film is neither that's for sure. Expand
  5. Macky
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    The Best Movie I have ever seen, PERIOD! Unbelivable acting, great story, deeply moving. If you care about people more than special effects see this movie.
  6. edj.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Why isn't this on DVD????
  7. LilS
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    Blockbuster did not have it as usual. Netflix did.
  8. ShaniceT
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Phenomenal film! Brilliant screenplay, direction, and acting.
  9. BlancoA.
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    What an incredible film. Brenda Blethyn's role is tremendous. Truly emotionally engaging.
  10. KeithG.
    Apr 16, 2003
    10
    One of my favourite films of all time. Very moving. Brings us back to our humanity, and the pain and love that is bubbling beneath our relationships with our family.
  11. AlexanderJ.
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    Almost perfect. The ending rather disappointing. But until then, Brenda Blethyn et al succeed in breaking your heart.
  12. PhilippaH.
    May 11, 2005
    8
    A brilliant film. The acting was very realistic on all accounts. Shows the pain of hiding the truth and living in lies. Yet ruth has the power of liberation!
  13. PatC.
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    It's a struggle to follow this movie in the early going as it tracks two sets of characters who do not initially interact. Finally what is going on reveals itself. From then on, one is witness to an important story exceptionally well told. Upon reflection the accomplishment of this film is exemplary. The last line of spoken dialogue, filled with peace, is as perfect a masterpiece of It's a struggle to follow this movie in the early going as it tracks two sets of characters who do not initially interact. Finally what is going on reveals itself. From then on, one is witness to an important story exceptionally well told. Upon reflection the accomplishment of this film is exemplary. The last line of spoken dialogue, filled with peace, is as perfect a masterpiece of closure as any ever committed to film. A must see for those who differentiate the best from the rest. Despite the difficult setup I cannot recommend it highly enough. Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    awesome but predictable from the beginning if it is the wife... a true twist would it being the friend... the wife was fishy from the beginning , why is she pointing the murder weapon out to the cops and why is she always letting conelle in when the husband is the suspect...hmmm cuz she did it and she wants all evidence found before the truth comes out that, that was the night she foundawesome but predictable from the beginning if it is the wife... a true twist would it being the friend... the wife was fishy from the beginning , why is she pointing the murder weapon out to the cops and why is she always letting conelle in when the husband is the suspect...hmmm cuz she did it and she wants all evidence found before the truth comes out that, that was the night she found out he cheated on her with the mother of the murdered child... Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 90
    There's not a weak performance in Secrets And Lies, a fact made more notable by the seeming ease with which the cast performs as an ensemble.
  2. Reviewed by: Jason Puskar
    100
    A masterful mix of wit and humor, sympathy and sadness.
  3. A crowd-pleaser, all right, but, for all its appeal, a naggingly sanctimonious one.