Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2012
    100
    It's more amusing than you might expect, and ultimately more touching than an eroding society around them deserves.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Jun 21, 2012
    91
    Predictable, contrived, sappy and, ultimately, against all odds, remarkably fulfilling.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 21, 2012
    88
    This is a romantic comedy for people who don't like rom-coms. There's no chance of a happy ending, but its tender mercies speak volumes.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 21, 2012
    88
    The film has two active virtues, too. It shows human beings in all their pitiable, noble, stupid or sensitive modes of action, and it reminds us there's always time to fall in love, if only for a few days.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    83
    In our summertime-movie world of aliens and superheroes who look all too familiar, Dodge and Penny look all the rarer in their precious humanity.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    80
    Perhaps the best thing about Seeking a Friend is that it never ceases to surprise, as Scafaria's script consistently defies Hollywood convention in the most congenial ways.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 21, 2012
    80
    One of the year's most emotionally affecting movies.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jun 20, 2012
    80
    Scafaria gives her characters and the situation an absurdist tone that makes the whole concept a little more palatable.
  9. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 19, 2012
    80
    A charmingly lo-fi love story.
  10. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jun 21, 2012
    75
    Sweet and serious as it is, the second chunk of Seeking a Friend is the lesser of the two - and hard to reconcile with the more acidic comic outlook in the film's first half. The obvious movie referent is Lars von Trier's "Melancholia," a much nastier film in a much lovelier wrapping: This one lacks an eight-minute Wagner montage.
  11. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 20, 2012
    75
    The best parts of this sweet film involve the middle stretches, when time, however limited, reaches ahead, and the characters do what they can to prevail in the face of calamity. How can I complain that they don't entirely succeed? Isn't the dilemma of the plot the essential dilemma of life?
  12. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 19, 2012
    75
    Intelligent, dignified and emotionally satisfying.
  13. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 19, 2012
    75
    Not mainstream fare, but neither is it as willfully obtuse as "Melancholia."
  14. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Jun 21, 2012
    70
    Scafaria, making her feature debut as writer-director, scores numerous laughs off the social dislocation that follows as people realize the apocalypse is imminent (there's a funny sequence at a suburban house party where no taboo goes unbroken).
  15. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Jun 21, 2012
    70
    When Seeking took hold of me, completely and without warning, I was digging for tissues. It's a lovely surprise for the official start of summer.
  16. Reviewed by: Stephen Dalton
    Jun 18, 2012
    70
    With its sharp script and bittersweet humor, the audacious premise feels fresh enough to earn a large word-of-mouth audience among moviegoers who would normally avoid a more conventional rom-com, potentially becoming a left-field breakout hit in the mode of "Juno" or "Little Miss Sunshine."
  17. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 20, 2012
    67
    One of the great things Scarfaria brings to this project is her apparent ability to convince a slew of wonderful actors to perform in small roles that appear in only a single sequence. That describes most of the actors in this film apart from the two leads.
  18. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jun 20, 2012
    67
    Knightley is pure Manic Pixie Dream Girl fantasy, a vinyl-toting sparkplug who serves mostly to shake Carell from his dead-eyed stupor, but the relationship between the two becomes more touching as their wayward journey goes on.
  19. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 19, 2012
    67
    It pitches a tone between comedy and tragedy that holds unique appeal.
  20. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 22, 2012
    63
    If the world were really coming to an end, we'd spend it with Knightley and tell her tag-along friend that there's not enough food for a 50-year-old virgin.
  21. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 21, 2012
    63
    In Seeking a Friend for the End of the World, the times may be hard but the apocalypse is soft. Welcome to the anti-"Melancholia."
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    As several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a movingAs several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a moving film. Interestingly, the end of the movie reminded me of the end of Melancholia, but it's not nearly as ponderous and heavy as the latter. Steve Carell is terrific as usual in a very earnest role, and Knightly is a good casting choice. There are a bunch of great comedians (Rob Cordry, Amy Schumer) that round out the cast effectively - especially during the free-for-all segments. Finally, a quick note that T.J. Miller steals the show with his role as the host at a TJI Friday's type of restaurant that's still operating amidst the chaos. He's consistently funny in every movie he's a part of (She's Out of My League, etc.) and deserves to be a lead. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is thatThis is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    What a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainlyWhat a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainly things Melancholia got better (cinematography) but Steve Carrell made this one for me. Everyone was great, but Steve Carrell took it into the stratosphere. Full Review »