• Release Date:
Shady Lady Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
9.8

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This film is the story of the USAAF 5th Air Force, B-24 Liberator aircraft called 'Shady Lady' that set off from Darwin on Friday, 13 August 1943 on what was at that time the world's longest ever aeroplane bombing mission in aviation history to the oil refineries at Balikpapan, Borneo. Shortly before running out of fuel, on the return journey 'Shady Lady' was crash landed on a remote salt pan in Northern Western Australia after flying for 16 hours and 35 minutes. With help from the Aboriginal Community, 'Shady Lady'amazingly flew again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Abrams
    Nov 8, 2012
    50
    Too many Wiki-worthy info dumps and not enough character-enriching detail stops Shady Lady, a docudrama about a team of World War II Australian bombardiers, from cohering into a compelling fiction-documentary hybrid.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Nov 30, 2012
    40
    It comes as no surprise that the director, Tristan Loraine, comes from a background as an airline captain and a documentarian. Perhaps those jobs make best use of his skills.
  3. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Nov 8, 2012
    30
    The worthy, potentially exciting subject matter would certainly have lent itself to either a straight-on documentary or a seriously budgeted narrative feature. Instead, producer-director-editor Tristan Loraine (he also cowrote the dreadful script with Viv Young) clumsily tries to meld the two approaches - minus the big bucks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This is a great doco-drama, lot's of amazing information. Certainly for the higher IQ watcher but lot's of action for everyone. The 90 minutes is over before you know it and I found it so captivating. Outstanding aerial photography and VERY VERY good. I tried to make sense of why Gary Goldstein of the Los Angeles Times would be so negative and I can only conclude he is a comedy writer and clearly has no interest in aviation or the country's history. This is where a critic should be honest and say its not their genre as clearly from all the reviews on this site, this is a respected and much liked film.

    For me, someone who has worked in a hospital and seen the price our soldiers have given to protect our country, this film made me so proud to be American and free. Free thanks to the efforts of the thousands like those in the film - willing to risk their lives - to try and make the world a better place.

    This film is not to be missed.
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    This is a documentary about one of aviation's most historical events. I have watched the film twice and I totally disagree with the review made by the LA Times. This was a truly wonderful film, its a doco drama but at times we feel its a full feature film. I have researched this film online and it has great reviews so I can only assume the LA Times reviewer watched a different film.

    The leading British Newspaper in its review called it 'Nail-biting' and that is a fair summary.

    My father was in the military and watching this film made me proud of what the military have given to this country.

    Not to be missed 10/10
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I love history doco drama films and this one is a cracker. Reminds of Das Boot. For an indie doco this gives Hollywood a run for its money. I felt part of the mission. It's films like this that make me realise that films and Director's should be reviewed based not just on the film content but also on the budget, because this film for its budget is 11/10. A flight you will never forget. Collapse
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I saw the film at the Quad here in New York yesterday and thought it was a fantastic story and very well presented.Then I read that Andy Webster of the New York Times in his review of the film writes, that the film has 'an awkwardly applied musical score; and trite dialogue ( Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    I give this 10 as the film makers take us on the mission with re-enactments rather than archive footage and a voice over as is usually the case in documentaries. the attention to detail is second to none. I found the whole film absolutely captivating. Not to be missed. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Mr Abrams,

    I found your review to be as full of "unqualified descriptions..." as you accuse the film of having. I saw this film in the
    company of the original 380th BG vets who were there when those missions were flown, and their opinions of the film were extremely enthusiastic and supportive. As for "Wiki-worthy info dumps...", isn't a documentary (or docudrama) supposed to present facts and vintage photos ? Nothing--I repeat--Nothing in this film was fictionalized or presented as "unqualified descriptions" of events or dialogue. Your comment "fictionalized Unsolved Mysteries Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    This film has been compared to Das Boot, the 1981 piece of mastery by Wolfgang Petersen. She I can see the common thread but its important to remember Das Boot even in 1981 had a US$14 million budget, probably US$20 million at least in today';s money. Shady Lady according to IMDb is US$1.4 million, 1/10 Das Boot budget of 1981 or about 1/20 in today's money. With a fraction the budget the Shady Lady producers have created an incredible film for such a low budget, yes the actors are unknowns but the story is very powerful and well presented. Its 8/10 for me which for 1/20 the budget is incredible. Shady Lady made me feel proud to be American. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews