Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2012
    100
    It's more amusing than you might expect, and ultimately more touching than an eroding society around them deserves.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jun 21, 2012
    91
    Predictable, contrived, sappy and, ultimately, against all odds, remarkably fulfilling.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 21, 2012
    88
    This is a romantic comedy for people who don't like rom-coms. There's no chance of a happy ending, but its tender mercies speak volumes.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 21, 2012
    88
    The film has two active virtues, too. It shows human beings in all their pitiable, noble, stupid or sensitive modes of action, and it reminds us there's always time to fall in love, if only for a few days.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    83
    In our summertime-movie world of aliens and superheroes who look all too familiar, Dodge and Penny look all the rarer in their precious humanity.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    As several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a moving film. Interestingly, the end of the movie reminded me of the end of Melancholia, but it's not nearly as ponderous and heavy as the latter. Steve Carell is terrific as usual in a very earnest role, and Knightly is a good casting choice. There are a bunch of great comedians (Rob Cordry, Amy Schumer) that round out the cast effectively - especially during the free-for-all segments. Finally, a quick note that T.J. Miller steals the show with his role as the host at a TJI Friday's type of restaurant that's still operating amidst the chaos. He's consistently funny in every movie he's a part of (She's Out of My League, etc.) and deserves to be a lead. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    What a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainly things Melancholia got better (cinematography) but Steve Carrell made this one for me. Everyone was great, but Steve Carrell took it into the stratosphere. Full Review »