Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 221 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
132
Mixed:
28
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ALFApr 3, 2011
Maybe it is because I am male but this film was just so dull and so long. I think it also justified my decision to stay happily single as they go on, and on, and on. ... This film had absolutely nothing going for it. The cast I am sorry but IMaybe it is because I am male but this film was just so dull and so long. I think it also justified my decision to stay happily single as they go on, and on, and on. ... This film had absolutely nothing going for it. The cast I am sorry but I do not find them attractive as women and I found myself feeling less so as the films went on. Normally I give films a second chance and watch them again, but for this particular film (as with the Royal Tenebaums and The Life Aquatic) I do not need to. Thankfully I bought this as a cheap DVD and plan to donate it to a library or someone who also will probably pass it on when they have seen it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
JeffW.May 29, 2008
Worse than the show. Let me say that once more for emphasis: Worse. Than. The. Show. Who says Hollywood can't do the impossible?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatKMay 29, 2008
I prefer my comedies funny, not shrill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]May 29, 2008
Just saw a sneak peak. VERY dissappointing. Seemed to only be an excuse for the actresses to parade around in expensive clothes furthering the divide between SATC and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CraigA.May 30, 2008
That Hollywood can produce a two-hour-plus advert for L'Oreal, Prada and Gucci and, apparently without irony, conclude with the hypocritical message that none of those designer labels and must-have bling really MEANS anything, shows how That Hollywood can produce a two-hour-plus advert for L'Oreal, Prada and Gucci and, apparently without irony, conclude with the hypocritical message that none of those designer labels and must-have bling really MEANS anything, shows how culturally bankrupt and corporatized the US has become, and how stupid they think their audiences are. SITC is overly long, poorly paced, about as exciting as watching your girlfriend buy shoes (which it kind of is...). I was left with two questions: 1) How on Earth can the producers of this dreck think that watching people buy $50,000 rings is entertainment? 2) How on Earth did Jennifer Hudson win an Oscar when she may be the single worst actress the US has ever produced? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FranciscoG.May 30, 2008
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Too long and too boring! My wife made me see it with her and even she regrets seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesK.May 30, 2008
Why are there so many women reviewing this film? Strange thing to see that the top of the list is dominated by women reviewers, the bottom are mainly men.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RudyS.May 30, 2008
It's just bad. Save your money and watch the TV show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EnriqueMay 30, 2008
Moronic piece of crap!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeeN.May 31, 2008
Let me just preface this by saying: I have not read any reviews of this movie. And I kind of liked the series a little. And when I was young and nubile my gay best friend and his New York model sister used to play dress-up with me to break Let me just preface this by saying: I have not read any reviews of this movie. And I kind of liked the series a little. And when I was young and nubile my gay best friend and his New York model sister used to play dress-up with me to break me out of my hippie couture, and those were not unenjoyable times. But. I HA-a-A-AYYYY-TED this movie. I had a whanging headache afterward, and had a new appreciation for some reasons why the willfully ignorant Deer Hunting with Jesus types are in a culture wars with the big city liberals. And I'm still not sure exactly why I DEEEEESPI-ZED it so very very much, so allow me to bring you with me to figure it out. So let me count the ways. There are a few spoilers, so beware. [***SPOILER***]First off, I wanted to smack nearly every character there that I was supposed to care about. In particular, the Miranda (Cynthia Nixon) character, who I never liked in the series and who I truly hated with the fire of a thousand suns in this cruelly long episode. After 6 months of freezing out her sweet partner Steve of sex, he tearfully and remorsefully admits to have an affair once, whereupon she slices him out of her life -- no discussion, just... slam. She then ends up saying something truly evil to Big the day before his wedding, and not owning up to it. She spends most of the movie wallowing in her self-made, self-indulgent misery and whining to everyone about it, which made me want to pull that huge stick out of her ass and beat her to death with it. Then she makes me hate poor Steve as he doggedly (seriously, like a dog) trails after the pinched, petty harpy until she finally relents and returns to make his life miserable again. Jesus, Steve, run! Run!!! I felt like I was in a horror movie where the sacrificial character ignores the blood trickling down the walls and the crunching noises in the basement and traipses down "to investigate" instead of getting the hell out of the house. The rest of the characters range from earning my contempt to earning my disbelief, and I really, really hate the scriptwriter for bringing these people to life and putting those words in their mouths. How cute: Charlotte eating little pudding cups in Mexico rather than risk eating anything at a 5-star resort, only to inadvertently open her mouth in the shower and get explosive diarrhea minutes afterwards (minutes? I hate you, Mr. Writer). I hated the transparent way the conflict was set up for the wedding to become too complex and scare away the elusive Mr. Big, who I secretly cheered on to leave the silly pseudo-intellectual clotheshorse Carrie forever and find someone with more depth than a toxically scented Vogue. I even got irritated with Samantha, my favorite character with her lusty, zesty ways, even though she provided the only relief whatsoever in the movie with her taking charge when the other girls fall apart snivellingly, and I had to love her pillow-humping purse dog, and the glimpses at Samantha's sexy neighbor's tight, naked, promiscuous ass. But does she get to do him? No! I hate you, Mr. Writer. I hate the writer in particular for squandering the talents of the lovely Jennifer Hudson, forced to play the archetypal magical negro servant -- er, assistant... oh so wise in the ways of love, and the writer uses her clumsily as an almost inanimate plot device. If a bubbleheaded girlfriend of yours forces you to see this in order to get laid, you will know the exact moments where you can imagine the outtakes (as I did) as Hudson would be justified in screaming an expletive after a particularly embarrassing, tin-eared line, and muttering, "You can write this shit, but I don't know who the hell you think is saying it." And okay. I admit it. I hate girly stuff except for the color purple and iridescence and the luscious way a scoop neckline and pushup bra makes your tits look. I hate the idea of fashion shows, $700 shoes and $5000 purses. I mean, WTF? Why? How could a purse possibly be worth that much? The squealing, the cattiness, the easily bruised sensibilities. Lavish weddings piss me off and make me sad at the waste and false fantasy that the wedding industry gouges out of dumb people, be they sweet or vain -- I feel like the remake movie Father of the Bride should be banned by the Geneva Convention. The saddest thing of all is that I saw this movie as part of going as a group, with people I normally like in real life, and that all of the females just loved it. Am I defective in some way, missing a crucial X chromosome or chick bit in the brain? Or, do I just lose some respect for the women I enjoy working with day-to-day, women who I think of as deeply smart and nice and funny? Sigh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChrisV.May 31, 2008
I am an avid SATC fan, but was completely disappointed with this movie. I've never looked at my watch so much, and when we left the theatre we were depressed. Was a big letdown, very sad and not the SATC we left behind years ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TylerR.May 31, 2008
Worst movie I have ever seen. Im sad that they let things like this into the theatres. its a waste of electricity that we could be using to solve things like World Hunger.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveOMay 31, 2008
21st century look no further! Here is the most debasing, piece of trash out there today. People call this uplifting? its about sluts who sleep with men for their money. This is a stinker. Ouch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
N.GrealyJun 1, 2008
Modestly attractive women, whining about men, treating children like accessories, all in the name of girl power. What's not to like? Oh, all of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ClarkCJun 1, 2008
If you read Steve O.'s review below, it pretty much sums up this movie. This whole "Sex in the City" thing is a piece of trash. Why cant they do us all a favor and throw it in the garbage and dump it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardJ.Jun 2, 2008
As Jay Sherman used to say on the critic 'It Stinks', I gave it two as their are some funny moments, but this is in a cruel way, one character shits her pants, and the other gets jilted at her wedding day and another gets cheated As Jay Sherman used to say on the critic 'It Stinks', I gave it two as their are some funny moments, but this is in a cruel way, one character shits her pants, and the other gets jilted at her wedding day and another gets cheated on... But this film is way too long and really makes people who have negative comments about the show right..that it can be shallow and meaningless. This film shoudl not have been made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LukeJun 2, 2008
Absolutely awful. This film is completely over-hyped and any reviewer that rates this positively has almost certainly had a few too many cosmopolitans before heading to the cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AMJun 2, 2008
Disappointing & dull...film lacked focus and characters are even more caricature-ish than the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AManJun 3, 2008
ARRRRRRRRRRGH!!! Kill me, Please put me out of my missery, Girls your gonna love it because it has Women in it and they talk, As far as i could tell thats all they do, i think there is a wedding in there somewhere, but for the Real men out ARRRRRRRRRRGH!!! Kill me, Please put me out of my missery, Girls your gonna love it because it has Women in it and they talk, As far as i could tell thats all they do, i think there is a wedding in there somewhere, but for the Real men out there may i suggest that you try the following when being dragged to see this film 1, Take LSD, this should make the fiml enteraining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Fionn?Jun 5, 2008
The occasional funny moments can't save this sexist, soppy drivel from being one of the worst films I've ever seen. I don't see how being preoccupied with relationships makes it "Well-intentioned" or "Full of good messages" as The occasional funny moments can't save this sexist, soppy drivel from being one of the worst films I've ever seen. I don't see how being preoccupied with relationships makes it "Well-intentioned" or "Full of good messages" as people here are claiming. Look closer: All the women are rich, successful and clever, while the men are much slower and more indecent. Not to mention that the only women who aren't sexy, rich, smart goddesses are anti-fur protesters. I'm amazed at this film's relatively high scores. It should be thrown into a stinking hole with other god-awful so-called "Comedies" and be done with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
cookiej.Jun 5, 2008
The Golden Girls are more entertaining than this sh*t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlexJun 9, 2008
I for one loved the series and followed it very closely. This movie was about as far from the series as you could get. It was boring, dumb, and way too long. As a man, I could not recommend this film to another man. I for one could not I for one loved the series and followed it very closely. This movie was about as far from the series as you could get. It was boring, dumb, and way too long. As a man, I could not recommend this film to another man. I for one could not connect to it as I did with the series. The ending is absolutely horrible as well. It felt like the plot was all over the place. The length was unbearable. I can remember looking at my watch, figuring out there was 45 more minutes, and wanting to fake a injury to get the hell out of there. Females may find it more entertaining, but men stay far far away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AngeW.Jun 14, 2008
Okay this is so not the sex and the city I know. Where was the witty culture wise chat? Where was the range of sexual experience? This was tawdry, dull, flat, lank, like hair that has used the straightening irons one time too many. And ha ha Okay this is so not the sex and the city I know. Where was the witty culture wise chat? Where was the range of sexual experience? This was tawdry, dull, flat, lank, like hair that has used the straightening irons one time too many. And ha ha ha, how we laugh at the gay kiss, and ooh ooh ooh, how sexy the straight new year's kiss. Served a cosmopolitan in the theatre with cheap orange liquer, and pre-mixed limes stuffed with preservative, a perfect match. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CJPJun 17, 2008
I was a HUGE fan of the TV show and was severely disappointed in the movie. It was very shallow, had far too many product placements, implied that it is OK to cheat on a women if they don't put out (so forgive your man for cheating on I was a HUGE fan of the TV show and was severely disappointed in the movie. It was very shallow, had far too many product placements, implied that it is OK to cheat on a women if they don't put out (so forgive your man for cheating on you, ladies! NOT!!), and that sex is more important than long term relationshps. This movie was LAME, LAME, LAME! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EfrenE.Jul 1, 2008
If the tv show is no good, what gave these guys the idea that a movie about it would be any better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MirandaH.Jul 4, 2008
Honestly I don't remember much from this movie. I went catatonic during the last hour. However, from what I recall it was terrible. When i wasn't drooling from sheer overwhelming boredom I was sitting in disgust. Not only was Sex Honestly I don't remember much from this movie. I went catatonic during the last hour. However, from what I recall it was terrible. When i wasn't drooling from sheer overwhelming boredom I was sitting in disgust. Not only was Sex and the City twice as mind numbing on the big screen, it was also poorly written and poorly acted. It wasn't edgy or sexy or funny or interesting in the least bit. The four women of this film frankly terrify me, and not because they're all crazy as shit. It's mainly because I don't understand how they can act this out and keep any sense of feminine dignity. This movie is the exact reason men continue to think that women are bland, boring, crazy bitches. Thank you Sex and the City for perpetuating stereotypes, and for all the sane people that were forced to go see this movie by someone obviously fucking crazy, I truly sympathize. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NazimulH.Jul 11, 2008
I don't know what the big deal was about, had a nice sleeping session though, save the hot scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakeG.Jul 12, 2008
This movie is the epitome of shit. It is all that is wrong with the world, and if it was a person it would be the fat kid that got picked on at school.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewR.Jul 12, 2008
This movie was about as useful as a poopy flavored lollipop. Also to quote dodgeball, I would've much rather drank my own urine than seen this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MartinS.Jul 14, 2008
It's really not fair to rate this movie since I left the theater during the "fashion montage." I'm assuming women just loved all the designer references that appeared during the movie. Are women really this shallow? This movie was It's really not fair to rate this movie since I left the theater during the "fashion montage." I'm assuming women just loved all the designer references that appeared during the movie. Are women really this shallow? This movie was the very definition of the term "chick flick." Guys, if you must go, bring your ipod with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful