Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 30, 2005
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 764 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
653
Mixed:
27
Negative:
84
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MrCoeJul 14, 2006
Bag of Shite. I watched this movie with the prospect of seeing something the 3 new star wars films had missed and wtih the glimmer of hope that it would have the freshness of the originals. Oh how i was wrong,mumbling lines, cheesy dialogue, Bag of Shite. I watched this movie with the prospect of seeing something the 3 new star wars films had missed and wtih the glimmer of hope that it would have the freshness of the originals. Oh how i was wrong,mumbling lines, cheesy dialogue, computer game visuals, incredibly loose and dull plot, boring fight sequences adn due to the amount of characters nobody you actually gave a rats ass about. the reavers were so intensely grotesque it seems the director was scared of putting them on camera just a swish of somebody with red paint on their face every now and again. the plot was ludicrous, never explained why the girl was being harboured into whatever, and why anyone would give a rats ass about the fact they watched a video saying the government was corrupt.- tell me something i don't know. Expand
4 of 26 users found this helpful
3
PierApr 7, 2011
Awful movie in every aspect you can think of. Fake characters, dumb dialogues, pointless plot, bad CG, mediocre music... I thought having a 9.2 score on MC it couldn't be that bad... but it is. Even worst than the Phantom Menace...
2 of 14 users found this helpful212
All this user's reviews
1
Bahamut2Feb 21, 2014
Why do you like this movie? I was bored :(
Maybe it's the movie, maybe the company... maybe i had a bad day, maybe because i saw it in spanish (my mother language) anyways i didnt like this movie... really.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
2
gpguyOct 11, 2011
The movie was ok by itself but it wasn't true to the characters and the chemistry the characters had in the TV series like for example they were able to do so well with the Star trek series and movies. It wasn't special effects and actionThe movie was ok by itself but it wasn't true to the characters and the chemistry the characters had in the TV series like for example they were able to do so well with the Star trek series and movies. It wasn't special effects and action that drew me to the TV series. In the series for example how Simon clumsily flirted with Kaylee, and in the end the romance blossomed. I didn't recognize Simon who turned into this alpha-male in the movies. All of the characters were more cynical, meaner, darker in the movie. If you were looking for a movie that played homage to the series you will be disappointed. The movie by itself is OK to watch. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
RonV.Oct 5, 2005
If you didn't like the TV show - the movie won't be any more enjoyable. Just as painfully trite and witty as you remembered it, with bad effects, weak cinematographjy, weak soundtrack and TV-quality acting. "Buffy's A-Team in If you didn't like the TV show - the movie won't be any more enjoyable. Just as painfully trite and witty as you remembered it, with bad effects, weak cinematographjy, weak soundtrack and TV-quality acting. "Buffy's A-Team in Space" - Could barely make it an hour through until I walked out. I may see the end when it comes on the SciFi channel. Really don't care if I do or not. Comparing this to any real film, sci-fi or not, does terrible injustice to the art of movies. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
1
ChiwetelEOct 10, 2005
Is this a film for intelligent adults looking for a decent night of escapism and/or entertainment? No. Its a bland, monotonous, stupid, derivative bore. And, to add insult to injury, it is laced with some of the most painfully unfunny Is this a film for intelligent adults looking for a decent night of escapism and/or entertainment? No. Its a bland, monotonous, stupid, derivative bore. And, to add insult to injury, it is laced with some of the most painfully unfunny dialogue yet heard in a cinema. AVOID. (If you're an intelligent adult.) Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JohnROct 22, 2005
I didn't walk out (though I though about it). The little house on the prairie dialogue and costuming didn't work for me. It was like they were trying to hard to be different by being cliche. Much of the movie felt like a half-life I didn't walk out (though I though about it). The little house on the prairie dialogue and costuming didn't work for me. It was like they were trying to hard to be different by being cliche. Much of the movie felt like a half-life like video game, it made me want to leave the movie and play my x-box. I don't understand what people saw in this movie. Do we have such low standards nowdays? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
karym6Jul 21, 2009
Good effects and a good effort all round by the crew. Ultimately this film is let down by two things, the story and the acting. Fillion is pretty poor as the lead, all of the supporting characters are much more interesting than him and can Good effects and a good effort all round by the crew. Ultimately this film is let down by two things, the story and the acting. Fillion is pretty poor as the lead, all of the supporting characters are much more interesting than him and can act better really. I noted a comment about Blakes 7 by another user. I think this is what really, really gets me annoyed with Wheedon and this film. So many people say its totally original and has a great story - yes it does, it has the story from Blakes 7. Which is pretty much superior in every way. I am also a little disgruntled to see the "fans" giving out scores of 10 and then talking about the series - this is not the series, the series is completely different to this. This is not a great scifi film, it isnt a cult film it is merely average. Watch it and make your own mind up. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
0
McfOct 2, 2005
I love firelfy but whedon dropped the ball on this one. the characters were transparent with no background or direction. i feel like i just loaned a friend my favorite toy and he blew it up right in front of me.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ThomasB.Oct 7, 2005
The script, the graphics, the logic, the actors.... generally any elements which may contribute to the making of a "movie" were lacking in the most dire manner. As a casual viewer, and not having seen this "Firefly" series, I can vouch for The script, the graphics, the logic, the actors.... generally any elements which may contribute to the making of a "movie" were lacking in the most dire manner. As a casual viewer, and not having seen this "Firefly" series, I can vouch for the movie's lackluster composition. It is my opinion, as well as the entire group of twenty academics, this movie will serve as evidence to convince threat nations that the United States consists of mere potato heads not worthy of existence. In reading other reviews I question if critics even viewed the movie, or merely composed an elaborate scheme to entice America into a two hour session of intellectual decay. Instead of gold poured into my eyes as movies have the obligation of performing, I found fiber-glass and mace. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JanW.Sep 27, 2005
It was rubbish and Josh Weedon sucks! Ha, I joke you. It was great. Add a '1' to the '0' - or, better, read Tom C's review, it's fair minded and accurate.
0 of 7 users found this helpful
3
ZachD.Sep 28, 2005
An awful movie based on a deservedly cancelled television show, SERENITY starts nowhere and goes nowhere, only looking pretty as it flies without direction. Perhaps an accomplished director (this is Whedon's theatrical debut) An awful movie based on a deservedly cancelled television show, SERENITY starts nowhere and goes nowhere, only looking pretty as it flies without direction. Perhaps an accomplished director (this is Whedon's theatrical debut) might've brought more spark to the film and quite possibly could've seen better through the plot-holes (Whedon also wrote the script, which comes in a few notches better than his ALIEN: RESURRECTION draft), but the film is based on a 'little engine that could' TV show that refuses to accept 'it couldn't.' The film delivers more than a handful of solid laughs, but only fans of the short-lived TV outing will fully comprehend what's going on here. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
NeilS.Mar 18, 2006
I can't believe all these 10 ratings?!?! This film felt like a B-Movie. The story was ok but the characters were terrible. The 'Mal' character had absolutely no screen presence at all, and I didn
0 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ShadowTheHedgehogOct 16, 2005
It was the stupidest, pointless, suicidendial, and boring movie I have seen in a LONG time. The whole movie was about trying to save the univerese. Been there, done that, its one of the most used plots out there. Even little kids movies have It was the stupidest, pointless, suicidendial, and boring movie I have seen in a LONG time. The whole movie was about trying to save the univerese. Been there, done that, its one of the most used plots out there. Even little kids movies have that plot. Guys were commiting suicide left and right, and bad corny jokes were scattered thoughout the film. I almost fell asleep, the actors were bad at what they did, they said everything without meaning. The so called good guys killed the innocent, and did almost nothing. The story got nowhere except to have a girl and guy make out. BEWARE OF THIS MOVIE, AVOID. Collapse
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
AlexZ.Feb 24, 2006
I have to agree with Nick on this one. It's, at least for my taste, one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Yes - I liked the first five minutes the most too. To be honest I left the cinema 30 minutes before it was over because I I have to agree with Nick on this one. It's, at least for my taste, one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Yes - I liked the first five minutes the most too. To be honest I left the cinema 30 minutes before it was over because I couldn't take it. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
DaveC.Mar 28, 2006
This is one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. The story premise was good, decent plot, but the DIALOGUE made it nearly unwatchable. Grammar errors bordering on the absurd. Cliche's used with such abandon that it was nearly This is one of the most ridiculous movies I have ever seen. The story premise was good, decent plot, but the DIALOGUE made it nearly unwatchable. Grammar errors bordering on the absurd. Cliche's used with such abandon that it was nearly mind numbing. The Operative and River were great characters with halfway decent script but the rest, total B-movie hack jobs. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
LeoRApr 21, 2007
I really don't see what the big deal is with this film. It was completely average in every single way. To compare this film to any of the Star Wars films is an insult. And the so called "witty banter" is just utter crap. Their I really don't see what the big deal is with this film. It was completely average in every single way. To compare this film to any of the Star Wars films is an insult. And the so called "witty banter" is just utter crap. Their isn't a more average sci-fi film out there. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
2
MikeDec 23, 2005
Yes the special effects are really good. But its sooo boring! the acting is bad, and so is the story.
0 of 4 users found this helpful