Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. 60
    The whole movie is a good try.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Combines a deviously tragicomic take on the approaching annihilation of mankind with a irritatingly unconvincing and unnecessary love story.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 25, 2012
    50
    As Seeking a Friend for the End of the World crawls toward its sentimental finale, you're rooting for that asteroid to get here, quick.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    After a sharp and promising start, she (Ms. Scafaria) allows the movie to collapse into a mild, lump-in-the-throat romantic comedy that is not made significantly more urgent or interesting by the prospect of global calamity.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    Scafaria's movie never catches fire. The bad news: The end of the world comes with a whimper. Worse: And two wimps.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    Carell's performance is enjoyable but safe, and while he and Knightley play well enough together, there's no genuine chemistry - no zap to convince us these two deserve to be the last lovers on Earth.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    I never rooted for them as a couple, never felt a chemistry in their bond. And in a romance, even one with tragic notes, that really is the end of the world.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    What it doesn't have is a way of making sense of its comic and dramatic strains, together, in the same movie.
  9. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    Starts imploding long before the massive asteroid hurtling toward Earth is due to deliver annihilation.
  10. Reviewed by: Mark Holcomb
    Jun 19, 2012
    40
    By turns bizarrely affectless and then prattlingly manic, much like its dual protagonists.
  11. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 19, 2012
    40
    The casting is spectacularly wrong, and even on its own scant merits, writer-director Lorene Scafaria's screenplay has little insight into apocalyptic licentiousness, barring a tart line or two.
  12. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jun 19, 2012
    40
    The end of the world can't come fast enough in Seeking a Friend for the End of the World, a disastrously dull take on the disaster-movie formula.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    As several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a movingAs several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a moving film. Interestingly, the end of the movie reminded me of the end of Melancholia, but it's not nearly as ponderous and heavy as the latter. Steve Carell is terrific as usual in a very earnest role, and Knightly is a good casting choice. There are a bunch of great comedians (Rob Cordry, Amy Schumer) that round out the cast effectively - especially during the free-for-all segments. Finally, a quick note that T.J. Miller steals the show with his role as the host at a TJI Friday's type of restaurant that's still operating amidst the chaos. He's consistently funny in every movie he's a part of (She's Out of My League, etc.) and deserves to be a lead. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is thatThis is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    What a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainlyWhat a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainly things Melancholia got better (cinematography) but Steve Carrell made this one for me. Everyone was great, but Steve Carrell took it into the stratosphere. Full Review »