Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 30, 2002
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 325 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
292
Mixed:
13
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SouravDec 31, 2010
If there is one film by which Kurosawa is recognized by, it is Seven Samurai, and it rightly deserves its place! One of the richest works to ever be committed to celluloid, each of its characters is extraordinarily realized; each has his orIf there is one film by which Kurosawa is recognized by, it is Seven Samurai, and it rightly deserves its place! One of the richest works to ever be committed to celluloid, each of its characters is extraordinarily realized; each has his or her own arc, his or her own vital part to play in the filmâ Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
KangarooKurtAug 18, 2013
Quite simply the finest film ever made. Plenty of influence taken from the West, and plenty of what might feel like ham-handed acting and dialog by today's mainstream audiences, but it remains one of the most incredible pieces of art in theQuite simply the finest film ever made. Plenty of influence taken from the West, and plenty of what might feel like ham-handed acting and dialog by today's mainstream audiences, but it remains one of the most incredible pieces of art in the last century. Nearly every great story theme is in there, and is so layered that it bears repeated watching with no diminishing returns. A masterpiece. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JiraiaApr 27, 2013
The fact that any one can possibly find anything wrong with Seven Samurai is just bewildering. This is a classic example of truly deep cinema that will never be able to be recreated. Simply breathtaking from the performances to the sets,The fact that any one can possibly find anything wrong with Seven Samurai is just bewildering. This is a classic example of truly deep cinema that will never be able to be recreated. Simply breathtaking from the performances to the sets, everything is outstanding. Kurosawa was famous for being a perfectionist when it came to his sets and it shines through here. The villages look incredible and everything looks perfect, including the costumes. The action is without par and extremely realistic, which adds to the sense of realism and drama unfolding before us. A perfect film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
FeiLong01Jun 30, 2011
My favoriteMy favorite movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
distractonatorJan 21, 2013
This is by far the greatest movie that I had the pleasure to view, my only regret is not knowing Japanese. I can not describe how good this movie is just know that it is at least 3 times as good as there will be blood and 4 times as good asThis is by far the greatest movie that I had the pleasure to view, my only regret is not knowing Japanese. I can not describe how good this movie is just know that it is at least 3 times as good as there will be blood and 4 times as good as once upon a time in the west. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bundakApr 21, 2012
I love the authenticity and realism of this movie. It might be a tad long compared to today's standard but there is no wasted scene. I love the characterizations and the stories of each of the seven samurai.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawAug 20, 2012
There is a nuanced feeling between a new release could score an 8/10 (say THE DARK KINGHT RISE 2012) and a classic acquire the same rank, (but if divided more precisely, which I feel compulsory to do but in lack of a potential spur to re-setThere is a nuanced feeling between a new release could score an 8/10 (say THE DARK KINGHT RISE 2012) and a classic acquire the same rank, (but if divided more precisely, which I feel compulsory to do but in lack of a potential spur to re-set my entire rating system. TDKR is around 7.8-8.2 while SEVEN SAMURAI is surely wavering around 8.2-8.5). SEVEN SAMURAI, an esteemed masterpiece from the reasonably most eminent auteur, Akira Kurosawa, not only from Japan, but the wholesale film history as well, why my belated first-viewing has a tad underwhelming collision, notably juxtaposed with another Akira Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CrusardJul 21, 2012
I wonder what is must have been like to watch this film back in the 50's. We marvel at modern tech and the advanced cinematography but when you take all that away, strip it from current movies, you have very little left to marvel at. ThisI wonder what is must have been like to watch this film back in the 50's. We marvel at modern tech and the advanced cinematography but when you take all that away, strip it from current movies, you have very little left to marvel at. This movie needs no wizardry, it wins with a perfection that most modern day directors could never achieve even with an unlimited budget...you can't buy a movie this good...it just happens. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodAug 3, 2013
Kurosawa's Seven Samurai is the very apex of cinema. It tells a complete and full story, rich with striking action and compassionate humanity. It literally is the three-and-a-half hour epic so many filmmakers have tried and failed to produce.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AlaricDDec 5, 2009
Kurosawa's "Seven Samurai" is a symphony of cinematic splendor, vibrancy and vision. A talisman of epic action, character and story-telling perfectly harmonized. Pure genius captured and codified on celluloid.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
septimosamuraiApr 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Una película maravillosa en todos los aspectos de la producción, basada en una historia con un arco dramático extraordinario y personajes atractivos, bellamente interpretados. Perfecta. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JHangoMay 8, 2012
This is one of the best movies of all time, and it will be for ever. A great movie with a great history and characters. I really dont believe how someone can negativate this movie. It's a shame to know that people like that exist.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LetzTalkMoveezSep 18, 2011
"The Seven Samurai" is one of the best movies ever made. It's emotionally resonating, majestic, virtuous, and action-packed. It's 3 hours and 26 minutes of foreign entertainment that never, even for a second, feels like you're reading words"The Seven Samurai" is one of the best movies ever made. It's emotionally resonating, majestic, virtuous, and action-packed. It's 3 hours and 26 minutes of foreign entertainment that never, even for a second, feels like you're reading words in a book as you look at the subtitles. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ReviewerBananaMar 15, 2011
Its pretty hilarious that people unanimously pretend to like this movie. It may have been amazing almost 60 years ago but today its kind of like watching a play; its not much fun and you realize how bad entertainment must have been back thenIts pretty hilarious that people unanimously pretend to like this movie. It may have been amazing almost 60 years ago but today its kind of like watching a play; its not much fun and you realize how bad entertainment must have been back then for people to have enjoyed it. This movie made sense in 1954 japan like Islam made sense in 6th century arabia; understandable people were into it at the time, but today its just a work of fiction composed by a borderline retarded person. This movie makes Bio-Dome look like a magnum opus of cinema, in fact Pauley Shore would have really improved the Seven Samurai, add in a Baldwin and it might be watchable by a non-pretentious non-film student viewer. Expand
2 of 49 users found this helpful247
All this user's reviews
4
pumbazJun 1, 2012
Yawn. Tasted like a B Movie. I tried watching it in a few languages that I understand and still it was quite boring. As each scene cuts into the next scene - I would say the development of the characters is fair at best. The story isYawn. Tasted like a B Movie. I tried watching it in a few languages that I understand and still it was quite boring. As each scene cuts into the next scene - I would say the development of the characters is fair at best. The story is below average. The Acting is just barely above average. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
0
DishBishJul 3, 2016
Probably the most boring movie I've ever seen. It starts out pretty slow and all the way to the ending is slow. I swear that if I had kids, they will probably switch the movie in 5 minutes.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
Mr.hankeyApr 19, 2006
The movie is spectacular beyond all proportions. It helped make a classic western movie known as the Magnificent Seven and spawned a generation of many other brilliant Akira Kurosawa movies. Rashomon was what brought him here. This is what The movie is spectacular beyond all proportions. It helped make a classic western movie known as the Magnificent Seven and spawned a generation of many other brilliant Akira Kurosawa movies. Rashomon was what brought him here. This is what made his movies permanent in western society forever. The movie is extremely clever and grips you like so you can never let go for the 3 1/2 hours. Akira Kurosawa made his classic in 1954 and it will always be a classic to me. Many people may not know of Kurosawa's masterpieces but they may have to find out because they are missing a innovative and a usually exciting adventure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickJan 31, 2009
This is one of the greatest fims ever made, and my personal favorite. With kurosawa and Mifune you have the greatest director/actor collaboration ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethM.May 18, 2006
Quite simply the greatest movie ever made. If you have not seen it, you are, my friend, incomplete
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherM.Dec 26, 2005
One of the most perfectly put together movies I have ever seen. The plot, characters, the raw emotion that this film portrays is absolutely brilliant. Easily one of my top 5 favorite movies of all time. Also the ending is excellent and so One of the most perfectly put together movies I have ever seen. The plot, characters, the raw emotion that this film portrays is absolutely brilliant. Easily one of my top 5 favorite movies of all time. Also the ending is excellent and so perfect it's not even funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MrRicksturJan 24, 2018
From the storytelling, characters, and compositions, this movie is filled with depth, realism, and strokes of genius. This movie also very multi-dimensional and shows a side of soldiers not often thought of. What I love about Seven Samurai isFrom the storytelling, characters, and compositions, this movie is filled with depth, realism, and strokes of genius. This movie also very multi-dimensional and shows a side of soldiers not often thought of. What I love about Seven Samurai is that it makes you think about love, war, and equality in a very different light. To sum it up, this movie is a masterful work of art as a whole, with some of my all-time favorite scenes in movie history Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Machine2musicMay 8, 2012
This movie is the reason star wars exists so of course it's a 10 out of 10. For 3 hrs plus I was a little worried the movie would go dull or wonder off a bit.. But The seven-samurai stays on point the whole movie. I wish people could stillThis movie is the reason star wars exists so of course it's a 10 out of 10. For 3 hrs plus I was a little worried the movie would go dull or wonder off a bit.. But The seven-samurai stays on point the whole movie. I wish people could still make movies this good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seancriswellJan 26, 2013
This was my first Kurosawa film and I was not disappointed. I am not one to talk about film length very often, I think a film should be however long it takes the director to tell the story. I will admit however when I fired up Seven SamuraiThis was my first Kurosawa film and I was not disappointed. I am not one to talk about film length very often, I think a film should be however long it takes the director to tell the story. I will admit however when I fired up Seven Samurai on Hulu and 3:46 appeared at the bottom I was very worried. Making it through a 1954 foreign language action film of this length did not seem like something i was ready for. Kurosawa however doesn't waste a scene in this film even if many scenes are a little more on the nose than I would prefer.

My problems with the film are the same problems that I have with a lot of classic films. All of our characters are one dimensional which makes them fairly predictable. We know what purpose they will serve in the plot almost from the moment we meet them, to the point where we can predict which characters are probable to live and which will likely die.

I also have an issue with the portrayal of the peasants in this film. The peasants are the center of our story and are treated with disdain by all of the characters around them. While this is understandable in the context of the film, I felt throughout that Kurosawa treated them the same way. Every peasant, except possibly one, in this film is treated like a fearful moron. Often they are seen running around aimlessly babbling incoherently to each other. When they do engage our heroes in conversation they have nothing to add to the process that is transpiring. There is no better evidence of this than in one of our seven heroes. As soon as we meet this character we know he will be a part of our group, yet he is always treated like a punch line. He is treated like that by the other characters because he is written like that by our story teller. In one of the plot twists midway through the film it is revealed he is a peasant. This comes as no surprise because of the seven samurai he is the most peasant like. Each character must fit into a stereotype. What engaged me in this film is the glimpse into the culture as well as the cinematography. For a movie made in 1954 it looks amazing. We are transported into this world through the landscapes, through the poverty that is portrayed visually, and through the way the characters interact with one another. Kurosawa also does a fantastic job with the action in this film. In a movie that the plot revolves entirely around a village protecting itself it would have been easy to just piece action scene after action scene together. Kurosawa never does this, the action is always handled in a very intelligent way. Giving us just what we need to get the next part of the story.

Overall I enjoyed this film quite a bit, and am looking forward to seeing more of Kurosawa's work. I am reluctant to give classic films like this star ratings, as they rarely engage me the way they need to emotionally to warrant consideration in my favorites, or multiple viewings. This film reminds me of Citizen Kane in that I respect it more than I love it, and will probably reference it more than I will watch it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZeTomesJun 27, 2012
I'm sorry, but it shouldn't be allowed to score a movie as 0, simply because "0" represents non-existence; a movie should be scored at least as 1, at least for its existence. Therefore I'm pretty convinced that the few people that scored thisI'm sorry, but it shouldn't be allowed to score a movie as 0, simply because "0" represents non-existence; a movie should be scored at least as 1, at least for its existence. Therefore I'm pretty convinced that the few people that scored this movie as "0", are reflecting their own "0" score of cinema knowledge or they're sentencing their own IQ. I'm kidding, at least they deserve 1 for being able to write something, well, 2 for constructing an idea... ok, 3 for appreciating "Raiders of the Lost Ark"... by the way! Do they know that Spielberg and Lucas were deeply deeply influenced by Akira Kurosawa's "7 Samurai"? Will they ever be able to realize that "Star Wars" and the Jedi concept were inspired on Japan's samurai culture and also on this movie? Sabre, lightsaber, no? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 3, 2017
If there were a definitive shortlist of films that could be considered the best one ever made, Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai would most likely be on that list. The story of seven samurai being hired by a village to defend it from bandits isIf there were a definitive shortlist of films that could be considered the best one ever made, Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai would most likely be on that list. The story of seven samurai being hired by a village to defend it from bandits is an action adventure film for the ages that has been cited as one of the most influential films of all-time. With its general plotting being used by a variety of westerns after its release and its battle scenes influencing action movies to this day and setting the bar for both, it is easy to see how this influence has been demonstrated over time. Yet, what is unmistakable is how much this film is influenced by the very genre it later influenced. Set in Japan during a civil war in which peasants and farmers are going hungry, the film's general layout is one that had been well-trodden by the American western by the time Seven Samurai came out in 1954. With a cowboy vs the Indians type of setup in its back pocket, Kurosawa's film plays out more like a western than it does a samurai movie, as would later be the case in other Kurosawa films such as Kagemusha and Ran. Though the film references honor and the Samurai code, these men are not absolutely samurai. Instead, they function akin to gunslingers with swords and feels akin to an epic western more than it does a samurai film.

With exquisitely choreographed fight scenes between sword-wielding townsfolk and samurai against the invading bandits, the film's epic ambitions are simply found in these attacks. The film is not so much solely about the action, but it is certainly a key reason as to why it is so excellent. As samurai leader Kambei Shimada (Takashi Shimura) checks off the number of dead bandits and plans for how they will defend the ensuing attack, the film becomes a chess match between the minds of the samurai and the minds of the bandits. Though, in the end, the samurai win by tricking the bandits each time, it is compelling to watch the two do battle in the name of this village. When the two sides meet, the arrows flying, the guns shooting, and the swords slicing are beautifully orchestrated and practically like visual poetry.

That said, it is in these action scenes that lies my biggest complaint. Vowing to take the village and burn it down, the bandits do not expect to find the samurai. Yet, even though their numbers dwindle significantly, they keep attacking. While it would be shameful to admit defeat, their only purpose is to take the village and hurt the peasants. There is no greater war they are a part of and they know that there is nothing of value in the village. Yet, they keep attacking in wave-after-wave. It was tough to figure out why exactly they were so insistent on attacking even when it became rather evident that they were severely outmatched by the samurai.

However, in saying that, it is hard to find fault with much of the film. Its writing is excellent, its theme of people of opposite causes who hate one another (farmers and samurai) coming together for a common cause is excellent, and its acting is always impeccable. While Kurosawa being able to play with colors is always a treat, watching in black-and-white is still a sight to behold. Not only is the action beautifully put together, but every shot bears a gorgeous poetic nature to it as he soaks in the beauty of the village and the surrounding area. In more contained and close quarter shots, the film is equally as beautiful with the film seemingly never missing a beat visually. In every front, Seven Samurai is an absolutely excellent film in which its ambitions absolutely are met in roaring fashion. However, to nitpick further, it did feel far too long. As previously mentioned, the fact that the bandits just kept coming certainly plays into this as the samurai have to kill 40 bandits for the film to end. Had the bandits rightfully backed off, the film's length would have been far more digestible. As it stands, many of the battle scenes are rather repetitive and just rehashes of the one prior with slightly different strategies at play. Again, a nitpick, but an issue nonetheless.

An epic and greatly influential film, Seven Samurai lives up to its billing as one of the best films ever made, even if I had some rather small complaints that hold it back in my eyes. Its beauty is unmistakable, however, with its lyrical nature becoming quite intoxicating and its human relations being raw, powerful, and a perfect encapsulation of the one thing that unites us all: death.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VasaultAug 24, 2012
an amazing master piece of art !, one of the best movies ive seen in my life, i pick this movie a few months ago, and i thought it will be a good movie, but its totally incredible experience, comedy, drama, action, this movie has everything,an amazing master piece of art !, one of the best movies ive seen in my life, i pick this movie a few months ago, and i thought it will be a good movie, but its totally incredible experience, comedy, drama, action, this movie has everything, i cant believe a person combined everything in a movie, the 3 hours totally worth Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystFeb 5, 2013
The only Kurosawa I saw and might be the only one I need. This is one of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. The dynamic between the characters is beautifully done. I still can't get around the fact that Kurosawa wrote each of theThe only Kurosawa I saw and might be the only one I need. This is one of the most entertaining movies I've ever seen. The dynamic between the characters is beautifully done. I still can't get around the fact that Kurosawa wrote each of the characters background just for this movie. What a commitment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TikeswarBarihaApr 1, 2014
what a movie is this ...only one world great great great .....movie from 1954 and now 2014 still it is the best action movie i think . this movie give idea about action ....and represent japanese culture ...best foreign movie of all timewhat a movie is this ...only one world great great great .....movie from 1954 and now 2014 still it is the best action movie i think . this movie give idea about action ....and represent japanese culture ...best foreign movie of all time ...... one of my all time favorite movie .... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawMay 3, 2014
WIthout doubt, the greatest action film of all time which has since set the bar for all other subsequent action films. Kurosawa, in the space of five years has now made three of the greatest films of all time (Rashomon and Ikiru)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FeralsteveJan 7, 2015
All time classic with characters you genuinely care about that builds towards epic scenes. It is one of the few longer movies that feels like there isn't a single throwaway scene. Mifune is powerfully brash and somehow sympathetic and one ofAll time classic with characters you genuinely care about that builds towards epic scenes. It is one of the few longer movies that feels like there isn't a single throwaway scene. Mifune is powerfully brash and somehow sympathetic and one of the most interesting characters in "action" movies period. A fantastic film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UnKn0wN_DiSeAsEFeb 27, 2015
Akira Kurosawa was the Master of Cinema. This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Not just has this movie influenced some of the greatest westerns but also his reach in general has been seen and felt without you ever even knowing it.Akira Kurosawa was the Master of Cinema. This is one of the greatest movies of all time. Not just has this movie influenced some of the greatest westerns but also his reach in general has been seen and felt without you ever even knowing it.

The story of a group of people who did not know each other but banded together to save a village is a story of sacrifice that just never gets old. His story telling techniques and characters are well fleshed out.

This is a must see for anyone who loves Cinema in general to see how it has influenced all the movies since it's release.

Directly this was remade into The Magnificent Seven. although that was an awesome Western and a Classic the Original Seven Samurai is just far and above.

The Criterion Collection Bluray makes it even more gorgeous and gives so much more than just the movie and well worth the price.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Apr 30, 2016
Let me ask you a quick question: When you're watching a movie, what's the first thing you notice or look for? Acting? Lighting? Color? Shots? Shapes? All of these are just naming a few great elements of what makes a movie so special, asLet me ask you a quick question: When you're watching a movie, what's the first thing you notice or look for? Acting? Lighting? Color? Shots? Shapes? All of these are just naming a few great elements of what makes a movie so special, as there's plenty more out there that I probably left out, but those are mostly the key ones that some film makers choice when making a movie. But when I watch a movie, the first thing I look for is hidden quality, storytelling by the characters movements, acting, lighting, and the use of silence to add emotion to a scene. And yes, this movie absolutely has all of those things I love in movies and much more. I think I died and went to movie heaven.

Sometimes when I talk about a beloved movie that many film makers and critics out there consider a "masterpiece", I think it's very important for me to talk about the actual film making and what makes it so great, as this gives a better thought of what I see when I watched the movie. I mean, it's much better than saying what you like or didn't about a film without talking about the film making itself. Oh and this also my first Akira Kurosawa movie I've watched and reviewed, so there's that. I've heard nothing but amazing things about Kurosawa movies and how every famous director has put him up there as the best director that has ever lived, and I totally understand why, because Akira Kurosawa is one of the most stylish, influential, and one of the most tremendous film maker that has ever lived. From start till finish, I was completely in awed from what I was watching and it's still fresh in my mind as I'm writing this.

For Kurosawa's film career, he has made over 30 films and a few TV movies, but "Seven Samurai" seems to be the one movie that everyone knows about (even if there haven't seen it). And I understand why, as everything with the camera work, editing transitions, and the use of mother nature as an emotional trigger for the audience, is everything that an audience can emotional relate to and draw their eye to. Because the choices of weather used in scenes that basically sums up what kind of mood a character or a scene itself is feeling. Wind, sunshine, and rain, really do add a lot to the scene, as you can tell what you're suppose to be feeling. Akira Kurosawa was quite famous for how he wanted to get the weather perfect in his scenes. Over a course of a year, he shot this movie for 148 days and it was often him waiting for the weather for the next scene.

And that's not all, Kurosawa told his actors to chose a gesture for their character and stick with it. That way, we know exactly what kind person their are and how they're feeling. It's bold film making like this is what made Akira Kurosawa a massive influence to cinema today.

Another thing I loved about this movie is the characters, as I actually did care for them and their struggle. I sometimes find it very hard to have a full emotional attachment to characters in movies, but here, it amazes me how I know so much from the characters just by their movements that really dose say a lot without them saying anything. All the praise has to go to the actors for this, as it was them who had to deliver and they absolutely do. I'm unaware with all of these actors, but then again, I don't watch that much black and white Japans movies these days. All of the cast were all superb in their roles and most have been a very different cult challenge to pull off, because it's not easy as it looks, but all of them nailed it.

The camera work in this movie is so impressive, so unique, and freaking glorious. The way the camera moves tells a story of itself that doesn't require any character to spill out the story or what's going on. I could show any scenes from this movie to someone who hasn't see the movie themselves and even they will have a full grasp on whats going or how someone is feeling without knowing nothing about the movie itself. That's how brilliant this movie.

Overall: Seven Samurai is a epic masterpiece with flawless imagery and a unique style of violence and battles. I can not wait to see Kurosawa other movies, as I have a feeling I'm going to love them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 25, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an epic tale of triumph against adversary, Japanese film genius Akira Kurosawa has blended together a film that is still powerfully enjoyable that you can see it more than once.

A legendary film about an ancient samurai general who enlists six other samurai from different backgrounds to help protect a defenseless village that is about to be raided by murderous marauders.

A beautiful tribute to the samurai who fought to ensure freedom stands in Japan and to honor the people they fight for from the evils that feed on their innocent lives.

its like poetry turned into screen, a cinematic film that encourages you to play a important role in the samurai's endeavor to ensure that honor is served, as they train to village to fight side by side and stand by them.

one of the best films of all time

***** - 5 stars
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JustMy2May 7, 2016
This is a timeless classic, but even timeless classics age...

I would want everyone to watch this movie at least once, because it is truly a sublime experience. But to get that sublime experience, you literally have to force yourself to
This is a timeless classic, but even timeless classics age...

I would want everyone to watch this movie at least once, because it is truly a sublime experience. But to get that sublime experience, you literally have to force yourself to forget about 50 years of refinement of the cinematic art. This movie will be PAINFULLY BAD if you expect modern pacing. Or modern anything really.

You also have to get over the very Japanese acting. Watching some anime first may actually help there!

I did reduce the score from the perfect 10 because I feel it would be dishonest to call it "perfect" when it so clearly is not, given many decades of hindsight. But it is still a very moving movie well deserving of your time. If you can just get into it and start to see the vibrant color in spite of the fading black and white imagery, you're in for a real treat. And a very memorable experience you'll carry with you for many years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GabrielGozzMay 30, 2015
Una excelente película que perdura en el tiempo. Un gran desarrollo de los personajes y una historia atrapa y hace que sea una película para recomendar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMar 17, 2016
Don't think of this as just a poor 1950's film. Think of it like it was made in the modern times. That will possibly help you find Seven Samurai a great film from the early days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MetaflixApr 18, 2017
Seven Samurai is largely considered the first modern action movie and the best Japanese film of all time.

All of the components that make it such a groundbreaking movie are evident on the screen, but many of the reasons why Seven Samurai
Seven Samurai is largely considered the first modern action movie and the best Japanese film of all time.

All of the components that make it such a groundbreaking movie are evident on the screen, but many of the reasons why Seven Samurai transcends its place & time in the film world are academic in nature. Nevertheless, Seven Samurai is mandatory viewing for every cinephile, often serving as the entry point for the rest of Akira Kurosawa's body of work.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJun 28, 2018
an emblem of unity that shines unflinchingly..

Shichinin No Samurai The choreography of all the action based sequences are dreadful and well shot, as it keeps it grounded and says a lot about the execution of the feature through it and also
an emblem of unity that shines unflinchingly..

Shichinin No Samurai

The choreography of all the action based sequences are dreadful and well shot, as it keeps it grounded and says a lot about the execution of the feature through it and also the plausible work that went behind the camera for it. Ticking for around 200 minutes, it never feels overstretched, but is elaborated in detail; the difference that the makers are aware of and keeps it separate throughout the course of it. It is rich on technical aspects like sound effects, choreography and production design. Akira Kurosawa; the screenwriter and director, has done an excellent on executing the anticipated vision, and also keeping the tone of the feature alive for such a long period, takes a lot skill and passion towards the project to pull it off. Each individual character in here is allotted a specific track to portray which they do hold on to tightly. There is a lot of concrete material which never gets overstuffed, as the makers take their time whilst holding few tactics to keep the audience on the edge of the seat and engaged through the process. Shichinin No Samurai is an emblem of unity that shines unflinchingly that is at best a classic culmination of all genres and at worst an action packed feature; both the side, it's a win-win.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews