Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 30, 2005
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 763 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
654
Mixed:
27
Negative:
82
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
VeryDarkJediJan 14, 2013
Why this one gets so good review is beyond me. It's really a TV-movie with a si-so plot, barely acceptable acting and generally substandard special effects.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
TracyROct 16, 2005
Entertaining enough, but a bit of a rip-off of the 80's British sci-fi series Blakes 7. Enough things changed to avoid direct plagiarism, but very, very, very close. Too close.
2 of 11 users found this helpful
4
RostokovAOct 10, 2005
Relative to almost any classic western or sci-fi (eg: High Noon, Alien) this film was a failure. Why is the teen market (at which this is obviously aimed) calculated to be so undiscerning? The story was derivative and muddled, and crucially Relative to almost any classic western or sci-fi (eg: High Noon, Alien) this film was a failure. Why is the teen market (at which this is obviously aimed) calculated to be so undiscerning? The story was derivative and muddled, and crucially lacked tension or suspense. The characters traded constantly in witless banter allegedly funny due to its sarcastic intonation (a peculiar mainstay of much modern American comedy). The direction was sloppy and generic; I often had little idea of what action was taking place due to shaky close-up camerawork and poor choreography. Chiwetel Ejiofor had at least some gravitas to his delivery, but could not rescue a script in desperate need of the bold clarity and dynamism of the old westerns from which its influences are obviously taken. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
IlanOct 4, 2005
okay movie. LOL, it got robbed at the box office, only made it to second place with better reviews then the first place movie, FlightPlan! To quote IGN " serenity got robbed" HA, how does it feel Joss Whedon? like you robbed millions of dark okay movie. LOL, it got robbed at the box office, only made it to second place with better reviews then the first place movie, FlightPlan! To quote IGN " serenity got robbed" HA, how does it feel Joss Whedon? like you robbed millions of dark angel fans, with a show that got cancels mid season. still, okay move. so i kinda forgive ya! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
lapinrJun 14, 2009
Trashy pulp scfi with zero atmosphere - the viewer ends up thinking "well that was OK" But it does romp along enjoyably & undemandingly, plenty of action & whizzy stuff for teenagers. The actors are cardboard cutouts who struggle to make Trashy pulp scfi with zero atmosphere - the viewer ends up thinking "well that was OK" But it does romp along enjoyably & undemandingly, plenty of action & whizzy stuff for teenagers. The actors are cardboard cutouts who struggle to make real characters from the script! best thing is the references to star wars, buffy, alien (its almost as if the film sets were borrowed!) worth watching at home with a takaway & a few beers. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
5
MelissaMDec 25, 2005
I don't see what everyone thought was so great about this movie. I was underwhelmed. Okay, but definitely no 9 or 10... Maybe it's just that I'm not a gamer.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
PhanixisJan 12, 2014
I saw this movie shortly after watching the "Firefly" series on Netflix. I absolutely loved "Firefly", its premise, writing and characters. Unfortunately "Serenity", which is a sequel of sorts to this series, does not measure up. The plotI saw this movie shortly after watching the "Firefly" series on Netflix. I absolutely loved "Firefly", its premise, writing and characters. Unfortunately "Serenity", which is a sequel of sorts to this series, does not measure up. The plot of the movie was remarkably predictable whereas the series always had you guessing, the villain was unremarkable and out of place, and the main character acted out of character when compared to the series. The big reveal felt unremarkable and contrived; I would have been far more interested in finding out about the Institute and its G-Man then about the origins of the Reavers. The movie also contains many plot threads that seem to go nowhere.

Sadly the series died when it was canceled and the attempt to revive it was just not successful. This film feels more like a generic action adventure flick than a continuation of the series. It is functional but just doesn't measure up to the rest of "Firefly".
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JasonS.Apr 3, 2006
I was a huge Firefly fan and really looked forward to this movie. However it suffers from several problems, the 9 central characters from the series are just too many for a movie and for people not familiar with the TV series must have I was a huge Firefly fan and really looked forward to this movie. However it suffers from several problems, the 9 central characters from the series are just too many for a movie and for people not familiar with the TV series must have seemed very 2 dimensional. The other main issue is that it doesn't really work as Sci-Fi,some minor points are the solar system with numerous habitable planets/moons all with the same gravity (just doesn't make sense), the brightest planet (Miranda) is supposedly the furthest out, the location of Mr Universe's transmitter etc. but the single biggest issue is the Reavers, we're told there are only 30,000 of these essentially mindless zombies yet they are able to run starships and in the 6 or 7 years since their creation the Alliance military have been totally unable to deal with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Apr 3, 2006
Not as deep as it appears, but easy to follow. The bantering dialogue is the best part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Compi24Jan 26, 2017
Alright, so maybe I should have watched the series before seeing the film. . .or not? I mean it's not as if I didn't enjoy the film for what it was, practically speaking. And it's also doubly not as if theatrically released movies shouldAlright, so maybe I should have watched the series before seeing the film. . .or not? I mean it's not as if I didn't enjoy the film for what it was, practically speaking. And it's also doubly not as if theatrically released movies should require an entire user-manual of information in order for audiences to fully enjoy them. So, in that regard, as far as sci-fi/western movies based on canceled sci-fi/western television series that I've never seen go, I most certainly think this one is the best. All kidding aside though, when one looks past the glaring CGI missteps and the handful of "if you watched the TV show, you would totally understand what they're talking about" moments littered throughout, it's still a worthwhile/entertaining film with an incredible amount of wit and creativity abound. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews