User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 244

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    3
    Another film that I had so much hope for but ultimately tries 2 hard and fails in many areas. They did a magnificent job casting an all-star cast but that's unfortunately the best part of the movie. The movie starts with a halfway interesting story that falls apart about an hour into the film. If you're looking for a witty action movie with an all-star cast then watch something elseAnother film that I had so much hope for but ultimately tries 2 hard and fails in many areas. They did a magnificent job casting an all-star cast but that's unfortunately the best part of the movie. The movie starts with a halfway interesting story that falls apart about an hour into the film. If you're looking for a witty action movie with an all-star cast then watch something else because there isn't a shred of intelligence and it's pacing is 2 slow to be called an action movie. If you have a brain then you already know how the movie is going to end and you're just sitting through the last boring hour to see what you know will happen. Don't believe the hype and rent this movie if you're curious before you buy. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2013
    6
    Seven Psychopaths is one of those films that shows how hard it is to achieve a 'Tarantino-esque' crime- comedy-thriller. This film is supported by a stellar cast, including Rockwell, Walken, and Harrelson, as well as having a lot of self referential bits of dialogue. Nevertheless, the film felt aimless and smart but not as smart as it think it is. Not bad.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This movie was unlike any movie that fit into this genre I've seen before. Didn't really have any idea what happens next. Colin Farrell was brilliant. Walken will never get old. Another excellent job from Rockwell as well! Also good to see Harrelson back in front of the camera again. Of course, let's not forget about Tom Waits, you could put him in a movie with a piece of and he wouldThis movie was unlike any movie that fit into this genre I've seen before. Didn't really have any idea what happens next. Colin Farrell was brilliant. Walken will never get old. Another excellent job from Rockwell as well! Also good to see Harrelson back in front of the camera again. Of course, let's not forget about Tom Waits, you could put him in a movie with a piece of and he would turn it into acting gold! Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    4
    An over-the-top movie (even pulp noir) should not be sloppily self-indulgent. Parts of Seven Psychopaths feel arbitrary and thrown together, creating confusion, not art. SP really goes off the rails in the final half hour. I was surprised that SP was less than two hours long. I would recommend deleting the Vietnamese character (and the rewrite of his story) and the fantasy shootoutAn over-the-top movie (even pulp noir) should not be sloppily self-indulgent. Parts of Seven Psychopaths feel arbitrary and thrown together, creating confusion, not art. SP really goes off the rails in the final half hour. I was surprised that SP was less than two hours long. I would recommend deleting the Vietnamese character (and the rewrite of his story) and the fantasy shootout sequence. Without this padding, I might rate SP a six, mainly for Christopher Walken. Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    7
    even after reading the reviews about this movie I still really didn't know what to expect. As it is hard to describe, and thus a hard screen play to write (I would guess). An alcoholic writer is trying to write a movie about 7 psychopaths, but doesn't have all the characters. He eventually learns some of his closest friends are psychopaths and uses them and others but yet the movie tumbleseven after reading the reviews about this movie I still really didn't know what to expect. As it is hard to describe, and thus a hard screen play to write (I would guess). An alcoholic writer is trying to write a movie about 7 psychopaths, but doesn't have all the characters. He eventually learns some of his closest friends are psychopaths and uses them and others but yet the movie tumbles into what the alcoholic writer is writing. Does that make sense....no. I know, but worth a watch I think. The plot a bit meandering but bouts of humor to offset that. Walken is classic and even Colin Ferrel is tolerable. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This was a sublimely clever, seriously funny movie. It manages to poke fun at violent movies, racism, sexism, religion, love, pet ownership, and more!! At the end, just when it makes you wonder whether it means to be philosophical or profound, it makes fun of the viewer for expecting a neatly wrapped-up ending. Keep watching as the credits roll! However, if you have a short attentionThis was a sublimely clever, seriously funny movie. It manages to poke fun at violent movies, racism, sexism, religion, love, pet ownership, and more!! At the end, just when it makes you wonder whether it means to be philosophical or profound, it makes fun of the viewer for expecting a neatly wrapped-up ending. Keep watching as the credits roll! However, if you have a short attention span or dislike black humor, you will hate this film. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    0
    there were 7 psycopaths but garfield was not one of them
    0/10000000000000 DONT BOTHER WATCHING
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    7
    “A person suffering from chronic mental disorder with abnormal or violent social behaviour.” That’s the definition of the word of psychopath from Oxford Dictionary. Thiz movie comes from the Directors of “In Bruges” (2008) Martin McDonagh. McDonagh is the kind of Director who can make an effective black comedy with roller coaster storyline and interesting characters. He also shows“A person suffering from chronic mental disorder with abnormal or violent social behaviour.” That’s the definition of the word of psychopath from Oxford Dictionary. Thiz movie comes from the Directors of “In Bruges” (2008) Martin McDonagh. McDonagh is the kind of Director who can make an effective black comedy with roller coaster storyline and interesting characters. He also shows promising signs of becoming one of the cult movie Directors. The story revolves around a psychopathic screenwriter (Colin Farrell) whose seemingly nice girlfriend is a psychopath (Abbie Cornish), makes friends with a psychopathic dog kidnapper (Sam Rockwell) and his psychopathic assistant (Christopher Walken) who unfortunately stole a shih tzu which belongs to a psychopathic gangster (Woody Harrelson) whose unfaithful girlfriend is also a psychopath (Olga Kurylenko). Meanwhile it’s also about a mysterious psychopath (Tom Waits) who carries a white bunny all the time. Well, I just used the word “psychopath” so many times. If you feel confused, it may be true. The first 30 minutes of the movie will probably make you confused. If you feel it’s kind of weird, yes, the movie is very weird and comedic as well. The dialogue is interesting and alive. Everything just flows to the right direction. And I almost feel like there is a time when thiz movie criticizes itself. The three main characters are amazing. Let’s start with Colin Farrell. Farrell depicts an alcoholic screenwriter who looks like a peace lover but sometimes looks more like a coward in many situations. It’s great to see Colin Farrell can bring a different kind of character. And the next one is Sam Rockwell who rocks pretty well. Rockwell’s character is the one who sets fire in thiz field of gasoline. He looks confident and believable. People can hate his character but surely will love his performance. Personally, Sam Rockwell’s performance is the best performance in thiz movie. Last but not least, it’s Christopher Walken. Walken goes back to his roots, bringing an eccentric character, it simply reminds me what he is good at, just like the old times when he triumphed in “True Romance” (1993), “Last Man Standing” (1996) or “Kill the Irishman” (2011). Thiz movie just made me realize that all thiz time, most of my favorite movies has psychopathic characters in them, such as “Pulp Fiction” (1994), “Fight Club” (1999), “Trainspotting” (1996), “True Romance” (1993), “Natural Born Killers” (1994) and many more. Just because we like movies about psychopaths doesn’t mean we are also psychopaths, right? Or are we?

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  9. Feb 3, 2013
    2
    Wow.. folks there really IS such a thing as trying too hard to be witty and original, and this movie proves it. Yes I get the 'meta movie'. Yes I see the real life and classic references. But this was just super lame. No amount of Walken could save this. And Colin Farrell is a waste of space, as (mostly) usual. Go back to the Phonebooth, buddy. Some funny parts.
  10. Feb 3, 2013
    5
    Not necessarily a great film but interesting different and watchable. Decent acting just strange plot linking, it's like it's a movie that knows it's a movie.
  11. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    An unexpected delight! Loved the writing and the performances are top notch! Christopher Walken and Sam Rockwell are standouts, Ends up being one of my favorite films of 2012!
  12. Jan 29, 2013
    6
    Overall bearable. Lots of boring talking with a fair number of wild scenes. Too much talking is the problem. The trailer was completely misleading and I was a little disappointed in the end, my expectations no where near met. OK movie, giving it a miss wouldn't hurt you, good for pasting time tho.
  13. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    The acting is solid. Action keeps things interesting. A bit too long though, Would have been better if it were shorter. Didn't find it funny though. I really liked the sub plot though (the main character is a writer and he is using what is currently going on as a basis for his script), That was rather satisfying. Overall, I want to recommend it but I can't, I think it tried too much to beThe acting is solid. Action keeps things interesting. A bit too long though, Would have been better if it were shorter. Didn't find it funny though. I really liked the sub plot though (the main character is a writer and he is using what is currently going on as a basis for his script), That was rather satisfying. Overall, I want to recommend it but I can't, I think it tried too much to be a comedy/drama mix when it should have picked one or the other. Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    Storyline: Marty (Colin Farrell) is a writer and is trying to get more idea's for a screenplay he's writing called Seven Psychopaths. His best buddy Billy (Sam Rockwell) has been giving him some great material but he has gotten everyone into some heavy duty bother with a villain called Charlie (Woody Harrelson). Billy and his friend Hans (Christopher Walken) who kidnap dogs to claim theStoryline: Marty (Colin Farrell) is a writer and is trying to get more idea's for a screenplay he's writing called Seven Psychopaths. His best buddy Billy (Sam Rockwell) has been giving him some great material but he has gotten everyone into some heavy duty bother with a villain called Charlie (Woody Harrelson). Billy and his friend Hans (Christopher Walken) who kidnap dogs to claim the reward end up with Charlie's dog, and Charlie really loves this dog, so now they are in serious trouble. There are a superb bunch of characters in this movie that keep us very interested throughout.

    Acting: I'm not really a Sam Rockwell fan but I've always loved his performance in 'The Green Mile' and in this he is awsome at playing the complex Billy. He is actually better in this than Bradley Cooper is in 'Silver Linings Playbook' but Bradley gets the Oscar nod. Colin Farrell was really good and played his scenes with a very similar delivery as with 'In Bruges' but this is not a bad thing because it is a Martin McDonagh film. Woody Harrelson and Christopher Walken were also good but they never had to do anything out of the ordinary so while they were great we have seen them do this stuff before. The 4 woman in this, Abbie Cornish, Gabourey Sidibe, Helena Mattsson and Olga Kurylenko are all good actors and I've seen a lot of thier work so even though they aren't on screen much when they are you won't forget it. It was a nice touch using well known actors in small roles especially Michael Stuhlbarg and Michael Pitt at the start of the movie.

    Direction: Martin McDonagh wrote and directed this with his wicked sense of humour which I think is amazing. I enjoy his style and hope he never strays too far from it. He's had 2 out of 2 so far. Production: Martin McDonagh made this for $15 million which is the same money as 'In Bruges' but an even better cast. This was a sleek operation with decent special fx and make-up, sets, music and the script was the best thing in the movie. It was snappy, funny and inteligent. 15 mil for this cast and a killer of a script is pretty awsome if you ask me. Conclusion: This film was not perfect but I loved it can't wait for Martin McDonagh to bring out a new one. A funny and violent flik with the cast all using thier own accents (which helped).

    Score: 8.5/10
    Expand
  15. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    McDonagh's latest film, "Seven Psychopaths," looks to be another over those satirical and incredibly violent action movies on the surface, but underneath it all is a surprisingly moving story about friendship. Some will say that using violence to tell a story like this is utterly hypocritical, but they are clearly not aware of McDonagh's plays, and they probably haven't even seen hisMcDonagh's latest film, "Seven Psychopaths," looks to be another over those satirical and incredibly violent action movies on the surface, but underneath it all is a surprisingly moving story about friendship. Some will say that using violence to tell a story like this is utterly hypocritical, but they are clearly not aware of McDonagh's plays, and they probably haven't even seen his previous movie, "In Bruges." All those works do have a high level of blood and violence in them, but they are not simply designed to shock people. McDonagh instead uses those elements to get at a deeper truth about life and the people closest to us, and this is not always apparent to those who view his work from a distance.
    An alcoholic writer with limited imagination, Marty (Colin Farrell) spends more time slumming with hyper pal Billy (Sam Rockwell) than he does tending to his own professional woes. Stuck trying to pen a screenplay called "Seven Psychopaths", Marty finds himself caught up in Billy's mess, when the latter and his associate Hans (Christopher Walken) are fingered for kidnapping the dog of ruthless mobster Charlie (Woody Harrelson). Forced to flee with the pooch in tow, Marty finds a surprising amount of inspiration in being hunted, especially given that his company, Hans and Billy, may themselves also be psychopaths. The entire film is centered around the kidnapping of Bonny, a shih-tzu belonging to chief mobster Charlie (Woody Harrelson), and here's where all hell breaks loose. The violent nature of Charlie, usually involving shooting anyone he encounters without remorse trails the trio of Marty, Billy and Hans, inflicting collateral damage as he gets closer to retrieving his dog. The conversations between characters are in rapid fire, containing a wealth of information, anecdotes, and heavy on black comedy.
    The cast is rich in recognizable names, and that transfers smoothly into the quality of acting. This time Colin Farrell is the straight man for McDonagh (he was the opposite in "In Bruges") and it's just the performance the Irishman needed to deliver after the summer's lethargic "Total Recall" rehash. Rockwell and Walken are of tremendous value as the canine thieves, Walken bringing his turn down to a Zen whisper, while Rockwell is entertaining as hyperactively playful, despite his murderous tendencies lying just below the surface. Where " Seven Psychopaths" begins to unravel and lose it's way is in the third act. For the first two acts, the film is wild, exhilarating and just plain fun. The last act slows down and the tone of the film is thrown off entirely, and rather suddenly, the film ventures out of dark comedy and into the realm of something else entirely. Sure, some of the dry wit still remains - but that is about it. It irrevocably changes the film, and ultimately turns what could have been a great film into "provides some laughs and worth checking out". Shortly after the film begins and Farrell begins working on the screenplay, and it becomes very clear that almost every line will refer to a later theme or event. It is ingenious at first, much like most satires are. But its amusement wears thin about halfway into the film, and by the third act my intrest and attention diminishes as it stumbles into a finale that feels unsatisfying. Great cast, worth checking out and entertaining enough if one can stomach the relentless carnage.
    Expand
  16. Jan 13, 2013
    1
    Im not sure the people who gave this terrible movie a good metacritic score watched the same one I did. It felt like a budget Tarantino movie without the witty dialogue. Art impersonating real life....didnt Colin Farrell have a real life drinking problem? I didnt care about any of these characters and I just got the feeling that they all did this movie for the paycheck. Possibly theIm not sure the people who gave this terrible movie a good metacritic score watched the same one I did. It felt like a budget Tarantino movie without the witty dialogue. Art impersonating real life....didnt Colin Farrell have a real life drinking problem? I didnt care about any of these characters and I just got the feeling that they all did this movie for the paycheck. Possibly the humor is in the dark receses of black humor...but I just didnt find this movie funny, redeeming or entertaining. Two hours of my life I will never see again.... Expand
  17. Jan 11, 2013
    9
    Seven psychopaths is one of the best comedies in 2012. This film is truly awesome! It´s brutal, violent, filled with blood and also hilarious. The opening scene (with Michael Pitt and Michael Stuhlbarg) is fantastic, it is very tarantinesc and already sets the tone for the film. The sequence about the journey of Tom Waits´s character and his wife is also brilliant! The actingSeven psychopaths is one of the best comedies in 2012. This film is truly awesome! It´s brutal, violent, filled with blood and also hilarious. The opening scene (with Michael Pitt and Michael Stuhlbarg) is fantastic, it is very tarantinesc and already sets the tone for the film. The sequence about the journey of Tom Waits´s character and his wife is also brilliant! The acting in this movie is great, Sam Rockwell was very funny and the only scene starring Gabourey Sidibe is amazing. The script is one of the most original and funny things in 2012. Seven Psychopaths is a truly entertaining and smart film. Expand
  18. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    This movie can get very weird at parts, but all in all a very good movie. The film kept me very entertained throughout. Oh and one more thing. Sam Rockwell is a freakin genius!
  19. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    Seven Psychopaths has got to be one of year
  20. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    This picture is nothing i have watched before. This movie entertains on many levels. It asks the question about whats normal and whats not. Who are the normal people who say this man is a psychopath and this man is not? Why does the audience like movies about psychopaths at all? Do we really think they are more interesting than the people we see on the street? Are we so thirsty to seeThis picture is nothing i have watched before. This movie entertains on many levels. It asks the question about whats normal and whats not. Who are the normal people who say this man is a psychopath and this man is not? Why does the audience like movies about psychopaths at all? Do we really think they are more interesting than the people we see on the street? Are we so thirsty to see violence? Is our life so boring, that we have to see people being brutally killed? This movie shows the psychopath in your self. Expand
  21. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    I wanted to like this more but while it has some fun characters with a few good scenes it lacks a real cohesive plot to bring it all together. Walken is great value along with Harrelson and Rockwell gives far more to a role which I felt lacked thought. Its fun but never really grabs you. Also for a black comedy it lacks really quotable material - not a crime in itself, but something II wanted to like this more but while it has some fun characters with a few good scenes it lacks a real cohesive plot to bring it all together. Walken is great value along with Harrelson and Rockwell gives far more to a role which I felt lacked thought. Its fun but never really grabs you. Also for a black comedy it lacks really quotable material - not a crime in itself, but something I noticed afterwards. Worth a look but dont expect too much. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    I think this movie will be one of my guiltly pleasures from now on. It's suble dark comedy can reach almost any audience member, unless they have no sense of humor. The characters are well developed in their own unique way. This movie really comes together at the end and gives us a look into the unexpected Hollywood format. Altogether this movie is a fun viewing!
  23. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    I got a kick out of this movie! Very well-scripted, and I never could guess what was going to happen next. This movie left me with a deep sense of satisfaction, plot points that opened in the beginning found the perfect closure in the movie's climax. Martin McDonagh's generous gift to movie audiences this fall, sealed together with a pretty bow.
  24. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Seven Psychopaths delivers weird but fun experience. It was remind me bit experience when was watching Cabin In The Woods. Movie writing at its best? You can name it but it wasn't really work to me.
  25. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    What a crazy fun ride Martin McDonaugh's Seven Psychopaths is. The originality and creativity of it put a smile on my face that never left for 110 minutes.
  26. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    The title refers to the cast of the characters and to the title of the film script one of them is writing. Therein lies the key to enjoying the film. The characters belong in a tough realistic crime film, but they behave like intellectuals discussing the probabilities and logic of fiction. Hence, the dialogue is a constant counterpoint between the expected cliches of gangster flicks andThe title refers to the cast of the characters and to the title of the film script one of them is writing. Therein lies the key to enjoying the film. The characters belong in a tough realistic crime film, but they behave like intellectuals discussing the probabilities and logic of fiction. Hence, the dialogue is a constant counterpoint between the expected cliches of gangster flicks and the arguments of a poststructuralist. If you think there are humorous possibilities in this, you'll like the film. If not, not. I liked it a lot (all the actors are in the know and in the vein), but it is a bit too long. Imagine Woody Allen remaking The Asphalt Jungle, and you've got it. Expand
  27. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    Martin McDonagh's "In Bruge" was a darkly funny comedy. This new effort lacks the comic spark, but it tries real hard. A screenwriter (Colin Farrell) gets entangled with wacky crooks when his friends (Sam Rockwell & Christopher Walken) kidnap a gangster
  28. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    Seven Psychopaths had a clever premise, and then weaved a story within a story that was a lot of fun. Great cast, fun premise, and while gory, the gore is done in a comedic way, so it does not gross one out.
  29. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Having seen and loved "In Bruges" Seven Psychopaths was one of my most anticipated movies. I'm happy to say its everything I had hoped for and more. From the opening, this movie kicks off with a great start having a very Tarantino style beginning. With such an original and great screenplay you can't go wrong. We than get introduce to our seven psychopaths. The performances are great,Having seen and loved "In Bruges" Seven Psychopaths was one of my most anticipated movies. I'm happy to say its everything I had hoped for and more. From the opening, this movie kicks off with a great start having a very Tarantino style beginning. With such an original and great screenplay you can't go wrong. We than get introduce to our seven psychopaths. The performances are great, Colin Farrell should stick to these small roles, more specifically comedic roles, before I saw In Bruges I disliked him as an actor none of his movies appealed to me. He works so well as the lead protagonist in this role. This is probably one of , if not the best Sam Rockwell performances. He has played this crazy character before but its more effective in this particular role. He is unpredictable, the funniest and the best psychopath of them all with out a doubt the star of this movie. Christopher Walken is at his best. If you just enjoy him in any role, you will love him in this. He plays the calm and wise religious man but very hysterical at times another scene stealing performance. Woody Harrelson is the enraged mob boss who will literally stop at nothing until he gets his little Sh-ih Tzu back. Tom Waits plays probably the most psychotic of them all. Everyone works fantastically well in this movie. I have not a single bad thing to say about them. The woman in the cast though, are basically eye candy. Martin McDonagh is one of the best up an coming Writer/Director. If he keeps this up one day he may be considered among the best script writers of our time. This movie does have elements of Pulp Fiction where everyone is just having random conversations that sometimes end up with people dying horrifically. Yes, there are multitudes of gore involved in the death scenes. Everything is so unpredictable with plenty of laughs and flawlessly made from both behind and in front of the camera. Seven Psychopaths is another "best of the year" and the funniest film I've seen so far in the year. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Dec 3, 2012
    80
    Enormously entertaining, endlessly quotable, perfectly cast and packed full of the richest acting you'll see from an ensemble cast all year, but the result is ever so slightly hollow.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Engagingly off-centre, like Charlie Kaufman taking down Quentin Tarantino, this sunbaked shaggy-dog story is a place-holder film for McDonagh, and often closer to chaos than it is to genius.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Seven Psychopaths is the kind of movie that can lift someone who's had a crappy day out of a funk. It's an unstable mess filled with lunatic invention and bizarre nonsense, and some of it is so spontaneous that it's elating. [22 Oct. 2012, p.88]