New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 29, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 115 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
37
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TravisR.Mar 4, 2008
It was so absurd that I didn't know how not to love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Jul 7, 2008
i thought semi prow was a movie with no taste. it was not realistic or factual. I had high hopes that this movie would be great, but i was disappointed. I also thought they over did it with all the jokes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JacqueS.Mar 1, 2008
I thought this was very good typical will ferrel movie andif u r a fan of his u will like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanielJ.Mar 2, 2008
You can't judge ridiculous comedies like Will Ferrell's by their actual cinematic and artistic qualities. You instead judge them at face value by how funny they are. I wouldn't say Semi-Pro is as funny as Old School, You can't judge ridiculous comedies like Will Ferrell's by their actual cinematic and artistic qualities. You instead judge them at face value by how funny they are. I wouldn't say Semi-Pro is as funny as Old School, Anchorman, or Elf, but it is more along the lines (laugh-wise) of Taladega Nights and Blades of Glory. The former three Ferrell movies get 10s for laughs, the latter two and Semi-Pro get 8s. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TylerG.Mar 2, 2008
I was scared when I went to see this movie, obviously not because I thought it was a horror film but I was frightened that Semi-Pro might be the Ferrell movie where he loses his magic. I'm glad I was wrong.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoD.Mar 27, 2008
Good and funny movie. I love Will Farrell !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelMMar 4, 2008
Critics may feel that Ferrell is losing his touch, I personally feel that many critics today are losing their touch with the average movie goer. While they (critics) laud their praises upon entertaining, yet "artistic" movies like "There Critics may feel that Ferrell is losing his touch, I personally feel that many critics today are losing their touch with the average movie goer. While they (critics) laud their praises upon entertaining, yet "artistic" movies like "There Will Be Blood," they neglect the real diamonds in the rough. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Mar 5, 2008
Your typical Will Ferrell movie, very stupid but VERY FUNNY.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndreaH.Mar 5, 2008
Very funny movie. Of course, I didn't go see the movie looking for the best editing and lovely scenes...I went to burn a few calories! I think I laughed myself through 80% of the movie. Very well done!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Jun 8, 2008
I don't see why this movie wasn't that good.... it was funny and vulgar and it made me stay in my seat the entire time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ThomasJ.Nov 18, 2008
Expected the worst after watching Will Farrell Taladega Night / Ricky Bobby last time. But this Farrell-thing is really great. I enjoyed it, cause I'm a Basketball-fan and like the ABA-70s style. I recommend it to Basketball-Fans, or Expected the worst after watching Will Farrell Taladega Night / Ricky Bobby last time. But this Farrell-thing is really great. I enjoyed it, cause I'm a Basketball-fan and like the ABA-70s style. I recommend it to Basketball-Fans, or Fans of crazy comedy. Nice, sweet popcorn-movie. 8 Points! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Feb 27, 2008
I saw this movie last night at a special screening. This was actually a decent movie. It was a but childish at some points, and had its funny parts. I don't recommend you bring your children to this movie, the cursing is a bit I saw this movie last night at a special screening. This was actually a decent movie. It was a but childish at some points, and had its funny parts. I don't recommend you bring your children to this movie, the cursing is a bit excessive. While the main storyline might be simple in nature it is very entertaining at the most. Ferrell makes a fool of hims self as usual, but is it too much? Go see this film, but be warned it may be cheesy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayS.Mar 1, 2008
Most Will Ferrell movies lack a plot and merely throw a story designed to get laughs at you, though they almost always produce. This one had the laughs with the plot for a movie that was as entertaining as it was funny. You may be able to Most Will Ferrell movies lack a plot and merely throw a story designed to get laughs at you, though they almost always produce. This one had the laughs with the plot for a movie that was as entertaining as it was funny. You may be able to guess what happens here and there, but you'll find yourself laughing anyway. One of Ferrell's better movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TommyJ.Mar 2, 2008
I don't understand the reviewers...this was a solid, funny movie...not quite an anchorman but it was quite enjoyable. Everyone else in the theater seemed to enjoy it as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanL.Mar 3, 2008
If you like Will Ferrell, you will like this movie, if not you won't. Some people like his style, others do not, but as a fan of his I have to say that this is one of his better films, and I enjoyed it immensely. Not as good as If you like Will Ferrell, you will like this movie, if not you won't. Some people like his style, others do not, but as a fan of his I have to say that this is one of his better films, and I enjoyed it immensely. Not as good as Anchorman, but a funny movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoeV.Mar 3, 2008
I was afraid this movie would be terriable and I was wrong. The plot was better then his last few movies, and the cast was perfect. This isn't as good as Talladaga Nights but is as good as Blades of Glory and Anchorman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 3, 2008
Jackie Moon(Will Ferrell) steps to the charity stripe and attempts two free throws in an underhanded style that looks like comic schtick(Ferrell, impersonating an effeminate man trying to be butch), but this unorthodox hoist is technically Jackie Moon(Will Ferrell) steps to the charity stripe and attempts two free throws in an underhanded style that looks like comic schtick(Ferrell, impersonating an effeminate man trying to be butch), but this unorthodox hoist is technically accurate; this was how basketball hall-of-famer Rick Barry actually shot his free-throws. Jackie Moon seems to be Mark Cuban channeling former disc jockey Rick "Disco Duck" Dees. If the current Dallas Mavericks owner could get pass the NBA bylaws and suit up, believe me, he'd be the team's starting small forward. "Semi-Pro" lovingly recalls pro basketball in the seventies; both, in its films: "The Fish that Saved Pittsburgh"(starring a post-Rizzo Stockard Channing AND real NBA baller Bernard King) and "Fastbreak"(starring Gabe "Welcome Back, Kotter" Kaplan), and in its actual broadcasts, when an announcer or a colorist were permitted to smoke freely on-camera during a live game without repercussions from anti-smoking advocacy groups. It's the period detail(a novelty song like "Love Me Sexy" could be a smash hit in the seventies) and respect for ABA history(the ABA had a three-point line when the NBA did not) that almost makes "Semi-Pro" more than the latest Will Ferrell freak show. Almost, being the operative word. "Semi-Pro" loses its credibility outright as a proper sports movie when Clarence(Andre Benjamin) plays for a second team after halftime. But it should be noted that "Semi-Pro" does strive to be semi-realistic in its presentation of time and place(Flint, Michigan). Because Ferrell operates in a semblance of the real world, the sometimes heavy-handed dadaist impulses of the former SNL-cast member doesn't chew up the scenery to the detriment of everything and everyone in his path. Ferrell's trademark buffoonery is in evidence here, but it's underpinned by the economic hardship of a blue collar town. There weren't any bear-wrestling or Evil Kneivel-like derring-do back in the ABA's heyday, but there were tacky promotions to solicit the attention of the NBA-addled fan. ABA teams would eventually play in front of half-empty arenas before it folded and merged with the National Basketball Association. "Semi-Pro" gets that right. That's why the film works. There's a pall that hangs over the laughs. Because of the smaller crowd, the inevitable big game doesn't seem too overblown and significant. Victory is inevitable, but the circumstances around the win makes the triumph of the Tropicals appear hollow and bittersweet. Small-scale emotions for a small-scale sports film that's more serious about comedy than it is about basketball; that's "Semi-Pro", a semi-good comedy about basketball that's actually more believable than a basketball proper film like "Glory Road"(the story of Don Haskins and his all-black 1967 Texas El-Paso national championship team). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricR.Feb 29, 2008
Absolutely hilarious. I don't understand how critics get off by basically calling a movie as good or bad before they even see it. It's obvious that they're tired of Will Ferrell's success and want to knock him down a bit. Absolutely hilarious. I don't understand how critics get off by basically calling a movie as good or bad before they even see it. It's obvious that they're tired of Will Ferrell's success and want to knock him down a bit. I'm not tired of him and though Semi Pro was hilarious. Great gags, great supporting players (Will Arnett for sure), and great laughs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.C.G.Mar 13, 2008
This movie was funny as hell.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SlickElliottApr 17, 2008
Hilarious! Can't wait for the DVD!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
StaticSpineAug 28, 2013
Sports Will Ferrell Fun. Nice one to watch it once. Ferrell is awesome as always, he plays a weird disco singer/basketball club owner-player-coach and he plays it in his own special manner, so if you like his screenplay or you need to watchSports Will Ferrell Fun. Nice one to watch it once. Ferrell is awesome as always, he plays a weird disco singer/basketball club owner-player-coach and he plays it in his own special manner, so if you like his screenplay or you need to watch a comedy to relax, try this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
It's certainly a more forgettable Will Ferrell film, but it isn't that bad. Will Ferrell still carries the film on his back and has a lights out performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews