Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 13, 2001
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
12
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
MarcK.Apr 3, 2002
Firstly, as an American, I think this film shoud have been subtitled, as I (and most audience members when I saw it) had trouble with their accents. Secondly, just because we're used to seeing Ben Kingsley in roles like "Gandhi" and Firstly, as an American, I think this film shoud have been subtitled, as I (and most audience members when I saw it) had trouble with their accents. Secondly, just because we're used to seeing Ben Kingsley in roles like "Gandhi" and "Schindler's List" doesn't mean he's Laurence Olivier because he plays a bad guy. Would we have marveled at that role if it was played by some unknown? Finally Ray Winstone was better than Kingsley, but all we hear about is Kingsley. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DwightW.Jul 12, 2001
The movie is boosted by great performances (especially from the two leads) and above-average, sometimes brilliant direction from Glazer. But that's not quite enough to save the movie, which is sorely lacking a story worth caring about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelF.Jul 30, 2001
I think that I must have missed 10-20 minutes of the film because I didn't get it. The plot was stupid and dull and violent. The acting is unbelieveable, but the characters seem so distant to me. I think that this movie is overrated, butI think that I must have missed 10-20 minutes of the film because I didn't get it. The plot was stupid and dull and violent. The acting is unbelieveable, but the characters seem so distant to me. I think that this movie is overrated, but I think that I should give it another shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KimmieK.Jun 15, 2002
How can a movie like this receive universal acclaim? What is wrong with British gangster flicks? Not a single one of them holds a candle to such classics as The Godfather or Goodfellas. Wow, Ben Kingsley says the f-word and there are lots of How can a movie like this receive universal acclaim? What is wrong with British gangster flicks? Not a single one of them holds a candle to such classics as The Godfather or Goodfellas. Wow, Ben Kingsley says the f-word and there are lots of grisly parts, let's write a good review! I'm seriously beginning to think that most of these critics are being paid handsomely for their scores. Oh, and the orgy scene made me want to thow up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
S.S.S.Jul 31, 2002
Two MAJOR flaws...one, it gets rather boring, second, you cant understand a word they say. The accent is too thick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
emcoffey3May 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a huge fan of the crime/mob/heist film genre, and my thoughts on Sexy Beast are: I'm not totally sure it falls into that genre. The heist portion of the movie, while somewhat clever, plays out rather quickly and uneventfully. The movie seems to place more emphasis on the chaos and anxiety that Ben Kingsley's character's arrival and (SPOILER ALERT) ultimate demise, which is the absolute highlight of the movie (END SPOILERS), causes the main character (Winstone) and his friends. I must say that Kingsley's performance is brilliant; his sociopathic tirades are rather superb. But, after a while, it's just a crazy guy harassing four people and you're ready for it to end. I didn't dislike Sexy Beast, I just don't think it's a movie I'd ever want to see again, nor is it one I can wholeheartedly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleMar 18, 2015
Despite the lack of thrills, Sexy Beast still manages to be compelling due to the fact that it is completely unlike every other "gangster" film you have ever seen. While there is some violence, the emphasis is certainly not on it, rather itDespite the lack of thrills, Sexy Beast still manages to be compelling due to the fact that it is completely unlike every other "gangster" film you have ever seen. While there is some violence, the emphasis is certainly not on it, rather it is on the characters here. Featuring great performances from Ray Winstone and Ben Kingsley, this one is quite subtle, but does think it is smarter than it really is at times. In director Jonathan Glazer's latest film, Under the Skin, I had the same complaint I do here in that he tries to make it seem deeper than it really is. His debut feature is far more enjoyable for me, but still features that same problem. Plus, some scenes were a little overdone and could have just been done normally. Glazer tries to outdo himself at times and it winds up hurting the overall product. In spite of that, Winstone and Kingsley were amazing and their chemistry is what made this film. As a whole, Sexy Beast is a good gangster flick that does try too hard at times, but when it stays focused, it is quite compelling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews