Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2012
    100
    It's more amusing than you might expect, and ultimately more touching than an eroding society around them deserves.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    83
    In our summertime-movie world of aliens and superheroes who look all too familiar, Dodge and Penny look all the rarer in their precious humanity.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 19, 2012
    80
    A charmingly lo-fi love story.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 19, 2012
    67
    It pitches a tone between comedy and tragedy that holds unique appeal.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Combines a deviously tragicomic take on the approaching annihilation of mankind with a irritatingly unconvincing and unnecessary love story.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    Carell's performance is enjoyable but safe, and while he and Knightley play well enough together, there's no genuine chemistry - no zap to convince us these two deserve to be the last lovers on Earth.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 18, 2012
    38
    A predictable, drawn-out romantic comedy that happens to be set in the shadow of impending apocalypse.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    It's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for a long time after seeing it. The funny thing is that the movie is trying to illustrate that all the little things that bother you in life don't matter in the end, that it's all about the people and things you love, that those are the things you'll remember at the end of it all. And the movie embodies that very idea oh so well by being itself a mixed bag, but just like life it's not the pesky problems that you remember at the end, it's the good times. For this reason "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" gets exponentially better as time goes by after seeing it, such a beautiful movie. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    Dark and fun.

    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is a movie that is very different from all the other apocalyptic movies I have
    seen. This movie is something else…and I like it. Steve Carell stars as Dodge, a lonely insurance agent who really doesn’t know what to do anymore with all the “apocalypse mumbo-jumbo.” At the start of the film, his wife leaves him after hearing the news that a meteor will be hitting Earth in three days, ending life as everyone knows. Dodge tries to hang out with his friends and party but while everyone is doing drugs and having sex with random people, not caring about the consequences, Dodge just doesn’t feel right about doing anything. The movie is categorized and advertised as a comedy and while I will say I had a few laughs in the movie, I would not call it a comedy but more of a drama with tiny bits of comedy sprinkled here and there. Dodge soon meets Penny (Keira Knightley) one day while she is mourning over wasting her life with all the wrong men instead of more time with her family. Soon, a riot breaks out and causes these two new friends to flee their apartment building. Dodge is on a journey to meet his high school sweet heart or “the one that got away” while Penny just wants to see her family once again. The film is very well acted by everyone, especially the two lead roles and I thought they had very good chemistry together. On the road trip, they encounter many different types of people which makes the movie an interesting ride. Watching the movie and seeing all the chaos going on, it made me wonder what I would do in a situation like this and to be honest, I don’t think I am ready to answer that question. Overall, Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is not your average apocalypse movie. It’s sweet, it’s fun, and it’s thoughtful. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2012
    6
    Although the film engages it's viewers by the second half with a drama that surprisingly tug's on the heart, the first half is unfunny and unengaging. Nothing can be worst then continuous gags that completely fall flat. The film is probably a 5, but I gave it a bonus mark for having the audacity to deliver the ending that it did. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    As several other users have noted, this is not a rom-com, but a true story of romance. It takes some time to get there, but it's a moving film. Interestingly, the end of the movie reminded me of the end of Melancholia, but it's not nearly as ponderous and heavy as the latter. Steve Carell is terrific as usual in a very earnest role, and Knightly is a good casting choice. There are a bunch of great comedians (Rob Cordry, Amy Schumer) that round out the cast effectively - especially during the free-for-all segments. Finally, a quick note that T.J. Miller steals the show with his role as the host at a TJI Friday's type of restaurant that's still operating amidst the chaos. He's consistently funny in every movie he's a part of (She's Out of My League, etc.) and deserves to be a lead. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    5
    First half of the movie is great. Second half is slow and boring. And the romance between the two is not very relatable. If you are an ending-person (for lack of a better expression), think twice before you watch this. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    1
    Great idea, cast, story and Steve Carell is an amazing actor! Yet, the whole movie did NOT work. It was slow, boring and not funny. The movie had alot of potential, yet it didnt go anywhere. a very big disappointment for me. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.