Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 27, 2010
4.1
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 168 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
25
Negative:
90
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JularaAug 12, 2010
Breaks my heart to rate this film at such a low score. But honestly the crew of SATC could have stopped at movie #1 there was no need for #2 and there was certainly no need to base the movie on a trip to abu dhabi . The film is riddled withBreaks my heart to rate this film at such a low score. But honestly the crew of SATC could have stopped at movie #1 there was no need for #2 and there was certainly no need to base the movie on a trip to abu dhabi . The film is riddled with so many over the top sexual innuendos its almost child like that they would think the audience is that stupid. "Lawrence my Labia" The middle eastern stereotypes were offensive and awkward it was almost like this once smart comedy stepped down and degraded down to a kindergarten level of writing and acting. So not impressed! You can skip this film for sure. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BrandonS.Jun 1, 2010
For TV yes it passable but on the big screen it was a tease and way to long... the girls make it work but the source material was far from the smart and fun it used to be.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SabrinnaDec 4, 2010
The opening music was suitable for an audience aged 12 to 21. Bad start considering the audience attracted to this film is aged 35+. The dvd cover for this movie has actually photo-shopped Kim Cattrall so much I actually thought she'd beenThe opening music was suitable for an audience aged 12 to 21. Bad start considering the audience attracted to this film is aged 35+. The dvd cover for this movie has actually photo-shopped Kim Cattrall so much I actually thought she'd been replaced by another actress. Were they blind? Now Carrie is meant to be a fashion icon and the first pair of shoes we see are garish brash sequined FAIL heels. Then she's wearing a hideous tiara with crimped hair - again someone was blind. Liza Minelli covering Beyonce Single Ladies was just absolutely woeful and sad. Sam's first sex scene lives up to the hilarity we expect and is the first good scene. The soundtrack for when they arrive in Abu Dhabi was the Stargate Movie soundtrack which was a tad wierd as I kept expecting the SG1 team any minute now. I didn't see this as insulting to Muslims as others have commented. It was four wealthy American women experiencing complete opulence in Abu Dhabi so it seemed ok to me that they didn't know much about the place, the people, the culture... They didn't actresses justice in this movie, using camera angles, lighting and make-up that made them look old and tired. Miranda and Charlotte really took a backseat in this movie which was a shame. There were a few laughs but not as many as we've come to expect. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
diego9901Feb 3, 2013
michael patrick king hace un trabajo inferior al de la otra película y aunque esta mantiene las risas y las bromas estereotipadas no tiene respeto por las culturas occidentales y parece que entre mas van creciendo las damas de la película semichael patrick king hace un trabajo inferior al de la otra película y aunque esta mantiene las risas y las bromas estereotipadas no tiene respeto por las culturas occidentales y parece que entre mas van creciendo las damas de la película se vuelven mas elitistas y conservadores Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JeremyF.May 29, 2010
Amazingly, this movie was slightly better than my rock bottom expectations. However, it was offensive to Islam and it was too long. They should have cut the Karaoke scenes and added more drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JenniferMMay 29, 2010
I am so sorry to report that this time I agree with the critics reviews of this movie. I am a huge fan of the show and also love the first movie but when I left the movie theater for SATC2 I felt something about the movie was not quite I am so sorry to report that this time I agree with the critics reviews of this movie. I am a huge fan of the show and also love the first movie but when I left the movie theater for SATC2 I felt something about the movie was not quite right. Something was missing. This show saw massive success because it gave permission for women to speak freely about a wide range of topics on their mind that they may not have normally spoke so freely about before. It was based in a form of reality that many women experience on a daily basis and put it on the small screen for the masses to see. The focus of the show was the four women and their lives as single women and then to women with more stable lives in the end of the series making commitments to their lovers and themselves. Now the series is in the Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ScottBMay 27, 2010
I attended a preview as a date - I don't know the series well (I may have seen two or three episodes at some point) and I don't know the first movie. While this movie was a bit long, it kept me entertained enough. The gay wedding I attended a preview as a date - I don't know the series well (I may have seen two or three episodes at some point) and I don't know the first movie. While this movie was a bit long, it kept me entertained enough. The gay wedding scene, while over-the-top and filled with stereotype cliches, still amused. The glimpses of Abu Dhabi were interesting. I wasn't expecting to enjoy it at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherWMay 31, 2010
I was expecting this movie to be abysmal after reading the reviews, but I was moderately entertained. With such great characters and some snappy dialogue, there was some ample humor to offset its overlength. Overall, a modestly successful I was expecting this movie to be abysmal after reading the reviews, but I was moderately entertained. With such great characters and some snappy dialogue, there was some ample humor to offset its overlength. Overall, a modestly successful effort and one worth seeing if only once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EricaM.May 28, 2010
The movie was good for what it was (a decadent girls-only escape)... but there was not enough Sex and not enough City. Very bold move taking the movie out of NYC... Stanford and Anthony's wedding was in CT (which is understandable, with The movie was good for what it was (a decadent girls-only escape)... but there was not enough Sex and not enough City. Very bold move taking the movie out of NYC... Stanford and Anthony's wedding was in CT (which is understandable, with their union not currently being possible in New York) and then the girls take off on their trip. I definitely would have liked to see more of the City featured in the film. I would have loved to see more Aidan, more Smith, and more Stanford & Anthony post-ridiculous wedding (I was not a fan of the Liza Minelli performance). The scene with Miranda and Charlotte bonding over mommyhood was the best scene of the movie by far. I could have done without the many braless nanny scenes (seeing those things bouncing around once was enough), the karaoke scene, and Carrie had way too many ridiculous puns and whiny moments. Charlotte was also pretty annoying... since when does this confident woman not trust her loving husband?? Samantha and Miranda were the best characters in the flick by far. Kim Catrall is absolutely hilarious, and I was happy to see Cynthia Nixon having a good time being Miranda again. I am hoping for a third installment where they focus on the ladies living their lives in NYC. We want that cozy feel of the series and the first movie that we know and love! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
oxanaAug 24, 2014
"Sex and the City 2" is, in my opinion, a somewhat weaker continuation to the tv series than the first movie was.

The story attempts to revolve around all the four women, but ends up coming back to Carrie over and over (she is the
"Sex and the City 2" is, in my opinion, a somewhat weaker continuation to the tv series than the first movie was.

The story attempts to revolve around all the four women, but ends up coming back to Carrie over and over (she is the narrator/main character, but it gives an unbalanced outcome). All the women have their issues in this one, like always, but only one of them fits in the limelight. (Samantha does her best to beat Carry to it, but in my opinion it was taken a bit too far, the outcome repetitive and somewhat offending, even when it was in character for Samantha).

The movie starts strong - with another wedding! - but after that things get a little stale. That's the point, I suppose, since Carry is struggling in her marriage and it seems everyone needs a break.

The trip to Abu Dhabi was a recurring theme from the previous film, yet it managed to bring some action into the slow "middle" of the story. Despite this, the movie feels drawn-out, then speeds towards the end in order to resolve the last of its issues.

A thing to watch among "Sex and the City" fans, but I feel like they could have done better. (Like, there is no need to go abroad to make a story, but somehow that has become the theme with the movies. Maybe it is an active, conscious separation from the TV show that rarely left the streets of New York.)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mrniceJun 30, 2014
I'm surprised how entertaining and skillfully made the movie was for a guy like me. I pretty much watched it to see something exotic to what I usually see, and it delivered on the entertainment front, as well as the peek into a world that II'm surprised how entertaining and skillfully made the movie was for a guy like me. I pretty much watched it to see something exotic to what I usually see, and it delivered on the entertainment front, as well as the peek into a world that I usually avoid. As such, I recommend checking it out, but there is no truth to the portrayal of Arabs, and there is no mention of the women who find the Arab (conservative) culture to be empowering. Instead, the movie depicts the non-excessive people as submitting to the excessive rich women. That is a false and borderline deluded message. There also wasn't any focus on solving anything. The only woman who comes across as analytically smart is the red-haired one, who also uses her professional knowledge to help her friends. There are also few showings of moral integrity. The lead character shows a few heroic acts, but apart from that, it mostly follows the women as they turn off their brains and act on instincts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews