20th Century Fox Home Entertainment | Release Date: September 27, 1996
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 53 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
46
Mixed:
3
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MackyOct 23, 2005
The Best Movie I have ever seen, PERIOD! Unbelivable acting, great story, deeply moving. If you care about people more than special effects see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
edj.Jan 7, 2005
Why isn't this on DVD????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaniceTDec 2, 2006
Phenomenal film! Brilliant screenplay, direction, and acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Nov 24, 2002
What an incredible film. Brenda Blethyn's role is tremendous. Truly emotionally engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithG.Apr 16, 2003
One of my favourite films of all time. Very moving. Brings us back to our humanity, and the pain and love that is bubbling beneath our relationships with our family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderJ.Sep 27, 2004
Almost perfect. The ending rather disappointing. But until then, Brenda Blethyn et al succeed in breaking your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Christopher_G2Oct 12, 2014
Secrets & Lies is my favorite film from a terrific director in Mike Leigh. It's about intricate and rocky relationships evolving around a family, and at it's heart a woman finding her real mother becoming introduced into this family. It's notSecrets & Lies is my favorite film from a terrific director in Mike Leigh. It's about intricate and rocky relationships evolving around a family, and at it's heart a woman finding her real mother becoming introduced into this family. It's not just another "searching for birth parent" film, but one of real emotion and complexity. It has a host of terrific performances especially, from the great Brenda Blethyn as the mother struggling in her relations with one daughter, while coming to terms with another she never knew. This is one of my favorite films from the 1990's; just terrific! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InsatiableoneDec 31, 2010
Mike Leigh reveals to us how secrets and lies can cause upset, pain, and regret in what has to be one of the best British films of all time. With spot-on dialogue and glorious performances it is hard to find fault with Leigh's masterpiece.Mike Leigh reveals to us how secrets and lies can cause upset, pain, and regret in what has to be one of the best British films of all time. With spot-on dialogue and glorious performances it is hard to find fault with Leigh's masterpiece. Just when we thought Cynthia would live out the rest of her days as a worker in a banal factory, with her confrontational daughter Roxanne, she is thrown a life line in the form of Hortense, and we see their relationship flourish. Timothy Spall is also on top form as the glue that holds the family together. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ExpatMichaelOct 19, 2013
I am a huge Mike Leigh fan and this is his crowning glory. I still remember the first time I saw it at the movies. I had the tears streaming down my face in several parts. The acting is incredible. The story really interesting. It's an II am a huge Mike Leigh fan and this is his crowning glory. I still remember the first time I saw it at the movies. I had the tears streaming down my face in several parts. The acting is incredible. The story really interesting. It's an I can't miss kind of film. I am baffled that anyone would give it a negative review unless of course the only type of film they like is violent or action adventure. This film is neither that's for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itsthewifeApr 21, 2015
awesome but predictable from the beginning if it is the wife... a true twist would it being the friend... the wife was fishy from the beginning , why is she pointing the murder weapon out to the cops and why is she always letting conelle inawesome but predictable from the beginning if it is the wife... a true twist would it being the friend... the wife was fishy from the beginning , why is she pointing the murder weapon out to the cops and why is she always letting conelle in when the husband is the suspect...hmmm cuz she did it and she wants all evidence found before the truth comes out that, that was the night she found out he cheated on her with the mother of the murdered child... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PatC.Jun 11, 2007
It's a struggle to follow this movie in the early going as it tracks two sets of characters who do not initially interact. Finally what is going on reveals itself. From then on, one is witness to an important story exceptionally well It's a struggle to follow this movie in the early going as it tracks two sets of characters who do not initially interact. Finally what is going on reveals itself. From then on, one is witness to an important story exceptionally well told. Upon reflection the accomplishment of this film is exemplary. The last line of spoken dialogue, filled with peace, is as perfect a masterpiece of closure as any ever committed to film. A must see for those who differentiate the best from the rest. Despite the difficult setup I cannot recommend it highly enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 4, 2016
Secrets & Lies will reveal the truth and get rid of the lies. By how exactly? That's where watching it will give you a clue. I mean, who would rather prefer speaking the truth? I do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LilSJun 18, 2005
Blockbuster did not have it as usual. Netflix did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilippaH.May 11, 2005
A brilliant film. The acting was very realistic on all accounts. Shows the pain of hiding the truth and living in lies. Yet ruth has the power of liberation!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScraperMar 28, 2012
The gearing up at the beginning of the film is slow while the cello and gray skies don't help much to break up the denseness. Secrets and Lies becomes more engrossing as it goes along. Terrific acting all the way really helps the vision.The gearing up at the beginning of the film is slow while the cello and gray skies don't help much to break up the denseness. Secrets and Lies becomes more engrossing as it goes along. Terrific acting all the way really helps the vision. Reminds me a lot of "In the Bedroom" in that the sullen mood rarely lets go even when characters are smiling or laughing. Over all a quality film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Woman decides to trace her real mother after the death of her adoptive mother.
Usual Mike Leigh affair with all the grit, tension & emotion you'd expect. Pretty well acted but thought it went a bit annoying towards the end. Thought the
Woman decides to trace her real mother after the death of her adoptive mother.
Usual Mike Leigh affair with all the grit, tension & emotion you'd expect. Pretty well acted but thought it went a bit annoying towards the end. Thought the musical score was a bit lame too & didn't really fit.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews