New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 29, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 113 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
35
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
ydnar4Feb 7, 2015
Silly like any other Will Ferrell movie but not funny. Not even on the same page as most of his films. Semi-Pro was a film I was excited for when the trailers were released but it just has nothing on films like Blades of Glory and Anchorman,Silly like any other Will Ferrell movie but not funny. Not even on the same page as most of his films. Semi-Pro was a film I was excited for when the trailers were released but it just has nothing on films like Blades of Glory and Anchorman, if you're thinking of watching this, save yourself some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerMar 15, 2014
With a plethora of hollywood funny men in this movie, all headed up by Will Ferrell, I'm shocked that this movie really turned out to be this unfunny. I did find a few chuckle worthy moments here and there, but nothing that resembled actualWith a plethora of hollywood funny men in this movie, all headed up by Will Ferrell, I'm shocked that this movie really turned out to be this unfunny. I did find a few chuckle worthy moments here and there, but nothing that resembled actual comedy. Some of the scenes in the movie just do not make any sense and end up being painful to watch. A scene where Ferrell is playing poker is a perfect example of such, as the whole time I was watching I was just wondering what was going on and why. It wasn't funny, just loud, rude, and pointless. I think that is the best way to describe the whole movie.

In the end "Semi-Pro" fails to make any sort of good use of it's usually hilarious cast thanks to it's awkwardly written jokes. What's worse is that it's clear that some of these scenes could have been genuinely funny if put in the hands of a writer who could come up with better dialog and comedic timing. It really is just a boring waste of time and you would be better off watching something else. I give it a 4.2/10-Bad.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuDec 12, 2013
Semi-Pro is hyper-typical Will Ferrell stuff. All the usual crazy stuff is present and accounted for; fighting with bears, bursts of anger at nothing in particular, mass brawls... etc. And it's pretty funny too. Nowhere near as good asSemi-Pro is hyper-typical Will Ferrell stuff. All the usual crazy stuff is present and accounted for; fighting with bears, bursts of anger at nothing in particular, mass brawls... etc. And it's pretty funny too. Nowhere near as good as something like Anchorman or The Ballad of Ricky Bobby but it's still decent fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineAug 28, 2013
Sports Will Ferrell Fun. Nice one to watch it once. Ferrell is awesome as always, he plays a weird disco singer/basketball club owner-player-coach and he plays it in his own special manner, so if you like his screenplay or you need to watchSports Will Ferrell Fun. Nice one to watch it once. Ferrell is awesome as always, he plays a weird disco singer/basketball club owner-player-coach and he plays it in his own special manner, so if you like his screenplay or you need to watch a comedy to relax, try this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
wrightm1Jul 1, 2013
A Semi-Mess.

Actually no. It's just a mess. The jokes don't hit. The acting is awkward. And the story is unclear. This is definitely one of the minor Ferrell films, and is an example of when improvised comedy doesn't work, as the film
A Semi-Mess.

Actually no. It's just a mess.

The jokes don't hit. The acting is awkward. And the story is unclear.
This is definitely one of the minor Ferrell films, and is an example of when improvised comedy doesn't work, as the film just felt utterly confused, and it really dragged.

I just don't have much to say about it. It's extremely sub-par.

Semi-par more like.

Ha.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jamison12Jun 30, 2013
It's certainly a more forgettable Will Ferrell film, but it isn't that bad. Will Ferrell still carries the film on his back and has a lights out performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It is bearable but it's also not exactly one of Will Ferrell's finer moments in comedic cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JaySupertrampFeb 7, 2012
One of the most boring movies ever with Will Ferrell... No good laughs and no good acting. Everything about this movie is only boring. I laughed about two times!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
It was ok. Had its funny parts and its boring parts. The acting was ok in it, It was what you expected from a movie like this. If you like Will Ferrell then you will probably like this film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
I had high hopes for this film, but ultimately, it was a failure. It was not as funny as it looked, and Ferrell was not nearly as good as he usually is. It is not very funny, and the laughs are few and far between. It is not worth the time.I had high hopes for this film, but ultimately, it was a failure. It was not as funny as it looked, and Ferrell was not nearly as good as he usually is. It is not very funny, and the laughs are few and far between. It is not worth the time. If you want a funny Ferrell movie, see Anchorman. Just skip Semi Pro, you won't miss it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ThomasJ.Nov 18, 2008
Expected the worst after watching Will Farrell Taladega Night / Ricky Bobby last time. But this Farrell-thing is really great. I enjoyed it, cause I'm a Basketball-fan and like the ABA-70s style. I recommend it to Basketball-Fans, or Expected the worst after watching Will Farrell Taladega Night / Ricky Bobby last time. But this Farrell-thing is really great. I enjoyed it, cause I'm a Basketball-fan and like the ABA-70s style. I recommend it to Basketball-Fans, or Fans of crazy comedy. Nice, sweet popcorn-movie. 8 Points! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Jul 7, 2008
i thought semi prow was a movie with no taste. it was not realistic or factual. I had high hopes that this movie would be great, but i was disappointed. I also thought they over did it with all the jokes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LarryR.Jul 4, 2008
Probably the least engaging and most boring of Ferrell's films. One scene was repulsive, the rest unfunny. Ending made no sense; just a slapped together movie with faxed in performances. Ever see a movie for free and feel ripped off? I Probably the least engaging and most boring of Ferrell's films. One scene was repulsive, the rest unfunny. Ending made no sense; just a slapped together movie with faxed in performances. Ever see a movie for free and feel ripped off? I did, it was called Semi-Pro. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BradB.Jun 26, 2008
Nothing funny here whatsoever. Worst film I've seen in 3 years. Who wrote this crap and what were they thinking? How much more Wil Ferrell man-boy humor can you take? This movie made it's losses back by Ferrell's Old Spice ads Nothing funny here whatsoever. Worst film I've seen in 3 years. Who wrote this crap and what were they thinking? How much more Wil Ferrell man-boy humor can you take? This movie made it's losses back by Ferrell's Old Spice ads on TV. That suckered a lot of people in who didn't deserve it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
MJJun 13, 2008
Will Farrell needs to rethink his life..If you laughed more than twice during this movie you need to rethink your life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeH.Jun 8, 2008
I don't see why this movie wasn't that good.... it was funny and vulgar and it made me stay in my seat the entire time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SteveG.Jun 8, 2008
There's a halfway decent movie in there somewhere - too bad no one bothered to tell the editor. It has no sense of comedic timing whatsoever, amounting to a painfully awkward (and often boring) 90 minutes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AlexR.Jun 5, 2008
Semi-pro, more like semi-loser. actually, just plain loser. he and the bear had poo sex backstage and his teamates did a gangbang.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
iRKJun 4, 2008
Unfunny and underwhelming. How does shmuck like this keep getting made and released? Terrible.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JayH.May 28, 2008
I am so tired of Will Farrell playing the same type of role over and over. It's getting real old. He needs to move on. This is a stupid and rarely funny movie. Dumb and insulting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SlickElliottApr 17, 2008
Hilarious! Can't wait for the DVD!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JoD.Mar 27, 2008
Good and funny movie. I love Will Farrell !
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
MichelleGMar 23, 2008
I laughed every now and then, but it was mainly when a new character portrayed by a random well known celeb appeared. I'm disappointed that previews got my hopes up and that I spent my money on seeing this movie. It was unoriginal to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesK.Mar 21, 2008
This is a horrible movie. You might laugh once. Maybe twice. I wouldn't bet on more than that.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
NadaMar 20, 2008
I was surprised by this movie, I figured it would have me laughing the entire movie, but it didn't. Don't get me wrong, there were a few funny moments, but not as many as I was expecting. I enjoy most Ferrell movies, but this one I was surprised by this movie, I figured it would have me laughing the entire movie, but it didn't. Don't get me wrong, there were a few funny moments, but not as many as I was expecting. I enjoy most Ferrell movies, but this one was subpar at best. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
KaraH.Mar 17, 2008
Awful! Save your $$! Go see something else!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EthanR.Mar 14, 2008
Ughhh...how disappointed i was i this movie....I was excpeting a hilarious comedy like blades of glory....but what i got was a mediocre movie and i occasionally cracked a smile! i was really excited for this movie but i was sadly let down!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.C.G.Mar 13, 2008
This movie was funny as hell.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeB.Mar 8, 2008
anyone else sick of the exact same cookie-cutter jokes? If Ferrell is capable of more, which "stranger than fiction" seems to indicate, than why doesn't he change it up. This is the exact same jokes as anchorman, talladega and blades of anyone else sick of the exact same cookie-cutter jokes? If Ferrell is capable of more, which "stranger than fiction" seems to indicate, than why doesn't he change it up. This is the exact same jokes as anchorman, talladega and blades of glory - just not funny any more. I love Will, but he needs to change it up, just because he is wearing short shorts and a afro wig does not mean that this is a new role or anything different. I'm a huge fan of his SNL days but I think this movie does not go anywhere near that level of hilarity. It's 'Okay' at best...Try something with some plot, or some kind of point, structure, or original ideas. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JaredC.Mar 5, 2008
Your typical Will Ferrell movie, very stupid but VERY FUNNY.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ProjectGSXMar 5, 2008
Easily one of the worst movies Ive ever seen. Not only am I a Ferrell fan, but I'm also a San Antonio Spurs fan.. and yet this movie still did nothing for me. Bad, bad, bad. The best parts are in the previews and they weren't even Easily one of the worst movies Ive ever seen. Not only am I a Ferrell fan, but I'm also a San Antonio Spurs fan.. and yet this movie still did nothing for me. Bad, bad, bad. The best parts are in the previews and they weren't even that good. Save your money. Rent the DVD. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndreaH.Mar 5, 2008
Very funny movie. Of course, I didn't go see the movie looking for the best editing and lovely scenes...I went to burn a few calories! I think I laughed myself through 80% of the movie. Very well done!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TravisR.Mar 4, 2008
It was so absurd that I didn't know how not to love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelMMar 4, 2008
Critics may feel that Ferrell is losing his touch, I personally feel that many critics today are losing their touch with the average movie goer. While they (critics) laud their praises upon entertaining, yet "artistic" movies like "There Critics may feel that Ferrell is losing his touch, I personally feel that many critics today are losing their touch with the average movie goer. While they (critics) laud their praises upon entertaining, yet "artistic" movies like "There Will Be Blood," they neglect the real diamonds in the rough. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
C.B.Mar 4, 2008
a sub-par Ferrell outing. I expect much more from him...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Mar 3, 2008
Jackie Moon(Will Ferrell) steps to the charity stripe and attempts two free throws in an underhanded style that looks like comic schtick(Ferrell, impersonating an effeminate man trying to be butch), but this unorthodox hoist is technically Jackie Moon(Will Ferrell) steps to the charity stripe and attempts two free throws in an underhanded style that looks like comic schtick(Ferrell, impersonating an effeminate man trying to be butch), but this unorthodox hoist is technically accurate; this was how basketball hall-of-famer Rick Barry actually shot his free-throws. Jackie Moon seems to be Mark Cuban channeling former disc jockey Rick "Disco Duck" Dees. If the current Dallas Mavericks owner could get pass the NBA bylaws and suit up, believe me, he'd be the team's starting small forward. "Semi-Pro" lovingly recalls pro basketball in the seventies; both, in its films: "The Fish that Saved Pittsburgh"(starring a post-Rizzo Stockard Channing AND real NBA baller Bernard King) and "Fastbreak"(starring Gabe "Welcome Back, Kotter" Kaplan), and in its actual broadcasts, when an announcer or a colorist were permitted to smoke freely on-camera during a live game without repercussions from anti-smoking advocacy groups. It's the period detail(a novelty song like "Love Me Sexy" could be a smash hit in the seventies) and respect for ABA history(the ABA had a three-point line when the NBA did not) that almost makes "Semi-Pro" more than the latest Will Ferrell freak show. Almost, being the operative word. "Semi-Pro" loses its credibility outright as a proper sports movie when Clarence(Andre Benjamin) plays for a second team after halftime. But it should be noted that "Semi-Pro" does strive to be semi-realistic in its presentation of time and place(Flint, Michigan). Because Ferrell operates in a semblance of the real world, the sometimes heavy-handed dadaist impulses of the former SNL-cast member doesn't chew up the scenery to the detriment of everything and everyone in his path. Ferrell's trademark buffoonery is in evidence here, but it's underpinned by the economic hardship of a blue collar town. There weren't any bear-wrestling or Evil Kneivel-like derring-do back in the ABA's heyday, but there were tacky promotions to solicit the attention of the NBA-addled fan. ABA teams would eventually play in front of half-empty arenas before it folded and merged with the National Basketball Association. "Semi-Pro" gets that right. That's why the film works. There's a pall that hangs over the laughs. Because of the smaller crowd, the inevitable big game doesn't seem too overblown and significant. Victory is inevitable, but the circumstances around the win makes the triumph of the Tropicals appear hollow and bittersweet. Small-scale emotions for a small-scale sports film that's more serious about comedy than it is about basketball; that's "Semi-Pro", a semi-good comedy about basketball that's actually more believable than a basketball proper film like "Glory Road"(the story of Don Haskins and his all-black 1967 Texas El-Paso national championship team). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CattattaF.Mar 3, 2008
It was ok. No big laughs, but a decent amount of small laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SteveMar 3, 2008
Will, you can do so much better. Funny at times, but stupid in others. The Woody Harrelson love story was completely misplaced and just as irrelevant. Oh, wow, poking fun at 70s lame culture like fondu, big shocker. We already saw that sort Will, you can do so much better. Funny at times, but stupid in others. The Woody Harrelson love story was completely misplaced and just as irrelevant. Oh, wow, poking fun at 70s lame culture like fondu, big shocker. We already saw that sort of schtick in Anchorman, which was obviously a far superior effort. The 70s card has been played, and fankly, you can't really get any cheesier than what's already been done (reference Farrell's other movie about the 70s, the good one). Had some funny parts. But overall, just a lame effort. It was like they got together for the pitch idea and said, "we need an R-rated, f-word filled version of Anchorman with Will Farrell playing himself but no surrounding characters. Let's try it with, oh I don't know...basketball, whatever." Zzzzzz. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MattMMar 3, 2008
After seeing this movie and getting a few cheap laughs, I thought to myself Will Ferrell is getting less funny with every movie he makes. This movie just didn't have the supporting cast to make the hilarious comedy that I thought I was After seeing this movie and getting a few cheap laughs, I thought to myself Will Ferrell is getting less funny with every movie he makes. This movie just didn't have the supporting cast to make the hilarious comedy that I thought I was going to see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoeV.Mar 3, 2008
I was afraid this movie would be terriable and I was wrong. The plot was better then his last few movies, and the cast was perfect. This isn't as good as Talladaga Nights but is as good as Blades of Glory and Anchorman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanL.Mar 3, 2008
If you like Will Ferrell, you will like this movie, if not you won't. Some people like his style, others do not, but as a fan of his I have to say that this is one of his better films, and I enjoyed it immensely. Not as good as If you like Will Ferrell, you will like this movie, if not you won't. Some people like his style, others do not, but as a fan of his I have to say that this is one of his better films, and I enjoyed it immensely. Not as good as Anchorman, but a funny movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TommyJ.Mar 2, 2008
I don't understand the reviewers...this was a solid, funny movie...not quite an anchorman but it was quite enjoyable. Everyone else in the theater seemed to enjoy it as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanielJ.Mar 2, 2008
You can't judge ridiculous comedies like Will Ferrell's by their actual cinematic and artistic qualities. You instead judge them at face value by how funny they are. I wouldn't say Semi-Pro is as funny as Old School, You can't judge ridiculous comedies like Will Ferrell's by their actual cinematic and artistic qualities. You instead judge them at face value by how funny they are. I wouldn't say Semi-Pro is as funny as Old School, Anchorman, or Elf, but it is more along the lines (laugh-wise) of Taladega Nights and Blades of Glory. The former three Ferrell movies get 10s for laughs, the latter two and Semi-Pro get 8s. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoshK.Mar 2, 2008
I can't believe people thought this movie was funny, will ferrell does not perform as well as he previously had. The previews made the film look a lot better than it really was. The movie was so bad I left the theater, with others as I can't believe people thought this movie was funny, will ferrell does not perform as well as he previously had. The previews made the film look a lot better than it really was. The movie was so bad I left the theater, with others as well, because I couldn't take anymore of the movie. Don't get me wrong, I love will Ferrell and basically all of his works, but this movie was absolutely cheesy and horrible. I'm upset I actually paid to see that movie. Hopefully his next movie won't be as bad as this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TylerG.Mar 2, 2008
I was scared when I went to see this movie, obviously not because I thought it was a horror film but I was frightened that Semi-Pro might be the Ferrell movie where he loses his magic. I'm glad I was wrong.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayS.Mar 1, 2008
Most Will Ferrell movies lack a plot and merely throw a story designed to get laughs at you, though they almost always produce. This one had the laughs with the plot for a movie that was as entertaining as it was funny. You may be able to Most Will Ferrell movies lack a plot and merely throw a story designed to get laughs at you, though they almost always produce. This one had the laughs with the plot for a movie that was as entertaining as it was funny. You may be able to guess what happens here and there, but you'll find yourself laughing anyway. One of Ferrell's better movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JacqueS.Mar 1, 2008
I thought this was very good typical will ferrel movie andif u r a fan of his u will like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricR.Feb 29, 2008
Absolutely hilarious. I don't understand how critics get off by basically calling a movie as good or bad before they even see it. It's obvious that they're tired of Will Ferrell's success and want to knock him down a bit. Absolutely hilarious. I don't understand how critics get off by basically calling a movie as good or bad before they even see it. It's obvious that they're tired of Will Ferrell's success and want to knock him down a bit. I'm not tired of him and though Semi Pro was hilarious. Great gags, great supporting players (Will Arnett for sure), and great laughs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnM.Feb 27, 2008
I saw this movie last night at a special screening. This was actually a decent movie. It was a but childish at some points, and had its funny parts. I don't recommend you bring your children to this movie, the cursing is a bit I saw this movie last night at a special screening. This was actually a decent movie. It was a but childish at some points, and had its funny parts. I don't recommend you bring your children to this movie, the cursing is a bit excessive. While the main storyline might be simple in nature it is very entertaining at the most. Ferrell makes a fool of hims self as usual, but is it too much? Go see this film, but be warned it may be cheesy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful