User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 11 out of 43
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TyroneA.
    Oct 14, 2004
    0
    This is an unmitigated disaster. Avoid at all costs as you have been warned.
  2. MikeC.
    Oct 15, 2004
    1
    J Lo, please go back to singing! Susan, you are an incredibly talented actress. Why waste your time on this crap?
  3. RexS.
    Oct 15, 2004
    0
    The Japanese film was a sweet, thoughtful gem. Hollywood, in full suck-tacular mode, chooses two clothing outfits that are often mistaken as actors, and decides to crank up the budget. What a shame, what a waste, what insight into how little originality Hollywood has left. Until they realize they have forgotten to make a live action movie out of "Courtship of Eddie's Father" - this The Japanese film was a sweet, thoughtful gem. Hollywood, in full suck-tacular mode, chooses two clothing outfits that are often mistaken as actors, and decides to crank up the budget. What a shame, what a waste, what insight into how little originality Hollywood has left. Until they realize they have forgotten to make a live action movie out of "Courtship of Eddie's Father" - this is the best H-Wood can do. Expand
  4. JanH.
    Feb 27, 2005
    0
    I watched this on the plane to America, if there was *anything* else to do I would have done it. Nothing happens in this movie. The plot is tired and weak. There are better TV movies being made than this rubbish.
  5. KevinP.
    Nov 28, 2004
    0
    It's too bad most people did not see the original.
  6. CaptainCraig
    Feb 18, 2005
    2
    When you copying a great original move how can you miss it my soooo much? No one seemed to have a clue about what they were supposed to be doing. Unbelievable Hollywood could spend that much money, a produce absolutely nothing!
  7. HelenB
    Nov 19, 2004
    0
    Very silly movie and I was really looking forward to it too. I went because Jlo's part wasn't that big but this movie sucks anyway and I can't blame it all on her.
  8. Rachel
    Dec 16, 2004
    0
    Very ridiculous movie even though I love Richard Gere.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. A warm-hearted and understated entertainment that's blissfully free of the heavy-handed crudity and other elements that have ravaged 21st-century Hollywood comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    38
    Do yourself a favor and rent the 1996 original from Japan instead.
  3. A remarkably ill-advised remake.