User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 161
  2. Negative: 85 out of 161
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NicholasC.
    Jun 2, 2010
    1
    This movie does accomplish the goal of being a "feel good" movie. The shallow characters make you feel good about your own personality. The selfishness of the characters will make you feel great about how you treat others. The amount of offensive material toward Arabs will make you feel good about your tolerance toward others. The mere stupity of this film will make you feel smart. This This movie does accomplish the goal of being a "feel good" movie. The shallow characters make you feel good about your own personality. The selfishness of the characters will make you feel great about how you treat others. The amount of offensive material toward Arabs will make you feel good about your tolerance toward others. The mere stupity of this film will make you feel smart. This is the only accomplishment of the movie (even if it wasn't intended) and the awful jokes, non-likable characters, and just how tasteless the entire production is only furthers this series to its grave. Most men know that they should stay away but the girl friend or wife will force them to consider attending. Ladies, if you really love your man, you won't subject them to this. Expand
  2. KitD
    Jun 3, 2010
    1
    Offensive on so many levels, why do they have to be quite so vacuous?
  3. NielsM
    Jun 2, 2010
    0
    I'd rather watch my own mother beg for mercy, as she is being killed, then watch this movie again.
  4. BernardoD.
    May 30, 2010
    1
    I had to laugh two or three times. But overall this movie is not funny. I could not see the irony, because the depiction of obscene richness was still realistic. This movie might serve the Taliban for showing their people why they should hate the Western decadence. Otherwise it is a waste of time.
  5. MJoseph
    May 30, 2010
    0
    2.5 hrs of overplayed drivel hell. Here's hoping the vapid haggard SATC characters are now all finally wrapped up in a nice black diamond haze of disappointment..
  6. ChadS.
    May 30, 2010
    2
    "Reading 'Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness' in Abu Dhabi" doesn't quite possess the same revolutionary quality as the Azar Nafisi memoir which recounted the transformative effect that western literature had on a group of female Muslim students, since Suzanne Somers, star of the "Thighmaster" infomercial, is no Vladimir Nabokov, so the deliverance of these women(equally "Reading 'Breakthrough: Eight Steps to Wellness' in Abu Dhabi" doesn't quite possess the same revolutionary quality as the Azar Nafisi memoir which recounted the transformative effect that western literature had on a group of female Muslim students, since Suzanne Somers, star of the "Thighmaster" infomercial, is no Vladimir Nabokov, so the deliverance of these women(equally anesthetized by popular cultural just like their western counterparts) is mostly limited to the body, and not the mind. It's a book club comprised of materialistic Islamic fashionistas who end up validating the ill-mannered behavior displayed by these privileged New York socialites, when the middle east-end girls step out of their traditional "hijab" attire to reveal the "haute couture" fashions beneath like naughty Catholic schoolgirls. Now Carrie(Sarah Jessica Parker) and her gal pals become the role models that they proclaim themselves to be. At a karaoke club, the ugly Americans have the effontery to sing Helen Reddy's feminist anthem "I Am Woman", both for themselves as a pointed animadversion of this hyper-patriarchal society, and the local women whom the westerners presume are in need of some consciousness-raising and enlightenment, without understanding that the mobilization of feminist-minded Muslim women may have deadly reprecussions from their oppressors. Samantha(Kim Cattrall), the ugliest American of them all, not only offends the Abu Dhabi men, but the women, as well. In a very public arena, Samantha's demonstrative canoodling with her latest conquest, proves to be an affront to the female bystanders' inherent modesty, which is derived from a sheltered upbringing that deemed such forwardness as justification for an "honor killing". To some Muslim females, the headscarf and veil are personal choices. In Diane Crespo and Stefan Schaefer's "Arranged", the principal of a Brooklyn middle school denigrates a young Muslim schoolteacher's traditional apparel choices, and offers her shopping money for designer clothes. It never occurs to the culturally biased educator, or "Sex and the City 2", that some Muslim women, like American girls who exploit themselves sexually on their own terms, adopt the "hijab" without the stigmatizing effect of Koran-sanctioned female subjugation, in which both forms of self-debasement are post-feminist, but nevertheless, subversive acts of emancipation. Expand
  7. MartinS.
    May 30, 2010
    1
    It's almost as if the producers of the movie never watched the show. I wasn't a big fan of the show but the episodes I watched were infinitely wittier than this crap. Fans of the show will have to settle for watching old DVDs.
  8. AramisG
    Jun 3, 2010
    2
    I've never seen the show or the 1st movie but was dragged to see SITC2. Basically from the view point of someone looking in from the outside this movie indulges in every boring cliche of divaness imaginable. The characters are flat and the plot revolves around the boring mid-aged insecurities of hipster turned bourgeoisie. How tragic. At 2 plus hours I think I laughed twice.
  9. Enrique
    Jun 4, 2010
    1
    The most silly and boring flick I have seen lately.
  10. RyanA.
    May 27, 2010
    0
    It's pretty much the worst comedy I have ever watched. It makes Ishtar watchable.
  11. Craig
    May 28, 2010
    0
    The movie reminds me of four tweens texting. It is shallow, incoherent, and immature.
  12. JoeAve.
    May 27, 2010
    0
    My girlfriend who is a big Sex and the City fan dragged me to this and both of us came out feeling like three hours of our lives were sucked out of us. Why god why?!
  13. KrisCool
    May 27, 2010
    0
    I don' know why I went to see this. My girlfriend owes me big, especially since she didn't like it either!
  14. MegR.Dee
    May 27, 2010
    0
    I am a big Sex and The City fan and I didn't even like this. Its way too long, way too unfunny, and very anti muslim. I want my money and three hours back!
  15. MarkR
    May 27, 2010
    3
    Yeah, I'm a guy but I'm also a huge S & the C fan from the beginning. The show was brilliant. and it just got better until it wrapped production. then movie 1 came out. a messy & unnecessary footnote to such a great show. but at least it was entertaining and it had a bit of the old S & the C charm. fast forward to movie 2. Michael Patrick king, i implore you: do NOT create a #3. Yeah, I'm a guy but I'm also a huge S & the C fan from the beginning. The show was brilliant. and it just got better until it wrapped production. then movie 1 came out. a messy & unnecessary footnote to such a great show. but at least it was entertaining and it had a bit of the old S & the C charm. fast forward to movie 2. Michael Patrick king, i implore you: do NOT create a #3. this latest adventure of Carrie & co. is so anti-S & the C that if you ever watched the show you wouldn't recognize any of the characters. Carrie is married...and whiny. Miranda is bullied...and whiny. Charlotte is a mother...and whiny. Samantha is old...and whiny. get the picture? so they take a cathartic trip to...wait for it...the middle east. where the heat is oppressive and the women simply oppressed. stuff happens, the girls complain, a LOT, they drink a LOT, they spend a LOT. it's as if your best friend becomes a different person you don't recognize anymore. sorry girls, I'm done. i don't want to know what comes next, I'm no longer intrigued. because you are no longer intriguing. Expand
  16. Aug 12, 2010
    4
    Breaks my heart to rate this film at such a low score. But honestly the crew of SATC could have stopped at movie #1 there was no need for #2 and there was certainly no need to base the movie on a trip to abu dhabi . The film is riddled with so many over the top sexual innuendos its almost child like that they would think the audience is that stupid. "Lawrence my Labia" The middleBreaks my heart to rate this film at such a low score. But honestly the crew of SATC could have stopped at movie #1 there was no need for #2 and there was certainly no need to base the movie on a trip to abu dhabi . The film is riddled with so many over the top sexual innuendos its almost child like that they would think the audience is that stupid. "Lawrence my Labia" The middle eastern stereotypes were offensive and awkward it was almost like this once smart comedy stepped down and degraded down to a kindergarten level of writing and acting. So not impressed! You can skip this film for sure. Expand
  17. Aug 13, 2010
    2
    Ok, Sex and the City (both films) was never intended to be a smart film about intelligent women taking charge of their own lives and living their lives to the fullest. Oh - wait, YES IT WAS! That's what the whole bs is about "smart women, independent, blah blah blah". Well, Sex and the City 2 is one of the most insulting films to women I've seen in a long time.
    And not just women, but also
    Ok, Sex and the City (both films) was never intended to be a smart film about intelligent women taking charge of their own lives and living their lives to the fullest. Oh - wait, YES IT WAS! That's what the whole bs is about "smart women, independent, blah blah blah". Well, Sex and the City 2 is one of the most insulting films to women I've seen in a long time.
    And not just women, but also some specific cultural groups (of both men and women) such as Arabs! I just found it appalling and very annoying.
    The storyline was decently bad, but the dialogue and the jokes - OMG. WORST FILM DIALOGUE i've seen in a long, long time (as bad as "Crossroads," if not worse).
    Literally, the only reason why I gave it a 2 and not a 0 is the fact that Samantha is as good as always and there are some really hot guys to look at. Otherwise, this is a headache. Horrible, horrible film.
    Expand
  18. Oct 26, 2010
    2
    Sex and the City 2 more like S@#tz and the City 2! I hated this sequel as I hated everything in this movie! They shouldn't been ended since the last movie that I enjoy just a little and of course the entire series too. The characters are not laughable,there are many subplots,and why oh WHY do we have to go over with lots of problems with these ladies? Like boring stuff in issues with theirSex and the City 2 more like S@#tz and the City 2! I hated this sequel as I hated everything in this movie! They shouldn't been ended since the last movie that I enjoy just a little and of course the entire series too. The characters are not laughable,there are many subplots,and why oh WHY do we have to go over with lots of problems with these ladies? Like boring stuff in issues with their relationships and there plenty of more that is far over the top. And of course they have lots of racism and too controversial when the girls are having a break at the Middle East. It's almost as bad as the Transformers 2 and I'M NOT KIDDING RIGHT THERE,they even more racism like this. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING??? If you see this movie,I DARE you and trust me you won't be happy to see this sequel ever again. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2010
    1
    What a heaping pile of garbage. Laughably bad. All of it. And this is coming from someone who was a pretty big fan of the show. I really wish this wasn't so terrible, but it was even worse than I had imagined. A true disaster. Unfunny, poorly acted, and looks like it was directed by a child. Embarrassing.
  20. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    You want to like the movie. You watched the series and you even sorta kinda liked the first movie. So you want to like it, you want to make it your summer time special. You want to enjoy it, but it just blows in your face over and over and over again. It's just too much. It's over-done, over-the-top, just like the wedding at the very beginning of the movie. It's over-produced andYou want to like the movie. You watched the series and you even sorta kinda liked the first movie. So you want to like it, you want to make it your summer time special. You want to enjoy it, but it just blows in your face over and over and over again. It's just too much. It's over-done, over-the-top, just like the wedding at the very beginning of the movie. It's over-produced and over-thought. It lacks carelessness and ease, not to mention it crosses over to ridiculousness one too many times. It doesn't have the wit and the smarts the original series had, and you can't find anything in common with Carrie - once always broke because of her shoe addiction, now living in luxury. Before, she couldn't afford to have her apartment renovated, now she's owning two and flying out to Middle East without a blink of an eye. I'm giving it 10, because when you peel all that off - the bad script, the over-produced schemes and the horrible product-placement - you kind of get what the producers wanted to do. There's a good, honest feeling of wanting you to feel entertained there - to leave the cinema with a smile on your face. Expand
  21. Aug 23, 2010
    3
    Well if you are a fan of the series, You might have good moments and some "SPARKLE". For those who haven't been through the whole ride, i am afraid they are gonna have a bumpy ride cause there is a whole lot of "Not SPARKLE" stuff in this movie. Extremely predictable and lame story with nothing in it to be excited about. And this is coming from a huge ducking fan.
  22. Marc.D.
    May 30, 2010
    3
    Unwatchable drivel.
  23. RobertP
    May 31, 2010
    10
    Worst movie of the decade. I've never watched an episode of Sex in City, but I was dragged to this movie. It's shallow beyond belief. It's part fashion show & part travelogue. The movie showcases lots of clothes and Dubai, one of those Arab sheikdoms with lots of oil & lots of sand & not much else. Dubai obviously financed most of this film. The sheiks didn't get their Worst movie of the decade. I've never watched an episode of Sex in City, but I was dragged to this movie. It's shallow beyond belief. It's part fashion show & part travelogue. The movie showcases lots of clothes and Dubai, one of those Arab sheikdoms with lots of oil & lots of sand & not much else. Dubai obviously financed most of this film. The sheiks didn't get their money's worth because the Hollywood Jews included the Muslims' oppression of women in the story line. That's the only worthwhile point made in this movie. Expand
  24. BrandonS.
    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    For TV yes it passable but on the big screen it was a tease and way to long... the girls make it work but the source material was far from the smart and fun it used to be.
  25. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    People don't seem to get Sex and the City 2. The creators wanted to make something over the top silly and fun, and the movie succeeded. Yes, it has some eye rolling moments, but this movie is pure escapism similar to old movies from the 30's, 40's, and 50's. I laughed a lot at this film, and the scene where Charlotte and Miranda talk about parenthood in the bar is one of the bestPeople don't seem to get Sex and the City 2. The creators wanted to make something over the top silly and fun, and the movie succeeded. Yes, it has some eye rolling moments, but this movie is pure escapism similar to old movies from the 30's, 40's, and 50's. I laughed a lot at this film, and the scene where Charlotte and Miranda talk about parenthood in the bar is one of the best dramatic and funny moments in cinema this year. Also, I don't think these critics were true fans of the original HBO show. That series definitely had some silly moments as well. I don't think the movies have been that different from the TV show. I hope they make more sequels! There! I said it and feel EXHILARATED! Expand
  26. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    I think that my organs have stopped working after watching this film. It's not a gender thing, this is just a bad movie that should have gone right to dvd. Excuse me, I have to go cough out my spleen right now.
    Re: ArmandoG PART THREE!!??!?!?!?
    That would be genocide!
  27. Dec 4, 2010
    5
    The opening music was suitable for an audience aged 12 to 21. Bad start considering the audience attracted to this film is aged 35+. The dvd cover for this movie has actually photo-shopped Kim Cattrall so much I actually thought she'd been replaced by another actress. Were they blind? Now Carrie is meant to be a fashion icon and the first pair of shoes we see are garish brash sequined FAILThe opening music was suitable for an audience aged 12 to 21. Bad start considering the audience attracted to this film is aged 35+. The dvd cover for this movie has actually photo-shopped Kim Cattrall so much I actually thought she'd been replaced by another actress. Were they blind? Now Carrie is meant to be a fashion icon and the first pair of shoes we see are garish brash sequined FAIL heels. Then she's wearing a hideous tiara with crimped hair - again someone was blind. Liza Minelli covering Beyonce Single Ladies was just absolutely woeful and sad. Sam's first sex scene lives up to the hilarity we expect and is the first good scene. The soundtrack for when they arrive in Abu Dhabi was the Stargate Movie soundtrack which was a tad wierd as I kept expecting the SG1 team any minute now. I didn't see this as insulting to Muslims as others have commented. It was four wealthy American women experiencing complete opulence in Abu Dhabi so it seemed ok to me that they didn't know much about the place, the people, the culture... They didn't actresses justice in this movie, using camera angles, lighting and make-up that made them look old and tired. Miranda and Charlotte really took a backseat in this movie which was a shame. There were a few laughs but not as many as we've come to expect. Expand
  28. Jan 15, 2012
    1
    This film is not only offensive to women , or Arabs, but too humanity itself. Non-exisent plot with filled with ruined characters, racism, and midlife crisis like cliches that no one wants to hear about. Ridiculuosly overhyped. Just stay away
  29. ArmandoG.
    May 30, 2010
    10
    People are acting as if Sex and the City is an Oscar Contender. Wake up. It's a feel good sequel, just like the 1st movie was and just like the tv series was. Who cares if it's not realistic. I get enough realism everday turning on the tv set. I don't want my Carrie and Company slumming it. Lighten up people and be grateful for what you asked for. Long live SATC. Can't People are acting as if Sex and the City is an Oscar Contender. Wake up. It's a feel good sequel, just like the 1st movie was and just like the tv series was. Who cares if it's not realistic. I get enough realism everday turning on the tv set. I don't want my Carrie and Company slumming it. Lighten up people and be grateful for what you asked for. Long live SATC. Can't wait for part 3. Expand
  30. MeredithD
    May 27, 2010
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable. If you're a fan of Sex in the City, you'll love it too. If you're not, you won't. It's what we've come to expect from Sex and the City. It was a lot of fun and even my husband didn't mind it too much (seeing as how he normally doesn't like "chick flicks.") I hardly ever go to theaters to see movies, but I'm very glad I Thoroughly enjoyable. If you're a fan of Sex in the City, you'll love it too. If you're not, you won't. It's what we've come to expect from Sex and the City. It was a lot of fun and even my husband didn't mind it too much (seeing as how he normally doesn't like "chick flicks.") I hardly ever go to theaters to see movies, but I'm very glad I went and saw this one. Expand
  31. JeremyF.
    May 29, 2010
    4
    Amazingly, this movie was slightly better than my rock bottom expectations. However, it was offensive to Islam and it was too long. They should have cut the Karaoke scenes and added more drama.
  32. JenniferM
    May 29, 2010
    5
    I am so sorry to report that this time I agree with the critics reviews of this movie. I am a huge fan of the show and also love the first movie but when I left the movie theater for SATC2 I felt something about the movie was not quite right. Something was missing. This show saw massive success because it gave permission for women to speak freely about a wide range of topics on their mind I am so sorry to report that this time I agree with the critics reviews of this movie. I am a huge fan of the show and also love the first movie but when I left the movie theater for SATC2 I felt something about the movie was not quite right. Something was missing. This show saw massive success because it gave permission for women to speak freely about a wide range of topics on their mind that they may not have normally spoke so freely about before. It was based in a form of reality that many women experience on a daily basis and put it on the small screen for the masses to see. The focus of the show was the four women and their lives as single women and then to women with more stable lives in the end of the series making commitments to their lovers and themselves. Now the series is in the Collapse
  33. LauraV.
    May 30, 2010
    7
    The movie was not Oscar worthy, but then, I wasn't expecting it to be. Just the usual entertainment SATC always is: bawdy sexual jokes, lovely scenery and wonderful clothes while pondering questions about relationships, and this time, marriage and children.
  34. Maxi
    May 30, 2010
    9
    This movie is pure fun. The plot is less dramatic and is not as deep as the one from the first movie. It's so entertaining with a great cast and a lot of awesome guest stars^^ I am sure everyone can (and should) enjoy this movie for what it is, a lovely, funny and romantic comedy. -Maxi
  35. Bonnie
    Jun 2, 2010
    7
    If you like the show, you'll like the movie. It is a joy to watch if you are a fan. If you're not a fan, don't go.
  36. RhettJ
    Jun 3, 2010
    9
    It's not perfect movie but i sure as heck had fun seeing the girls again. That's the thing about tv characters. After seeing them week after week, you become emotionally invested in them. It's always good to see them again.
  37. DaanK
    May 27, 2010
    10
    Just a great movie, Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlett are back. This movie is not only more realistic then the first one but also the acting is better, the setting is better, the script is better and the plot is MUCH better. Sometimes a little over the top (referring to Samantha in the middle-east, how can it not be!?) but i enjoyed it the whole 140 minutes long. Specially the Just a great movie, Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlett are back. This movie is not only more realistic then the first one but also the acting is better, the setting is better, the script is better and the plot is MUCH better. Sometimes a little over the top (referring to Samantha in the middle-east, how can it not be!?) but i enjoyed it the whole 140 minutes long. Specially the conversation between Charlett and Miranda about how hard parenthood is was so good! Very funny but o so recognizable! Expand
  38. ScottB
    May 27, 2010
    6
    I attended a preview as a date - I don't know the series well (I may have seen two or three episodes at some point) and I don't know the first movie. While this movie was a bit long, it kept me entertained enough. The gay wedding scene, while over-the-top and filled with stereotype cliches, still amused. The glimpses of Abu Dhabi were interesting. I wasn't expecting to I attended a preview as a date - I don't know the series well (I may have seen two or three episodes at some point) and I don't know the first movie. While this movie was a bit long, it kept me entertained enough. The gay wedding scene, while over-the-top and filled with stereotype cliches, still amused. The glimpses of Abu Dhabi were interesting. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it at all. Expand
  39. JonD
    May 27, 2010
    10
    Saw this with my wife and thought it was a 10 for a chick flick. Funny, silly, cute.
  40. TruthHurts
    May 27, 2010
    9
    I saw it last night in a packed movie theater full of excited fans -- it was great fun. Stop taking everything so seriously or trying to review this film like it's supposed to be some masterpiece. It was entertaining & I very much enjoyed. I hate this bandwagon mentality.
  41. LoriC.
    May 29, 2010
    10
    Seems the male critics were the harshest doesn't it? Most of the women critics were fairly bitchy, probably stemming from the fact they can't come close in looks or money of these actresses. This movie was a go for all of the SATC fans. What did the critics want, for the girls to stay locked in their 30's and never grow up or older? Once again - we love to build people up Seems the male critics were the harshest doesn't it? Most of the women critics were fairly bitchy, probably stemming from the fact they can't come close in looks or money of these actresses. This movie was a go for all of the SATC fans. What did the critics want, for the girls to stay locked in their 30's and never grow up or older? Once again - we love to build people up to tear them down. Go see for yourself!!! Expand
  42. ChristopherW
    May 31, 2010
    6
    I was expecting this movie to be abysmal after reading the reviews, but I was moderately entertained. With such great characters and some snappy dialogue, there was some ample humor to offset its overlength. Overall, a modestly successful effort and one worth seeing if only once.
  43. ElonL.
    Jun 3, 2010
    9
    People, seriously? As someone who watched the entire series, every season, and repeatedly enjoys reruns, this movie perfectly embodies the not only the original characters but also is realistic in showing their growth and what they experience. Carrie has ALWAYS been cheesy and could be whiny too when it came to Big. Samantha, is totally Sam, complaining about her age and focusing on how People, seriously? As someone who watched the entire series, every season, and repeatedly enjoys reruns, this movie perfectly embodies the not only the original characters but also is realistic in showing their growth and what they experience. Carrie has ALWAYS been cheesy and could be whiny too when it came to Big. Samantha, is totally Sam, complaining about her age and focusing on how to keep herself young. Charlotte, really? Go back and watch the show again, she is exactly who she's always been and Miranda has developed since becoming a wife and mom and this movie show her being able to enjoy the person she is now. Ughhh! I could go on and on, debating the irrelevant comments left here, and discussing why the movie is so great! Is it exactly what it was intended to be. Expand
  44. EricaM.
    May 28, 2010
    6
    The movie was good for what it was (a decadent girls-only escape)... but there was not enough Sex and not enough City. Very bold move taking the movie out of NYC... Stanford and Anthony's wedding was in CT (which is understandable, with their union not currently being possible in New York) and then the girls take off on their trip. I definitely would have liked to see more of the The movie was good for what it was (a decadent girls-only escape)... but there was not enough Sex and not enough City. Very bold move taking the movie out of NYC... Stanford and Anthony's wedding was in CT (which is understandable, with their union not currently being possible in New York) and then the girls take off on their trip. I definitely would have liked to see more of the City featured in the film. I would have loved to see more Aidan, more Smith, and more Stanford & Anthony post-ridiculous wedding (I was not a fan of the Liza Minelli performance). The scene with Miranda and Charlotte bonding over mommyhood was the best scene of the movie by far. I could have done without the many braless nanny scenes (seeing those things bouncing around once was enough), the karaoke scene, and Carrie had way too many ridiculous puns and whiny moments. Charlotte was also pretty annoying... since when does this confident woman not trust her loving husband?? Samantha and Miranda were the best characters in the flick by far. Kim Catrall is absolutely hilarious, and I was happy to see Cynthia Nixon having a good time being Miranda again. I am hoping for a third installment where they focus on the ladies living their lives in NYC. We want that cozy feel of the series and the first movie that we know and love! Expand
  45. AnnaB.
    May 29, 2010
    9
    Just as fabulous as the first! loved it! Very entertaining.
  46. MarkT.
    May 31, 2010
    8
    Forget the reviews...if you loved the show..you'll at least like the movie and love the relationships of all our fave characters. Again, don't listen to all the haters! Watch for yourself...and decide.
  47. Nas
    Nov 15, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A mind freedom, wisdom and human nature is what this movie is about. The heart wants what it wants and nothing is going to stop it. A movie you need to feel. Expand
  48. May 8, 2011
    1
    As a huge SATC fan who loved the series along with the first film, this movie was a HUGE disappointment.
    The most genuine scene of this film is when Miranda and Charlotte are drinking at the hotel bar and enjoying each other's company and talking about real things. The rest of the movie is pure crap when you compare it to the precedent. Hopefully, if they make a third - it will take place
    As a huge SATC fan who loved the series along with the first film, this movie was a HUGE disappointment.
    The most genuine scene of this film is when Miranda and Charlotte are drinking at the hotel bar and enjoying each other's company and talking about real things. The rest of the movie is pure crap when you compare it to the precedent. Hopefully, if they make a third - it will take place in NYC where it belongs with the usual wit, glamour and sparkle of where the characters came from.
    Expand
  49. Oct 19, 2011
    1
    This movie make that women look stupid, this movie has no story, no developmen, nothing this movie is as empty as the first one, Michael Patrick King must the worst movie director ever
  50. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    "Sex and the City 2" is, in my opinion, a somewhat weaker continuation to the tv series than the first movie was.

    The story attempts to revolve around all the four women, but ends up coming back to Carrie over and over (she is the narrator/main character, but it gives an unbalanced outcome). All the women have their issues in this one, like always, but only one of them fits in the
    "Sex and the City 2" is, in my opinion, a somewhat weaker continuation to the tv series than the first movie was.

    The story attempts to revolve around all the four women, but ends up coming back to Carrie over and over (she is the narrator/main character, but it gives an unbalanced outcome). All the women have their issues in this one, like always, but only one of them fits in the limelight. (Samantha does her best to beat Carry to it, but in my opinion it was taken a bit too far, the outcome repetitive and somewhat offending, even when it was in character for Samantha).

    The movie starts strong - with another wedding! - but after that things get a little stale. That's the point, I suppose, since Carry is struggling in her marriage and it seems everyone needs a break.

    The trip to Abu Dhabi was a recurring theme from the previous film, yet it managed to bring some action into the slow "middle" of the story. Despite this, the movie feels drawn-out, then speeds towards the end in order to resolve the last of its issues.

    A thing to watch among "Sex and the City" fans, but I feel like they could have done better. (Like, there is no need to go abroad to make a story, but somehow that has become the theme with the movies. Maybe it is an active, conscious separation from the TV show that rarely left the streets of New York.)
    Expand
  51. Jun 30, 2014
    4
    I'm surprised how entertaining and skillfully made the movie was for a guy like me. I pretty much watched it to see something exotic to what I usually see, and it delivered on the entertainment front, as well as the peek into a world that I usually avoid. As such, I recommend checking it out, but there is no truth to the portrayal of Arabs, and there is no mention of the women who find theI'm surprised how entertaining and skillfully made the movie was for a guy like me. I pretty much watched it to see something exotic to what I usually see, and it delivered on the entertainment front, as well as the peek into a world that I usually avoid. As such, I recommend checking it out, but there is no truth to the portrayal of Arabs, and there is no mention of the women who find the Arab (conservative) culture to be empowering. Instead, the movie depicts the non-excessive people as submitting to the excessive rich women. That is a false and borderline deluded message. There also wasn't any focus on solving anything. The only woman who comes across as analytically smart is the red-haired one, who also uses her professional knowledge to help her friends. There are also few showings of moral integrity. The lead character shows a few heroic acts, but apart from that, it mostly follows the women as they turn off their brains and act on instincts. Expand
  52. Feb 3, 2013
    6
    michael patrick king hace un trabajo inferior al de la otra película y aunque esta mantiene las risas y las bromas estereotipadas no tiene respeto por las culturas occidentales y parece que entre mas van creciendo las damas de la película se vuelven mas elitistas y conservadores
Metascore
27

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 19 out of 39
  1. 25
    Some of these people make my skin crawl. The characters of Sex and the City 2 are flyweight bubbleheads living in a world which rarely requires three sentences in a row.
  2. 42
    Yes, this is a great time for escapism at the movies. But there's a point at which escapism throws what we're trying to forget back in our faces.
  3. I enjoyed these characters more when they were rich, rather than obscenely rich, when their self-involvement and life crises had one foot on planet Earth -- and when they weren't all gussied up like Mae West in "Sextette."