CBS Films | Release Date: October 12, 2012
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 309 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
212
Mixed:
52
Negative:
45
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
dharmaFeb 17, 2013
Seven Psychopaths is one of those films that shows how hard it is to achieve a 'Tarantino-esque' crime- comedy-thriller. This film is supported by a stellar cast, including Rockwell, Walken, and Harrelson, as well as having a lot of selfSeven Psychopaths is one of those films that shows how hard it is to achieve a 'Tarantino-esque' crime- comedy-thriller. This film is supported by a stellar cast, including Rockwell, Walken, and Harrelson, as well as having a lot of self referential bits of dialogue. Nevertheless, the film felt aimless and smart but not as smart as it think it is. Not bad. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryOct 22, 2012
Martin McDonagh's "In Bruge" was a darkly funny comedy. This new effort lacks the comic spark, but it tries real hard. A screenwriter (Colin Farrell) gets entangled with wacky crooks when his friends (Sam Rockwell & Christopher Walken) kidnapMartin McDonagh's "In Bruge" was a darkly funny comedy. This new effort lacks the comic spark, but it tries real hard. A screenwriter (Colin Farrell) gets entangled with wacky crooks when his friends (Sam Rockwell & Christopher Walken) kidnap a gangster Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
reddave2Dec 29, 2012
I wanted to like this more but while it has some fun characters with a few good scenes it lacks a real cohesive plot to bring it all together. Walken is great value along with Harrelson and Rockwell gives far more to a role which I feltI wanted to like this more but while it has some fun characters with a few good scenes it lacks a real cohesive plot to bring it all together. Walken is great value along with Harrelson and Rockwell gives far more to a role which I felt lacked thought. Its fun but never really grabs you. Also for a black comedy it lacks really quotable material - not a crime in itself, but something I noticed afterwards. Worth a look but dont expect too much. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
TheQuietGamerOct 14, 2013
Not funny or really interesting. I honestly fail to see what the point of this movie is. It just seems to be violent for the sake of being violent. I started off interested in the movie even though it was dull, but after a while I justNot funny or really interesting. I honestly fail to see what the point of this movie is. It just seems to be violent for the sake of being violent. I started off interested in the movie even though it was dull, but after a while I just stopped caring. The cast gives a great performance but the writing falls flat. It's kind of a dud and I don't recommend it. There are better ways to spend your time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleOct 18, 2012
The film is not devoid of VERY funny moments and terrific acting performances (Rockwell & Walken in particular are solid), but it's just overlong, bloated, and meandering. Several of the sequences are flat-out hilarious and creative, butThe film is not devoid of VERY funny moments and terrific acting performances (Rockwell & Walken in particular are solid), but it's just overlong, bloated, and meandering. Several of the sequences are flat-out hilarious and creative, but they're strung together far too loosely. I can't figure out if it was re-written too often or not nearly enough. And yes, for the squeamish, it's very violent and gory - things I normally go for, especially the "Scanners" / "Wild at Heart" shot. There's a right way to see this film, but I don't think the theater is it. I can imagine the Brad Pitt character in True Romance getting baked watching this on his Betamax in his cramped little West LA apartment. [Disclosure: the website I work for is owned by the same parent company as CBS Films.] Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
JonGOct 12, 2012
Seven Psychopaths is an OK film. Compare it to In Bruges and it becomes somewhat of a disappointment. It's highly reminiscent of something Tarantino would be behind. Also, don't expect an In Bruges performance from Farell. Rockwell seemed toSeven Psychopaths is an OK film. Compare it to In Bruges and it becomes somewhat of a disappointment. It's highly reminiscent of something Tarantino would be behind. Also, don't expect an In Bruges performance from Farell. Rockwell seemed to be the guy worth getting excited for. It's no In Bruges -- not even close -- but go see it. You'll enjoy it. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
BikerjamesOct 16, 2012
Some movies are difficult to review. This is one of them. The film is quirky and politically incorrect, which would normally mean I would love it. It is supposed to be a comedy, however, and I never laughed out loud. Not once. There wereSome movies are difficult to review. This is one of them. The film is quirky and politically incorrect, which would normally mean I would love it. It is supposed to be a comedy, however, and I never laughed out loud. Not once. There were other people in the theater that were laughing so hard I thought they would split a gut. That's why you are going to see reviews that are all over the place. Maybe I'm just getting old and jaded but it just didn't seem that fresh and new or funny. The performances are good across the board. Christopher Walken in particular is noteworthy. The violence is graphic, so be prepared for that. In order for me to have liked it more it would have had to be better written like the Coen Brothers film it is striving to be. It's not in that league. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
kris2furFeb 3, 2013
Not necessarily a great film but interesting different and watchable. Decent acting just strange plot linking, it's like it's a movie that knows it's a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lahaine2012Jan 7, 2013
Seven Psychopaths has got to be one of year
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Disliker21Jan 29, 2013
Overall bearable. Lots of boring talking with a fair number of wild scenes. Too much talking is the problem. The trailer was completely misleading and I was a little disappointed in the end, my expectations no where near met. OK movie, givingOverall bearable. Lots of boring talking with a fair number of wild scenes. Too much talking is the problem. The trailer was completely misleading and I was a little disappointed in the end, my expectations no where near met. OK movie, giving it a miss wouldn't hurt you, good for pasting time tho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GerNFeb 12, 2013
An over-the-top movie (even pulp noir) should not be sloppily self-indulgent. Parts of Seven Psychopaths feel arbitrary and thrown together, creating confusion, not art. SP really goes off the rails in the final half hour. I was surprisedAn over-the-top movie (even pulp noir) should not be sloppily self-indulgent. Parts of Seven Psychopaths feel arbitrary and thrown together, creating confusion, not art. SP really goes off the rails in the final half hour. I was surprised that SP was less than two hours long. I would recommend deleting the Vietnamese character (and the rewrite of his story) and the fantasy shootout sequence. Without this padding, I might rate SP a six, mainly for Christopher Walken. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
bitterblueMar 11, 2013
For 2/3 of the movie, this was very entertaining with great performances from the whole cast. Then, for whatever reason, the movie falls apart at the end. Very disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MonkinsaneMay 12, 2014
Whilst quite entertaining, the plot really feels neglected and at times aimless. There's really only 4 "psychopaths" (in quotes since - to me only 1 of them really were psychotic.) - and I feel cheated. It was still enjoyable though, and theWhilst quite entertaining, the plot really feels neglected and at times aimless. There's really only 4 "psychopaths" (in quotes since - to me only 1 of them really were psychotic.) - and I feel cheated. It was still enjoyable though, and the characters are pretty interesting. The acting was top-notch, which makes the rest of the movie kinda a shame - they could have done so much better with such brilliant acting if they had a better script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
himeegDec 19, 2013
This felt a lot like a Tarantino or Guy Ritchie rip off. It wasn't clever, didn't have enough plot twists, and had no real surprises. I enjoyed both Sam Rockwell and Christopher Walken, but the rest of the actors were just kind of there andThis felt a lot like a Tarantino or Guy Ritchie rip off. It wasn't clever, didn't have enough plot twists, and had no real surprises. I enjoyed both Sam Rockwell and Christopher Walken, but the rest of the actors were just kind of there and didn't do much for me. Overall, not a bad movie, but neither is it a great one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
iCronicJul 12, 2014
cast is Genius but i didn´t like it as much i expected it. it was not that good, i had really high expectations
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews