Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2007
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 31 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
6
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
BlancoA.May 26, 2007
One of the funniest toungue-in-cheek horror films I've seen in a LONG time. The plot is pretty clever, and the cast is terrific. The story, while a social comment on defense contractors and the like, is great while not beating you over One of the funniest toungue-in-cheek horror films I've seen in a LONG time. The plot is pretty clever, and the cast is terrific. The story, while a social comment on defense contractors and the like, is great while not beating you over the head. Most definitely recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
pinattarDec 26, 2011
a comedy-horror movies, leaning more towards horror (i think). i found that some of the comedy didn't fit in the movie, but by no means did this lessen the film. solid acting for everyone, good directing and writing (some of the "funny"a comedy-horror movies, leaning more towards horror (i think). i found that some of the comedy didn't fit in the movie, but by no means did this lessen the film. solid acting for everyone, good directing and writing (some of the "funny" moments could have been cut) and good horror/thriller scenes. the first hour or so was excellent but it kind of fell apart near the end. but still if you want to see a good horror movies with some humour, this is your movie.

side-note: when i watched this movie i didn't realize that it was a comedy- horror film, i just thought that it was a straight horror movie. that why a gave it an 8 and not a 9 because when i was watching it i felt that some of the scenes were really strange for a horror flicks and it wasnt until after i watched the movie did i realize why they were put in.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
tedleanseMay 6, 2012
a comedy-horror movies, leaning more towards horror (i think). i found that some of the comedy didn't fit in the movie, but by no means did this lessen the film. solid acting for everyone, good directing and writing (some of the "funny"a comedy-horror movies, leaning more towards horror (i think). i found that some of the comedy didn't fit in the movie, but by no means did this lessen the film. solid acting for everyone, good directing and writing (some of the "funny" moments could have been cut) and good horror/thriller scenes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
helicopterInterJul 26, 2013
I was nervous the whole time like it was a serious horror movie but at the same time this made the dark humorous jokes even more relieving. In my opinion this movie pulls of the balancing act of being a good horror movie AND a good comedyI was nervous the whole time like it was a serious horror movie but at the same time this made the dark humorous jokes even more relieving. In my opinion this movie pulls of the balancing act of being a good horror movie AND a good comedy movie perfectly. Thrilling in several ways. And the humor was... dark, twisted, unique and awesome! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JoshuaSep 27, 2007
I was really excited to see this movie whenI first saw the trailer. Then after a few months I forgot about it and ended up watching it because someone else rented it. I can't say I was disappointed or overjoyed by the movie - a bad sign I was really excited to see this movie whenI first saw the trailer. Then after a few months I forgot about it and ended up watching it because someone else rented it. I can't say I was disappointed or overjoyed by the movie - a bad sign for a horror movie to have no effect on the viewer. It might have something to do with the fact that I am losing interest in the horror/comedy subgenre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RirenJun 15, 2007
Despite mild political relevance (military profiteering bad!) and some general humor (haha, the pot head saw the killers and no one believes him), Severence is a movie for horror fans. Most of the humor and all of the best humor are grim Despite mild political relevance (military profiteering bad!) and some general humor (haha, the pot head saw the killers and no one believes him), Severence is a movie for horror fans. Most of the humor and all of the best humor are grim nods to trappings of the 70's and 80's horror films, which are quite funny to a familiar audience, but to an unfamiliar one just seem like poor directing. It boasts a very good cast and a delightful spirit under its morose pretenses, making it the sort of film you'll have to force yourself to laugh at in the beginning, like a kickstart, and will be off coasting for the rest of the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeC.May 2, 2007
If you enjoyed Shaun of the Dead, chances are you will get your money's worth with this one. The first 80 minutes of this movie are excellent for what it is. The last 10 minutes keep it from being a cult classic. You have a handful of If you enjoyed Shaun of the Dead, chances are you will get your money's worth with this one. The first 80 minutes of this movie are excellent for what it is. The last 10 minutes keep it from being a cult classic. You have a handful of people who work for a company that builds weapons for national defense. They go to the woods to partake in team-building activities. What could go wrong? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulineM.Oct 4, 2007
Not as good as Shaun of the Dead in the comedy horror but a really good film all the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ArthurC.May 24, 2007
Amusing and satirical. Sort of loses focus toward the end. However, the rocket launcher gag is hilarious. No Shaun of the Dead, but passable horror-comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BroyaxJan 27, 2017
Oui, je sais ce qu'on dit, il faut faire preuve d'indulgence envers les **** films indépendants à petit budget, un peu comme avec ces jeux "indés" roulés sous les aisselles dans une cave par 3 pelés et un tondu... mais tout de même ! à partOui, je sais ce qu'on dit, il faut faire preuve d'indulgence envers les **** films indépendants à petit budget, un peu comme avec ces jeux "indés" roulés sous les aisselles dans une cave par 3 pelés et un tondu... mais tout de même ! à part quelques morts violentes, une fort jolie blonde toute mimi, une caricature (maladroite) du séminaire typique payé par la boîte (Caméra chiée, Forest Edition), le film se traîne lamentablement et se borne au remplissage somnifère pour masquer son écriture minable. Severance est si rance qu'on le balance à la poubelle aussitôt après l'avoir vu. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews