Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Sep 1, 2011
    25
    Until its final seconds, Seven Days in Utopia is just a piece of gee-whiz, G-rated, nicely shot evangelism outfitted as a golf movie. Then it cuts away at the pivotal moment that's normally the life's blood of inspirational sports dramas - and becomes something vastly more obnoxious.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Sep 1, 2011
    30
    A stultifying hybrid of athletic instruction film and Christian sermon.
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Sep 1, 2011
    12
    The movie is terrible partly because it's badly written, directed, and conceived and partly because it lacks the necessarily thematic coherence to accomplish proselytism of any kind.
  4. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 1, 2011
    30
    For one thing, Seven Days in Utopia feels an awful lot like Victor Salva's 2006 New Age uplifter "Peaceful Warrior." That film at least had the appeal of watching Nick Nolte play Yoda, whereas here Duvall simply seems to be playing Duvall.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Aug 31, 2011
    25
    Not a second of it is convincing - or compelling - but then the film is about "utopia," a blandly idealized place unblemished by hardship, malice, sin, or errant golf strokes.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 31, 2011
    25
    I would rather eat a golf ball than see this movie again.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Aug 31, 2011
    38
    God bless Robert Duvall. An American cinematic institution, our greatest living actor makes the fortune-cookie bromides of Matthew Dean Russell's Seven Days in Utopia sound like Yates.
  8. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Aug 30, 2011
    20
    Director Matt Russell shamelessly pitches woo to the already converted with an unholy barrage of heavy-handed flashbacks and phony Christian uplift. If any film ever needed a mulligan….
  9. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 30, 2011
    30
    A squishy Hallmark Channel-level melodrama that rarely bothers to mask its propagandistic intentions.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    3
    Boring Christian propaganda flick--reality as they would like it to be rather than what it is. Christian fantasy. This is the kind of world imagined by people wanting to avoid dealing with the world and all it complications. When I was ten I would have enjoyed it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    A movie with a message,,,what a concept! It is so refreshing to be moved by a movie and feel that it was truly a great investment of time and money. Kudos to Robert Duval! Full Review »
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    2
    I think we've found the nominee for time waster of the decade. My main problem with this film was how it only gradually started with Christian values in its first three quarters, and then started streamlining them and shoveling them down your throat in the last minutes. It turns into a complete nonredeemable mess. Full Review »