User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 114
  2. Negative: 8 out of 114

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    What a lovely, quietly moving film. I just got back. I can't help comparing it to Melancholia, which I also loved, and there was certainly things Melancholia got better (cinematography) but Steve Carrell made this one for me. Everyone was great, but Steve Carrell took it into the stratosphere.
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    I shall not exert much energy in attempting to convince a skeptical American audience that this little masterpiece is worthy of accolades beyond the mundane it has garnered. But in truth it is such and far beyond. This film walks one of those fine lines that require respect for drama, comedy and original thought. If you anticipate a comedy, it inhabits more than its moments of articulate as well as lower case laughter. If you admire drama, Mr. Carrel and Ms. Knightly combine to alter the consciousness of films such as 'Melancholia' and "Tree of Life'. Only the Ewan McGregor prize "Perfect Sense' comes close to capturing the essence of a humanity in its last breath. This motion picture does it all. Steve Carrel Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Touching movie. This is truly for the romantics out there. And if you're not, Steve Carell's performance will make you one. His Oscar worthy performance sells it. Keira is a great support by being the free spirit. Despite the age gap, it works! Simply put, this movie is for the inner romantic in each of us, even if we're cynical of everything else. Didn't know what to expect when I walked in the theatre, but came up smiling big and feeling hopeful. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    This is not a happy story, this film will in no way end happily. However that doesn't mean there isn't great humour, joy and warmth in this wonderfully crafted movie by first time director Lorene Scafaria. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is the story of Dodge (Steve Carrell), a man living with regret that his life has had no meaning. This regret is magnified by the fact his wife has left him and he has possibly the worst friends ever. Oh and there's the fact the world is going to end in 3 weeks thanks to a giant asteroid. This puts Dodge in a reflective mood and he thinks of his past love and whether he can see her again. Meanwhile free spirited Penny (Keira Knightley) living underneath him is torn up over the fact she missed the last flight to England and will never see her family again. Through various hijinks the two collide and vow to help each other. It's an unusual film in that the premise is so incredibly depressing and upsetting but the result is down to earth, clever and heartwarming. The film handles some serious themes but never lets them overburden the film as a whole. The discussion of mortality in the film is incredibly moving as Dodge wishes he had made the most of his life but always knew he wouldn't live long where as Penny wants to live if only because she doesn't feel fulfilled. The most surprising thing about the film is that it dares to be risque and crude in its comedy while delivering a finished product that will touch even the most cynical of people. The supporting cast is extensive and there is not a weak link in the bunch, which includes Patton Oswalt and William Petersen to name but a few. However the film wouldn't work without its two leads and both Carrell and Knightley give career high performances, especially the latter who tones down her performance to match the characters quiet yet frantic nature. It's a film that will surprise and impress with every twist and encounter right up to its final conclusion which may or may not have you weeping like a baby. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    It's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for a long time after seeing it. The funny thing is that the movie is trying to illustrate that all the little things that bother you in life don't matter in the end, that it's all about the people and things you love, that those are the things you'll remember at the end of it all. And the movie embodies that very idea oh so well by being itself a mixed bag, but just like life it's not the pesky problems that you remember at the end, it's the good times. For this reason "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" gets exponentially better as time goes by after seeing it, such a beautiful movie. Collapse
  7. Mar 16, 2013
    9
    This maybe my most surprising movie of 2012. In no way did I believe that a relationship between Steve Carrell and Keira Knightley would work, but I was wrong these two might be the best on screen relationship of the year. I really love Steve Carrell in these more serious dramatic roles like Dan in Real Life and Hope Springs, I hope he does more.
  8. May 29, 2013
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie!!!!! The plot to some people who live under a rock might seem a bit crazy but to me is totally believeable. The relationship(s) storyline ring absurdly true to me, for I know alot of people and have never married but dated/had relationships throughout my life. I thought Steve's dramtic acting was far and above anything he's ever attempted thus far and...he sold me and I'm a definite hard-sell. He's always been a superior comedic actor, normally stealing the movie(s) away from bigger named stars, but I've got to tell you, in this role as 'Dodge', he stole my heart with his talent in this film. Keira has always been a superior dramatic actor and this time around completely sold the bubbly, ditzy, free-spirited 'Penny' who hides her heart very well right up to the end and then just allows herself the gift of freely opening herself up to love. I was sobbing at the end of this 'little funny film', that ended up being placed on my top 15 best films of all time! You've Gotta see this film for yourself...you'll be telling your friends, family and co-workers all about it at the office water-cooler next week! Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 25, 2012
    50
    As Seeking a Friend for the End of the World crawls toward its sentimental finale, you're rooting for that asteroid to get here, quick.
  2. 60
    The whole movie is a good try.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 22, 2012
    63
    If the world were really coming to an end, we'd spend it with Knightley and tell her tag-along friend that there's not enough food for a 50-year-old virgin.