Seven Pounds

Seven Pounds Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 329 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ben Thomas is an IRS agent with a fateful secret who embarks on an extraordinary journey of redemption by forever changing the lives of seven strangers. (Sony Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 33
  2. Negative: 12 out of 33
  1. A movie that plays better if you know nothing about it going in.
  2. A spiritual successor to "The Pursuit of Happyness," but darker and more oblique.
  3. The movie is pretty unabashed about the all-but-corny sentiment: Each of us has something to give.
  4. Reviewed by: Jenni Miller
    50
    Dawson is lovely to watch, and when Smith isn't furrowing his brow and looking concerned, he's not so bad himself.
  5. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    40
    A collage of strong scenes, dull bits, good filmmaking and a dissatisfying emotional payoff. A laudable attempt to tackle heavyweight subject-matter that ends up just being heavy weather.
  6. An unintentionally ludicrous drama of repentance.
  7. The most transcendently, eye-poppingly, call-your-friend-ranting-in-the-middle-of-the-night-just-to-go-over-it-one-more-time crazily awful motion pictures ever made.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 114
  2. Negative: 32 out of 114
  1. RonnW.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    An intense drama that moves you to the core. A lesson in humanity that runs at the deepest levels of empathy, altruism, and sacrifice. A film An intense drama that moves you to the core. A lesson in humanity that runs at the deepest levels of empathy, altruism, and sacrifice. A film that will uplift you and encourage goodness. It will undoubtedly make you think how you can help others and impact them in such a profound and positive way. Expand
  2. KurtisS.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    This movie was excellent!!! The story line was intriguing and plot was phenomenal. I enjoying making attempts to solve the ending and purpose This movie was excellent!!! The story line was intriguing and plot was phenomenal. I enjoying making attempts to solve the ending and purpose of a film before it is over, but I had noway of knowing the ending in this movie. However, when it was finally revealed I was blown away. Many of the reviews given concerning this movie are way off in my opinion. If you like blood, gore, shoot 'em ups, and special effect movies then your rating my be like all the others. However, there are still many of us out there who like to "think" when watching a film and actually get into the twists that the writer and director are striving to provide. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    well i would like to have as much of inteligence as you guys have. all of those who said it was way too predictable. Will Smith was awesome inwell i would like to have as much of inteligence as you guys have. all of those who said it was way too predictable. Will Smith was awesome in this movie as well as Woody Harrelson and Rosario is adorable! It was certainly better than the Changeling and almost as good as the Green Mile. There are not many movies i am willing to see more times but i have seen this one three times already! Expand
  4. GabeS.
    Dec 29, 2008
    8
    I think the critics are dead wrong. If you go into the movie without knowing a thing about it, then it's a good movie. Will Smith is I think the critics are dead wrong. If you go into the movie without knowing a thing about it, then it's a good movie. Will Smith is great as always, and the supporting actors and actresses have good performances as well. Yes, it can seem disconnected at times, but it all comes together at the end. One of the good things about this movie is trying to plug things in after you've watched it. It keeps you thinking about the movie for a long time after you've watched it, and I think that's the sign of a great movie. Expand
  5. JohnW.
    Dec 22, 2008
    7
    This movie is a good example of when critics go bad. They seem to hate crying in theaters, (i.e. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, Reign over This movie is a good example of when critics go bad. They seem to hate crying in theaters, (i.e. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, Reign over Me, The Pursuit of Happyness) and they really do not like Will Smith. By no means is this movie great, but it is certainly worthy of some praise. It is a very powerful story, it is not about how "obvious" you think the outcome is, but how we get to that outcome. Smith's performance is heartbreaking and excellant. This movie is just generally underrated. Expand
  6. CoreyC.
    Dec 20, 2008
    3
    I am a Will Smith fan through and through, but this movie does not work at all. Mr. Smith appears to be angling for an awards nod, since he I am a Will Smith fan through and through, but this movie does not work at all. Mr. Smith appears to be angling for an awards nod, since he is, in every scene, welling up with some emotion (mainly tears he appears to be fighting to hold back). The film is a one-trick pony that is simply frustrating after the trick is figured out-- which, honestly, is about 30 seconds into the film. Will Smith is great actor to watch, but he and this threadbare concept movie are simply trying too hard to be "significant." Maybe its time to attack a story with meat on its bones or do an outright comedy to exhibit your ample charm again, Mr. Smith. Leave the over-emotional melodrama to the daytime TV guys and gals. Expand
  7. Aaron
    Dec 21, 2008
    0
    Wake up Will before you lose your audience. What possessed you to make this lousy movie?

See all 114 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.