Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: July 21, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
0
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
FrankJ.Apr 2, 2007
I enjoyed Mirren and Gooding and while preposterous in its twists, the movie held my interest and entertained despite its gratuitous violence. How many close up homicides are necessary to maintain audience interest? How many butt shots of I enjoyed Mirren and Gooding and while preposterous in its twists, the movie held my interest and entertained despite its gratuitous violence. How many close up homicides are necessary to maintain audience interest? How many butt shots of Gooding are necessary to make a point? Hollywood does not let us down again with its insistence upon redundancy and hit you over the head subtlety. Tinseltown just may never overcome its compulsion to play down to its audience. So they need to balance this insulting direction with casting a Helen Mirren. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshD.Dec 5, 2006
This movie was amazing, dark, and twisted. And it was SO beautifully done. A+.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Aug 22, 2006
A couple of years ago, a disaster like Shadow boxer - with the hapless Cuba Gooding Jr. scraping below the bottom of the barrel - would have gone straight to video or been buried on an obscure cable channel at 3 a.m.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheilaR.Sep 13, 2006
I liked the movie even the darkness about it! It just showed a different kind of family - and what love can make you do!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SeanJDec 11, 2006
Those rating it high must be ringers for the distributors - this was trash. Outside of a couple of tepid chuckles at a sex scene in a doctor's office, the look on our faces was boredom. Other sex scenes were contrived, a pointless plot Those rating it high must be ringers for the distributors - this was trash. Outside of a couple of tepid chuckles at a sex scene in a doctor's office, the look on our faces was boredom. Other sex scenes were contrived, a pointless plot and the second female lead was trying too hard to look like Angelina Jolie--don't waste your time - rent/buy/download something else. Anyone's life is more precious than spending it on this dreck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarenG.Nov 20, 2006
Awesome movie, very provocative & erotic, on the level of "Wild Orchid"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TWOct 17, 2006
I really liked the movie I watched it twice! The Ending could have been better but I was very satisfied.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HaikazG.Jul 24, 2006
This film is more of an elaborate set of symptoms than an actual movie. It is not enough to say that it is unitentionally funny (because the fillmaker is so un-selfaware) or distubingly gruesome (because the fillmaker makes us wallow in his This film is more of an elaborate set of symptoms than an actual movie. It is not enough to say that it is unitentionally funny (because the fillmaker is so un-selfaware) or distubingly gruesome (because the fillmaker makes us wallow in his anal-sadistic fantasy) it is neccessary to say that an industry that allows something as puerile and hateful as this to be made with some gifted actors and first-rate technical people has its steering mechanism broken. Why was this sick man allowed to make a movie? How did he find the money and obtain the cooperation of so many otherwise seemigly sensible people? Why didn't anyone stop him? [***SPOILERS***] The two most ridiculous scenes: 1) Vanessa Ferlito's water breaking. 2) The tough-guy banter between the male models who guard her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Dr.MarilynW.Nov 19, 2006
While a number of critics have said many negtive things about this film, my rating is based solely on my emotion reaction to this film. I loved it - all of it. The characters were interesting, the scenes fascinating, the acting excellent, While a number of critics have said many negtive things about this film, my rating is based solely on my emotion reaction to this film. I loved it - all of it. The characters were interesting, the scenes fascinating, the acting excellent, the subplots intriguing. I was turned-on sexually by this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
jp992751Jan 25, 2011
Whoever cast this needs to find a new job. Helen Mirren as a serial killer? Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a doctor? Mo'Nique as his girlfriend? With all the names popping up on the screen you would figure that the movie would have to be goodWhoever cast this needs to find a new job. Helen Mirren as a serial killer? Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a doctor? Mo'Nique as his girlfriend? With all the names popping up on the screen you would figure that the movie would have to be good otherwise why would these actors have signed on, right? Wrong. As stated the casting was way off, the odd story which includes Gooding and Mirren as step-son and mother-in-law in a relationship with each other just doesn't work. Cuba can act we have all seen it but in Shadowboxer he felt stale and out of place. Not much good I can say about this so I will just end it there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews