Utopia Pictures | Release Date: September 2, 2011
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 12 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6
Mixed:
1
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
kbm1Oct 19, 2012
I think we've found the nominee for time waster of the decade. My main problem with this film was how it only gradually started with Christian values in its first three quarters, and then started streamlining them and shoveling them down yourI think we've found the nominee for time waster of the decade. My main problem with this film was how it only gradually started with Christian values in its first three quarters, and then started streamlining them and shoveling them down your throat in the last minutes. It turns into a complete nonredeemable mess. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JohnnyTwoCentsAug 7, 2012
Manipulative garbage. Shameful schlock. I have lost total respect for Robert Duvall for allowing himself to be involved in such a syrup infested predictable piece of made for TV embarrassment. God Bless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FilmDilettanteOct 26, 2011
Seven Days in Utopia is the sweet story of promising young Texas golfer Luke Chisholm (Lucas Black) who chafes under the control of his mentor father. In his first golf match on the pro tour, his father (Joseph Lyle Taylor) abandons himSeven Days in Utopia is the sweet story of promising young Texas golfer Luke Chisholm (Lucas Black) who chafes under the control of his mentor father. In his first golf match on the pro tour, his father (Joseph Lyle Taylor) abandons him publicly, and Luke melts down and leaves the match, driving until he reaches Utopia, Texas. There he meets retired golf pro Johnny Crawford (Robert Duvall) who helps him get back his game over the next seven days while he romances local girl Sarah (Deborah Ann Woll) and endears himself to the town folk (Kathy Baker, Melissa Leo). After his lessons in Utopia, complete with Bible instruction, Luke then returns to his now remorseful and conciliatory father for another chance at the tour.

Because the venerable Robert Duvall, Melissa Leo and Kathy Baker signed on for this production, I ventured out to see Seven Days in Utopia. Despite its seasoned cast, this film comes off as well-intentioned but amateurish. With the exception of Duvall and Leo, the performances were shallow stereotypes of rural Texas people made worse by some silly costuming. The filmmakers clearly believe rural Texans are completely lacking in sophistication and never watch TV, shop at a department store or visit a hair dresser. The final absurdity comes when the local boy played by Brian Geraghty takes off his straw hat and gives it to Luke as a farewell gesture of friendship--everyone knows that any Texas cowboy worth his salt would never part with his hat--just ask Lyle Lovett. The film also has a gimmicky ending which left me feeling as if I had been watching an infomercial for the past 90 minutes. In short, this is a sweet fairy tale that portrays life and Texas as the filmmakers imagine it, and not as it is. The lack of authenticity in the setting and characters leave the plot ungrounded and the film difficult to regard as serious cinema. Sometimes this happens when filmmakers are more intent on making a statement rather than telling a good story, or they are just inexperienced. Either way, I can only give Seven Days in Utopia a three. 'Nuff said, ya'll. This review also appeared at www.filmdilettante.com.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
magaSep 13, 2011
Boring Christian propaganda flick--reality as they would like it to be rather than what it is. Christian fantasy. This is the kind of world imagined by people wanting to avoid dealing with the world and all it complications. When I was tenBoring Christian propaganda flick--reality as they would like it to be rather than what it is. Christian fantasy. This is the kind of world imagined by people wanting to avoid dealing with the world and all it complications. When I was ten I would have enjoyed it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
w1irebenderSep 11, 2011
Contrary to what the usual experience is, the movie is even better than the book, which I read a couple of months ago. The story, acting, and forward motion of the movie held our attention, and it was truly an old fashioned quality movie,Contrary to what the usual experience is, the movie is even better than the book, which I read a couple of months ago. The story, acting, and forward motion of the movie held our attention, and it was truly an old fashioned quality movie, without the embarrassing low-class dialog and computer-enhanced imaging used in most movies to artificially hold our interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DennisLippySep 7, 2011
Someone finally made a movie with a real life story that didn't have just a bunch of cussing and sex.....Just some decency for a family to enjoy.......Hope the general public gives this movie a chance and decides to spend their dollar on aSomeone finally made a movie with a real life story that didn't have just a bunch of cussing and sex.....Just some decency for a family to enjoy.......Hope the general public gives this movie a chance and decides to spend their dollar on a movie with a message. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
myviewSep 4, 2011
What can I say, Robert Duvall is awesome as always! In addition to Mr. Duvall's superb performance, the movie's message accurately points out that Golf is a game that can teach valuable life lessons. Living with perspective, balance, andWhat can I say, Robert Duvall is awesome as always! In addition to Mr. Duvall's superb performance, the movie's message accurately points out that Golf is a game that can teach valuable life lessons. Living with perspective, balance, and emotional control are a few of them. I felt my time well spent which is not something I can say for most movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
moviegalSep 4, 2011
just saw this movie and really enjoyed it. Robert Duval is great and I loved his character and the unconventional way that he taught Luke. Great scenery and great message for all of us!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wyomingiteSep 2, 2011
This movie may not have all of the polish of the run-of-the-mill Hollywood movies, but it was extremely refreshing to be able to watch without hearing vulgarity, seeing inappropriate dress, and being drenched in the usual blood and gutsThis movie may not have all of the polish of the run-of-the-mill Hollywood movies, but it was extremely refreshing to be able to watch without hearing vulgarity, seeing inappropriate dress, and being drenched in the usual blood and guts typically seen today. We've lost our innocence in this country and we thirst for extremes in entertainment beyond reason or good judgement. If it seemed blaw to some viewers, maybe they need to check their hearts and minds - too much yuck has gone in. I for one was happily surprised by the message, performances, and lessons to ponder. Maybe it wasn't perfect in the eyes of many but I left the movie not feeling beat up or disgusted for a change. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TrudyapSep 2, 2011
A movie with a message,,,what a concept! It is so refreshing to be moved by a movie and feel that it was truly a great investment of time and money. Kudos to Robert Duval!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews