Music Box Films | Release Date: June 5, 2009
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 14 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
11
Mixed:
1
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
juderobeDec 26, 2010
Not only was I pleased to learn more about an artist whose work I have seen and admired, but this film made a careful effort to be convincing. I believed in the portrait it made of her. The actress deserved an award. Also theNot only was I pleased to learn more about an artist whose work I have seen and admired, but this film made a careful effort to be convincing. I believed in the portrait it made of her. The actress deserved an award. Also the
cinematography and the script and the casting were all exemplary. It was hard to finish because I read in Wikipedia about her, but the film managed to show every part of her life with grace .
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sunflowerSep 29, 2009
This was a brilliant movie regardless of its so called "slow pace". It had perfect atmosphere, perfect timing, perfect everything. I particularly liked the main actress and the way she brought life and a tacit mystery to the character. This was a brilliant movie regardless of its so called "slow pace". It had perfect atmosphere, perfect timing, perfect everything. I particularly liked the main actress and the way she brought life and a tacit mystery to the character. Seraphine was fascinating from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WillTSep 6, 2009
The producer never learned to edit apparently. Would have been great if condensed to 1 hour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
josephcSep 5, 2009
This movie couldn't have been slower or more boring. that final endless shot was neither "balm": nor "benediction" ... it was deadly, and symptomatic of every painfully prolonged moment that preceded it. this film was dark, dreary, andThis movie couldn't have been slower or more boring. that final endless shot was neither "balm": nor "benediction" ... it was deadly, and symptomatic of every painfully prolonged moment that preceded it. this film was dark, dreary, and tedious from its first shots to its final slo-mo slog through the proverbial molasses. did i really see the same film that the critics raved about??? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoelBAug 6, 2009
This was a slow, boring movie - and I love art, the process of creating art, and good movies. It tried to present accurately who Seraphine was but by not going beyond what it knew, it portrayed a woman's outside with no sense of what This was a slow, boring movie - and I love art, the process of creating art, and good movies. It tried to present accurately who Seraphine was but by not going beyond what it knew, it portrayed a woman's outside with no sense of what was inside. It would have been a better movie, if had been moring daring and given us some significant inner thoughts and feelings even if they were technically fictional. By the way, the expert who spoke after the showing I saw, admitted that as far as she knew the only real thing about the whole movie were the paintings. I've been amazed that no critic has given this movie a poor review - what were they thinking? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
laurenhJul 26, 2009
Brilliant use of lighting and cropped shots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
yumintJul 20, 2009
The true story of Seraphine, her desperate poverty as a maid, her love of trees and water, creating swirling energies of color in her secret painting, paints mixed from blood and flowers and stolen wax, all beautifully acted, gives the movie The true story of Seraphine, her desperate poverty as a maid, her love of trees and water, creating swirling energies of color in her secret painting, paints mixed from blood and flowers and stolen wax, all beautifully acted, gives the movie a premier place among films about artists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanW.Jun 30, 2009
Beautifully shot and brilliantly acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful