Lions Gate Films | Release Date: May 19, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 98 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
9
Negative:
32
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CaraR.Dec 22, 2006
I love gorry movies and horror flicks, this is definetly my fave.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GabrielA.May 21, 2006
Finally a true horror movie. This is the first time in years that I had to cover my eyes. I am a horror buff and I recommend this movie but it is quite gory. I am not a big wrestling fan but Kane really pulled the whole monster thing off. I Finally a true horror movie. This is the first time in years that I had to cover my eyes. I am a horror buff and I recommend this movie but it is quite gory. I am not a big wrestling fan but Kane really pulled the whole monster thing off. I have to admit that I didn't want to see this movie, my 17 year old dragged me to it, but am very glad I did. During and after the movie I was looking over my shoulder. I have to agree with others about the whole remake horror movies enough is enough. I think that is why this movie is getting some good reviews. It is a refreshing change and takes you back to The Texas Chainsaw ( first one), Michael Myers, and Jason. And no CGI crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TejahM.May 20, 2006
Okay, not original in concept but served it's purpose, which was to make my girlfriend squirm, say "Eeewww!" a half dozen timeswhile clutching my arm tightly. An evening well spent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveA.May 19, 2006
If you pay to see this film, hopefully you know what you're getting into and are not expecting an artistic masterpiece. Even if you don't know who Kane is (going into the theatre I had no idea the killer was played by a WWE If you pay to see this film, hopefully you know what you're getting into and are not expecting an artistic masterpiece. Even if you don't know who Kane is (going into the theatre I had no idea the killer was played by a WWE wrestler), if you are a fan of the genre you should not be disappointed. Despite a slow start (half an hour into it I was still waiting for it to get exciting) the film eventually pays off in dividends. I have read many poor reviews, but one review in particular hit home with me. If I may quote Eric Lurio (GREENWICH VILLAGE GAZZETE): "The art of the slasher movie is a subtle one. It's difficult to tell one from another in most cases and that's because they generally follow specific rules ... But just because one of these things follows the rules and does nothing especially original doesn't mean that it doesn't do the trick, far from it, this is actually pretty good for what it is..." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkP.May 27, 2006
This is not the film company reviewing this, I swear. This movie deserves something like a 9.76 out of 10, but since they didn't have that score, I had to round it up. This is a definite fun for the whole family film that really This is not the film company reviewing this, I swear. This movie deserves something like a 9.76 out of 10, but since they didn't have that score, I had to round it up. This is a definite fun for the whole family film that really surprised me. This movie can inspire young film makers trying to make low budget movies on their DV cameras (I mean that in the nicest way possible). The 400 pound evil religious guy really made me realize that my sins must be cleansed. This movie is far more insightful than other "religious based movies" such as that Ron Howard mess. I heard that movie ruins families, like my friend Mary's daughter. Take your kids to this movie and they will learn a valueable lesson from the 400 pund evil guy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SydneyA.May 19, 2006
Good Fun, Gore!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerE.May 20, 2006
Everything said in the first post is pretty much correct - except some minor points. I'm a MAJOR Musical Theater fan, but I've never been much of a 'Rent-head', (I find the story a bit pretentious and self aware - Everything said in the first post is pretty much correct - except some minor points. I'm a MAJOR Musical Theater fan, but I've never been much of a 'Rent-head', (I find the story a bit pretentious and self aware - basically a modern version of "Hair") - yet the emotion and energy is real and infectious, fueled by an incredible and memorable score. As I remember, though, both the songs "Halloween" and "Goodbye, Love" were NOT in the final cut I saw last night (11/6), but the interview with the cast and director was inspirational! The best factor for me was that Director Columbus made a decision to shoot it AS A MUSICAL and not try to hide it's musical theater roots (like say, "Chicago"). Also, he cast many members of the original cast (a throwback to old movie musicals). These were brave and successful moves, and should finally knock down that door to MORE movie musicals. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyencokeJun 26, 2006
Not nearly as bad as I was expecting. I was awaiting this movie to be dreadful. It really wasn't that bad. It had it moments that were stupid. But other then that, decent movie. For the gore fan for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanL.Aug 12, 2006
This film was a non-stop thrill ride with the actor Glen Jacobs a.k.a. Kane performing like a man who's been in the film business for as many years as Marlon Brando. The horrifying ending is truly something to behold and I suggest This film was a non-stop thrill ride with the actor Glen Jacobs a.k.a. Kane performing like a man who's been in the film business for as many years as Marlon Brando. The horrifying ending is truly something to behold and I suggest anyone out there who is into slasher-horrors (not just you WWE fans) rushes to the any theatre still showing this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.C.May 19, 2006
This is the best WWE-spawned horror movie ever. Think about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephAMar 23, 2009
Just not that good. If I hadn't been familiar with the story I don't think I would've enjoyed it at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful