Buena Vista Television | Release Date: December 11, 1998
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 150 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
112
Mixed:
22
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
csw12Apr 2, 2012
Shakespeare in Love flat out sucks, sucks, sucks. Who would want to watch this overperformed, over dramatic and overdone movie. It deserves to have a special place in hell right next to the Devil, also while your at it add the director.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
gm101May 23, 2011
Wow, this movie was so terrible that the only good thing about it was Geoffrey Rush. So Shakespeare got his inspiration for Romeo and Juliet from experiencing similar events. Lame!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
VidsRuleMay 20, 2012
There is a special place in my brain for movies/videogames/albums where I store things that are supposed to be amazing, but that I find rediculously terrible. This is one of those. This is like watching a high school play. As long as the highThere is a special place in my brain for movies/videogames/albums where I store things that are supposed to be amazing, but that I find rediculously terrible. This is one of those. This is like watching a high school play. As long as the high school actors are extra annoying beyond the abilities of a high school student. I'm not a big fan of romance movies but I believe I'm being objective here. It's not as bad as Notting Hill (that one gets a minus 1,000,000), but it's in the ballpark. I never liked Shakespeare, but I like a movie about him even less. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
BinkiJun 12, 2011
I read a lot of good critics about this movie but I can't understand what was so great about it. Story is lame, actors are not that good (I can't stand Gwyneth Paltrow). Nothing original. In one word : boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Humboldt1337Oct 13, 2011
This movie deserves a special place in hell. On its own, it is a truly terrible movie - with boring characters and tons of whiny girly love cr&p.
The real reason why all copies of it should be burned was the fact that it beat "Saving Private
This movie deserves a special place in hell. On its own, it is a truly terrible movie - with boring characters and tons of whiny girly love cr&p.
The real reason why all copies of it should be burned was the fact that it beat "Saving Private Ryan" for best picture. This is the 2nd greatest outrage of all TV/Movie history next to Firefly being cancelled. SPR is possibly the best war movie of all time, and this is just some sappy made-up fantasy cr&p which does not follow the realities of the time of Shakespeare at all.
Boring, terrible, overrated - punch one of the members of the Academy if you ever meet them.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
NickV.Aug 10, 2004
Very boring, need Will Smith & Martin Lawrence to jump out halfway through all guns blazing saying "We ride together, we die together, Bad Boy for life"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DrSteveH.Jun 19, 2003
Boring, sappy, and pointless. The performances were unispired and the writing lame. A waste of time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BobJ.May 13, 2007
I found that the movie was not very good at all and was quite boring to say the least. The thing that makes me the most mad was the fact that it got Best Picture over SAVING PRIVATE RYAN!!! Saving private Ryan was a definite 9.0-10.0 rated I found that the movie was not very good at all and was quite boring to say the least. The thing that makes me the most mad was the fact that it got Best Picture over SAVING PRIVATE RYAN!!! Saving private Ryan was a definite 9.0-10.0 rated film (out of 10). The other thing is (as T.M. mentioned) was the whole girl dressed as a guy to fool the other actors but still looks like a girl. This makes the film even worse (if that is possible). I would not recommend it at all. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful